New Zealand

missy

hi kite and zenn,

revington hotel in greymouth was the worst hotel we stayed in NZ. there is a bar downstairs and can be pretty rowdy. at 1a.m there were some drunkards which are girls shouting away. and the room smell of cigarette and kinda stink. the washing machine and dryer dun work at all. However, the only good thing is that Mac Donald is just across the road. If you want to stay at somewhere around the area...just head towards Mac and there are some B&B around the area.

Zenn, as for the pick up to and from airport to motel and vice versa..in Christchurch..such motels only provide such service if the motel is near the airport which also means its away from the city. cantebury musem is beside the botanic garden and arts market are just opp them. so you can go to such places during weekend where arts market are only open during weekend. however, take note car park are ex. then from there, its walking distance to cathedral sq and townhall. about 8 mins walks each. from there you can see the tram ride and can pop in if you decided not to walk. the i site is at cathedral sq.

curio

HI Zenn & Stussy,

I spent 14 days in NZ last year. Was very ambitious, almost covered the South Island from the top to the bottom!

I started from Christchurch, went up north to Kaikoura to whalewatch but it was raining so no trips out. Oh, at Kaikoura, crayfish is very popular, you should try. You can also visit the Kaikoura Wine Co and join their tour. It's very cool as they will bring you into their cellar while you're holding and sipping wine from a glass!

Went on to Blenheim, visited a vineyard, then to Nelson followed by the Punakaki Rocks (must go see!) Moved on to Frank Josef and Fox Glacier, which are similar. At Fox Glacier is Lake Matheson which is very very peaceful in the morning, worth consider going. You can also join the glacier walks at these places. Then it was to Wanaka to Queenstown - the only place where shopping lasts till 9 pm. At Queenstown, you can drive up to Glenorchy to try horse-riding -- very fun!

From Queenstown, we drove to Milford Sounds. You can consider going to Milford if you like nature as then you'll enjoy the scenery and the magnificent falls. Some people find the Sounds not worth travelling to, so it all depends on the individual. However, if you do go, I suggest you join the day cruise on the Friendship boat. It's small and can get closer to the coast for penguin/seals sightings than the larger cruise ships. You can bring your own food to the boat. Oh yes, before driving to Milford, check that the Milford pass is open for travelling. During bad weather, it'll be closed if there is a threat of an avalanche. And, do check if snow chain is required before you drive there. Also, the tunnel is very dark so be extra careful.

I also went to Dunedin, which is a rather busy city with many students as there're a few universities there. Visited the Cadbury Factory there as well as drove to the Ontago Peninsula to visit the Lanarch Castle. Tried to catch sight of penguins on the peninsula but was unsuccessful.

Actually I wanted to go to Mt Cook but skipped it as my hubby wanted to go back to Kaikoura to catch the whales. Luckily the weather was fine when we went back the second time. We were very lucky to sight the whales surfacing 5 times and also saw dolphins too. But if you have seasickness, it's not advisable to join this activity as the boat ride is very choppy. Another activity to do at Kaikoura is to swim with the dolphins! but I didn't try.....

Zenn, I stayed at Gothic Heights on my 1st night in Christchurch. Indeed, it's a distance away from the city but walkable. Armagh St is in the city centre so should be convenient. As for Greymouth, there's nothing much there, and I only stopped over there for lunch so can't advise on accommodation.

Actually wherever you go in NZ, you'll be captivated by the scenery, the peace and the leisurely lifestyle. So while you're driving along the way, enjoy the sights and stop to take a rest and breathe in the fresh air (but the weather is very cold!).

zenn

Hi curio,

Thanks for sharing wif us ur trip! Saluate you! You actually managed to cover so much within 14days?

Friendship boat? Did you book thro Realjourney? Btw, did you drive up or take a coach from Te Anau?

We ve decided to proceed to Fox Glacier after reaching Greymouth and join the 1/2 day glacier the next morning. Concern now is do we still ve the engery to drive after that. If not we will have to stay another nite in FG. Any other activites in FG/FJ?

stussy

Hi anyone know if it is easy to get around in Queenstown without a car?

Travelling to Milford sound, take a coach or drive better?

curio

Hi Zenn,

Yes, you can book the Friendship with Real Journey in Queenstown or Te Anau. Tell you, we drove throughout the trip but driving can get rather tiring so make sure you have rest stops.

Nothing much in FG/FJ. Just relax and enjoy the place and the coldness if you feel tired lor. Oh btw, the west coast of South Island is raining most of the time. So be prepared!

Stussy, basically Queenstown is pretty small so you can do without a car. If you need to travel to nearby towns, just check with the I-site to see if transport can be arranged. The I-site there is full of information. You can book local tours there too.

curio

Hi Stussy,

Driving from Queenstown to Milford is 4 hours (2 to Te Anau and 2 to Milford). Make sure you top up petrol at Te Anau as after that, you won't find any petrol kiosks. If you don't feel like driving, take the coach. Can book with Real Journey.

zenn

Aiya very sad - just read from the website that Windsor Hotel comes wif shared toilet
The place is so convenient...

Oreo,
How far is Christchurch motel from the shopping city area? According to map, like not very near?

iloveoreo

<font color="0000ff">zenn</font>
It's not exactly in the town area.
By bus, probably takes you abt. 5-10 mins to reach.
I tried walking back to the motel from the town and it took me more than 20 mins!! We have to walk thru' the long park.
But it was a nice cooling stroll.

zenn

Hi stussy,
No problem. I ve not look into everyone. Perhaps you can tell me more after u look thro it.

Hi oreo,
I found another hotel in Hereford. Think its nearer to town rite?

Btw, I wrote to John re the farm stay but nv hear from him leh. Hey so you stay in the farm thro out ur 1 day stay there? Sure ve things to do rite?

zenn

Stussy,

Ya I also prefer farm stay.

I got a book 'Where to stay guide' from NZ tourism board in Ngee Ann City. Some other link will be :

http://www.atoz-nz.com/queenstown.asp

http://www.lakewanaka.co.nz/index.cfm/Webdirectory/index/Directory_Search?action=option_select&amp;category=577

http://www.mainstay.co.nz/default.asp

http://www.newzealand.com/travel/accommodation/accommodation-home-english.cfm

Again, I ve not look thro all of them hee

Can someone advise me what is the street name in Queenstown town area?

zenn

SSF, you stayed in Earnslaw Lodge when you were at Queenstown rite? Did you stay in Lakeview studio? How far is the motel away from town? Thanks!

iloveoreo

Zenn,
Queenstown is not very big...
I've attached a map of the town.
i stayed at Flag Inn Lomond Lodge and it's located at Man street. We had a great view of the hills over at Lake Wakatipu. Very convenient as i parked the car at the lodge for 2 nites, and the rest of time just walking around.

137833.gif
137834.gif

137835.gif
137836.gif

zenn

Hi Oreo,

Thanks! Can you email me the map? My email is [email protected]

Btw, I don't see Frankton Road in the map. Any idea issit nearby? Is there any rooms in Flat Inn facing the lake?

You mean we can just walk around queenstown without having to drive or take public transport?

zenn

Hi stussy,

Yup booked my air ticket wif AirNZ. AirNZ having promo now so cheaping than SQ. I booked last mth so not sure abt SQ rate now...

zenn

Hi Oreo,
Flat Inn don't have room for the date I am going
Any idea is there any other motels nearby too?

Hi curio,
Did you book with real journey cos I dont see any friendship cruise....

eggie

stussy,
when r u going? it's always good to book earlier. cause for Air NZ, only certain seats r on lower price. After all these r booked, they will increase the price already. Normally you dun have to pay so early.

stussy

Hey Zenn, how long will you be staying in Christchurch? Think the flight usually land in the noon rite? So will be planning to leave christchurch the next day?

zenn

Stussy,

They are having promo for those who book 60 or 90days in adv...

Ya will reach christchurch around 2pm. Will stay for one nite and taking train the next morn. Will be staying in christchurch again the last nite of the trip...

iloveoreo

<font color="0000ff">zenn</font>
Frankton Road is on the right side of the map, beyond stanley st.
There are lots of accomodation along this stretch of long road.. but depending on which accomodation you take, can be quite a distance to walk.

You can check out the below for all the accomodation available in queenstown.
http://www.tourism.net.nz/region/queenstown/accommodation/

Or you can check out the below too!

http://www.zqn.co.nz/amber.lodge/
http://www.caplescourt.co.nz/
http://www.bluepeaks.co.nz/
http://www.turnerheights.co.nz/
http://www.dlq.co.nz/
http://www.abba.co.nz/
http://www.cranbury.co.nz/
http://www.lofts.co.nz/
http://www.colonialvillage.co.nz/

And yes, we can definitely walk around the town without driving or taking the public transport. It's a small but pretty and scenic town.

bluerose

can someone advise whether it is better to stay in hostel or motel. We are interested in Magicbus, but accommodation will be hostel and cost $700 (accommodation and coach) for about 8 days. Or has someone got any better seat in coach to recommend?

zenn

Hi stussy,

Thanks did thought of heli hike but quite x. Ve to work out the budget first... hey if you considering can look at http://www.womenstravelinternational.com/nz/FoxGlacierHelihike.html it's only NZ190 - dunno why so great diff.

The farmstay looks v nice but not much activities. Any idea how much?

Hi oreo,
Thanks! Thomas hotel at queenstown looks not bad too http://www.thomashotel.co.nz/queenstown/

Btw, queenstown's motel/hotel is more x? Those near the town usually NZ120 and above...

zenn

Stussy,

How much you are been quoted for car rental?

Hertz quoted me NZ$856 for 2L auto Toyota Camry or similar (they don't ve 1.6L auto) LDS NZ$2250.

Auto rental quoted me NZ$56 per day for auto 1.5/1.6l four door Hyundai Lantra or similar. Insurance access NZ$1000.

Btw, is LDS and insurance access the same? Is 1.5/1.6 car gd enough? What are the things to take note when comes to rental of car?

zenn

For those who did glacier walk - is there any diff btw Fox Glacier walk and Franz Josef walk? Also, is there any diff staying at FG or FJ? Considering FG instead cos its nearer to Lake Matheson.

zenn

Sorry for so many questions but can someone advise me how much is an ave meal cost in NZ and petrol per day?

Also, do we have to pay for walk in Mt cook?

curio

Hi Zenn,

both FJ &amp; FG are very small so there's not much difference in accommodation. I stayed in FG because it's closer to the lake - woke up to take an early morning walk there!

Food in NZ is quite ex - dinner averages $20 per pax. What you can do is buy some food from the supermarket and cook if there're cooking facilities/microwave in your motel-can save some $ this way......

As for petrol - definitely cheaper than in S'pore - about $1.06 per litre, depending on location (cheaper in the major towns like Chirstchurch)

Hope the above helps!

shooby06

Hi Bluerose

You can get a flexi-pass to travel around NZ. They do pick up passengers in most of the motels/hotels, just call them up one day before your departure and they'll do the necessary. This service is provided by Intercity Coach. Learnt about this pass during one of the conversation between the driver and travellers. The driver did advise that traveller that it's best to check with the local Intercity Coach office if they do pick up for the place that you're staying in cos that traveller was going like "so you do pick up from this motel (when the driver was picking up one backpacker from there). when we called up your office in xxx, they said it's out of the way...."

It's easy to travel around, cos most of the places, they've this tourist info centre, you can just go there and pick up the brochures.

http://www.intercitycoach.co.nz

Hope you find this useful.

zenn

Hi curio,
Thanks for sharing. Ya I am considering FG because of Lake Matheson too. Also the glacier walk is cheaper than FJ. Btw, where did you stay when you were there and what time you went for the walk?

Looks like makan there pretty x..

Hi Stussy,
Yes I do see mac in some part of NZ...