Noble House

mary

Dear Brides to be

I just attended my friend's wedding dinner on 6 Oct and I must highlight some things for the couples to take note :
1) waiter should standby at their respective tables to serve drinks, we waited for about 15 mins and no waiter approached us to take order of our drinks. I had to signslled to one waiter from another table to serve us drinks.
2) most waiters were busy with their side station ecen at 8pm, which I personally think thet they should have prepared their side stations well before 7pm.
3) menu was typed wrongly and the photocopied menu has a black line across. We were served a scallop dish whereas the menu was typed as sauteed cuuttlefish & sliced chicken with vegetable in spicy sauce.... I suggest you check the menu first, portrayed a very slip-shod image of the restuarant.
4) 1st dish was OK, 2nd dish was the wrong dish in the menu. 3rd dish was deep fried prawn in two way - tasted like fish cake, nothing special ( don't opt for this dish, can see from my neighbouring tables that most of the guests did not finish their food ) 4th dish was shark's fin - suggest to the restaurant not to add too much MSG to make the soup tasty. It was way too 'tasty' and a bit on the watery side with hardly any fins in the soup. 5th dish was selected vegetables with selected mushrooms ( this is the worst, hardly any guests touch this dish - salty too and presentation doesn't like appetising at all, about 75% of the dish was left untouched). 6th dish was the sea bass - fish was OK but the 'mud' taste was very very strong. 7th dish was chicken 'noble house' style - nothing unique, just a normal roast chicken - very common. 8th dish was Ee-fu noodles - after a few unpleasant dishes, we very very skeptical to try the rest of the dishes including dessert. In the end, we went to lau pa sat to have supper & really enjoyed our supper.
5) sound system was OK, not too bad but can be improved as we could hardly hear what the compere said, the restuarant should have taken the initiative to adjust the volume accordingly.
6) centrepiece was a water bowl with gerberas and in tea light in it, quite pretty but the room was so bright that it does not show it's full potential in the centrepiece, it does not have any effect in the room at all.
7) waiters at a much later time were a little more attentive to top up our drinks but they need to be more polite & service orientated, even the coffee shop hawkers put on a smile when they serve the food, but the waiters were either black face or spoke quite rudely.

Just to highlight how the wedding wwent and please take care.

Mary

wenn

Hi Every1.

I'm new here. Just would like to highlight that Eric has moved to Imperium at Ngee Ann City. But the package there is quite expensive.

Went down to Noble House just now with boyfriend to take a look. I enjoyed their food when my cousin had her dinner there last year.... that's why I'm considering Noble House....

But after seeing Mary's feedback,,,, I'm having 2nd thots....

mary

Dear Wenn
Please don't be dishearten by my comments, you can't please everyone. Just need to take note on the above and I believe your wedding will be fine. Like you said, you enjoyed the food but not me lor. You can't please everyone, you know,if you like the place, go ahead andbook your wedding there. Just make sure that all these points are noted by the restuarant lor.Have your helpers to assist you and be your eyes to ensure the smooth running of your wedding.

Sorry if I have caused any unhappiness to you.
Mary

wenn

Dear Mary.
Thanks for ur feedback. Aiyah,,, no worries lah... just that lately, my dad has been coming up with lots of suggestions... too many choices in my mind liao...

Anyway, both of us have made up our minds to stick w Noble House.

Cheerios!

jazz

The problems that Mary mentioned could be solved easily.

Room is too bright
During my wedding, Eric volunteered to dim the light so ambience was warm and cosy.

Typo. error
Request them to fax you the menu for confirmation

Food
Still think it is one of the best

Service
They are rather strict with their waiters actually.

Don't worry too much. Just make sure that you communicate your needs well to them.

I enjoyed my wedding there.

flowee

mary

tks 4 ur valuable feedback...
will definateli take note of the pt...
when i was there signin up 4 my package, there's a on goin weddin...
veronica she offered 2 dim dn the lightin...

wenn

so u still considerin noble hse???
i booked my dinner with them...

jazz

tks 4 ur feedback...
it sure makes mi hv more confident with the noble hse mgmt...

wenn

Hi Jazz!
Thanks for feedback.

Hi Flowee!
Yup, will be going to book with them. Hope that they have the date I want, which is end of 03.

wenn

Hi Flowee!

Just booked last nite!!!

Initially wanted end-03 but then my future in-laws couldn't come over,,,, peak period for their shop in Mauritius.... heh heh...

Got an early date by choosing 26 Sep

Seems like there are quite a few bookings for nov & dec liao...

flowee

wenn

wow u r pretti lucky 2 get a wkend rite???
coz i hv a gf who is interested in noble hse her date is oredi taken by someone else...

mine is in sept 2003 2...
16 daz earlier than urs...

btw there's a tunglok show comin out on 20th oct...
there might b discount if u were 2 sign up then...
mayb u can check with noble hse whether they can extend the discount 2 u since u sign up b4 the show???
can save some cost there...

wenn

Flowee,
Actually, the date is on a friday nite... All the saturdays chong with my fiance... The rest of the dates are 2 sundays and the rest on weekdays... We wanted 14 nov but some1 booked liao...

The tunglok show form is with my sis... check it out with her 2nite...

But paid deposit liao, dunno whether they can gimme anymore discount....
Thanks for the info! Will check it out....

R u getting the chocolates or the dragon/phoenix set???

Have not ROM yet.. So will get a ROM date in late aug, so I can make use of the food tasting for family lunch that day...

flowee

wenn

u hv a couple of dates 2 chose from???
oic tats nice...
i onli hv 1 date n 'heng' noble hse still hv tat daz available 4 bookin when i called them up...
guess most gd dates n wkends r taken up oredi coz the tong shu 4 2003 is out oredi...

how muz u pay 4 deposit???
which dinnner package u select???

wat is the dragon/phoenix set???
u mean the 'xi bing'???
will b gettin chocolates 4 our guests...

tats a gd idea 2 utilised ur food tastin 4 ur rom lunch...

wenn

flowee,
hee hee, at least u choped the date 1st...

we asked my dad's fren who does feng shui to help us to choose dates.... he came up with 14 good dates... I think he's kia-su.....

anyway, we can have food tasting latest 2 weeks before the dinner. we can inform them the final number of tables required (tentative is 28) and which dinner package we want... we liaised with joyce last nite. but we have made up our minds to take the $538 package. deposit is $2060. if want to change date, must do so 1/2 year in advance.

yup, we choose the xi bing...

we want to choose the red invitation card, but to print our names, need to pay $30 for the template and additional $0.30 for each card. but we will decide later whether we want that design...

also, we requested that their waiters & waitresses do not break the fish's head & tail when they served them... (or else mei-tou-mei-wei)

hope my info helps....

does your package give you free corkage for wine?
heard that last weekend, one couple used up about 30 bottles of wine (a lot of corkage!!!!!)

flowee

wenn

yah great we managed 2 get our onli date in sept...

onli get my weddin date after the 7th mth...

we gave them a tentative 30 tables...
will confirm with them when the date is nearer...
great minds think alike...
we chose the same package...
i booked mine durin the imperium n x-zen show paid a deposit of $1030...
if theres a change in the date of the weddin dinner, u gonna pay another deposit 2 secure the date...

my mum wana cakes 2 guo da li so we din take the xi bing...

hvnt reali decide on the invitation cards...
will onli do so when the date is near...

dun remember on tat part...
gonoa check the agreement we signed...

angel

I hv booked my wedding dinner with Nobel Hse too, I like the design where I find it cosy and unique... and the floor layout is spacious, no pillars etc... in fact this is my first visit there and both my hubby n myself fell in love with the place...
Juz a quick check, for our own deco, what are the areas which they allow us to deco? Stage only? We forgot to ask the co-ordinator and hope we can get some feedback from you out there... Thanks.

wenn

hee hee.. u dun have to pay so much deposit since u've signed up at the show...

was reading the other threads.. saw ur ROM photos.. like ur dress

did u buy or rent it?

wenn

hi angel.

i'm wenn and i post on the other noble house thread..

i've booked with them too but forgot to ask about the deco.. i remember that they provide the stage backdrop and the flowers on the tables..

sorry, could not help u much... I too will have to call them later to find out..

flowee

wenn

tks 4 ur complement on my outfit... :p
its mtm 2 keep...
coz i aint able 2 find any outfit 4 my rom so i tailor made it lor...

flowee

hi angel

chat with wenn n myself in the other noble hse threat ok...

the areas tat u can deco shdnt hv any restrictions...
understd u can do the stage n also get flower stand along the aisle...
wat kinda of deco u hv in mind???

hippo

i have juz finished my wedding in noble house. it was definitely a good choice. no doubt about it.
my wedding dinner went on very well....

angel

I have not think of other deco to replace the existing stage, mmm...would like to hear more ideas from all of u, perhaps for those who have had dinner oredi may share their views and thoughts with us... tks...

wenn

Hi Angel.

I haven't really decided on the decorations yet. But more or less would be having a french theme as my fiance migrated to Mauritius when he was young and they speak a french dialect called creole there. Also, I did study french before... although 4got liao

Since the stage is quite bear,,, I think adding some flower stands or candle stands would like very nice...

flowee

angel

m lookin @ garden theme...
will b decoratin the stage n also gettin flower std from the florist who does the noble hse deco...
u need their contact???

wenn

hi hippo!
I signed up with Joyce on monday. She's quite nice & lively. I understand that she's been with tung lok group for quite long liao. she was formerly from keppel club's tung lok restaurant.

BTW, how many bottles of wine & hard liquor did ur guests consumed? I'm calculating my budget at the moment

hi flowee!
could u gimme the contact for the florist? if my budget permits, i may get extra flowers from them.
u can email me @ [email protected]

pinkie

i might want to postpone my wedding in Jul next yr, but seems like alot of date taken already, huh.. oh no, quite panic now... dunno how.. and issit true that if change date must let them know 6 mths in advance? i.e if i booked to have the reception on Jul 03 and i wanna change it, i need to change latest by Jan 03?

At first tinking of changing it to Nov 03, but looks like now no chance liao.. i must have my wedding on Sat coz i'm having church wedding in the afternoon and Sat will be better coz there's when pple can make it in the afternoon...

wenn

Hi pinkie.

If u have a list of choiced dates, make an appointment w/Joyce. It would be better to decide there as you can refer to the booking book.

When I book with them 2 weeks back, Oct is still quite empty. U do not have to place another deposit if u change your date more than 6 months b4 ur dinner.

pinkie

I went to Noble house to change my date aredi.. all the Sat and most Sun on Nov 03 is fully booked! Dec only left with a few Sun and one Sat, so we changed to the Sat that's left, coz I must have my wedding on s Sat as there will be Holy Matrimony in the church in te afternoon and I tink the guest will only be able to make it if it's a sat.. paid the deposit once again
Seems like noble house is really popular coz now is only Oct and so many pple booked the place for next yr end aredi.. next yr's price is increased liao coz the price they give for 2003 is no longer nett, so after adding in govt tax, gst and service charge is quite a bit of difference from this yr's nett price. I tink they are pretty gd coz they still honour the nett price they gave me when I sign up with them earlier this yr, so i'm not subject to the increase though my wedding in next yr end...
Wenn, when's ur wedding? I know flowee's in Sept..

wenn

Hi Pinkie.
Glad that u've settled ur date. Mine is on 26 sept, 16 days after flowee's.

Yup, for us, the table price is no longer nett. Actually, contract not w me,,, so trying to recall from memory....

But how come u still need to pay deposit again? I thot more than 6 months b4 ur original date?

I've just settled bridal package. Next, have to settle ROM date. A bit diff for us to decide on wedding matters as my fiance has to call IDD to check with his parents....

Dun worry pinkie... Tung Lok's food & service-wise is good. At least they are better than some hotels....

flowee

pinkie

glad u managed 2 changed ur dinner date...
btw which date of the mth of oct???
did u pay another deposit 2 secure ur date???

next yr hv 2 pay govt tax, gst and service charge???
the ones i signed against onli includes gst n cess...
furthermore i get a 15% disc coz i signed up durin their bridal show...

so touched u still remember my weddin date is in sept 2003...
nw ur weddin date is changed 2 dec 2003???
u settled ur bridal???
i juz booked mine yesterdaz with amanda lee weddin...
studio photo shots will b with utopia...
currentli checkin out actual daz photography...

wenn

so nice of u 4 remember my weddin date...
we r both brides 2 b 4 sept 2003...

if i aint wrong u r a j&c bride rite...
glad u settled ur bridal oredi...
i supposed u r gettin their actual daz photographer???

gettin romed soon???
congrates...

wenn

Thanks flowee!!

Hee hee,,, u also know I booked w J&C

Most likely would get their actual day photographer. FMIL just called this afternoon, they will be tailoring suits for FIL and 2 BILs. Each suit cost less than $270 to make. Then I dun have to rent for them. Now headache over bridesmaid and bestman outfits...

Aiyah,, Rom would be next year. Have to go to shifu to get another date. Scolded fiance last week to be more pro-active. He thot that I enjoyed all the planning that he left everything to me.... Sigh.... Told him that I can't be the one to talk to his parents about marriage issues... Now, he more pro-active liao

Now my sis oreadi want me to start choosing songs liao.... Wat abt u?

We have about 10 months more to go!!!

flowee

gd mornin wenn

yah saw ur postin in the used 2 b veri quiet but nw active j&c threat...

u r gettin bridemaid n bestman outfit ah???
i m gettin an outfit 4 my sis ( she's goin 2 my bridesmaid ) but aint sure who will b the bestman yet...

so romin onli next yr???
y dun u get solemn durin ur weddin dinner???
ur in laws wont need 2 fly over 2x...
all u need is 2 get a jp 2 solemn u guys durin ur dinner...
wld b a great experience 2 hv so many ppl witnessin it...

wow ur sis reali veri on over ur weddin hor...
i hvnt choose any songs yet but hv somethin in mind oredi...
we can chose 3 songs ie: 1st dish, 1st walk in n 2nd walk in...
will select some cd 2 b played thru the dinner...

i juz booked my bridal with amanda lee weddin last sat...
studio photo shots will b with utopia in june 03...
currentli checkin out actual daz photography...
gonna start doin my homework on my gowns 2...

wenn

hi flowee..

checked w fiance liao. he prefer to have the ROM a few months b4 customary. he feels that if both on same day would be too rush....

my sis wants to be my wedding planner.... she doesn't want to be my bridesmaid... so I have to ask my gf.

wah, u more or less settled everything liao
me & fiance both in IT line, so always quite bz with projects.... just finished moving office to raffles city in sep. so now free to settle things before all the projects start again. that's why choose J&C. more like a one-stop shop.

I found that there are not many magazines featuring EG. haven't decide on the design yet. fiance dun like bare-backed gowns
but I quite like them..... c how lah....

flowee

wenn

i wld prefer 2 hv ny solem on my weddin nite if i can turn back time...
wld b more memorable n romantic 2 b pronouned as husband n wife with all my guests as my witnesses...

oh my sis ( younger sis ) she wana 2 b my bridemaid...
hvnt get her involved yet but she shd b playin the piano 4 mi b4 the dinner starts...
there's a baby grand in the noble hse restaurant...

currentli checkin out WG...
as 4 EG my designer oredi had given mi some ideas...

wenn

hi flowee,
thanks for the idea.... will discuss again with FH. His parents are coming over earlier to settle si dian jin,,, so may have ROM then...

hee hee,,,, very long neber play the piano liao... stopped at grade 5...

seems like this thread very quiet liao....

pinkie

Dear flowee and wenn
I changed my wedding date to 27th Dec next yr actaully coz that's the only Sat left in Dec.. we dun need to check dates and things like that coz we are Christian so it's quite ok; we believe everyday is a great day made by the Lord!

Noble house say must pay deposit again as long as date is changed, irregardless of when it's changed.. so we pay loh.. tink i need to check out their if they have any christmas deco as my wedding date is 2 days after Christmas.. hope if they have, the deco wun be the horrid kind..

I'm using wedding news bridal couture for my gowns and photograph. Heard of anything abt them? I'm sourcing ard for actual day photographer oso.. when u'all find a gd one let me know!

seems like now this thread only 3 of us.. but noble house seems so popular.. so many dates taken up already.. how come pple all like to get married at end of the yr?

flowee

wenn

ur pil comin over 2 discuss over ur marriage???
muz b reali excited lor...

pinkie

glad u manage 2 get ur wkend dinner...

weddin news ah...
my colleague he's with them...
juz got married in sept 2002 dinner held @ noble hse...

as 4 actual daz photographer, will b meetin monica on thur...
feedback 2 u again ok...

ladies

beside the 3 of us, gwen is also noble hse bride 2 b...
she muz b buz with her weddin preparations coz she is the '1st' among us...

our dates r as follows:
gwen - mar 2003
flowee n wenn - sept 2003
pinkie - dec 2003

as 4 bridal:
gwen - french bridal
wenn - j&c
pinkie - wedding news
flowee - amanda lee n utopia

anymore 2 add???
btw where r ur love nest located???
mine @ sk...

angel

Hi Wenn & Flowee,

Its me Angel. Its been quite a while since I last chat with u gals. Sorry about my disappearance as I was been pulled away by my work over here and hardly logged into the thread nowadays.
We were discussing about the stage deco the other time, Flowee, perhaps you can give me the contact for the florist from noble house as well? Maybe i can give them a call to find out more..
I do not have any idea of which theme to be used at the moment....

gwen

Sorry for disappearing from this thread. Hee, have been more preoccupied in preparing for my photoshoot and the house.

Er... regarding the stage decor, issit important to decorate the backdrop? Is the original cream in colour? I'm thinking of getting a friend to help me do up the backdrop but dunno if its feasible or not. *scratch head*

Pinkie: Does that mean you're paying $2K in total for the deposit for changing the date? Hee, its nice to know that someone who doesn't check dates. But for us, its not due to religious reasons. We simply chose a date that we like. =>

wenn

Hi every1

Glad that we have settled our venues and bridal packages.

Actually, I'm not sure if they would change the stage decor & table display next year. Quite occupied this couple of days thinking about wat songs to choose.

Also, if want to make use of their projector, can we show a slideshow presentation to the guest b4 the 1st march-in???

Flowee: Actually, i have not meet in-laws yet so quite nervous lor.... but they are quite excited that we are getting married
Well, would be moving in w FH in Jurong East. Will hunt for furniture next year. My sis said dun want to be my planner liao cos I practically done everything liao..
She 4got that actual day still need her to coordinate....

Pinkie: So your 1st deposit was not forfeited lah?

flowee

gwen

welcome back...
check ur contract...
if i aint wrong, ur back drop is concluded in ur package...
as 4 mine, i exchange 2 the cocktail b4 dinner...

wenn

yah they hv a projector but seems like the quality aint veri gd lor...
u might wana 2 check with ur co ordinator in advance...

oh hvnt seen ur in laws b4 ah???
muz b super excited lor...

dun worri 2 muz hv fun...

wenn

What would be ur dream wedding car? Merz, BMW, Jaguar, london cab etc???

Flowee,
Thanks for ur advise. Will check with Joyce.
Yup, excited abt meeting in-laws but oso not sure what will be our expectations of each other