MOLE REMOVAL HELP!

tham

Hi babybbsg,

If I were u, I won't remove anything that is not visible, ie as long as it's not on the face. But if u really would like to remove, I can give u my GP's addr and contact no. But it's in Toa Payoh Lor 4 leh...is it too far for you? My GP charged me $100 inclusive of medicine for that. She is quite nice lah...I went back a few times for follow-up after that but she didn't charge me any consultation except medicine only. It takes about 1-2 weeks to heal.

Ling, you haven't seeked any consultation from doc yet right? U can try...maybe urs not so bad leh? But u can select other method of removal except excision what.

babybbsg

hi tham,

I went to glenegles to remove my mole today.It cost about 300. I think is cutting.Doctor says scarring will depends on on individual.And yes the mole is on my face.I have a few stiches and is now being covered with a plaster.He said I will remove the plaster and stitches after 6 days.God bless that my wound will be healed perfectly.
Will update u again.Thanks!

babybbsg

erm sorry very blur it is 0.2cm. not painful only injection feel painful only.but have to bear with the transparent plaster

tham

cclyn,

Where exactly was ur previous mole on ur nose? I have one at the corner of my right nostril. Still considering whether to remove that as well....

lindy_koh

e earliest appt that NSC could arrange for me is 9 june 2005.wonder if i could get an earlier date if i were to do it at a private/govt hospital?which hospital is reputable to do such procedures and wat would e cost be like?

cclyn

Hi Lindy

I believe you can get an earlier date in private but the cost may be higher then govt.

The clinic i went was quite resonable i find cos their consulation fee is $30 (abt same as GP). I paid $200 to remove 3 moles + consulation, hehe... in the end the doc removed 4 moles and 2 warts for me.

lindy_koh

Hi cclyn,
was ur procedure by laser or excision? Mine must be done by excision as it is slightly protruding. where is the clinic u went? thanks!

cclyn

mine moles were slightly protruding too and were done by laser. The doc did not mention abt excision.

The clinic is The Medical & Rejuvenation Centre @ Cross st.

cclyn

hi Lindy
not all moles are removed completely, the one under my left eye are not cos doc told me that the root was very deep, so he did his best to removed whatever he can, will see how it goes... the one on my face seems to turn into a flat mole instead (hopefully was fade off eventually). The mole near my nose was gone

Will be going back to see the doc again

lux

Hi Tham,

Ya ready to remove the mole now ald.. but still scar of scarring leh! I mean if I remove it and still become a flat mole might as well dont do it? I just want to completely remove it.

Will start sourcing for doctor liao.. so far think nothing beats incision..

lindy_koh

u are rite, excision is prob the only way to completely remove. maybe u can go to polyclinic to get referal letter and they wil refer u to NSC. but like i mentioned, u wil have to wait for an appt quite a few weeks away. Where is ur mole? I also afraid of scarring at first but i decided to go ahead as scar can always heal over time..better to do it now than later when i'm older!

are u gettin married soon?

lux

Hi Lindy,

But is just for aesthetic purpose... you think the polyclinic give you a referral letter for that?

Anyway mine in on my nose bridge so am a bit concern as it seems like near to my eye..

Ya.. AD next year, ROM this august.. still have time but still thinking about it. My boyfrd is going.. why do you have to bother it after so long.. *sigh* Guys! I just want to remove it loh.

Like Tham said.. it does boost the confident. However if it become a flat mole.. Doubt I want to go through it.

cclyn

Ling / Lindy

not all removal will turn out to be a flat mole, mine may be exceptional, may b the doc did not remove it completely.

lindy_koh

i think u have time to do it and its a cause of concern, then go see the doc. they wil give a referral letter. my only regret is not doing it sonner. Coz my AD in aug already.and my surgery in june.

My surgery is excision to completely remove the mole. hope this helps

tham

cclyn,

Mine is also somewhere there. But my concern is I have sensitive nose and don't know the degree of pain when injection is done at the area.

Ling,

Like what cclyn said, not all removal will result in a flat mole. Excision is the best but will result in scarring. I can understand how u r feeling now. You want to remove it but afraid of the unknown, same as what I have experienced before. If u think u can live with it, then forget about removing it. If not, why not give it a try, say by laser first to see how is the result. Although Lindy said that scar will still heal eventually. But as far as I have read from somewhere, a scar will not heal completely either. The most is to fade off, making it less visible that's all. Well, how true is that I don't know.

lindy_koh

Hi Tham,
thats rite, a scar is permanent. the only thing is that its likely to fade over time. it wil depend on individual skin condition..its a gamble.but then again,if u think u wil be stressed out,etc, then it would also affect the healing process. my bf was just saying it would be funny looking at old pix when i stil had a mole and in 2 mths, i wil be w/0 a mole,hahahah..think my friends and family wil get a shock too!

babybbsg

hi tham,

I have removed the stiches.It is now a helaing wound.It is like a red line, if u know what I mean.Still hoping it will heal faster.Will update u again.

tham

Hi babybbsg,

I think I can somehow visualise how your wound is like....

How long is it btw? And is it slightly raised or flat?

lindy_koh

Hi babybbsg,

how many stitches did u have (when did u do ur removal?by excision?)?mine is gona have about 3 stitches. is it a raised or depression scar?dun keep looking and thinking bout the scar ok? it doesnt help to worry and get too stressed about it.

tham

babybbsg,

Wow ur wound not long leh, that means about 0.3cm only lor? I presume not very visible. I dun know why for my case, the NSC needs to cut so long? Really puzzling!? I'm suspecting they dun bother to pay attention to it.

babybbsg

hi Lindy,

I got 2 stitches.It is still reddish now. It is neither depressed nor raised.But I have a feeling in time to come it will be gone totally.I just realised my aunt took out 3 moles at $70 only.What's more amazing is that hers is those very protruded mole.She mentioned that sh did it at those 'bai tan'.I didnt probe further might be those pasar malam one.Her face so flawless at the mole spot cant c anyhting scar at all.

lindy_koh

Hi babybbsg,
so ur scar can be concealed with make-up?i think ur scar is really short, good for you! was it painful to remove e stitches?

tham

I heard that some Chinese sinseh did mole removal too, using chinese medicine. Really wonder how they did that?

tham

Babybbsg,

Btw, is that a clinic at gleneagle that u went to? What is ur doc's name and can ur charges be deducted thru' medisave?

babybbsg

hi tham,

Yes it is a clinic in Gleneagles.I didnt ask if I could use medisave.It is reccomended by someone in this thread in the first few pages.

lindy_koh

hi bbsg,
i'm doin at NSC,n e doc was freakin me out about the scar..it seems like u can already use make-up to conceal bout one week aft the excision ya? thats nice to know!

babybbsg

The clinic is at Medical tower and the unit is #09-06.The DR is Lim Kah Beng. Cant remember the name of the clinic.sorry

Yes, I pay by cash.

haru

actually i am gg for a mole removal at NSC this friday, by excision.and my ROM is already next Friday. so i may have to have a plaster on my face when i go for ROM next week! coz i'm not sure if the scar will be healed nicely by then. i'm not too sure about the SGH, but i remember my mum did have her moles removed there by laser many years ago...

haru

hi tham,
she said scar is permanent but of coz it will take time to heal.but she mentioned that it would be possible to conceal with make-up.but my mum who did laser at SGH doesnt really have scar now...but the moles are not completely gone. can still see a little bit, bit very slight lah...

tham

Haru, actually for me, I would rather not completely remove the mole then having a scar which needs to be concealed every day.

Anyway, update us after friday ok?

lux

tham,

your scar how ald?? can show a photo of it?

Me busy with school and work so can't find the time to go to the doctor yet...

cclyn

Hi Tham

I went back to see Doc laos, he said tat's a stubbon mole so he laser for me again FOC. Hope this time will be gone permanently

haru

i'm gg for excision appt tis aftn. actually feel glad that I'm finaly doin it..hahahha..it's funny coz everyone seems more nervous n concern about the scar than me!

haru

i'm back!e process was quite fast. e docs and nurses were really nice..kept assuring me.i was quite shocked with i first saw e mirror coz my scar is quite long. but the doc reassured me that tom wil be better aft i remove e bandage. they used transparent stitches and i will be going back to remove them next wed.

i will update again on how e wound is after i remove the bandage tom.

tham

Ling,

Sori not able to show photo lah...but there is a small patch of skin at the spot, and the colour has turned lighter now.

cclyn,

Hope that u will be able to get rid of the stubborn mole successfully.

Haru,

My doc at NSC that time warned me before that I'm going to get a long scar, that's why I didn't go for it. How long is ur scar? All the best for ur healing. Take care ok?

haru

hi tham,
e scar is quite long.but its only e first day aft the surgery.so its hard to tell, but i think it will be healed really quick. now i just wash it with the solution and apply some antibiotic cream.no need to bandage.i think i wil bandage when i go out though.. e transparent stitches can be seen if you look really close,but other than that, i think its not soo bad. but it depends on individual though..some may think its not nice even to have a tiny scar.in fact e doc told me its good i decided to remove it coz its quite big