Novotel Clarke Quay

youkie

Hi Michelle, is there a typo error? :p $900 more?? The price diff between Pleasure and Desire is $30 for the 2008 pricelist.

vividz

I took the Desire menu.

1) Phoenix Platter
2) Braised Premier Moon-Cut Shark's fin with Fresh Crab meat & bamboo pith
3) Roast Crispy Chicken Flavoured with Deep-fried Garlic
4) Steamed Garoupa in "Teochew Style"
5) Poached Live Prawns
6) Deep-fried Crispy Yam ring with vegetable Stuffings
7) Wok-fried Ee-Fu noodle with Yellow Chives & Straw Mushrooms
8) Cream of Mango with Pomleo

vividz

so far no one complain, most of them said the food is nice. during the food testing, the fish we asked to cook in Hong Kong Style not nice, the fish very hard. the portion for food tasting just nice cos onli 8 person went. For actual day, I'm not sure if the portion is enough cos too busy with the march in & photo taking.

I saw the Desire & Pleasure menu package abt the same so we took up the Desire menu to save some money.

moon_27

Hi Mic, I also taking the desire since there is no much difference. But I think the main change is prob for the cold platter cos for the pleasure menu, NCQ offered suckling pig....

For fish, i am taking the traditional one...

xuer21

moon,
ooh... okok.. i dunno if i will change my menu anot... wan to but think of the additional $ i am abit confused liao...

vividz

my guests didn't say abt the quantity of food, cos most of my tables were not full, so maybe just enough. my bro complain abt the VIP table, he said the table onli got 6 ppl but the food also onli 6 ppl, the leftover of the food after dividing to their 6 plates were not show nor given to them also, so he guess might be kept in the kitchen & eaten. =P Tat's one thing bad abt VIP table. Oh ya, I rem during the food tasting, we asked them not to serve us, the whole plate was there, so we can enjoy eating.

xuer21

iris_met,
i guess i just take the desire package can liao.. cos just dicuss with my parents.. they find it ok lor since my tables only have abt 8 - 9 ppl each... some only 6-7.. so should be enough...

happygirl198230

hi girls any idea when will the 2010 pricing be out? i want to book for dec 2010 but worried tt my date will be booked by someone else if im too slow. did u girls meet with this problem when u did ur booking last time? since i heard tt dec is always e peak peak. was novotel ur first choice?

zer061zer0

it sounds really scary not to have sufficient food for the AD dinner. I guess for the food tasting if the portions are small, we can still explain to our parents that it's a food tasting, so the portions are smaller.

But if the actual dinner's portions are rather small, looks quite bad on us and the hotel right? So scary, especially I have many tables which are full 10 pax!

Guess i should drop my co-ordinator an email and tell him my worries.

youkie

Hi Postpet, email sent.

Hi Michelle, does that mean if every table sits 10 people, the portion may not be enough? Like Sheryl, I will be having 10 pax too.

I will be going for my food tasting tomorrow, will update here.

nmm

I have sign up with NCQ during the wedding show 2008. I just received the contract for me to sign, before i sign anything for me to take note and is there any impt stuff for me to add on?

ixoral

For those who have signed and paid your deposit at the wedding show, any of you received the receipt from HL yet? The cheque has been banked in but till now i havent receive any receipt from HL yet... Anyone in similar situation?

Nmm> make sure all perks stated in the banquet brochure is in the contract, and whatever u have discussed and negotiated for with NCQ is all written down in black and white. I guess most imptly, the per table price must be correct...i.e. the wedding show prices. This is what i can think of right now :p

zer061zer0

Hi Ixoral,

I had checked with my co-ordinator on the receipt issue last week. He had told me that NCQ had changed their computer server, and due to the migration, they have some problems. The receipt should be mailed out soon. He had called me yesterday to say he had sent my receipt out in the mail, so I guess all of you should be receiving yours soon too.

Nmm> like waht ixoral had said, make sure whatever was promised to you is clearly stated. Example, carpark coupons, invitation cards etc. And also, if you have extra perks like FOC food tasting and upgrade to bridal suite if you took the cinnamon room, must also make sure it is stated.

Most importantly, AD dates are correct! haha

xuer21

youkie,
ermmm hoenstly speaking.. if really 10 person.. i think its not enough unless everyone shy to eat lor... those big or normal eaters 100% not enough one.....

ixoral,
i think huiling is quite busy these days esp now the 7th mth is over.. so dun worry she will send u the receipt soon.... i send her email she also took 2 days to reply me .

moon_27

Mmm, yup, I also agree with youkie that for full 10 pax, it will not be sufficient for everyone.. then ppl will start to comment on the food...

Mic, I think most likely i will be taking desire package cos not much difference and I also wont know whether the pleasure package is better anot.

xuer21

moon,
yeah i more or less confirm taking the desire package liao.. and huling replied that she will ensure that the food is sufficient.. well.. haha and hor i did not opt for additional servers as each server costs $80++!!! thats too ex lor... so i just take 1 server to 2 tables for food and 1 server to 4 tables for drinks... no choice...

btw.. when is ur AD huh?? i forgot liao...

vividz

if u all worry abt food not enough, maybe the 2nd last dish can have the rice instead of noodles, sure enough to make them have a full feeling.

xuer21

iris,
thats what i thought too and during my food tasting i changed it to the lotus wrapped rice.. end up still not filling...but i think should be ok since my tables only have abt 8 or 9 person per table haha

thocat

hey there

will like to check with anyone, when i go down to meeet HL, wat are the things that i am required to select. e.g. table cloth colour, favours and......

which theme is better flower or cystal or combi?

zer061zer0

I dropped an email to my co-ordinator yesterday with regards to many people feedbacks that the food was insufficient for a table of 10 pax during AD.

He called me back, and said that they are having a meeting with the restaurant this afternoon, and will bring this issue up. Let's hope since HL has also assured Michelle that she will ensure that there is enough food, the restaurant will do something about it and increase the food portions.

NCQ BTBs who are having your AD soon, do let us know if there are any feedbacks about the food portion alright? TIA!

kiwimelon

wah..it seems like those who went for food tasting recently, commented abt NCQ food portion.

My banquet is next year when the reno for the building is fully done up.
But happy for all the BTB...enjoy this coming day of yours
and dun let this food-tasting matter worries you.
I believe NCQ will look into it.

Be a happy BTB, alright! ^_^

thngs

Hi everyone, Im also NCQ BTB. My AD is Sept 2009. My coordinator is also HL, email her, she also didnt reply. i think better call her.

erushi

how long usually will it takes to visit the site & discussion of the wedding package for 1st visit? Thanks

sweetwendy

Any news on whether they are coming out new theme? I told Huiling before that they should come out more theme, she said they are still discussing about it but till now no news. Every hotel is making effort to come out new theme and is really very beautiful. Really hope that NCQ will do it too.

andy_n_eva

hi chloe.. i also booked NCQ for sept 2009

Is there any BTB who are doing solemnisation before dinner at the hotel itself? I asked Huiling for a function room. Anyone managed to get corkage waived for wine? They seem abit reluctant to throw in much goodies

happinessbliss

Sheryl < the hotel's card and printing company is Tdragon. Yes the card will come with the envelopes... but they will charge you for the printing cost.. hope that helps...

pannie

Hi girls.

Just went to choose my card on monday and the printing layout just came today. Selection of card not much. So me &amp; hubby very quickly finish choosing the card we wanted.

Printing on the card itself is quite expensive but I prefer to do that that buy gold string to tie or glue the insert. Too tedious liao.

At first intended to go JB to print but then my FIL say too troublesome so we decided to just print at T-dragon.

thngs

Hey Ixoral, JuJu &amp; Nmm... when is ur AD? mine is on the Sept 2009.

Ixoral, have you receive the contract from HL? we paid by CC, so we got the receipt on dat day.
i've asked for a room to do my solemisation, she didnt state on the contract. i was told that we will get $10 dinner voucher (per guest) for 70% of tables booked. its not stated on the contract also, i've called HL, she said will not be stating on the contract, but will be given on the wedding day itself.

ixoral

Hi Chloe, my AD is Nov'09.
i just received the official receipt from HL for my deposit a few days back. Inside got a form which talks abt the $10 dinner voucher as mentioned by you. Yup this is not stated in the contract. And also got another form which told me to go collect this bed lamp, gift from World of Fortune.

However i have yet to get any voucher for the complimentary 4pax hi-tea @ NCQ (wedding show perk). Anyone got this yet?

zer061zer0

Hi Happiness &amp; Bliss, Thanks for letting me know!

Wah, looks like all of us have this or that missing. I have my contract signed already, and also received the receipt. Was informed verbally about the $10 dinner voucher, but was not given any form. And yeah, also received the gift from World of Fortune.

From my understanding, they do not have physical vouchers. You have to inform your co-ordinator before you go and let them know you will be claiming your hi-tea. The banquet manager or someone will sign the bill for you. But that was the information given before the show. Not too sure if they will end up giving physical vouchers a not.

juju06

Hi Chloe, my AD will be Dec 09. Which ballroom u will be taking?

Btw, do anyone of you know that during actual day the projector is setup by the hotel or we need to setup ourselves? And is there a technician helping us to play march-in songs and montage?

vividz

the projector is setup by the hotel, there will be someone there to help u to play the montage, as for the march in, there's a sound room, they will play from the sound room. u can request to go for testing out of the projector and sound system if u need, dun worry.

ryanon123

that is not right. The hotel staff will set up the projector or dvd player but you have to get your own people to play it during the dinner.

dec'09?? Too early to worry lor.. ha ha

vividz

hmm, ya, u got to have a helper there. I dun understand need to get own ppl to play it when we ald told hotel staff which one to play during when, also they are the one asking us which one to play. I'm not at the ballroom during tat time so I'm not sure who play it but I rem I had placed a guy to be in charge in case there's any technical prob.

rjwedding

only those need to be played by the DVD player or ur own laptop which will be projected to the projector needs to be handled by your own people.. as for background music &amp; march-in songs, you can pass to the NCQ technican and he will play from the sound room..

but not to worry, ur co-ordinator or the banquet mgr will brief u on that..

how's everyone?? haven't been to this thread for very long.. anyone's wedding coming up?? congrats n good luck in advance..

thngs

Hi Juju,

Im taking the phoneix ballroom.
i was told by HL, they will help u connect to ur laptop, and ur friend have to help to play and stop the montage. as for the music, is play by the staffs.

So is me 1st (sept), followed by ixoral (nov) and JuJu (dec). hee.... getting excited already.

btw ixoral, did u rec my email? i send thru style wedding.

My wedding will be in Nov 08, but i havent printed the cards yet, just want to ask how long does it take to get the cards printed? And also, when should we be meeting up with HL to choose the theme and finalise the details?

Hi Iris,
Thanks for sharing your photos. I dunno if u were the one who mentioned some time ago that u brought another projector urself? Does the Phoenix ballroom have another screen?

Youkie, U mean u have to take which ever package that you have chosen for food tasting to be the actual day menu? I didnt know that, thanks for the reminder. I have yet to go for my food tasting, but intend to change some of the dishes, dunno how they will charge.

ryanon123

Blurgroom's Bride,

Depends how many revisions needs to be done on the cards. But 2-3 weeks everything should be ready with tdragon.

I met up HL 2 weeks before the AD to finalise the details.

In the menu list, there is ala carte price, i think you can use that as good reference.

andy_n_eva

Blurgroom's bride... there are 2 screens in phoenix ballroom but we have to bring an extra one ourself if we want to have 2 projectors

Thanks Andy n Eva! Btw, do you know how much extra do we have to pay for an extra projector?

Thanks Ryan, I think i better get the cards soon, seems like i dun have much time left.

I just arranged for my food tasting. I think Kevin is a great help.

footprint

Met up with Kevin yesterday to sign contract.
also confirmed with him regarding the hi-tea vouchers.
He mentioned, we just let him know when we want go for the hi-tea as if vouchers issued, it only has a validity of 3 months.

As for the $10 voucher per guest (up to 70%), by right will receive a letter stating it, and we will only be receiving it on the day of banquet.

Also, Kevin was saying there's a new theme next yr, purple theme i think.

So all in all, 3 themes to choose from la.

Hope it helps.

But hor, i dun have a bed side lamp from World of fortune wor.