MOLE REMOVAL HELP!

birthmarks

Any ladies out there has any experience of removing moles or birthmarks? Any recommendations of a particular product or doctor? Thanks in advance.

adrienne

yea I did but I dun think u'd wanna try wat i did... lol... i went to the pasar malam to get mine moles on the face removed and then did moer visits at the Chinatown HQ. Itz actually run by a Chinese Medical Hall... not bad lah the moles just dried up and dropped off by themselves... not painful and skin's alrite =) They used a cream made from floral extracts and is chemical free. Dunno if u game to try lor but i did. ( So did my FH and my aunt)

birthmarks

That sounds a little scary :p Got any scar left behind? Btw, how big was the mole? What if its a flat one?

tigger

I remove a mole tt pop out just under the skin of my nose many moons back. I went to this clinic in Bishan. He used laser to remove it. It was really fast and not scary at all. As Adrienne said, after a while, it will dry up and drop off. The clinic is very near to the NTUC supermarket.

cody

tigger, you mean the doc didn't have to give you any anaethesia ?

i have a mole i wish to remove, coz it's relatively fast (ie may be cancer). But scared leh ...

i know i'm chicken ..............

mollimolli

no problem. In 1992, my whole family went to a Katong Shopping Centre salon to remove our moles. $10 per mole. Cheap cheap! Just wait for the scab to dry up and it will drop off automatically. Of course they will give you some medicated herbal powder to apply to dry the burnt parts. After that they gave me a bottle of rejuvenation essence to apply on the part where the scab fell off. My skin grew back in 2 weeks' time. After a month, my face was flawless, but my luck changed as a result. My results went down the hill! Believe it or not!
Cancer or not, depends on luck. I've a colleague who removed her mole before her wedding and developed skin cancer...spooky!

tigger

Wow molli sounds scary leh.
Mine cost abit more. I think $60?
Cody, the doc did not give me anaestatic.
He chked my mole if it can be removed anot.
Can't really remember what did he say.
BUt it was a painless process.
He just used the laser to burn my mole. There will be burning smell. After abt 20min, it's done. Give you some medication to apply on the area and i hvent had any repercussion from it. At first worried it might grow back, but it is like 10 yrs already leh.
I suggest before you remove, talk to the doc. Do some research. Know what's going on. Maybe you'll feel better.

birthmarks

Dear tigger and mollimolli, thanks for sharing, finally found someone to share their experience with. Me been wanting to remove my mole but heartache the $$$ coz doctor at gleneagle says $800 - $1k for per laser treatment :p Me going to be a bride soon, saving hard still gotto pay so much for something so small! FH finds out sure scream!!! Can you please kindly provide me with the address and number to find out more from your doctor? Thank you.

tigger

hmm birthmarks, I don't hve the address with me now. When are you getting married? I can get hold of the address only in August.
IF u hve time, go down to Bishan centre lar.
The clinic i go to is very near NTUC. It is beside a quite small coffee shop.

duchess

urmm,

i also thinking of removing "or ki" ... got a lot on my face and neck.. but i am afraid that removing them will change my fate.

what if those markings were actually kind to me leh? then how?

scar

I had moles removed from my face half a year back at the National Skin Centre. The doctor there mentioned that as they are unsure whether the mole is "deep", they suggest that I remove it via surgery and not laser. And I did.

The result, it does have a slight scar but it's not very obvious, esp after half a year. The scar looks a bit white in colour and not that obvious unless you really scrutinise it carefully. For me, I'd rather have the white colour scar than the black mole itself...:)

But you have to bear with the area initially cos it does swell a bit and reddish in colour.

Had two moles removed and cost me SGD 400 ++.

birthmarks

Hi Scar, which doctor did you go to? Coz my doctor at skin centre says around $800 for one!

adrienne

I know what u mean...

All these suan ming one say that that anyhoe remove moles can change ur fate.

If you are superstitious or jsut wanna be careful go to the Chinatown one that I went to ask ask ( FOC mah) Itz called Poo Kin Thong at Blk 4 Sago Lane, #02-109 (tel 62250986)

I went there. Didnt have scar and it was $10 per mole but coz got quite a few my Mum bargained and we had quite a good discount.

heard moles on back all bad and moles on front of body all good... oh well but after removing my mole, business has been coming in for my website design/ photography business...

U can go check em out but if u dun wanna go to them u can go do laser treatment =)

tigger

Hi Birthmark,

Sorry to keep you waiting.
THe name of the clinic is P Sim Family Clinic & Surgery in Bishan.

birthmarks

Hi tigger, i've call up the clinic, its actually call W P Sim Clinic and Surgery and its in Serangoon North not bishan???

tigger

huh birthmakes. no leh. its in bishan leh!
u wait ah. I double chk with my cousin again
and ask her for the tel no.

tigger

Hey birthmarks.
THe name is P Sim Family Clinic & Surgery.
Not W P Sim Clinic & Surgery. Different.

Address:509 Bishan Street 11 #01-378
Singapore 570509
Phone: 6353-8010

scar

Hi birthmarks,

first of all I went to a Polyclinic to get a recommendation letter, then they will arrange for an appt for me there in NSC. I guess that is why there is a price difference. As for the doctor, I'm not sure but I think it's just a doctor on duty there. Cos I went there twice and met up with different doctors.

tigger

Piont to consider. My mole is those flat small ones. So by laser is no problem. Maybe if it's bigger and protudes, might wanna hve it chked first and find the best possible way.

blad

had a friend who went for the laser to remove a big mole on the nose, protruding one...left a crater while healing, but healed in 3 mths..

he recommended me teh doctor, i had my flat moles removed abt 3 weeks ago, still recovering cos i hv lots of flat moles, they dun go by no. of moles tho..it's a per treatment kind of thing.

Paid only abt $60 +$100 for consultation , surger and medicine, $200 was left to my medisave.

just take care to ensure there's no scarring in the healing process.

birthmarks

Heh blad, where's this clinic? What's the name of the doctor?

serry

Hello, juz wanna find out if anyone noes how is a mole removed? i have a mole near my neck tt i always wan to remove but hv no idea how to go abt. any gals got experiences to share? where to get it done & wat is the cost? thks!

sheng

you can get your GP to refer you to a doctor, or you can go directly to a certified plastic surgeon (pls don't go to a beautician!) to get its removed.

Most moles are removed by laser now, depending on how big and how deep the mole has grown into the skin.

Price also depends on the size and depth like mentioned above, and depending on what kind of anaethesia they need to give you.

gal

I have 3 moles removed from my face. I juz went to those chinese medician who hv expr in removing moles to help me to remove.

Price very cheap at that time (2001) - only $10/small mole, bigger moles more expensive.

moley

I went to a polyclinic then they refered me to the National Skin Centre. Very cheap, very quick surgery. It was not by laser, but by "knife" or scapel, watever u call it. Whether laser or not depends on the size, depth shape of your mole, i guess. :)

curiousgal

Hi moley,

How cheap is the surgery?...price range? they charge by per mole?? ...my FH actually got some on his face and has been contemplating going for surgery...

serry

hi moley, me oso curious abt the surgery... wat is the surgery like? costs etc? need to take MC? u mentioned 'scapel' like.... izzit very painful durg recovery?

moley

I donno wat they used, but it's one of those sharp metal knife thingy. Donno, and I didn't want to see during the surgery too!
The cost is cheap cheap.... can't remember, something like below $30 for a small mole. I removed two moles, one big, one small. Sure got MC!! My bigger mole required stitches... so of cos give MC.
The painful part is actually when they inject the anasthetic (spelling?) to numb the pain. At some point in the stitching (to seal the wound), can feel a bit of the needle going in, but it's not painful, just some little "feeling". My small mole was very easily removed, not stitches, and minimal bleeding too. The doc just carefully cut off, and scrapped it neatly and gently.

It depends on who does the op for you. If you get a real experienced hand, it's smooth... like for my small mole. My bigger mole was removed right after the small mole was removed, but by a younger doctor. My stitched wound didn't heal very well... it's either becos of his skills, or becos my skin doesn't heal fast and well. Anyway, all of them were very nice, they chatted with me throughout the whole procedure. Even the nurse was nice.

Don't worry, just go to National Skin Centre, they will discuss with you the various options that are more suited for your mole, becos of where it's located (face? body? limbs?) and the type of scarring that can happen (keloids).

tweetie

Hi Moley,

How did u manage to get a referral? Everytime i go polyclinic, they juz refuse to refer me,the doc always ask me to go there myself. Referral got subsidy one rite??

hkgal

Hi tweetie,

yes referral got subsidy i think. its not cheap moley, i think i did mine for at least 200+?? and not forgetting there will be follow-up checkups wif each visit like ard 60+. Actually, the nurse warned me tat im actually replacing the mole with a scar...well, if u look carefully still can see a red patch there....or maybe mine not so sucessful...

sharz

I have experience to remove my mole. I actually removed one above my lips. For your info, if you intend to have a faster way to remove your mole intead of getting referral. You can just go the SGH's website and seek an enquiry to see a plastic surgeon to remove the mole by laser..However, you need to know the diff..there is no scar for laser surgery. I did mine at SGH. As for the one at national skin centre, i went there for consultation too. According to my experience, they only perform normal surgery, which will resulted a scar...but have to make it clear to you taht i m not to sure if they have laser surgery. As for the one at SGH, you will be surprise to know that my surgeon actually did it for me immediately when I went to consult him. It is a very fast procedure...just an immune injection then he starts to laser off...then, its done...but you have to constantly apply a medication. I went back to work after the surgery....
To your surprise, the fees incure to be is only $100+ as the rest of the cost can be deducted by CPF....actual cost for mine is $300+
As sheng adv, pls do not go to those beautician. Tat was also adv by my surgeon. need more info, email to me at [email protected]

hkgal

Sharz, NSC also have laser but not all moles can be removed by laser cos some are too deep and laser dont work.

sharz

Hi Floss,
I checked with NSC, they mentioned tat they dun hav laser thats why i didnt do my surgery there..in fact, NSC was the first consultation which i have made...do laser, hence, made other enquiry and came to know that SGH does laser.
Tweetie,
My doctor is Dr Chua Jun Jin. He is a plastic surgeon.

My hubby's face is full of moles, we went NSC and was quoted $50 for each mole!!! You can imagine 20 moles can cost how much liao!!! The doc said that moles that bumped out cannot be lasered the most surgery which might cause scar/hole.

Finally we went to our beautician who did him a laser. I can say that the big ones are lighten, the small ones gone. But cost us only $200 for the whole face and neck.

But laser quite painful.... like burning...

tiara

Can anyone advise any place for mole removal using application of cream on the mole? My friend did that and the mole falls off on its own 2 weeks after applying the cream.

mvp

Ya me interested to know oso. I tried to do ''pointing of mole'' techniques before in one of the beauty salon but the mole still there after the recovery stage. What's more after the process, my mole was embossed and I tot it wld be gone thereafter but din. Tiara, why dun u check with ur frenz where she did hers...I wld be veri much interested to know too.

tiara

Hi mvp

Maybe your mole is rooted? I understand that 'rooted' moles cannot be removed completely because it will grow again.

My friend did it at a shop in Tampines but that shop has sinced moved to People's Park but don't know where. And my friend can't remember the name of the salon.....

mvp

Hullo tiara,

Aiyo wat a waste...I hope to get rid of this mole but like wat u said, think it's really rooted that's why even once where I hurt myself on tat precise point, I tot the mole wld hve gone but when the wound heals, the mole is back again. So disturbing...Anyone has such prob and can remove their mole effectively?

tiara

Yah mvp, I heard that a friend's friend has the same problem as you. You may want to consult the National Skin Centre, but that will not be a painless way anymore ;)

mvp, where did you remove your mole? Which beauty salon is that?

mvp

I will be going to one of the family clinic today to enquire more abt the mole removal, dun think I wld want to go to those beautician anymore. Maybe I can share with u after my visit.

I went to Toni International, no effect at all, so it's a waste of money and I dun wanna go back and demand anything too cos the dist is quite far and pointless anyway.

lemoncake

I have mine removed by Dr. Lim K.B. at #09-06 Gleangles medical ctr. Mine was quite a big one below my eye, he used laser which costs about $450. It is recovered within 1 week with no scar at all.

rieza

thanks for the input

lemoncake - does it cost so much to remove one mole? was ur flat or protruding type?

guess national skin centre is cheaper, isn't it?
startz - any idea how much? :p

bubblez

riezw..

You can see a plastic surgeon or a dermatologist for that.

The SMA website will have a list of qualified specialists

greenie

hi rieza

the cost depends very much on ur mole. 4 mine, it was ard my neck, and i decided against the surgery coz there is a risk tt the wound will worsen. the cost is not exp, mine was ard $200. if its surface mole, i think its very cheap. mine is sort of embedded wif some nerves underlying, thus more risks.

bubblez is rite, a dermatologist will help. i went to Changi General Hospital 4 a 2nd opinion and the advise was the same. in the end, i gave up, unless i opt 4 plastic surgery, then of coz it will b more perfect, but the costs... *gasps* was more than $1K! 4 a mole, i wun spend so much lor.