MOLE REMOVAL HELP!

• Thread starter Thread starter birthmarks
  • Start date Start date

Hi Lilian,

Dun know....that's what they told me. What is the length of ur scar? Perhaps I shouldn't expect too much lah....it's a surgery (ie excision) which will leave a scar definitely. But I find 1.5cm too long already...I dun dare to take the risk.

Feeling very disappointed now....
Thought I could get rid of that mole.

tham,

1.5cm! that much?!

If it is a small one I reckon is okay but that thing with scar is sometimes when your skin get allergic to something.. they raise up.. I have this chickenpox scar on my upper lips which you cant see actually. However, at times... when I get it irratated.. my lips swell up a little and you can the small scar..

Anyway Tham..maybe you want to seek a 2nd opinion? Like from a private doctor? My GP being asking me to get rid of the mole for ages and he told me that it will be a small one..

tham, agree with Ling, think u shld seek 4 2nd opinion. If i were u, i'll not go 4 it if it will leave a 1.5cm scar.
My scar is t size of t original mole lor, probably 1 or 1.5mm wider at t most...

Hi Ling & Lilian,

That's why...both of u also find 1.5cm too much right? Luckily I didn't go for it.

Actually just now, while about to leave, I sort of chatted with the receptionist regarding this and what she said was, it's not surprising as my mole is rather big. It's still better than having a black mole there.

Ya...guess I should seek 2nd opinion elsewhere. But being the skin centre in singapore, they can only do it leaving a 1.5cm scar, I wonder who else can produce better results?

Lilian,

Can I have the addr and contact no. of the clinic @ Outram where u remove urs? Maybe can try my luck...

Hi Ling & Lilian,

Just call my GP to enquire about mole removal. She said she will remove by a new method, call electro-surgery (something like that) which needs no excision or stitching and cost about $100 per mole. Anybody heard about that?

Maybe will go down to see her one of these days...

Hi Tham,
Chang Clinic & Surgery
Blk 7 Everton Pk #01-21
Tel: 6221 6955

It's located under a HDB flat. Near t Cantonment Police HQ. Suggest u go 4 a consultation first b4 deciding whether u wan 2 do it there. Must feel comfortable n confident of t doc.

tham.. serious! only 100!

But is it those like burn and wait for a few days to drop off kinda?

Actually this kinda better go to asethetic doctor who do botox and stuff..because they sure want to do it nice and proper for you lest you ruin their signboard if you get what I mean.

Ling,

What do u mean "only 100"?

Ya...if I'm not wrong, something like that...because I just call up to ask and over the phone cannot ask too much also, unless I go for consultation then ask her to explain more. I wonder is this the same method used by those beauty salons, which I heard before some do it but mole will grow back eventually? Must check with GP also. Btw, I wonder will they (GP) tell the truth?

Oh is it? Better go to asethetic doctor who do botox? Any recommendations then?

Tham...

100 is cheap what considering no need what consulation and stuff .. and your doctor actually say maybe can be up to 500...

Huh.. grow back? like that also jiat lat.. but how to know?

I think doctor woffles wu is very good for that ... reason is because I read his articles every month very various mag and he go on TV for interviews as well.. apart from that I dont know anyone else

Ling,

Fyi, consultation at GP is about $25.00 and they usually will want u to go down for assessment first before anything can be done. Ya...agree that $100 for removal is considered cheap, but provided it doesn't grow back again.

Actually I dun really mind the money if someone can give me satisfactory results. In fact, my budget initially to remove my mole is around $1000.

Do u know where is the doctor's addr and contact no. that u have mentioned? I have never heard of him although u mentioned he has gone on tv before.

Ling,

That's why...I told u I am not a vain person and never have I ever thought of going for cosmetic surgery, so that's why I haven't even heard of Dr. Wu although he is very reputable. Hahaha...

Anyway, thanks for ur information.

Jasmine, r u still around? Wonder what comments do u have with my experience? I find that u r very lucky to have removed ur mole with no visible scar leh....

Ling,

Went to my GP (family doctor) today...she said she will remove by burning away the tissue and will leave a reddish patch initially. As time goes by, new skin will grow. The appearance will depend on the depth of my mole, may form a scar similiar to that of a chickenpox. Well, I haven't had any chickenpox before (I think so) so I dun know how does that look like. But I heard u had before is it?

But I guess there is the best results I can get lah...cannot expect 'perfection'.

If I had known that the GP which is so near my house, provide this service, I wouldn't had gone to NSC. Thinking back, NSC is not cheap leh....wasted my money! *sigh*

Hi Tham,
sorry have been busy. I am very surprised that they say will leave a 1.5cm scar for a 0.5 mm mole. My scar, if you really stare very very close at my face with me pointing at the place where the ex mole is, is about 0.2-0.3mm or smaller. They did tell me about initial redness and swelling, which i didn't encounter, but i understand that all these will go away. Maybe you can consider prof Goh. As compared to other methods, this is a method that will ensure that the mole never returns.

Jasmine,

My mole is 0.5 centicentre (cm), not millimetre (mm), fyi. Aiyoh, if my mole is so small like 0.5mm, I wouldn't want to remove liao....

That's why...I still dun understand how come they need to cut that much to remove the mole. But since they r professionals and that's what they told me, I just have to take their words lor. Anyway, I dun know anything about Prof Goh...dun think they would allow u to choose ur own surgeon too. Who do u think u r...maybe they would think that?? Ok...even if I choose Prof Goh for consultation as a private patient, doesn't mean I can get him to perform the surgery too what. That's what I think. Dun know whether u agree?

Anyway, the doctor whom i saw for consultation told me that any surgery will leave a scar that will not fade away. But she didn't mention it will leave such a long scar until on my day of surgery, the doctor there (different doctor) told me it will leave a 1.5cm scar. And when they showed me how the mole will be cut and stitched by drawing, it looks scary from the way they draw the stitches, I dun know whether it will leave any "railway track" scar or not...if u know what i mean....

opps yah typo. i meant 0.5 cm.
When i went in, i asked for him and when i did the arrangement for the op, it was through him. The nurse in charge told me when he was avaliable to do the op for me. Nope i dun have any railway track scar. Procedure looks scary but actually nothing much.

Anyway, dun think I will go back to NSC again...dun want to spend so much and in the end, may get the same answer.

What is ur opinion of the removal method by my GP btw? Do u have any friends or whoever who have removed moles in this way?

I finally got my mole out just now. Went to my GP to do it. Hmmm....feeling abit of discomfort now, but bearable. Experience some bleeding also after the injection and during the procedure. Still haven't looked at my wound yet becos it's covered with plaster now. Wonder how it looks like? But what a relief that I finally have it removed.

Hi Tham,
So it's not 1.5cm rite?
Remember do not eat 'poison' food like seafood and eggs now. No dark soy sauce too.
Is your plaster those normal one? Or a bigger bandage? As I dun think normal plaster is good enuff...
Happy for u

Hi Lilian,

It's a round piece bandage around the size of 20 cents. Still haven't peeled off the bandage to take a good look yet, but guess it won't leave a 1.5cm scar because by burning, not cutting. But my doctor told me I have to wait for some debris to drop off.

Oh cannot eat seafood and eggs, who told u? My doctor did not say anything.

Lilian, anyway thanks for ur advice and well wishes. Perhaps I should rather believe it by not taking food which I shouldn't take.

Lilian, just to double check, 'poison' seafood means prawn and crabs right? Can take fish or not huh?

Hey Tham!!

HEEE!!!! HAPPY LEH!!

How much did it cost you? I am thinking of doing it as well..

Sigh... Where's your GP located? Mine GP dont do this procedure.. did the doc mentioned anything about the possibility of it growing it back?

Hi Tham,
Is there any open wound? If there is, then u got to mind ur food intake, as 'poison' food is said to cause inflammation of the wound. Poison food r like prawn, crab, animal intestines, eggs, peanut, rojak... My mum told me one...
Oh ya, there shld b open wound since u said got bleed...

Describe t process to us lay...

Hi Ling & Lilian,

I saw the wound already. Ya..an open wound, like a cut...still a little blood coming out occasionally. And swollen and a bit red around the cut too which my doctor said it's only temporary.

First, she gave me an injection...I would say quite painful and some blood coming out also. But the process was ok...just that there will be some burning smell. Oh she said it won't grow back because she also burnt away the root until I felt slight pain eventually and she stopped the procedure. She said it's better not to go further becos scared that will result in a scar. After that, she cleaned the wound and apply ointment and a plaster. Give me some antibiotics to prevent infection as well as medicine to wash and apply on the wound.

It cost me $100 inclusive of medicine. My GP is near Toa Payoh Lor 4.

Oh ya Lilian, u still haven't told me can eat fish or not? I guess fish shouldn't be a problem right? Heard that fish helps to heal wounds too?

Tham,

Wah.. you brave leh.. I see needles I probably lapse into a coma. My treshold of pain is like non existance!

Anyway Dont take soya sauce also lah.. just to be safe...

So how did your mum react?

Lilian, thanks. Will eat alot of fish then.

Ling, r u sure u will faint when u see needles? Actually, I'm not brave...I was commented to be timid too. But once decided to go for it, just have to take it. In fact, I closed my eyes thru' out the procedure...dun want to see anything.

What's done is done, my mum didn't really say anything. She just said up to me lor and ya she also cautioned me not to take certain food.

Dun worry lah...unless u r still considering. If not, once decided and go for it, I'm sure u r ready to take anything liao....

The area where my mole used to be finally dried up and the scab dropped off. But can still see something there which looks like a scar to me. I have a feeling that it's not completely removed from beneath because there is still hair growing out of it. *Sigh* Just hope that it won't grow back again. Though the doctor guarantees result, but I would say it's still very difficult to say one...

Anybody has similar experience? Pls share...

Lilian, r u still around? I called up ur GP to ask, they told me they will remove it by excision. I wonder how come urs no need stitches. Can share with me how ur doctor remove ur mole or not? Arghhhh...I'm going crazy over this issue liao...

Tham..

I think is a very small scar lah... I am sure it will be less prominent than a mole...

I am having someone to look at my mole location this weekend. So I might go to have it remove soon as well.

Anyway Tham.. no use fretting.. I am sure it be okay.. did any of your friends commented abt the missing mole?

Ling,

I know it's a small scar. Actually not so much the scar that I'm fretting, I just suspected that it's not removed from the roots.

Who is going to take a look at ur mole? A fortune teller? Update me your process okay?

So far, I have not met up with my friends yet.

Tham..

Can you still see a slighted black spot at the mole location? If yes, I will assume the root not remove. I think incision will be the best way to remove if that's the case.. sigh..

Okie.. haha... my friends were quite excited, makes me wonder if they are the one removing it! ha! I going with a few of my friends actually!

What about your relatives? Did they comment anything?

I have 3 small moles on my face, all protruding, 1 below my left eye, 1 @ the corner of my nose & 1 on the face, I intend to remove it but... dun know where to go.. my beautician or GP.

Any advise ?

Ling,

That I can't really tell. I just notice there is still some faint colour around the area...can't tell whether it's a scar or what. But because there is still hair growing out of the area which I used to have when I had a mole there, so I suspected it's not removed from the root. Ya guess excision is still the best method to remove everything, but hor as what they say, u r actually replacing the mole with a scar lor. And u can't tell how the scar will look like. Some scar can be rather awful looking.

Haha..ur friends so funny. I didn't meet up with too many relatives too and so far, none notice anything leh...

Cclyn,

If u trust ur beautician, then go to them. U can go GP too. Actually I find no difference, but of course GP will make sure that u won't have any infection after that, but I'm not sure about beautician.... Or if u don't mind doing by excision, u can also go National Skin Centre. Actually there are a few options available, if u were to read the earlier postings in this thread. Guess it also depends on ur budget because some can be rather expensive.

Hi Tham

I heard that non-protruding mole can be remove by laser, but for protruding ones, must it be remove by excision or can it done by laser also? Any other method beside these ?

*Haiz* dun know is it safe to do by beautician leh, if the mole is not on my face, i will sure go to my beautician but... is on my face, *scare leh* what happen if there is infection... may be will go GP for consultation first.

Thank for the advise

Cclyn,

Actually I have read quite a number of articles on mole removal, but each has their own say. I'm also getting very confused! Some say laser can only be done on protruding ones but some also mentioned that laser cannot remove a mole from its roots. My opinion is, whether a mole is flat or protruding, it's still grown under your skin what. So I don't know...really don't know. Even doctors cannot give a definite answer...???

So far, I only know these are the methods, excision, laser and "burning", but is laser = burning?? Seems like there are a few types of laser too.

Hi Tham,
Haha... I'm still here...
Mayb u wanna describe ur scar more in detail? Issit flat? Like a pimple scar? Wat color?

Me still have a light color scar, like a pimple scar lor. I'm not sure if t mole will ever grow back. But if it does, then no choice lor, i will probably live with it

Think excision is t best way to remove t roots. Tham, mayb u should jus wait & monitor if t mole grows back. No pt worrying over smthg tat might not even happen rite?

I'm not sure why mine didn't require stitches. Mayb mine is on bridge of nose, where not much 'flesh' to do stitches.

Hi Lilian,

Ya something like a pimple scar...looks like a depressed one if u really scrutinise it, although not very deep lah, and is between dark red and brown in colour. Although it's not as prominent as a mole, but still noticeable leh. No wonder they say u r actually replacing the mole with a scar. But I hope the colour will fade away with time... Btw, I read in magazine about this fade cream which can make scar not so noticeable. I saw that in guardian pharmacy and it costs about $19, quite a big tube. Haven't bought, don't know whether effective or not. Have you heard before?

Ya...I also know that it's no point worrying something which might not happen...but now I still feel occasional itch at the site. What about u?

Actually I did call up your GP to enquire, they told me they are removing by excision method leh...so maybe urs won't grow back.

Hi Tham,

I had my mole removed yesterday using laser, very fast less than 5 mins
I went to GP who is also dermatology, consultation + laser $200, Dr said it will dried up and scab will dropped of within 7 to 10 days.

You are right ! I did ask Dr what's the different btw GP and beautician, and of course he said GP will make sure no infection after that.

tham

don't fret, maybe you knew about the scar and is obvious to yourself but not to onlooker. as for the hair..you may pluck it lor.

till now, still cannot pluck enuff courage to get rid of mine yet...i get panic easily when i see needles....sigh, probably...i'll just leave it.

Hi cclyn,

How many moles have u removed for $200? Since u say very fast and it's less than 5 mins, I presume only one. And it's indeed very fast...mine took longer than that leh. Maybe around 20-30 mins. Did ur GP give u any anesthetic before that? And did he say anything about possibly of it growing back again?

Hi Wan,

Thanks for that. But my scar is quite obvious, not surprising even if onlooker noticed that. It seems the scar is getting darker too...really scared the mole will grow back again. But no choice now, just keeping my fingers cross.

Hi Tham

$200 for 3 moles + consulation.
Actually I wanted to remove all 3 moles but in the end only 2, din remove the one under my eye cos GP said that area is more sensitive & will get a bit swollen after laser, so will arrange for next visit (no extra charge).

Yes, GP gave me anesthetic on each mole before laser.

I din asked about growing back, but he did mentioned one of my mole is quite deep and he had removed 100 %, so i think unlikely will grow back again.

Hi cclyn,

Did u see the laser been used? How does it look like? And is there a burning smell during the procedure? Just want to know is it the same procedure as mine...

Hi Tham

I didn't get to see how the laser been used cos before Dr started, i was wearing goggle. Yes, during the process there was a burning smell.