NEED ADVISE - financial issue

hmmmm my wife, who is also a English teacher, sometimes talked about 'syntax', 'subject-verb disagreements' and the grammer-likes until i also become blur lah..... muahahaha

anyway, grammar errors - intentionally or not - are norm for internet forums lah as long as the message is clear and concise.

Exactly. My hubby is a business man and he's not that good in English. Can you imagine being such a pain in the neck if I always harp on his poor use of language?

Watching must realise that this is an Internet Forum and should just give and take instead of reading and scanning every word to correct ppl here. If you think a person is not clear, then clarify with the person. There's no need to doubt a person's intentions on being clear or unclear. Many a time, people honestly tell you they have made a mistake, typo or oversight. When I wrongly addressed you as 'watchful', I also admitted that I've typed too fast or that it was my oversight. When Milo explained time and time again to you his context and choice of words, don't bark at him like a dog non-stop that he should improve his communication via writing because you ain't perfect too. I KNOW a lot MORE than you but hey, I don't behave like a Ms Know-it-all by highlighting all errors I see here. Perhaps you're training yourself to be an editor? Then I'll say you've a long way to go.

As long as a message is clear and concise, I agree that we should just let it go. The issue you highlighted about what 'Milo and I' when it should be 'Milo and me', I'm sure the whole world knows what's the message. But hey, your 'wimps' message was totally not comprehensible to me at all. Just clarify and not defend with your ridiculous claim that 'is' is not a verb (ha ha ha) or by saying that I look absolutely dumb. Who looks dumb here now? You've asked for it. Anyway, people who have never studied the technicalities of English language will never be able to explain why a clause/sentence is wrong accurately so don't even try to do it here. Everyone has his/her own fields and expertise. You had boldly and blindly challenged me to something which is obviously not your field. I rather you rephrase the sentence to make yourself clearer.

Lastly, I really want to reiterate that when I tell you I DON'T understand your messages, please reflect upon it like how you demanded Milo to. Do NOT 'siam' and claim that I feign ignorance. That's the lousiest behaviour I've ever seen in this forum so far. Even my students would have the courage to say 'sorry' for their mistakes/oversights.

'Mirror Mirror' - are you acting cute?
Actually you need a larger Mirror.

Nowadays, teachers are highly paid and very free. And like to fight over silly issues... Can you all fight on other things than grammar?

Poor assumption that teachers r v free. I work 12hours daily in school and more hours at home. But I do agree that it's more meaningful to debate over issues with content instead of language. This reminds me that watching has not even given her views to TS at all here. What's her purpose here? Another superman? Ok, maybe can give u the title of superauntie.

I was a teacher once. Teachers are free enough to talk cock and give tuitions and still go KL watch soccer... Not free meh?

U were a teacher once - how long ago was that? Times have changed. Also different teachers hold different portfolios in school.

On the contrary, I'm not. As mentioned, I work almost 12 hours daily. This is one reason why I sometimes don't post here for a long period of time...it could be 3 months or even longer as some of you might have noticed. When I post, I'll usually linger longer..it's like a habitual action, not indicative of my workload. I believe many who post here ain't that free too. And anyway, how long does it really take to post these messages? I don't read ALL comments and analyse ALL before I give my inputs - I'm not even a professional counsellor or something...which was why Watching had made funny comments about me not responding to Milo's posts and just responding to Powder's. C'mon, I have no time. I just read what I could and if I have an opinion on something, I speak. That's it. It's a forum where ppl have choices to read what they like and post accordingly, not a report where all factors ought to be considered.

Scope, maybe you should think Watching's the most free and lobo at work because she scrutinises every post and remembers all the history about everyone. Wow, she even remembered that I said I had dated both sexes prior to marriage! That post of mine was super duper long ago you know? Perhaps 1 year or 2 years ago? Not that it's anything I'm ashamed of but to put it crudely that it's because I'm fond of playing with two different genitals was really demeaning. And above all, to raise this here without any reference to the context of what's being discussed in this thread at all was despicable. I couldn't imagine being her hubby...he would be grilled every single day on his past mistakes, on what he said (contextually correct or grammatically correct or not)...whoever is watching's hubby must know how to keep secrets and not share everything openly because these would be used against him anytime when Ms Perfect's crossed.

Yeah, I almost forgotten that post you dated girls... LOL~ There is nothing wrong lah, you were lost, down and need emotional support.

Don't grill Watching too much lah...

You two are stone walls fighting without productivity since no end. LOL~

I expect a higher standard of personality for teachers. But I know my ex-colleagues... they are many morons. Teaching now is about commercial, just a 'job' to take money...

Aiyah... Can you imagine if I like both of you cum 60secs... Everyday quarrel... argue, try to win...?

Know why I called you people morons? The profiling said so... If I become like you all, endless fights lor...

Yet some people said I should change. Sorry. Not interested changing. I find myself better off this way.

This is what happens when an inflated sense of ability meets anger and obstinacy. The entire page is one epic fail after another; from people too old to behave this way. Embarrassing.

doggy powder poo....you are back ????

Can't resist it huh ? tt's why it is so hard for you to keep to your word.

true that Teachers are paid reasonably well but the workload is a far cry from the past. not forgetting the yaya-papaya kids whenever get backed up by their pampering parents.

eg. i can never get over the issue whereby the mother called the police and complained to MOE after her son was rightfully disciplined for his hair.

What's wrong with a Mohawk or a ponytail for little boys? I'm darn glad mum kicked a fuss. Educators should focus their attention on the classrooms, not trying to be a fashion nazi or a barber. it's laughable that there are still schools that continue to believe in breeding a collective of borg. And probably only in Singapore do you have parents who will clap and say bravo to that.

well on the contrary, some parents shld focus on playing a part on educating and discipling their kids, not babysitting and over-protecting.

unfortunately the "fuss" was a disgrace.

it's not breeding borgs, it's a form of discipline.

this is different from memorising the text and simply 'paste' it on the script. that is thus regarded as robotic or uncreative.

we have a life-sized adult retard in this forum = fat, ugly, like to stalk pple, MILO !!!

what else is there to say ???

I disagree. Educators pretending to be fashion police is way way WAY more retarded. Wth off-the-scale face-palm why-r-u-still-wearing-bell-bottom retarded if I may. I'd even say comatose retarded but that's meaningless and insulting to accident victims.

point taken for backing his mother. it's no wonder the educators are facing tough times managing some kids to conform to a simple regulation in an uniformed school.

It's not about the hair exactly. It's about getting the kids to conform to a set of rules in school so as to teach them some discipline. Otherwise, why should they wear uniforms and white shoes/socks to school? Almost all govt schools are like that. Parents who would like to support their children in their fashionable hairstyles etc could enrol their kids in schools overseas.

yeah rite, stick to the rules

we'll hv a whole generation of conformists standing hand in hand looking good...

what a wonderful world.

Don't need to exaggerate. U were brought up this way. Do u look the same as others in terms of hairstyle or dressing now? Think before making sweeping statements unless u r telling me u still look prim and proper like a student?

i'm with the teachers/schools on this, as i believe in inculcating discipline n conformity at an earlier age, in Basic issues... hair, shoes, uniform, queueing, etc... prior to giving the freedom and PRIVILEDGE to develope individualism.

a person can only Appreciate priviledge, and not mistake it as an entitlement, if priviledges weren't treated like their given right of freedom.

we know well that schools & military have certain values in place... we know that individualism is Given after secondary/jc... when our youths go into tertiary and can express themselves in dressing during poly/uni... prior to that they have their weekends & after-schools to wear whatever they deem fit. It's not like they are never gonna be given any sense of freedom.

hair is subjective, but a basic conformity is required for a host of reasons which cannot be simply put away by today being 2012. teachers are having a tougher time these days compared with the past... our parents used to Empower the teachers and support them in most disciplinary issues... But these days, parents seem to be less supportive.

it is little wonder how priviledges are taken to be an entitlement in many of today's context. if we can encourage the Blurring of lines between 'right' and 'wrong' within a schoolboy/school rules context, where the schoolboy need not conform to the rules... then we should Not put the schoolboy in the school.

there are house rules in all sorts of house/clubs/cinemas/restaurants/sport/schools/sites/etc... no mobile phones, adorning basic sports safety gears, short hair, suit, no slippers, no outside food, helmet, etc etc. our Entry to these places are subject to our abiding their rules, isn't it?

of cos, the teacher could have given a stern warning.

I do wonder why we have so many rules in Schools. I am always against that. But in Sillypore, I can understand. But I think anyhow cutting a student's hair is really uncalled for.

As for Joint-account, I am not for or against. But I do have 2 joint-accounts with then ex-wife.. and till now the 2 joint-account are still active. One is used primary by me and the other by her. Theoretically we can access funds in the other account but of course we never did. It is just for convenience - in case one of us suddenly passes away.

I have a safe at home and my ex-wife has full access to it. It is just the trusts that we have - even as ex husband and wife.

The point is, is the rule still relevant to it's intended purpose? Was it ever? Some clubs continue to bar female members; some used to accept only members of a certain race. They need to move along with changing or different societal norms.

Hair. How's that relevant to discipline is beyond me. Do we just decide on some arbitrary and stupid rules in the name of inculcating discipline and values? And do we never ever do away with rules? Even incomprehensible ones? We are not talking mobile phones in public libraries. Taiwan did away with similar rules on hairstyles do u see their students running amok like unbridled farm animals? Let the parents decide when it comes to their children's appearance and let the blinking educators do what they are hired for. We have bigger problems (eh teachers are having inappropriate relationships with their charge yo) than to spend resource policing hair styles and footwear and fingernails and makeup and...

And then theres the notion of shaming the violators. Lets be honest that's the purpose of dispensing free haircuts. What kind of message or what kind of lessons are intended here? Even if we can agree on having rules on appearances the punishment is wholly inappropriate and disproportionate.

If the hairstyle is not appropriate, since the hair is usually cut with approval of the parents, the teacher should engage the parents.

Discipline and basic respect for the parents should be on the same par. The lack of communication here is unwanted.

I am not with the parents, but the teacher should think properly.

Denise, referring to your post on January 14, 2012 - 6:42 am:
"hahahahah...thanks, matka, for your interjection. I FINALLY know what that silly person was trying to craft grammatically. Then again, your explanation is not exactly accurate. The main subject and verb are still 'wimps' and 'deny'. 'this is whacking' is the sub-clause that silly person is referring to. But you're right about 'this' refers to the action earlier. Despite being a layman like her, you were at least clearer to me so thanks you!"

All I did was simplify the message because you didn't seem to comprehend what Watching was saying. I was not going into the grammatical aspect of it, so I don't really care whether it was or wasn't "exactly accurate". Afterall, I am only, as you say, a layperson. Typically, I would take offense with the tone you used. But I'll just take it as an occupational hazard.

-

With regards to the rules. I agree that students should abide by the rules if there are those in place. But I do not agree with the teachers acting as hairstylists, especially on the first day of school. Yet on the other hand, the mother threw a diva fit by calling the police. Both sides were at fault.

Yes, the mother made it bigger than it is.. But then how would we know otherwise? The school will most probably sweep it under the carpet.

Teachers need to enforce discipline.. but common sense is needed. In this instance, I think the teacher is over zealous... and most probably telling the student, who is the boss? I think such behaviour is unwarranted.

Nowadays, schools have emails and mobile phone of parents.. they sent out emails comms + SMS reminders.. so in this instance, a simple comms to the parent can be done. Why the need to cut student's hair so unprofessionally?

When in rome, do as the romans do...this haircut issue has been around for ages....if the parents not please just migrate to a country which allows ur child to grow watever length he/she wants la...

Since this is the rules/regulations set down by the skool...just follows it...*simple

Aiyoh i din set the rules mah...MOM did them...u target me also no use leh...

Beside relax la, this is a forum...we contribute to wat we deem fits...personal attacks only breed hatred leh....><"

But if migrate i would prefer new zealand...nature...*best

Nz is for folks who can function without rules dictating their existence. You'd be happier in north Korea - there are many rules and they are not change happy.

i'm on different wavelength and perhaps, pretty old-school for such issues as i believe in empowering the educators with certain disciplinary measures for defiance in terms of personal grooming and behaviour in a uniformed-school setting (ie. primary, secondary, jc)

always believe that parents shld do their part in ensuring that their kids abide to the regulations, and not just whine and complain whenever their kids are disciplined.

however given the current era, i agree that the teacher could manage it more carefully - by informing the parents beforehand.

matka,

there was never offence intended when I wrote to you. 'Layman' is just an apt word which I would use on myself in areas such as engineering that I do not know. Not sure why you're a little sensitive about this. My nasty tone was targeted at you know who and it's never at you in case you need me to clarify. And if you have been reading carefully, it's not my occupational hazard to pick on ppl's grammar.In all those posts, I did it deliberately to Watching because she is the ONE who kept harping on others' grammar errors when she doesn't know much. Besides, I really didn't get Watching's message on 'wimps' until you clarified in your layman terms that was at least clearer to me than Watching's layman explanation. And in the end, it was clearly still her grammar error that caused the misunderstanding. Hope this is clearer to you now. When I don't understand someone, I'll just ask them to clarify and never liked to 'show off' my knowledge of grammar. I also don't criticise or doubt their intentions like Watching did.

I'm red ass on this because it's an issue close to my heart. We spend a big part of our formative years in schools. The environment, the rules, the punishments, the expectations... of the schools we attend and the education we receive will mould us into who we will be. I believe many of our (negative) Singaporean traits - unimaginative, uncreative, uncommunicative, conformist, rigidity, etc. - has their genesis in our educational system. You don't just flip a switch at JC/poly level and expect the harm (if you consider those traits to be negative) to be undone. Case in point - many were shocked that the dude who smashed the mrt train door is a born and bred Singaporean. I think its fair to say that for most Singaporeans they'd sooner faint from asphyxia than risk breaking a rule.

I do realize its a matter of how far do we go. And opening up with more freedom may create a somewhat messy and perhaps less effective learning environment for some. Having said that many countries we look to for inspiration are doing just that and have managed the transition well. They open up because it's necessary for the new economy and for various reasons. We shouldn't stay where we are and get left behind. Even saf has changed, schools shouldn't expect to keep to the old command and control methods just so they can run things easier or with fewer problems.

right, you have some points re. the flaws in our local educational system that i could also see - but in terms of the learning process in a classroom setting - perhaps, not so much on the disciplinary rules in place simply because i do prefer an environment for our kids who are not over-protected (by the parents)

anyway, as far as some of us have heard, schools have mellowed down their disciplinary measures, unlike the yesteryears. this very issue was probably one of those occasional ones that were not publicly discussed.

and i believe there is more creative learning and critical thinking as compared to our schooling days in the 70s, 80s and 90s.

dude toma,

if u allow them to have a decision on their hair, then u might also have to give them the freedom to express in terms of length, colour, before moving on to ear-studs, tattoos and stuff... just to see where it might likely be heading.

thing is, at a young age, some of those 'decisions' may not be one of individualism, but a need to identify with cliques or gangs... of cos all in good fun and hopefully reversible.

i dun agree with the act of cutting the kid's hair, but i fully agree with having rules to abide by for uniformed conformity in dressing and appearance.

i have a feeling that if a kid has long hair... he'll end up on stomp by some boliao stomper with the heading "can school kids have long hair nowadays? why like dat?" kind of post.... then the school will face another different set of problems.

i guess this will go down with our individual ways of nurturing our kids... for me it's for them to understand the concept of conformity... and following it First... and that happens in pri/sec/jc days. their thinking and mindset is nurtured on a different platform. when u think of it, as much as we want them to be Individuals... we should also want them to form Bonds, Togetherness, Belonging, Team-Spiritedness etc...

hair isn't the big issue, to me the act was 'Both-to-blame'.

Then again, tomasulu, how does having no rules make them more creative people in school?
Anyway, can you wear shorts and singlet when you conduct a meeting? These are 'rules' as in decorum and code of conduct, aren't they? Why do you conform? You might as well wear singlet and shorts to conduct a meeting or wear these to a relative's wedding at this high class hotel.

There are always rules and regulations to guide us in life, like it or not. Schools have their own set of rules and even across schools, rules are slightly different with regard to hairstyle and dressing.

Come to think of it, students in China conform to even more stringent rules. Are they any less creative than students in Usa?

Powder dude you remind me of a certain chicken little who thought bar top dancing will lead to fights and deaths. I'm disappointed that this is coming from you. Allowing longer hair will mean more folks getting tattoos and joining gangs... Really?? Sorry I don't see it.

I don't worry for your kids or mine. We are opinionated folks so it's likely that our progeny will take after us, notwithstanding the best effort by the schools to assimilate or normalize them. But society as a whole will stupefy and be less progressive. kids in general are more stressed and less happy than they could've been.

Denise I try not to engage you because you are typically unthinking and or illogical. I don't care (i actually like it to be honest) if someone disagreed with me if he has a well reasoned well thought out point of view. what I don't appreciate is the shoot from the hip false dichotomy argument thats devoid of coherence and relevance.

Who's talking about not having any rules at all?

bartop dancing leads to unwanted pregnancy! besides concussion.

i was referring to it in terms of individualism... i dun mean tattoos n gangs in that gangster/secret society setting lah... u know tattoos as in wakeboarding groupies, punk rock groupies, hair colouring for group identification or following certain idols...? it's like how we idolised Pet Shop Boys and put on our "BOY" cap after school with a giordano non-button polo slung over our uniforms.

yeah i'm not so worried abt our kids... should have enough 'james dean' in it to inject some strength in individualism. i'm not exactly gonna be hounding them for top grades anyway... i just hope they can develop extraordinary logic, common sense and ability to put things into perspective. tat would ensure a brighter future than most.

Is there a direct link between a hair style and creativity thinking?

The concern is about where to draw the line. Its important for school to instill discipline but care must be taken. The entire saga is an escalation of a badly handled disciplinary action by the teacher and over action by the parent.