Novotel Clarke Quay

funfun

hi hi...

I oso Nov 08 BTB. Jamie handovered my case to HL. but she is toooooo bz to reply any emails..
I got the cards but I DIY my own inserts so din let tdragon to print.
Just finalized the theme wt huiling as well.. coz we will be away the whole Oct.

not to worry.. the decision making is chop chop .. haha.. not much negotiating..

One thg tt surprised me tt Ramesh had been transferred to the Restaurant and no longer in-charged for wedding banquet...

So, no request on banquet manager.. not sure who i shall ask.. any previous NVQ bride can advice?

There's 2projector's screen but u hv to bring ur own projector and (suitable length) cable to synchronize both projectors.

Anyone hv any idea abt this?HL still din reply me....

youkie

Blurgroom's bride, what i mean is for eg, if you take pleasure menu ($748 for 2008) for food tasting, you cannot downgrade to desire menu ($718) for actual day. but if you take desire menu for food tasting, you have the option to "upgrade" to pleasure menu.

hope this helps
have you arranged for food tasting?

vividz

Blurgroom's bride, I'm not the one who brought another project cos we dun have, from wat I see, 1 screen should be enough.

Ramesh transferred to the Restaurant? Wat a pity. He was helping us in our wedding in July, maybe just transfer over.

ixoral

he's transferred permanently? so sad! i was looking fwd to having him as my banquet manager
he seems like a very jovial and easy going guy.

m_m

I also received the contract by email but haven't reply them. It also didn't state the solemnization function room and $10 vocher per guest, so i suppose it is ok since everyone here is the same???
Anyone manage to get more car parking lots/ invitation cards?
Oh ya, i also don't have bedside lamp leh...:-(

m_m

Oh ya, can we actually change the date before signing the contract? anyone of you seek any advise from expert or tong shu on date selection?

andy_n_eva

Michelle... i'm getting the function room for solemnisation also. We have it stated in the contract. I think may be good to have it there to prevent any misunderstanding. HL wasn't willing to give more parking coupons/ invitation cards

ryanon123

Michelle,

Don't worry about the solemnization room. It will be available to you because there are 2 small rooms next to the ballroom which can be open for you if required.

But don't you have to decide a date, pay the deposit before signing the contract? I don't think you can change the date after it

pannie

Hi girls.

Need your advise.

Wat type of dishes is a must have? I know their yam ring is good. Any others? Currently discussing the menus with my hubby.

My hubby suggested honeydew sago for dessert. Anyone tried that before?

If we decided not to serve shark fin and choose something of a lower pricing, will the hotel reduce the price per table?

Thanks Youkie. I've arranged for food tasting on 23rd September. Hope the food turns out well. =)

I'm using their function room for solemnisation too and I got them to state in the contract abt the complimentary use of the function room. I think it's important to put it down in the contract to prevent any discrepancy in future. Especially if there is a change in coordinator in charge, the contract is probably the only thg that they will honour.

jiahui

Hi Ann
The roast chicken with garlic also nice. Can consider.
As for the sharks fin, even you swopped to others of lower price, they will never rebate or reduce the price.
Yon can only swop to other dish of same price. If higher price one, need to top up .

jiahui

Hi gals..
Has anyone of u face this problem b4?
I want to finalise the no of tables and to confirm with NCQ soon.
No problem with my parents' and my side.
Also no problem with hubby's friends' confirmation.
Only my in law side, their thinking still very traditional.
They felt that if u want to invite someone, u must not ask them how many person they would be bringing.
Or else, very impolite or people might think lack of sincerity.
But like that how to estimate the tables if they don't tell us who they want to invite.
If confirm too many tables and falls short, the ballroom will look empty. Not very nice.
If over invite , not enough tables, also very embarressing.
How should I do?
I know it suppose to be a happy occasion.
But feel headache about it. Haiz...

pannie

Hi Jiahui.
Thanks for letting me know. Will add the roast chicken with garlic in for the menu too.

What dessert did you choose?

I think I will stick to the shark fin then since cannot reduce pricing. Hubby dun wan shark fin because he just watch a documentary on sharks and pity those sharks that are being killed just for their fins. So he decided not to want to serve shark fin for wedding dinner. He wanted corn soup instead. I told him it's lower in pricing and dun look good in front of the guests.

footprint

Jiahui,
perhaps if your hubby know his relatives well, might be able to give a rough estimate of how many relatives he had in all.

Since NCQ will allow 2 or 3 reserved tables, so at least can ensure will have enough tables?

jiahui

Hi Ann
I choose Cream of mango and pomelo.
Been to food tasting already. Quite nice.
My AD is about 2 weeks after Mooncake festival. Hopefully the pomelo will be better.

True that people has been killing too many sharks.
Un fortunately, Sharks fin soup has been part of the tradition.
Always a MUST have in wedding banquet.

Hi Poohise
Thanks for the advise.
Hubby can roughly estimate how may relatives he has.
But they wanted to invite their friends, which we never know how many spouse or kids they will be bringing.
Very hard to estimate.
My feeling is like I'm placing a bet in gambling den. Quite stressful.

xuer21

jiahui,
if not u just take the confirmed no. of tables.. then u est say abt 5 reserve tables from Huiling.. its better to reserve more and only open the tables when necessary...

ann,
ya the docummentary i got watched b4.. very cruel one... but no choice for the sake of presentation....

bitbit2318

Hi Ann,

I just have my AD in June. During my food tasting i choose honeydew sago for dessert. The honeydew sago quite sweet and they add a kind of condenser in which is small and black in colour. I don know hw to descibe. In the end i choose Cream of mango and pomelo.

jiahui

Hi Michelle
Thanks for your suggestion.
Maybe I should try to ask HL, to let me have more reserve tables rather than the usual two.
Hopefully she can close one eye to help me.

xuer21

jiahui,
ermmm reserve tables only can have 2??? i tot can more??? but she will help u one.. dun worry... btw, what theme are u having??

jiahui

Hi Michelle
You mean reserve tables actually can have more?
I thought only standard 2 reserves. Coz I haven't ask HL yet.
If can have more, that would be great. So I can expect the sudden guests.

I haven't met up with HL for the theme and favors yet.
Tentatively I would choose flower theme.
Btw, do they got new theme coming up?

ryanon123

but if you had less confirmed tables .. you will get less parking coupons and less invitation cards...

not sure if it affects the per bottle wine per table confirmed or not.

thocat

Hey there i will be meeting HL soon to confirm theme etc.
just want to check with someone, what are the things that we need to choose? which theme is nicer?

pannie

Seems like quite cream of mango & pomelo is good. But in dec, I dun think Pomelo will be in season liao right? Haha!!

xuer21

jiahui,
ermm there have been news regarding some discussion between the hotel to add on additional themes but till now still no news lor.. i think flowers is quite romantic and nice.... when u meeting huling? i meeting her on the 26th for the theme and favours

ryan,
ermm carpark coupons should be ok one cos its impossible to give everyone who drives. the no. of btl of wine is only per confirmed table...

happinessbliss

i just met Hui Ling today.

The theme still the same. Only got Floral or Crystal... But she told me if Phoenix room u can have a choice to have drapes on the stage decor...thats something new for Phoenix room...

Kavitha < Just need to finalised yr menu, choose yr theme and choose yr favour. Then decide if u wan to use their DVD player and or if you bringing yr laptop(so that they could connect for u)...she will also tell u what to expect on yr AD and also to decide what time u wan yr snacks send to u... We choose to let them send to us at 4plus before my Makeup begins...Cos after makeup quite difficult to eat liao... and also the groom will need to go for a short briefing and stuff... so its better to let him eat early... hope I did not miss out anything...

jiahui

Hi Michelle
I haven't fix an appointment with Huiling yet.
Still headache over the table matter.
I'm trying to estimate the numbers of table as accurate as possible.
Hopefully I can meet her by next week.

Hi Ann
I think they have pomelo throughout the year.
Maybe during mooncake festival, pomelo is the sweetest.

thocat

hey happinessbliss, thank you for the infor. wedding date in nov. now like so confuse so many things to do.

anybody have wedding day morning schedule. i have no idea on wat to write or draft out.

shi2308

anyone has any pictures of cinnamon room at novotel clarke quay?
wld really appreciate if i cld take a look!
or any comments about cinnamon room that you might like to share? am wondering if i shd hold my banquet there...

thanks in advance!

rjwedding

hi jiahui,

i had a terrible time doing the table arrangement too previously.. only till 2 days before my wedding day then I confirm the number of tables with NCQ.. alot alot of changes even till the last hr I still got changes to the tables.. nowadays people will know we need to confirm the number of tables with our hotel before the wedding day, they are willingly to let u know how many people in their family who will be coming for your wedding. just tell ur HB to talk to ur in-laws again to get them to briefly ask their relatives n friends how many people are coming.. just tell them not that you don't welcome their whole family, but you need to know the rough numbers now.. i don't think it's not polite at all..

imagine from 42 tables to 50 tables in the end.. how much changes i've made.. my in-law just keep on adding n adding.. so no choice i keep on changing n changing... talk to them nicely, I believe they will understand..

Hey kavitha,

my wedding is in november too, and i'm also feeling the stress, like so many details to remember, so scared that i'll forget to do something. I was also trying to come out with the day's schedule over the weekend.

You are meeting HL soon? I haven't even gone for my food tasting.

x1aozhu

Hi Blurgroom's bride &amp; Kavitha,

I'm Nov's bride too... Have not gone for my food tasting as well... Seems like there's alot of things haven settled
I will be meeting my bridesmaids next week to discuss on the day's schedule... Hopefully can get one thing settle

Hi Xiaozhu,

i realised as i was doing the schedule that the dinner is even more important, cos it'll be quite rush, so all the timing has to be right. I intend to appoint someone as time keeper, to keep track of what needs to be done at what time. I intend to meet up with my jie meis soon too. Must really get ppl u can trust to delegate the duties.

jiahui

Hi R&amp;J
Thanks for sharing with me.
Indeed , guestlist is the most headache.

I guess for my in law side, maybe the 'Pride' matter. With sensitive issue involved.
Because my hubby is the eldest son.
They First time doing the wedding stuffs.
With their traditional thinking, if my hubby ask them directly, might have conflict with them, which i don't wish that to happen.
Luckily, he has his godmother to help in estimation.
So relatives' tables 70% settled. But the rest for their friends tables, got to 'gamble' a bit liao.
As i mentioned earlier, will ask for more reserve tables from NCQ.

vanessakww

Hi all, any new updates on the wedding fair for NCQ? And is the food portion been upgarded already? Feel like taking Cinnamon room in June 09.

x1aozhu

Hi Blurgroom's bride,

Ya.. I think is time to delgate the duties liao if not if do alone will be veri stress...

Btw, when will u be meeting HL for food tasting?? I haven made any appt with her yet lei...

funfun

Is good to spread the duty load among ur jiemuis and hengdais..

Advices fr my fren tt attended 12weddings tis yr.. haha..:
JM==do reception, time chk, bridal gown change and hairdo for 2nd march in.
HD== prepare photo taking table 2tables in adv, IT stuff.. lik music and video playing.

I met HL 2wks ago to finalized my thg for nov.. coz will onli be back 2wks b4 my wedding.. b4 i meet her, i did a detailed worksheet that wat i need to confirm wt her, since she is following my case, wat worse is she din reli read wat i've prepared.. fainted.. waste my effort..

To me, she is not so negociatable compare to Jamie, and not so considerate to the customer side.. in fact she asking us to be more considerate for the restaurant side coz dun wan to waste food for increasing no. of reserve table for me.

But she allow me to tell her the confirm table 1wk b4 my wedding la.. so to be positive, I oso dun wan to waste food.. haha..

Then, dunno y HL is always on leave and not prompt.. I still waiting for her to send me the finalize theme and details via email..(asked her to photocopied on the spot but she refused)... still hvnt tell me wat type of cable and length for the extra projector... sian..

not much of gd advices fr her.. compare between Jamie and Ramesh.. so juz to beware and dun put high expectation..

Do ur homework and keep on email her to remind her... is better to do earlier than is too late...

x1aozhu

Hi blurgroom's bride,

do u mean that if i email HL n she is not in, Kevin will read her mail n response to me??

Hi funfun,

If I'm not wrong, ur AD is 1 day b4 mine
But seems like you have more things settled where I'm still at a lost. Actually after I sign my contract with HL, she has nv contact nor email me for any updates. But luckily b4 Jamie left, she email me the things to be done for the last 3 months to my AD. Hence, I'm able to get my invitation cards done. But a pity she left...

adathong

I am planning to have my food tasting next month october, was wondering which food package is better - pleasure(748nett) or destiny(788nett)?

Hi Xiaozhu,

yes, i initially emailed HL, but Kevin replied on her behalf. Subsequently i just emailed Kevin, since he was the one who arranged for me. I wonder if i can just go direct to him for the theme selection and final details. Heard so much abt HL I also quite scared.

I went to T dragon yesterday. Quite disappointed in the selection of cards. But not willing to spend more on cards, cos dun really see the point. Anyway, realised we're quite late in printing the cards, cos it takes 2-3 weeks. So for November brides, dun put if off any longer or it'll really be too late.

xlan

mm.. i tink if u directly contact kevin.. when you finally meet up with him.. HL may eventually seat in to discuss with u as well.. this was our experience.. during our initial stage of sourcing our venues.. i email to their general enquiries account.. n kevin was the 1 replied and arranged for everything.. till we finally met up n sat down to discuss further, HL appeared and did a quick intro n sat down to go through all the things together.. some of the items kevin seems can't commit and would turn to HL who did the final "say".. I'm not sure if HL of a higher position or Kevin is new to their team.. but whatever the reasons.. now we jus wish everything would go smoothly and as long as they make sure someone to attend to our every needs and doubts.. that's all we hoping for

funfun

For wat I knew, there's only 2ppl in sales team...whom are HL n K. I emailed to K but HL took over my case.

and HL now is Asst Manager...

Xiaozhu...
I finalised most detailed coz bo bian.. haha.. wun be ard Sg...
Dun kencheong k.. u will hv enough time to prepare.