Noble House

snowcat

I juz attended a wedding there. Its juz nice for 30 tables. Music and speech is well-coordinated. I think they must have improved their service. Plates are changed after every meal. Good service! Food is wonderful, except their fish not very fresh. Not much decoration, but the carvings on the walls, very authentic. High ceiling, very spacious!! Except if ppl take the lift from 1st floor, quite quiet and dark, u won't know if there's a wedding going on, until u take the lift to 6 flr. Otherwise, I think its one of the best place for restaurant kind of budget

ac

Hi all, I actually took up a package with Nobel House (meant for 2002). But because I now intend to go for another venue with ballroom, I intend to let go of my deposit (1K) for $700. (I have also got $500 discount from the total table bill.)

Noble House gave me open date until Dec 2003, but the date of wedding must be confirmed by Dec 2002.

The price per table is $528 nett. Can seat 30 tables without any pillar blockage. Can accomodate up to 55 tables.

Interested parties, please get back to me soon.

lynn

Hi AC,

Kindly tell me what's included in your package.
What's the charges for beer, any decorations
provided and how did you managed to get $500 off the bill? Thanks.

Lynn

cola

Just my 2 cents worth...My brother had his there. I think the lift lobby/entrance a bit ulu but the food was very memorable. The restaurant itself had high ceiling and very bright. But I personally feel there's only a small rm/office to do touch up and changing. However, I think it is convenient if you have many colleagues you want to invite as they can go there straight after work if you dinner is on a weekday. Overall, believe is value for money, but better book early.

jazz

Hi, I had my wedding dinner at Noble House last year (9 Dec 2001). Wonderful experience. I thought the food was really worth the price. My colleague who had attended 5 weddings during that period commented that the food was the best he had tasted.

The interior was authetic esp. they had some Christmas decor put up. However, I had my friends to decorate the back drop and reception area. I also ordered a dummy cake as I did not really fancy the one they had.

Try asking them to dim the lights so that the ambience will be more 'classy'. They can also provide tea lights on the tables. Just ask from them at no extra costs.

The non-pillar area was fine. Guests can see us clearly. My video coordinator also commented that their sound system is rather good.

As I had my sis. to decorate my cards, I did not take up their cards offer. Instead they replaced it with more carpark coupons. Parking is definitely not a problem there.

pinkie

I've booked with Noble hse liao, just ysterday..

I like the interior alot, and tink it's quite value for money... but i oso dun like the dummy cake, we were tink of not having the cutting cake part, coz anyway it's oso dummy cake, we feel it's very weird to pretend pretend..
How's the deco there? seems like they dun have much deco there.. i dun like the double 'xi' they show me in the pics.. may consider getting a florist to do up the place... any idea how much we need to spend to get it look nice nice? and any florist to recommend?

jazz

Hi Pinkie,

You are right! We really hated the 'xi' word. Our friends helped us to cover the word. They bought some beautiful fabric and sewed it into something like a curtain and 'pasted' over it. They made and put up small hearts on it. Very nice. Mabbe you can get your friends to help.

You can also try 'Bridalinc. I think their website is www.bridalinc.com. I got my dummy cake thru' them.

pinkie

hi, jazz
thks for ur advice... how come u hate the 'xi' still need to cover up? cant u just tell them not to put it up?
did u engage florist to deco the place or u just ask ur frds to help? we were tinking of doing some simple deco ourselves, but might be a bit rush, and not fully confident of doing a gd job.. but i scare that if we anyhow find some florist, I may not be satisfied with the deco.. i'm quite choosy and can be quite a perfectionist at times...

jazz

Pinkie,

I think you may want to drop by at Noble House and ask them to show you the 'Xi'. The word is actually behind a sliding door which they will open to reveal the word during weddings. You can request for them not to reveal it but the backdrop will be very plain then.

As I have mentioned earlier, I got my frens to help.

I am looking for my wedding banquet for next year and I come across noble house.

Any comments on their service lately?

I noticed that they do not provide hotel rooms... and they now dun offer nett price for their package.

Is it worth?

Any comments

tyr

I notice in the forum that some of u recommend about noble house. Wanna find out where exactly it is located. Do anyone have the contact or advise me where it is located?

Cheerio

cheerios

Hi Henry,

great food!! but ambience wise is average, so depends on your priorities. the stage aso appears a little small and cramped esp during yam-seng as many relatives and friends go up to toast.

i considered this place when i was planning for my wedding but i had too many tables. there's aso pillars and thus blockage if u need to open up the rooms by the side.

good luck!

excited bride

Hi cheerios,

The food is very cheap and good....really what u call value for $. I was very keen to have my dinner there initially becos of the food(i'm a food freak) but took a hotel eventually cos there were a lot of pillars that will block the view and my FH doesn't like the ambience.

The only setback is the ambience (as compared to a hotel) butyou can spruce it up a bit - check with the captain or manager if you can decorate the restaurant yrself? =) Another thing to note: As long as the whole restaurant is not booked up, any patron of the restaurant(not invited guests) can still come in to dine. So you should double confirm on that before you sign up.

henry

Hi cheerios and exicted bride,

thanks for your comments... really apreciated your time spent here... I was thinking of having about 30 odds tables.. Ya.,..I heard that the food is fantastic..how about service wise?? any +++ to go along with the package??

henrytracy

Hi cheerios and exicted bride,

Sorry..Something to add on... haha... any other resturants you pple can suggest to me?? My budget is about 500 plus per table... I hope to get a centralised area. Thanks a million... I'm really in a lost down... :-(

worried_bride_to_b

any one got any idea on how they will decorate the restaurant during festive season? I booked my banquet at Noble house & its at the end of the year.Would they put xmas trees or xmas decor? i'm afraid it mite looked weird if i were to put up my own decoration together w those already put up by the restaurant. I'm thinking of a chinese theme since the interior resembles shophouse setting..

cheerios

Hi Henry,

i remembered the service was ok, and dun remember anything bad abt it, based on my personal experience.

as for other restaurants, u may wish to check out Pearl River at Suntec?? my hubby attended a dinner there and he told me food and ambience were ok. i think it's within your budget too. Can chk it out!

Hi Expected Bride, yes, like u mentioned, walk-in guests are permitted if the restaurant is not fully filled. so Henry, u may wish to consider this factor. I hv personally went to noble house a few times as i like their buffet dinner, and at times, came across wedding dinners too. But we were seated in the side room and they will semi-close the doors when the wedding is going on.

flowee

hi going2married

i had made a tentative bookin with them vs fone call 4 sept 2003...
will b headin dn 2 confirm bookin soon...

mind 2 share 'ur deal' with them???
any extra perks???

frenzs mentioned noble hse is pretti gd with weddin banquets...
dun hv 2 worri...

a colleague of mine will b holdin his weddin @ noble hse next wk...
2 bad i m dn with chicken pox if nt sure attend 2 check the deco n food...

dinner

i will also be holding my wedding dinner in noble house in Oct. Would like to know for those who had already have their wedding dinner, did you all break even or lost some $$?

I need to prepare for the worst outcome...
thanks for all the advice...

yuki

I held my wedding banquet at Noble House in June this year. I am very pleased with their service. The food is good and comes in very big portion. Got good comments from friends. But didn't manage to bargain for any etra perks that some of you are talking about.........

As for the deco, i didn't really ask for much. They decorate the stage a little and on every table is a bowl with water and flowers floating on it and with a candle too. I find it quite romatic. (Ok lah, not too bad) Didn't want to spend too mush on deco cos not many people remember it afterall.........

And i really want to compliment the manager (i think his name is eric). He is very organised and he will advise you on things like eg. table no. 8 is only half filled (when the dinner is about to start) so kindly put the late guests on this table to fill it up etc. He will also be with you to advise you it's time for you to change to your evening gown, or ask you to hurry up in the table to table thing cos they are serving almost the last two dishes etc. What i am trying to say is that he pay attention to these things which makes it easier for you. I had no regrets holding my wedding banquet at Noble HOuse.

And to answer dinner, I lost about $2K over all for the dinner. (That's because i gave my mum 9 tables)If not would have made lor.

Hope it helps you all.........

All the best to all of you. HAppy wedding and beautiful and everlasting marriage. God Bless

flowee

yuki

tks 4 ur detailed advise...

btw which menu did u get???
m feelin tat we had made the rite choice 2 get noble hse as my weddin venue...
will b headin dn this sun 2 sign the doc...
heard there's weddin dinner everydaz in sept since its a 'hot' mth 2 get wedded...
will check out their weddin deco 2...

my banquet manager is veronica aint eric...
wonder how's her service???

wishin u a blissful marriage...

dinner

congrates 2 ur forth comin weddin...

well its a bit diff 2 judge how muz u will earn or lose coz its from ur relative n frenzs...
u r the best person 2 gauge...

like wat yuki said, i believe the losses will come from the tables given 2 mum...
coz the ang pow wont b given back 2 us...
juz my thots...

jazz

HI all,

I had my wedding @ Noble House. The food is great. Eric is great too.

From Yuki's reply, it seems that Noble House is improving. I don't have floating flowers in the past. Is the 'Xi' still there?

We managed to earn some money actually, as most of the guests gave the market rate of about $80. Usually, if you invite a lot of frens (we had a total of 10 tables of frens), you will be able to cover cos' they are more generous.

flowee

jazz

tks 4 ur feedback...

wonder hows veronica coz no one seems 2 hv her as their weddin co ordinator???

gwen

Hi Jazz,

We meet again!!
Juz to confirm, you're Jazz from 321C?

I'll be having my wedding dinner at Noble House next March.

Er... pardon my ignorance but can we determine our coordinator?? When will we know who's the coordinator??

Hee, from the last time I went there, the "Xi" is still around.
Anyone had any DIY ideas to cover it up?

flowee

gwen

congrates 4 ur forth comin weddin...

well i signed up durin a bridal show...
veronica is the one who we tok 2...
i will b headin dn this wkend 2 sign the doc...
i reckon she is my co ordinator???

btw mind 2 share ur package???
any idea if there's any seat cover???

perhaps u can ask get a florist 2 redeco the place 4 u...
as 4 diy u might wana 2 do somethin 2 cover over the "xi"...
erm wat's wrong with the "xi"???

btw i heard the dummy cake looks weird...
wonder how weird???

gwen

Hi flowee,

Well, you may like to go to Noble House itself to take a look. As they say, a picture paints a thousand words.

Paisey, I forgot who signed up for us. She's a waitress so I dunno if she'll be the coordinator??

My package is the mid $500s. Sigh... you're very lucky to sign up now. Saw from the magazine that the mid range is now $508 (or izzit $518??). When I signed up last year, it was $538!! Imagine, its $20 lower!!!
So I think its a good deal to sign up now.

Yup, the package includes seat covers. They're perpetually there, so there's no need to ask for it.

The "xi" looks a bit "biang". Dun think I like the very red background. I'm looking for something more budgeted, use some creativity to improve the backdrop.

Didn't pay a lot of attention to the dummy cake though. Guess it shouldn't be that bad lah...

Congrats on your wedding next Sep too!!

flowee

gwen

tks 4 ur advise...
will b headin dn 2 sign the doc this sun...
i veri muz like 2 hold my dinner @ imperium but due 2 budget constraint cant...

m happi with noble hse coz its within our budget n had seen quite some gd comments on them...

yah the package we r chosin is @ $518 4 wkdaz...
since u signed up earlier, u might wana 2 try 2 negotiate 4 free barrel of beer, etc...
worth a try since u r payin more than us who signed up durin the show...
juz my thots...

aint sure if seat covers is within the scope...
i gonna check with them...

oh the xi a bit obiang ah???
will take note when i head dn this sun...
i was thinkin of engagin someone 2 re deco the restaurant 4 mi...
wana a diff feelin 4 noble hse...
but then again gonna do some budgetin 1st...

will check the dummy cake 2 coz heard comments on it...

hows ur weddin preparation comin along???
mine nothin set except my banquet venue... :p

jazz

It seems that people @ Noble House is very keen on improving themselves. Mabbe we should tell them about the 'Xi'. Who knows they will do something about it.

Sorrie Gwen, I'm not the jazz that 321C.

Before you guys decide to do your own decor, I suggest you cld talk to Eric and see what are the things that they could provide. When we had our wedding there, thinking that they did not provide floating candles, we actually got our own. However, on the day itself, Eric told us that we could have just asked them.

Oh...remember to ask them to dim the light on the actual day...make a lot of diff...as for the cake...it is pink...don't suit my taste so we changed it

yuki

Pardon me but i don't think i pay enough attention to my own wedding.......... hee hee.

Btw my package was the $538 one.

I don't recall seeing any xi word. Is it on the stage? My deco was more of greenish leaves hanging down, a big heart shape bearing my hubby and my name at the centre of the stage.

But like what Jazz said, you have to ask for the floating candles.

I dealed with veronica too. Think she is the supervisor and eric is the manager. When i asked about the cards etc, i deal with veronica. There were only two occasion whereby i get to liaise with eric. That is on the day i sign the package and on my wedding day itself. So those who deal with veronica need not too worry much i guess. Think eric will handle the stuff on your wedding day itself.

I make full use of the ambience at Noble House so i chose to play chinese songs. I played ' yue liang dai piao wo de xin' for my march in. I actually thot of playing the chinese oldies songs throughtout since most guests are my relatives comprises of the older grneration...... thot they would be able to appreciate more........But at the end didn't do so cos lazy to source for the chinese oldies....... ;p

gwen

Hi flowee,

I was offered wine, and they're exchangeable for beer. So I thought there's more flexibility in that sense. But forgot can convert to how much beer but the number of bottles of wine is dependable on the number of tables ordered.

I chose Noble House because of its unblocked view, reasonable price and good food.

As for my wedding preparation, my house is undergoing renovation (if you count that as part of wedding preparation) and have chosen the WG and EG. Have fun in your preparation, gal!

Jazz, thanks for your advice! Shall talk to Eric about the floating candles. Erm... you changed the dummy cake? How? Did you buy/rent another one? Sorry, I'm quite suar ku about this.

Yuki: Did you choose the backdrop at all? You didn't pay extra for the green backdrop? From what I understand, the big "Xi" is the standard backdrop. But can hide by pulling the door or something. Btw, your green-leave backdrop sounds nice. I wouldn't change it if that's available to me.

flowee

hi gwen

tks 4 sharin ur package...
if i aint wrong the 15% per table can b exchangeable 2 beer but dun koe how many litres???
anyway will find out soon durin my meetin up with veronica on sun...
keep u updated...

my colleague had juz held his weddin dinner @ noble hse last nite...
i aint able 2 attend due 2 my recoverin chicken pox...
had gd comments on the food except the fish...
gwen u might wana 2 check it out durin the food tastin...
as 4 the backdrop, the 'xi' word is no longer there...
the floatin candle on the tables is still applicable...
the dummy cake ( heard from colleague )aint the pink one anymore...
but the sound system aint veri gd...

my reno is ongoin also...
completion is end of this mth...
lookin 4ward 2 my love nest...

gwen

Hi flowee,

That's great news!!
Er.. may i know whatz the fish dish that's no good? Steamed or deep fried or....???
Hmm... what's the backdrop like now?

I dunno when I'll have to go there for food tasting. Anyone has an idea? My wedding is approx 5 months away...

flowee

gwen

i think the fish shd b steamed fish n since the fish aint from the 'ocean' there's this 'tu' taste...
u get mi???

backdrop ah???
i aint sure abt the color...
i can check out 4 u durin my visit on sun ok...

think u can call noble n check out lor...
if nt wait 4 them 2 call u lor...

gwen

Hi Flowee,

I understand. They used freshwater fish for that steamed fish dish, right? Thanks! I'll take note of it.

How's your visit to NH on Sunday??

flowee

gwen

juz signed the agreement yesterdaz...
caught a glimpse of the weddin deco done up 4 the couple last nite...
looks alrite except the weddin cake still in pink color...

i did asked abt the food tastin when is the best time 2 go dn...
veronica mentioned anytime also can go dn...
mayb u can call them 2 check out...

pinkie

I'm gonna have my reception in Noble House next yr too.. Do they provide the floating candles in the flower dish FOC? We booked quite some time back and had the 15% disc, so dunno if they'll still provide any additional things at all.. Eric said need to pay for the flower deco, so dunno if the floating candles will come free..
We are thinking of throwing in about $500 for the florist to deco the place, coz Noble House wun provide any deco at all..
Gwen and Flowee and the rest, when are your weddings? My FH and I were thinking of postpone our wedding fr Jul 03 to a slightly later date, and eric said need to pay deposit one more time if change date.. did he mention anything like that to you'all?

flowee

hi pinkie

still remember mi???
i passed u the contact of the florist who tied up with noble hse vs email???
does tat ring the bell???

i juz signed my agreement last sun...
the floatin candle is wat they offered in this yr package...
aint sure if the theme will change 4 next yr...

u mentioned abt redeco the hall???
those extra flower stand ( i reckon u r getttin those ) we gonna pay lor...
as 4 the norm flower arrangement or candles is within contract...
noble hse onli gives std backdrop which is included in the package...

my weddin will b on 10th sept 2003...
understd from veronica tat if there's a change of date, gonna pay a deposit of $1030 n also the new date u select is subject 2 availablity...

hope the infor helps...

pinkie

hi, flowee

ya, i rem you..
so many pple here so i'm kinda confused..

I dunno if they'll offer me the floating candles coz i tot that one oso need to pay... did u get any discount from ur package? maybe we can e-mail each other again and it'll be better.. u can e-mail me at [email protected]

gwen

hi pinkie,

My wedding is in March next year. I only know that if we change the date early, the penalty will be minimum. Have you changed the date before?

yan

hi ,
i am able to go to noble house to ask them about the package.. anything that i need to take note or to ask them.... my wedding is end of next year...most properly in Dec.....
regards

flowee

gwen

hv minimum n maximum charges 4 changin the date???
veronica mentioned tat changin of date is subject 2 availablity n also addition deposit of $1030 is required...

btw how hv u been???

gwen

hi flowee,

I can't really remember the details as it has been almost a year since I signed up.

I'm fine, thanks! Renovation delayed and now looking for my kitchen lights and ceiling fans. What about you?

flowee

gwen

my reno also seem 2 b postponed...
this mornin juz called id asked her abt it...
she will onli confirmed the date this afternn...
my capentry works nt veri niceli done up...
c oredi heart pain pain...
oredi asked them 2 change n id also koe its the capentry prob...
i supposed tat y my reno is bein delayed...

oredi bought all the necessary items 4 my reno...

gwen

hi flowee,

My reno is delayed because the carpenters are too busy to come. The structures are all there, now waiting for them to install the the doors for the cabinets. So far so good. The workmanship for the structure looks good. Hope the doors are just as nice. =>

Hmm... try to get your ID coordinator to change asap. Remember, do not give last payment until you're fully satisfied.