Noble House

pinkie

Wenn,
my deposit is not forfeited, just need to pay another $1030 for deposit, so total deposit paid is $2060..
My dream wedding car is either be a lavander colour jeep (like Jimny) or vintage convertible.. both of which my fh and i dun have.. we will not get the car from our bridal shop as they provide merz and i tink it's little bit common. FH dun support the idea of renting my dream car coz he said our wedding use a rented car like not very personalised, which i tink is quite true.. so i guess i will not be able to have my dream wedding car liao..

Flowee,
Is the backdrop deco details in the contract? I dun tink my contract has anything like dat.. anyway, what deco will they provide? You've any idea?
I'm tinking of transporting some of the flower stands from my late morning church wedding to Noble house in the evening, but dunno if the flowers will still look gd..

I'm staying in SK too, same as flowee..
speaking of my flat makes me so sad, coz we've applied since '99 and the house will only be ready estimated Jan 2005! All my frds were very shocked that it's so long.. coz last time actually we are in the 'Q' system, then HDB offer us a site for BTO. It's quite near to Buangkok (not quite sure of the spelling) MRT, so we opt for that and chose an unit there, now it's just beginning its foundation works i tink

flowee

gd morin ladies

wenn

mi eyein on coupes as my weddin car...
heard a lot of comments on coupe bein 2 small as 4 weddin car coz of the can-can of the WG...
gonna c how big my gown is b4 rentin the bridal car...
my 2nd choice will b a jeep ( rav4 )...

pinkie

u check the contract n the backdrop aint with the package???
the std back drop will b a backdrop with the names of the bride n groom...
the cost of the backdrop cost $200+...
its a great idea of transportin ur church deco 2 the restaurant...
able 2 save a bit there...
i think its more advisable 2 let ur florist koe abt the intention of reusin the flowers till dinner time...
i m sure she will b able 2 suggest somethin more lastin...

oh u also a sker???
u koe i was like u in the bto queue but we din select any unit eventuali as ours is the last few daz of selection ( thot onli low units left which we aint keen of gettin )...
hdb gave us the bto units ( std ones )which is opp rivervale mall...
we went 4 the walk in in apr this yr...
n manage 2 get a extg unit which is behind the bto site we r supposed 2 select...
my love nest is able 2 overlook the progress of the bto site n i do agree its super slow in progress...

my gf who had chosen 1 of the units in tat bto site, they forfeited their bookin fee ( somethin like 8K ) n bought a unit thru the walk in @ cck...
though they forfeited some money when they cancel their unit, i think they manage 2 save some money on their reno ( coz 5% gst from next yr onwards ) n also they r gettin married next yr it definateli better 2 hv ur love nest ready by then...

i supposed u hv the intention of waitin 4 ur unit 2 b ready than 2 cancel n walk in instead???

wenn

Good day gals!

My dream car is the BMW roadster... but FH dun have driving license although I have.... but I can't possibly be the one driving

Me going to c shifu 2molo 4 ROM date
Then need him to tell us wat are the things to be done for guo da li & an chuang dayz.

Well,, me not so lucky as u gals to get to have a new love nest cos FH bought resale flat with his brother 1.5yrs back. So cannot sell current flat b4 3 year limit
But his dad wants me to take over his brother's share of the flat

So, now looking at the type of bedroom furniture we want and his dad will be paying for it

pinkie

allo floweee..

I tink maybe i booked with Noble House quite some time ago(ard Apr this yr) and the backdrop details was not included at that time? If it's only the name then it's ok, coz I tink we can do without the name..

Ya, we dun want to cancel and walk in as not quite sure what kind of units and location are available. And we quite like the unit we chose as we are the first few to chose in the BTO, so it's very high floor and near to the train station. Guess I gotta endure..

I'll be gog to Noble House one of these weekend to have dinner there, so as to check out the food and deco there during christmas season.. did you'all go there for dinner before?

gwen

Hi Pinkie n flowee,

I didn't notice the backdrop details in the contract too. =P

Pinkie: I have not been to Noble House for dinner before but my hubby did. Said the food's very good.

Wenn: Its good to take possession of the resale flat also! Save a lot of $$ on reno. =P
So how's your furniture shopping?

flowee

gd mornin ladies

pink n gwen

its best 2 check out with noble hse again on the backdrop...
it cost $200 4 a normal 1 ( with names of bride n groom )...

wenn

Bonjour ladies!

Quite busy this morning... beginning of month thing...

Hee hee, have not check the backdrop details yet. Only remember from their photos that they will provide the backdrop of the 2 hearts with the couple's names. But not sure if we have to pay 4 it.

Gwen: Yah, it is good to get his brother's half of the flat transferred to me. But hope that he's ok with it. Once it is transferred to me, I'd have to take over his portion of the renovation loan. It costs them $30K. Last sat went down to Harvey Norman to look-look @ their beds. Some quite nice. Most likely going for wooden headboard type. May pop by Ikea and other places in the coming months.

gwen

Hi flowee,

Will go check it out tonight. Hope its there....

Wenn: Wow! You have to shoulder the renovation loan also? Oh well, $30K for reno is quite reasonable. You still got a good deal! ;P

Yah, Harvey Norman beds are pretty nice. Take your time to shop for the one you really like.

pinkie

How many mths in advance will u girls go for the food tasting? They give 50% disc for a table of 10 for that, rite?

wenn

hi pinkie,
according to contract is min 1 month in advance for food tasting. haven't decide when to go for tasting yet.

gwen

Hi flowee,

Happy Birthday! => How did you spend your birthday? ;P

The indoor photoshoot was alright. Having my outdoor photoshoot this coming Monday. Think it'll be more tiring. =P

Hi pinkie, think i'll go about 2-3 months for food tasting.

pinkie

oh, flowee, when's ur b'day? anyway happy belated birthday!

Tink i'll go 3 mths before the actual wedding too.. guess not too gd to go too early as chef might change and things like that, but i'll go Noble House for dinner with my fh sometime this mth or in dec.. want to check out if they got any deco for Christmas and standard deco for their wedding dinner.. hope the weekend that we dine there got wedding couple that din take up the whole hall

flowee

gwen

tks 4 the well wishes...
din c the noble hse threat until pinkie reopened it...

hows ur outdr shots???

pinkie

tks 4 ur well wishes...

yah its 50% of the price 4 10paxs 4 food tastin...
u can make use of the food tastin as ur parents meetin up time...

wenn

finalised ur rom date???

wenn

flowee,
not yet. quite busy these few days. FH fell asleep last nite and din call home to check w FIL. but will keep u posted

just wondering, is it necessary to wear a new dress for ROM? thinking of recycling my D&D dress....

pinkie,
do keep us posted on NH's deco ok?

gwen

hi flowee,

The outdoor photoshoot was alright. Very lucky to be blessed with good weather the whole day! => Now I'll have to wait to see the photos before knowing the photoshoot turned out well or not. =P

flowee

wenn

oh hvnt finalised ur rom date...
i personali find its ok 2 recycle ur d&d outfit...

gwen

remember mux share share ur nice nice pixs hor...

pinkie

i was tinking, my date is 2 days after christmas, so can still play some christmas songs during the dinner or not? what do u'all tink? i quite like some christmas songs by some oldies singers... sounds quite romantic actually

wenn

pinkie,

maybe can get waiters to wear the santa hats and walk-in during the 1st dish presentation with the winter wonderland song or any other song

flowee

pinkie

wenn's idea pretti cool...

perhaps u can get a xmas tree...
ask ur guests 2 hang their congrate notes as ornament...

flowee

ladies

my weddin date is 8th mth 14daz of the lunar calendar...
1 daz b4 the mooncake festival...
any gd ideas???

wenn

flowee,

change ur garden theme to mooncake fest theme???? give out mooncakes as wedding favours????

wenn

flowee,

haven't really thot abt dat....

maybe instead of flower stands, can get stands to hang lanterns, candle lights on each table, get those mini mooncakes (1 or 2 piece per person) as favours..... maybe a chang er meets niu lang skit....

flowee

wenn

wow pretti innovative...
tks so muz 4 ur suggestion...
the lantern u r referin 2 those chinese lantern when we r kiddo???
perhaps can use teresa teng song 'yue liang dai biao wo de xin' rite???

wenn

flowee,

dun mentioned it....

me on the other hand, dunno wat will be my theme.... at 1st considered french,, then changed to romance,,,,

yah, those lanterns lor,,, oso, i was thinking of those colourful paper lanterns but dunno whether will be safe or not....

seems like quite a lot of pple considered teresa's song,,, quite nice but dun use the tao zhe's version cos the words are not appropriate...

flowee

wenn

nt sure if i wana the lantern festival theme or nt...
wana somethin more romantic which i think the garden theme sounds gd...

french theme sounds cool...
romantic theme can use french songs also mah...

will decide when the time is nearer...

this evenin durin dinner time my sis commented tat i need 2 tone down a bit....
if nt, nt nice in WG liao...
argh reali muz do somethin abt it liao...

wenn

flowee,

hee hee,,, i'll wait till later then decide or else i'd keep changing my mind on wat theme i want.... now FH is reviewing some french songs which we bought coz although pple dun understand the language, some of the lyrics not good...

to tone the body, can go for those body combat or kickfit classes... besides, those stretch classes like yoga & pilates are quite good... i used to go for personal training but stopped liao coz my save $$$ liao...

flowee

wenn

yah lor will wait till the time is nearer than decide on the theme again...

had started joggin with my guy...
but gonna sign up 4 some tonin classes...
tried pilates but dun hv muz effect on mi... :p

pinkie

flowee..

I like 'yue liang dai biao wo de xin' oso.. i tink it's a very romantic song, so u can seriously consider this song.. i like it so much that i figure out how to play it with the piano although i never learn piano before.. hee.. can only play the one hand version kind lah.. FH say can pass, sounds very much like the song..

Wenn..
I had a frd who took french class in the french sch near Newton, tink it's alliance something, and dat time i was in her car she was interpreting a french song to me, i tink the title 'gipsy' or something like dat, cant really rem.. she loves the song as she tink it's ultra romantic, if u int i can ask her the exact title.. i rem a certain part of the song is interpreted as 'love has no skin', meaning there's no boundaries in love, quite cool huh..

I asked FH abt the Christmas song idea but he say like abit funny leh, coz our wedding day is already 2 days after Christmas, not before Christmas.. what do u'all tink? gimme ur opinions pls..

Have u'all bought ur wedding bands yet? i might be buying soon (though abit kiasu) coz now soo kee and lee hwa has discount for wedding bands.. it used to be that their store wide discount exclude wedding bands, but now it's all included.. i tink soo kee has more design than lee hwa and i like their romance diamond wedding bands, the diamond looks quite gd quality..
I had checked out Tiffany coz i really like their bracelets design, but realised that their wedding bands have quite a couple of other jewellers copying and at a much cheaper price, so decided against Tiffany.

will u'all buy platinum or white gold? initially i wanted very much platinum rings as they are less reactive and thus wun tarnish, coz i tink wedding rings is very symbolic and meant for a lifetime, but some of the sales pple in soo kee said that platinum are not scratch proof and it cant be altered if needed in future. And they say i can always bring the white gold rings back to the shop once a yr to 'plate' again, cost $50 per pair.. now abit confused dunno how..

eh, seems to talk alot today, hope to hear from u'all soon...

wenn

bonjour pinkie cherie,,,,
it's the alliance francaise... i wanted to study there but quite ex. i would let u know later abt the song. FH is not very keen of having a theme for the wedding... he feels it is quite leh cheh..

haven't bought ROM rings yet. i quite like white gold but FH prefers to get complete gold. so this saturday would be checking out the goldsmiths around chinatown.

last nite went to check out the clauses of goldheart's xmas vouchers. can use w vip card but cannot buy wedding bands lor... if white gold tarnishes easily, then no point getting lor... goldheart can custom make the white gold pieces in yellow gold too.... but i like one of the gold ring with 9 small diamonds on top for $800.

what's ur budget for wedding bands? u know which places sell platinum bands? if too ex then, i'd settle for gold. i like simple designs.... saw a diamond solitaire at larry jewellery going for $5K.... told FH that he must get that for me if he strikes lottery

i asked my mum liao, she said the si dian jin i only need to wear when i go home for tea ceremony, so i dun need to match with EG or WG. phew.... coz i may get gold pieces lor...

gwen

hi pinkie,

My wedding band is made of platinum. I've always been a platinum fan so I guess I'm bias in that sense. =P

Though platinum scratches also, it's still harder than white gold. That's why you find that most white gold rings are thicker than platinum. Most important is you get the design that both you and your hubby likes. =>

flowee

hi pinkie

my bands r in platinum...
custom made it accordin 2 the fj series u can find them in aspial...
the fj ones r of white gold n cost 1k+ 4 1 pcs...
their platinum ones r 2x the price of their white gold ones...
custom made my bands @ 1.7k+ 4 a pair...

aint those conventional weddin bands...
its 0.6mm wide n 0.2mm thk...
mine is with a 0.05 diamond...

btw u gers hv engagement bands???
i onli hv 1 ideal weddin band...
\

wenn

u settled ur rom date???

gwen

hows life???
ard 4mths 2 ur big daz...
muz b buz lor...
muz keep us updated ok...

pinkie

flowee,

i have a solitaire that FH bought for me when he proposed, that can be the engagement ring, rite?

my frd just went to Noble House to have dinner (the normal kind, not wedding dinner) and she said the food was good and place is very nice and cosy.. glad that my future guest have good comments about the place..

wenn

flowee,
FIL finally called last nite. he fixed it on 10 june. But i dunno if that is a popular date since u said another gal from FBO is oso getting married on that date.

Got a whitegold eng ring w 0.1c diamond from FH but not yet settle my wedding bands yet. where did u go to custom make the platinum rings? most likely my si dian jin will be in yellow gold. so trying to psycho FH to get platinum bands lor..

pinkie,
most of my dad's business frens' sons held their wedding banquet @ noble house too. in fact, one of them even donated all the ang baos to charity!!!

pinkie

i'm thinking where can i hold my church wedding coz i realised that my church don't have the stained glass and chapel effect which i like..

Thinking of booking art museum auditorium as it looks very nice and i love the art museum as a whole, but don't know if the date will be available or not.. do u'll know of any other nice place?

flowee

gd sun evenin...

pinkie

ur fh proposed with tat solitare of coz its ur engagement ring lor...
i reckon u will b gettin a weddin band 4 ur solemnization...
hv fun shoppin ard...
u might wana 2 check out the jeweller if u wana 2 custom made ur bands...

last nite my grandma's sis ( aka known as my yi por ) she commented noble hse food is nice but ambiences a bit old liao...
will check out the florist when my date is nearer...

as 4 a chapel 2 hold ur solemnization, i personali like the st andrew catheral...
nt sure if they allow non church members 2 b solemnised there...
u can check it out...

wenn

congrates finali settled ur rom date...
the fbo bride u r referin 2 is tearz???
she is gettin wedded on 10 june 03...

u need the contacts 4 the jeweller???
email mi @ [email protected]...

my si dian jin most prob also in gold...
its ok since my parents oredi got mi a white gold set...

gwen

Hi flowee,

Yah, few months more to wedding... Very scared coz I've been dilly dallying. =P
House should be more or less fully done up by end of the year (to avoid the GST hike).
Have you settled all your reno problems? Whew! Finally, all the defects are solved last week. Hope yours have been smooth.

The photos will only be ready two months from now. Will keep you informed! =P

Btw, I went to check on my contract. Didn't notice any clause on the backdrop decoration. Think I'll ask them when I go for food tasting.

wenn,

I got my platinum bands from Felin. Find the designs are somewhat different from the rest. You may like to check it out?

I have booked my banquet with noble house on April next year.

I also did not notice any clause on the backdrop decoration, I remembered I asked them b4 about this. They told me that the deco will change and they will not know what will be the design.

I am planning to use their projector to gun some presentation. Any one has experience using that? How is their sound system?

No hotel room will be provided, any one like to share their experience in their dressing room?

gwen

hi 2bmarried,

I went to take a look at their dressing room when I went to book the banquet. Well, the room is quite alright. Not the super small and cramp type. Looks bright and clean. And its rather far away from the toilet. Dunno whether thatz a good thing or not. =P

vous

can anyone tell me how much the most ex "package" at noble house cost? or the range, roughly? i'm trying to find out for a friend who has been putting off calling them...

just a few notes abt rings... platinum rings can easily cost double or more of white gold. i've heard many versions of advantages and disadvantages of platinum vs white gold... call me a sceptic but i think they're mostly sales pitch or the sales person's personal preference. so why not buy one based on YOUR own personal preference?! :D nothing is scratch-proof, at least nothing on my fingers! and my platinum ring has been altered abt 3 times already. for me, there's just some unexplanable, special appeal to platinum... :p

wenn

hi vous,

u can access their website @ www.tunglok.com for the comparison of all their restaurant packages. ur fren can call joyce to make an appointment to find out more

Noble House Restaurant WEDDING PACKAGE

DETAIL PACKAGE
Superior — $458++ WEEKDAY / $478++ WEEKEND/- per table

Deluxe — $518++ WEEKDAY / $538++ WEEKEND/- per table

Prestige — $608++ WEEKDAY / $628++ WEEKEND/- per table

ROM Special Set — $348 NETT/- per table

pinkie

allo, flowee..

we've checked st.andrew's catheral some time ago; they only allow their members who had attend their church for at least a yr to hold wedding there.. i oso like that place alot, coz the ceiling is very high and overall it's very nice.. had more or less decided on art museum already.

I had bought my wedding bands already!!
I bought a band with a row of diamonds embedded around the band set in white gold, while fh's ring is a plain band of platinum with same width of mine, so it look quite matching although it was originally not a pair of wedding bands.. bought at soo kee. In fact realised that soo kee's design and diamonds are quite good.. wenn can go there take a look, now gd time to get coz 30% off all jewellery with diamond

Vous,
the package last time was in nett price,i tink it was $10 or $20 more than package as shown above ny Wenn. Now the price is not nett, so must add service charge, GST, cess.. so have to add 10 over percent to the price, thus last time price is slightly cheaper

gwen

I went to Noble House last week to settle the invitation card matters. Good news, they now provide the nice backdrop, FOC. So, the "xi" word will definitely be covered.

But i didn't see the fake wedding cake though. So dunno how it looks like.

Another piece of good news, we can now pay the bill by credit card. Think in 2001, payment only available in cash or cheque. This is a good time to accumulate points for your credit cards! =>

piggy

Pinkie,

The price is not nett, u r rite. But they r charging two ++s....the GST and cess...they r obsorbing the 10% svc charge. So for those holding wedding next year at Noble, it's additional 5% over the price/table lor....

Although my hubby said oni save 1%, it's better than nothing rite?....my wedding dinner will be at Noble on 4th Oct...

Wat! They r giving free for the backdrop??...the last time, when we r signing the contract, we hv to bargain like hell w the manager le, waste my effort!...kekekeke..... ;p

wenn

Hi Gwen & Piggy,

Thanks for the feedback

When i signed my contract recently, i understand that the backdrop is provided FOC along with the dummy cake. it shows the couple's names or something like that..

1% = a couple of hundreds too,,, depending on the number of tables u have

already make sure my FH apply credit card liao,,, dun want to waste time counting angbaos after the dinner,,, would be tired out then....

flowee

gwen

ur weddin date is nearer liao hor...
mar 03...

yah the xi word is no longer there when i visited them mths back...
the backdrop aint foc in my contract...
i exchange it 4 reception b4 my dinner...

think its still the obang pink color weddin cake...
can consider gettin a real weddin cake if the sight of tat cake reali pissed u off... :p

u sure we can pay off the balance after the dinner with credit card???
might need a couple of credit card 2 get tat amt rite...

piggy

u chat in fbo also???
saw someone of the same nick who is with noble hse...

ladies

our weddin dates 4 next yr is as follows:

gwen - mar 03
2bemarried - apr 03
flowee n wenn - sept 03
piggy - oct 03
pinkie - dec 03