Novotel Clarke Quay

ixoral

Michelle> i'm looking at Nov'09. what abt u? since u signed liao, did they give u the perks of the upcoming show?

u liased with Huiling only rite? initally i told her i can only meetup on weekends. then she said on wkends she will always get another colleague to help cos she wont be ard. but i thk after jamie, she call the shots now? (can anyone cfm?) so i'm gg to squeeze out a weekday to meet her up.

mich55

Mine is Jun09. dont have the wedding show perks, I signed up w Jamie...few mths ago, Jamie told me wedding show date havnt firm up yet...

I met Huiling once during my first contact w the hotel...then I change to Jamie, cos Huiling was on long leave. You can try weekday evening...I usually meet them evenings, after work...must make appt fast, cos they v busy...

Have you seen the ballroom alr?? If you just want to see the ballroom, can just pop by, but chk w them got weddings or not...cos first time I just go, the cinnamon room didnt seem nice...after deco & lightings is better.

ixoral

ya i'm gg to meet huiling on a wkday evening soon
i have seen both ballrooms with AD decor on the same day. both ballrm happen to choose the crystal theme i thk. so when i see both decor, they look identical to me, except for ballroom size. haha. but still very nice.. both look just as grand

any idea if NCQ provides red carpet for march-in? when i go chk out the ballrms, both also got no red carpet. i was thkg maybe still early to put in case dirty. or is it they dont have at all? :-X

edwin_teoh

ixoral, when you sign up, you dun have to choose a menu yet. normally is b4 food tasting they ask u confirm menu.

Red carpet seldom pple use nowsaday. cause now got the stand. In the past red carpet act as a guide for the couple to march in, now most change to stands which serve the same purpose. but if u do like to regenerate the oldness, maybe u can try bring ur own red carpet (if u able to get it)...else i dun think NCQ do provide for u.

moon_27

so in general, which menus are the so called popular ones? and any specific dishes which are extremely tasty?

Please advice! Thanks

ryanon123

As you can reads from my last post, i thought the poached live prawns are quite nice. The first dish i think must get the coin meat and spring rolls.

happinessbliss

hi, i'm going for my food tasting next week. Just want to find out if anyone tasted their Signature Yum Ring before? Which is better between the Poached Live Prawns and Signature Yum Ring?

jiahui

I went for my food tasting last evening. Food prepared for 10 pax. But very filling.
Overall, quite satisfying.

Below are our feedback.

Phoenix Platter:
Jelly Fish - Ok to adult but worry might be a bit spicy to children or elderly.
Drunken Chicken - Average
Gold Coin meat - Nice
Spring Roll - Nice if serve hot.
Prawn salad - Not bad

Shark's Fin soup - Despite the past negative feedback in forum, it turn out well in our food tasting.
Not too gluey and can see shark's fin. Hopefully can main the standard for AD.

Roast Chicken with Deep fried garlic - Nice. Especially the crispy fried garlic, won't leave the garlic smell in mouth. I like it.

Steam Red Graupar in Hong Kong Style - Best!! Fish is so HUGE. My father really enjoy so much that he even cleared the fish head.

Wok fried prawn with celery - Prawn is very fresh and crunchy. But very salty.
We refered to the captain. They wanted to replace another plate for us. But we turned down and felt appreciated for their apology.
Coz we still got other dishes to go.

Braised sea cucumber with spinach - Nice!! The gravy taste good. I love the sea cucumber and mushroom.

Fragrant Rice in lotus leaf - Nice. Despite being the second last dish and we were too full, we still managed to finish all.
The rice is just right for us. Really fragrant.

Cream of mango and pomelo - Sweet and Very refreshing. Mango cream is nice. But Pomelo gotta depend on season. Taste A bit bitter.
My AD is 2 weeks after mooncake fesival.
Hopefully that season, can produce sweet pomelo.

fly05

Just to share, i just had my food tasting in July.

The garlic roasted chicken is nice, but on the whole, it is a bit salty.

The Shark Fins was alright, i hear alot of negative comments on the Shark Fins, but i must say the presentation was good, you can actually see the Shark Fins when the waiter open up the lid, they are 'floating' on the top, and the waiter will separate the shark fin equally into separate bowls.

The Poached Live Prawns is OK, i didn't try it, a bit allergic to prawns, as it is only poached live prawns, the wine did not get 'into' the prawns so it was quite blant.

For Fish, we choose Traditional Classic Style Garoupa, not very nice, we are changing to Teochew Style, the fish is fresh but my mum complain there is a 'tu'(meaning soil) taste.

We had the Steamed Fragrance Rice in Lotus Leaf, it was nice, very fragrant.

Lastly, the dessert was Yam Paste. I personally doesn't fancy that, but i must say the Yam Paste is very nice. Not too sweet and not too blant.

Hope my information helps

kovan_gal

understand tat NCQ sent us the checklist stated tat three mths before wedding collection of wedding card from supplier for printer.

how does it go abt it? contact huiling?

happinessbliss

kovan_gal < u can go straight to T-dragon and tell them u are from Novotel... then number of tables can liao.... i emailed Hui Ling the last time I want to do my cards but she was away and so some forummers here told me to go straight to T-dragon which i did...

duffy_75

Hi Kovan,

Please refer to the checklist that Jamie sent me last time for your reference. For cards, you can go to T-Dragon and select. Just tell them which hotel you from and how many cards you entitled. Then they will send the order to the hotel and your wedding cordinator. Food tasting also need to arrange yourself. Decide on the menu and send to the cordinator. Need to give 1 week in advance notice (Mon to Thurs only). No need to wait for hotel to tell you to collect your cards. Hope its helps.

<center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_msword.gif

Wedding Checklist(for guest).doc (29.7 k)</td></tr></table></center>

happinessbliss

Oh and just a note for those going for food tasting... Once u select yr menu for tasting, should u wan to change to another package or any of the dish for example... u can only upgrade (go for the more ex package), and no dwngrade is allowed... meaning for eg, u take a $748 table for tasting, after that u only can chage yr dish but the amt must be more or equivalent to $748... u can't choose the $718 menu anymore.... erm... i hope it's clear....

rjwedding

I've left-over beers from my wedding. 15 bottles left. Any takers?? 15 bottles for $65 only. PM me for more details.. Thanks!!

kovan_gal

oh we hav to go there ourself?

not NCQ arrange mah? btw can i have the T-dragon add.

Pardon me for asking so many Qs.

may i knoe wat r the steps usually u gals will do. after collect the wedding cards from T-dragon then .....

select ur card...select ur wedding favours...

moon_27

can anyone comment on braised abalone mushroom and spinach? I went to my food tasting last week and felt that is not so nice. Me thinking of changing to the yam ring? anyone can comment on the yam ring?

happinessbliss

kovan_gal < u just go straight to T-dragon tell them which hotel u r from, then the percentage of cards entitled... its either u collect the cards u choose to your own printer...or u may choose to let them print too... of cos they will charge u for the printing charges... For me, i let them do the printing also as I'm lazy to run from place to place

Moon < I will go for my food tasting coming tuesday...i have request for the veg to be change to yam ring.... however i will only be able to comment on the yam ring after i try it... sorry i'm not being of some help here...

xlan

any1 hv experience with their bridal suite? i'm wondering how big is the room.. cos if enough space i don hv to book additional room for my helpers... anybody can help?

rjwedding

hi csl,

got to depends how many helpers u had.. for mine, my xiongdis &amp; jiemeis went to the hotel with us, so we booked another room for them.. the xiongdis take the helpers room n my jiemeis shared the bridal suite with me.. i engaged a MUA for my mother &amp; sisters and they used my bridal suite too..

moon_27

Hi hi

can anyone comment on braised abalone mushroom and spinach? I went to my food tasting last week and felt that is not so nice. Me thinking of changing to the yam ring? anyone can comment on the yam ring?

happinessbliss

Moon < i change to yam ring... to my hubby and family, they all have thumbs up for the yam ring...even my hubby's little niece and nephew also like...

fly05

Can i know how long does it takes to march-in for Cinnamon room? Currently, i'm trying to work out the timing, so that i can choose the segment of the song i like to use for marching in.

xuer21

csl,
i saw the bridal room b4.. quite big.. but hor.. i still booked a helper's room for my jm and xd.. cos i would prefer to take a good rest b4 the evening banquet...then as for my mother and sis, my mother booked an overnight room for themselves as my sis and her hubby is staying overnight so that they can fetch me to the bank the next day..

happiness&amp;bliss,
is the yam ring nice?? i feel like changing to that too ... how is the portion like?

happinessbliss

I personally quite like the yam ring. Its with vegetables stuffing.... the vegetable stuffing is plentiful ...the yam ring is nice..crispy outside and moist inside... my hubby and family like it too....

xuer21

happiness&amp;bliss,
which package u taking? i taking the desire package... but the price i got for the ala carte menu is the original veg is 65 but then the yam ring is 60.. will there be any reduction in the price???

ixoral

they wont reduce the price if you choose an item of lower price. but u will need to top-up if it's the other way round.

Anyone gg for the wedding show this sat?

misspea

hi CSL, my fiance and me just went to check out the bridal suite just now. it's not really very big lor and the setup is quite old already. however, it's just for a night stay.. should be okay ba.

it's facing clarke quay and you can see the SG flyer. there is a sofa bed in the "living room" area which you can extend. the bedroom can be separated by closing the sliding door. the helper's room would be priced at about $125 from 2-6pm.

hope the info is useful!

ixoral

since they reno their lobby and ballrooms, but like never reno their bridal suite hor? if only...then NCQ will all be perfecT! :p

misspea

ya.. one reason why i chose NCQ is bcos i like the foyer area esp for phoenix ballroom and the lobby looks nice.

but hor, the ballroom actually looks quite old. haha. look up at the ceiling and the "chandeliers" (or rather lights) look super obiang lor. haii..

but can't ask for much la. it's really value for money, don't ya think?

xlan

p-lyn, thank u so much u r so sweet!! tats exactly wat i was thinking.. whether will there b a sliding door in between "living" n "bedroom" area.. cos tis setting i can have 3 parties to change clothes at the same time (incl our bathroom)or jus a "extra room" for 1 person's accomm.. i tink shld b enuff space for us all.. n nite time if i need any help (cos can 4c hubby will b acting merlion tat nite n i'd most prob need help frm brothers or sisters)..

both hubby n i tink the place looks new n pretty ok.. plus shopping mall shld finished reno the whole place will look vibrant n new.. shld b v nice by next yr.. we quite like the place lo.. n frankly they r really very value for money..

misspea

no problem csl!

but for the bridal suite HL showed us yesterday, the sliding door was stuck. even when my fiance tried to force the door back, it couldn't move! so be sure to check for that or inform them yah?

we're hoping that the xiongdis will "step up" to their job and help my fiance (who is quite a gd drinker) drink instead, so that he doesn't become merlion. i have emetophobia (fear of vomitting) so i told him i'll leave him alone if he really does vomit. hahaha.

we're kinda thinking of having a chillout time later after the banquet at Clarke Quay (if we are not tired by then). Haha then again, this is to be decided on the day itself.

CSL, when is your wedding date?

xlan

hee... erm... tings r hard to say.. so i better prepare for the worst.. haa!

our day will b on next yr 12 july =)

ixoral

just wondering.. i read that all of u managed to get NCQ to increase the no. of parking coupons. but when i tried to ask, HL was v firm that it will remain at 25% and they cant increase it any further as the carpark is shared w liang court.

Anyone experienced this? or is it just me?

moon_27

I am taking the desire package too.. and changing to yam ring.. but seems cheaper as you mention. Have u went for the food tasting? When is your AD

xuer21

ixoral,
i had 30% .. i think its becosthat by sept or dunno when this yr, the Liang court will be renovated finish.. so they expect higher traffic flow.. thus they cannot afford to give an increase in the parking coupons liao....

moon,
ya i confirm change to yam ring first.. taste liao if not nice i change back to the vege... although its cheaper but i find quite alot of ppl here mention the yam ring not bad... My AD is on the 18th oct.. most likely going for my food tasting in sept.. but when dunno yet.. u le?

busygal

Hi can i ask what type of vege do they hav inside the yam ring? i have tried b4 yam ring wif prawns n cashew nuts in other restaurants but nvr come across yam ring wif vege..

pooh83

Hi all, my AD is just round the corner next month... 20 Sept 2008. Asked HL to give me a day room she say cannot woh..Asked her to give me a normal room also cannot when i increased my confirmed tables to 40 tables. Find that she is a bit -straight- follow book by book one.. Sianz

xuer21

gina,
actually its quite known that NCQ is very strict on these things one.. the only thing they will be lenient on is the carpark coupons and invitation cards lor... so no choice got to accept it lor..

ryanon123

Ya, to be far it's not because HL, but NCQ generally are always very strict with their package.

I booked an extra room @ $225++ and i think now more expensive, however got my carpark coupons up to 30%. Doubt i will need so many carpark slots too. Hee

kiwimelon

Hey ladies,

Happy to see that NCQ thread is so active.
I'm also BTB next year Oct. This weekends they're having the wedding show, anyone register? I've signed up and will be heading down to view the actual setting.

busygal

hi kiwimelon,

i will be goin down this sat.. juz recieve their invites today but no actual day itinerary stated. wonder if i shld reach at 1pm as many weddin show they tend to start the main activity rather late. anyone can advise?