Merchant Court Swissotel

• Thread starter Thread starter bb
  • Start date Start date
Thanks all. My wedding is not a week's time. But i will share with you all once it is over. It is somewhere next month. : )

I heard from the coordinator it is scottish music but we can always bring our own. But then, i thought it is better to have theirs since if we have ours, later the waiters don't know how to much according to the music. hee..

Hello Mr Bean,
How's your selection of wedding venues? Decided on any?

Jane,
A mth ah? haiyah.. sama sama lar .. also very fast will happen liao. keke ...
Have you heard what is the scottish music like? Maybe u can ask ur coordinators to let you listen to demo 1st then u decide? Better mah, in case u dun like the music or it does not suit ur theme ....

Oh do they? maybe i should just think of one song for first dish then.

They said so far the scottish music has no complaints and they all like it.

In fact, i always thought hotel will play their song for first dish.. so far all my friends have theirs played by hotel.

Hi Jane,

If you like their music, take it and save the hassle of brainstorming for a song/music .... was a headache among my friend/colleagues on top of the march in songs, champagne pouring etc.

Basically I think the presentation of the 1st dish is about the same, if the music is fast ...maybe they just move a little faster that's all .... unless you want them to dance ...which one of my colleague requested and they did it, but it's not SMC, it's another hotel.

Hi Mexia,

I have selected mine... it's not MC though.
It's ST..

I would be attending a wedding dinner early next month. Can feedback to you ladies on how did it turn out. Jane, are we talking about the same wedding date??? "chuckle"...

Sheraton Towers? i am going there for wedding dinner on 25 Dec. : ) Heard the food is one of the best! Top 3 in Singapore hotels i think.

Oh no... what is your friend's wedding date? Maybe i am the one! haha...

sally:
i agree with you that MC's initial package is cheaper than other good popular hotels as their seat covers are charged separately as an option.
you can select ur own songs for the whole dinner event. i was lazy to choose all the songs to last the whole dinner, so i only chose 1st, 2nd march-in and champagne pouring.

mr bean:
there're 2 diff deco for the stage..
1) pair of swans/doves, or "XI" (chinese character of double happiness) ice carving beneath a flower arch.
2) water fountain with garden fence as backdrop.

i chose the 2nd option and they utilised the flower arch for me by placing it at the ballroom main entrance! very pretty!!

most of my guests were parents' friends; so had no choice but to serve beer during reception. and they practically drank 2 barrels of 30L during the reception already. if possible, try to restrict serving the beer till the dinner commences.

jane tan:
i agree that the tealights will give a very romantic/cosy feeling..but i opted for the birdcage theme as it made MC look totally diff and unique frm other hotels.
they used scottish bagpipe music for 1st dish...which was nice!! no point choosing 1st dish songs urself..theirs is pleasant to the ears.

Hi Mr Bean,

It is not mine but very very very near. hee... once you attended, please let me know how is the food, ambience, music, etc... ok? Thanks!

Hi Cheers,

Thanks for the assurance that the scottish music is fine. i won't be changing then. It's a headache to think of so many songs...

hi, for those who are still wondering abt the song/music for the 1st dish, rest assured the scottish music that MC use is very grand & lively...i totally enjoyed it and didn't regret not using my own song.

Great! Thanks for the assurance Amberlyn.

By the way, anyone tried the yam paste for dessert? is it nice?

Is Merchant Court Wedding Dinner Package that horrible? I mean I held my ROM there and the Peranakan buffet so no good but my in-laws are convinced that the wedding dinner is good so there is pressure to try Merchant Court now.

But I must say I find the coordinator Jacy is very nice and flexible. I thot banquet staff are usually students or well at least chinese like us? Bangadelsh waiters? I am not sure that I like the idea basically.

Only afraid that those who attended my ROM will think "Aiyo not Merchant Court" again. My relatives told me personally that they don't find Merchant Court fantastic, only that the hotel looks very nice thats all.

Hi Madwoman,

I think you might try arguing for better package since u had your ROM there. But you may have to book early as wedding dinner at MC is quite popular.

I think so far the comments for wedding dinner at MC is quite good. But i guess it is your decision afterall whether you want it back at MC again.

Most of the banquet staff in all hotels are part-time. But i think the level of service would still be there, since there is a certain level of expectation they will need to maintain esp MC.

Ask yourself what u and your FH wants lor in hotel selection..

Are u sure MC uses Bangadelsh as waiters? The last time i was there, the waiters are all either Chinese or Malays ethnics leh ... Are u sure they really use Bangadelsh?
Can anyone advise?

As for dinner, i believe that MC banquet food are generally good .... so not to worry. I have been there for dinners and the food is up to standard ....

*Just hope that the waiters employed are not Bangadelshs ....*

Actually i read about them using Bangadelsh waited in this thread also... but i checked with my coordinator and he said that maybe one or two but not majority. Sometimes they get them due to manpower shortage i think. Also, it is not guaranteed that you have one waiter to one table... it can be one to two tables depending on how many waiters they have that day... so don't be misled.

i have been there for their dinner buffets and they are simply great!! But i am not sure about wedding dinners since i have not been to one there. However, the food tasting is good.... we all like the food. Hope they maintain that standard. So none of you tried yam paste there for dessert before?

Hi Jane,

REally ah? Okok... me must call my coordinator also to double double confirm...... I dun mind not having 1 to 1 waiter .. but bangadelsh are a no-no on my list .....

Yam Paste ah? I tried that on my friend's wedding abt 2 yrs back. Not too bad ... You going for that ah? You never tried that for ur food-tasting?
You tried only for the 6 main dishes ah? Me thinking of topping up to add in the rest of the dishes leh .. anyway, its at $25 per dish mah ...

Hi jane,

me also neber taste yam paste before.. hopefully i get to taste it in the coming dinner. I think u may need to check whether the chef is familar with cantonese or teochew dishes. Yam paste is a teochew dish, so from my understanding normally chef well versed in yam paste can come up with a better dish. This was what the coordinator in Marriott and ST told me.

So need to check whether is MC chef familiar with teochew dish...

my friend told me she went to MC for wedding dinner last Monday ans she said the yam paste is nice. However, the lotus rice and pork ribs are not.

Maybe wedding dinner always win some lose some. But like what Meixia & Jane echo - Bangadelsh waiters no no!! Actually most of their staff are Indians or something like that (the lobby lounge & Ellenborough Mkt Cafe). Abit slow actually their service.

Jacy the coord says not much special privilege since the packages are pretty standardize. She gave me 3 empty dates in May 04 already and ask me to make tentative booking first just in case. But I also shortlisted New Otani which is opposite MC but the place look abit old outside.

Mexia : You mean add dishes to the trial meal is $25 per dish? But izzit only restricted to 6 (not enough considering my side + his side). I also must ask about the yam paste. I am very teochew about my yam paste. Haha!! :-P

Come to think of it - what are we really looking out for in a wedding dinner package? Izzit just the food & service or more? My husband working in Shanghai so I take charge of everything. Abit siong but at least I cannot blame anyone if anything goes wrong.

Oh Meixia & Jane - I forgotten to ask, which package did your take? I am going to ask for Weekday $565 menu - looks better I think (don't like assam in the other menu).

Anyone have any idea swap dishes or add yam paste must pay roughly pay how much extra?

Paiseh to ask so many questions.

Hi madwoman,

I think most importantly what to look for in a package is the food, and the beer/wine. Food - most people will talk about it even months after the dinner. Beer/wine - if you cant get free flow, this would normally be some of the hidden costs of the entire package. You may want to assess how many drinkers in your dinner, and bargain accordingly.

I believe the dishes can be swap within the menus. Of course, certain dishes would need to top, but if u have more tables, you would have more bargaining power. I think the $565 menu is quite presentable, but you may want to consider changing the fish as well. Being teochews... i think a steamed garoupa would be better. That should cost about $30 for the upgrade.

Anyway, are u looking for wedding date before august next year? Have you considered ST (sheraton towers)? they are having a promotion for wedding dinner before aug next year.. i think something like free flow of beer and $30 off each table. take a look at www.sheratonsingapore.com if u r interested.

Normally the food tasting is for 6 persons - you, FH, MIL&FIL, your dad and mum. The 6 dishes included is normally the 2nd to the 7th dish.

Hi Mr Bean, actually the food tasting is normally from 3rd to 8th dish which excludes 2nd dish sharks fin. However, you can change and tell them which 6 dishes you want to try. Extra dish is $25 each (for 6 persons). However, can try bargain for 10 people.

i agree with you it is important to conside food. To me, accessibility, food and ambience are very important and that is why i chose MC. BUt i heard ST food is great too.. it is also near MRT, so quite accessible and the ambience should be not bad... i will go in Dec for wedding dinner and will let you know then. But do place tentative bookings first, just in case.

Madwoman, i took the $560 (2003 rates) menu which has 9 course instead of 8. I changed the dessert to Yam paste at no extra cost. Also changed the fish from fried to steamed garoupa at no extra cost. They will charge extra only if you change for eg. vegetables to mushrooms with abalones, etc.. or lotus rice to udon noodles. But no charge if changed to Ee Fu noodles which i did. Didn't want to change the pork ribs in coffee sauce as i heard that was their signature dish... so just keep it.

The disadvantage about MC is what i have mentioned. Hard to control cost as their is no free flow beer and corkage for wine. sigh... but nothing is perfect lah..

Mr Bean,

Oh yah... by the way, my friend holding her wedding in ST next mth told me that they put 12 to a table, you may want to know this info.

Hiya Mr Bean - I've seen Sheraton Towers package. Too expensive for my budget really. Its true that the $565 package very presentable already just that seabass in assam style look abit cheapo which you are right about. I originally book early May 04 now have to change becos my mum just reminded me that its lunar 3rd month (ching ming).

Hiya Jane - Thanks for the pointers which I will look out. But its a bonus to me to know that yam paste can be changed at no extra cost

I am going to ban wine and beer. Maybe ask them to drink Martel instead. Do they close an eye if we bring duty free?

Spare ribs in coffee sauce? I thot they say not nice?

Meanwhile I also looking at Marina Mandarin package which got yam paste. Yay!! Any wedding dinner with "orh nee" is very cheapo like that. But of cos individual preference after all.

Hello Madwoman,

Yap. Additional dishes for food-tasting is only at $25 per dish... i think will go for this as it does not seem complete with only 6 dishes.
AS for the 6 pax hor... u can push ur coordinator to see if they can accomdate 10 pax instead of 6. My friend went for a food-tasting recently and only 6 pax went. But, when they serve, its big enough for 10pax. So, i really shouldn't think its a problem for 10 pax at food tasting. Do ask ur coordinator abt this -- they shld be quite flexible. Just dun say i told u all this lar! hehehe ....

I signed up for the weekend package at $660. A bit ex lar ... but bo-bian ... both my parents and ILS all want weekend ... then when i suggest lunch on weekend, they also dun wan .. so i got no choice lor ...

I think other than the food and service, we are also looking at the ambience of the ballroom and the accessibility lor. If ballroom is old and tattered and low, then of cos it will not give such a welcoming effect.

Btw, for the Bangadelsh waiters, i have alreday called my coordinator abt it. But he is on leave and can only get back to me next week. I shall keep u all posted, okie?

Madwoman, you must be siong hor ... to do all these by yourself ... but hor, i think even if ur hubby is here, i think he also will not contribut muxh hor? hehe .. like all brides more "gan-cheong" than grooms ....

Mr Bean, so glad you are so active in this thread even though you have signed up for ST.

Hello Meixia,

Actually Merchant Court wkend lunch also popular leh. That time when I ROM there was also a wkend lunch reception - it was quite a formal & dressy lunch event. I was in the restroom and ppl ask if I was the bride. So funny
But most old folks dun like lunch one. Even my parents also.

To give a fair comment - MC has all the right ambience. It is not too big like some hotels yet its cosy and "intimate" enough. Thats what I like abt it in the 1st place. Not too big not too small, you get the idea basically. Everything else on actual day seems to depend on luck and timing.

Btw, you taking the bridal suite or changing for 2N stay in deluxe room?

It is in May 2004 though have to change the date becos my husband & I didn't know early-May is still lunar 3rd month (ching ming). So changing to late May 2004. When's yours?

Hello Madwoman,

I know lar! Plus the lunch is cheaper loh.... *hai* but the old folks just dun like it lor ... bo-bian ....

Eh? The weekday package no free flow of beer meh? I tot got? Actually, duty free is not supposed to BUT if you mix the duty free and hard liquor (that means not 100% is duty-free), then should be ok lor. Go ask ur coordinator abt this. MC is quite ok in this aspect.

Me taking the bridal suite. Reason being that it is REALLY big and spacious and you need the extra space for all ur helpers and family members who arrive early. Also, can do ur briefing in the suite -- more space. Also, you seldom stay suit 1 lor ... so if got choice, of cos stay suite lar! hehe ....
But, i'm planning to stay a 2nd nite there, so i may be booking additional there in a deluxe room.

So, my advise is -- no matter which hotel u book, must stay in the suite lor .... dun "lang-fei" ....

Why dun u go for June instead? Its hua-ren wu-yue mah ... But hor, some older folks dun like odd months, they only want even months ...

Mine is 4th Dec 2004.
But hor, dun know why MC so popular with couples, so u reallyx3 must place a tentative date now liao ... or else surely no more dates liao ......

Wah lau Meixia!!! Your actual date in Dec 2004 and you book already!!! I may sound a little shocked but then hey I just joined the "family" you know... But true lor... dunno why MC so super popular also?!?!

But I thought someone was saying that the suite is actually an executive suite, not a bridal suite? I dun intend to let anyone besides an appointed few to come up. I cheapo mah... so dun need to pay for the 2nd nite... Muahahahaha!!!

Oh I just realise I made a BIG typo mistake... I mean to say any wedding dinner (at least to me) WITHOUT "orh nee" (yam paste) is cheapo like that... Apologies to yam paste lovers (like myself) & non yam paste lovers... :P

Hi Meixia,

you are welcome... see how much i can contribute lor. we all "guo lai ren", so must help each other lar...

madwoman.. must be kiasu and book early. Although may - june may not be popular month, but it is better to be safe than sorry lar. Actually, i think you can bargain more with MC if u r looking at may - june. u want to double-check with your folks on the date? u see.. early may is ching ming... then old people feel that mid june is no good as they feel that midyear bride no good... then come hungry ghosts festival..

so if your folks very "chinese", you may want to double check with them before u reserve the date.

Hahahaha .... madwoman .. u dun have to sound so shocked leh.

Cos hor, MC really so hot -- when i called in sept, all the earlier dates that i want in july and nov are all taken liao... then my mum wan only even months in the lunar calendar sooo bo-bian have to take dec lor. but even dec when i called in sept hor, already a few dates taken liao. So i kan-cheong cannot take my date so i booked with them 1st lor. hehe.... not "kua-zhang" lar ....

so u taking 2 nites in deluxe lar? good also .. cos have at least 2 nites ro stay and relax AND to count ang-bao $$$ ... hehe.

Haiya .. me like to be pampered so will likely to choose suit lor ... i've seen the suite liao --- its quite impressive. Maybe u can ask ur coordinator to show u? Maybe u will change ur mind after viewing?

So, u decide to take MC liao ah?

actually i changed my bridal suite to 2 deluxe rooms for that night cos my in-laws are staying overnight too... since my FIL sure will be drunk! Anyway, i view the suite... not fantastic. It is the same as deluxe room except that they have 1 more living room. That's the only difference... but they are separate rooms loh... you can't see the living room from the bedroom.

I have to take Merchant Court now that there is a change in the guest numbers (abt 30-35 tables) though my mum not very happy. She prefer Marina Mandarin & say MC first 2 dishes give very cheapo feeling (the cold plate & sharksfin). Why izzit always most difficult to satisfy your own mother than your MIL huh?

I abit pek chek now. Told her might as well dun have wedding dinner, book the void deck and cater buffet. And my husband dunno where also, cannot find him so nobody to discuss or share abit *sob sob*.

Anyway the booking for 13 May 04 has been made with the coordinator liao only cannot get 6th May which is the best date really. I am seriously thinking of bringing my parents to MC again and have a meal to change their minds but MC dun have chinese restaurant!! Any suggestions?

Yah the deluxe room in MC is good enough. I booked a room for my ROM that time also. Just that not facing the pool so abit "sayang" lor.

Mr Bean - P.S - They say this year ching ming is in lunar 2th mth not 3rd mth. So "heng" ah...

Lucky I sort out the bridal package liao if not my head will crack ahhhh!!!

hi madwoman,

don't agree that mothers are harder to deal with than MIL. My mum is really so 'chin chai', she agrees to all that my MIL says including all the changing of dishes.

AS for the first 2 dishes, what is wrong with cold dish and sharks fin? What does Marina Mandarin serve? something different? thought hotels all have these 2 dishes?

if you really want to try the food, maybe can make arrangement with your coordinator to have food tasting now or can just tell him/her that you want to try the food and pay accordingly (ie. if you have not paid deposit). It should cost about $25 per dish?? not sure... but you can ask your coordinator. Who is he/she?

Don't worry too much ok? Before wedding, usually alot of hiccups and conflicts between parents, in-laws, your fiance and yourself... so just keep cool and tell yourself that wedding is just for a day. It is the marriage that matters... as it lasts for a lifetime till death do you part.

i know it is easier said than done. I just had a fight with my fiance yesterday. I was complaining that i was doing every single thing for this wedding and he is not helping at all... not a single bit!! Anyway, we are ok liao.. at least i let him know how i feel. It feels better to let it out. : )

Hi Madwoman,

Try to take it easy ... (i know its better said than done)... Like what Jane said, there will always be hiccups along the way for ur preparation for your BIG day! This is wat makes the preparation more memorable ... hehe.

Ermm... if u are going to try the dishes now, dun thunk MC will let u try them at $25 each. This $25 is only applicable for food tasting session. When is ur hubby coming back? Why dun u arrange for a pre-food tasting with both families and speak to ur coordinator to let u try the food in ur dinner package 1st. If everything is ok, you can sign up with MC and this will be considered as a sampling of the food tasting liao lor. But if u dun wan to sign up MC, then perherps u may have to pay either the full table price or 75%. Ask ur coordinator abt it.
Another alternative is to ask around ur relatives and friends who have held their wedding dinner there to relate the good food experience to ur mum lor .. make her convinced (but, at least must find those who have good remarks one lar!).

From wat i know, MM also offers cold dish as 1st dish -- theirs is with those fried squids, scallops etc lar. Also the usual stuff mah.... Anyway, i prefer MC cos my is with barbecued pork .. i like ..

Have u made any deposit? Cos u must decide within 2 weeks leh ....Ur hubby ok 1 ah?
Hiaya ... u can "su-ku" to us mah .. we are all here giving u advice .... okie? RELAX ....

Harlow Meixia & Jane,

Thank you for your advice and assurances. I am also feeling abit better now that I managed to "find" my husband. He is currently working in China mah. And finally he share with me what is his expectations or wishes for the wedding dinner.

I know the 2 entrace dishes are the same everywhere but my mum says cold dish w/o lobster or roast meat (ie. suckling pig or roast duck) look cheapskate. Sharks fin with only either shredded conpoy, or shredded chicken, or crabmeat is also cheapskate. Honestly I dunno my mum so high-class one leh!! But most hotels serve sama sama dish what. Anyway I think I am going to tell her that I make the decision regarding the location whereas she can take charge of the guest list. Sounds fair I hope.

My husband will only be back 1 week before CNY next year so can wait long long. But my coordinator Jacy rather patient and accommodating lor. Just that the dates very "fan si ren" becos my MIL side + my side come up with 9 chinese zodiac signs and that means every 12 day-cycle, only 3 days we can get married becos nobody kena "chiong" but depends whether good dates also. What kinda theory I also dunno.

Hi Madwoman,

Wah Lau!!! You can tahan to not seeing ur hubby for soooo long ah??!! If it was me, i will have followed him there liao lor ...

Haiya ... ur mummy really a bit high class leh. MM also serve sharkfins with shredded canopy and chicken wat .... but i think they add in fish maw also .... MM's cold dish also w/o lobster 1 wat .... haiyoh ... Anyway, can i ask who is paying for the dinner ah? If its not ur mum hor, then i think u just go ahead with what u want lor. Cos its u paying $$$ mah ... and u can speak louder... hehe

WAH! Ur MIL and ur mum a bit "pan-dang" hor? They really can come up with all zodiac signs and compare 1 by 1 ah?? What if at the end of day, none of the "auspicious" dates chosen by them is available at MC? Then how? (touchwood lar ..)
Have u tot of this? Hiayoh ... ur wedding preparations quite memorable hor?

Hi Madwoman,

Stay cool!! I think your husband would love to share your worries, but too bad he is in China. Sometimes, when he is so far away, and hear from you that you are so stressed over the wedding preparation, and he cant do anything about it doesnt really make him good as well. But do communicate to him, so that both of you share the same goals and expectations on the wedding. Must put in effort to talk it out like Jane.. but dont quarrel okie

Personally i think the first 2 dishes are the same everywhere. Yes, there might be some change in the first dish such as roast meat or duck or roast pig, but the portion isnt that much. So i dont think it really makes any difference when people finish it. I think your mum have the wrong concept that MM is better. Have some comments that the food doesnt taste good. Furthermore, MM is one class lower than MC!!

I agree that conflicts will definitely happen between own parents and in-laws. It will get worst when coming closer to the day itself.. so madwoman, stay calm. If you are paying for the dinner at the end of the day, dun be bothered about the comments on food by your mum. If she insists again, tell her to pay lor. If she is willing to top up the difference, then let her be lor. Discuss with Jacy on your MIL concerns, and see whether can any arrangement be made on the food tasting portion. I think she will be more than willing to assist. Check with your aunties who are closer to your mum. See whether can get them to help to convince your mum. So far, comments in this thread has been positive about the food.

Madwoman, Meixia is right about the dates. Can any compromise be strike out? Would getting a "feng shui" master to pick the dates solve everything? To me, if your mum and MIL believes in good dates, then i think that is the best way out. Furthermore, I think the "feng shui" master can pick the dates faster than your mum (no offense
). I hate to see the day when your mum and MIL are at loggerheads cos they cant see eye to eye on some dates.

Madwoman.. pls feel free to "su-ku" to us lor... i think we are here to help ar...

Awwww.... you're all super kind (honest!!)... Thanks alot really!!

Meixia, in my 6 yrs relationship with my husband, 3 yrs was Long term relationship (where he was in Japan/France and I was in Oz/UK). But we din have probs like some couples lor so we count our blessing at the end of the day.

He abit bian tai now, say of cos naturally want the best, and that MC is really ok and class (he says the interior of MM not as pretty as MC) and ask whether we can serve chawan mushi as first dish followed by whatever soup with the pastry "shell" on top of the bowl. Everybody making crazy suggestions I tell you all but at least I feel 'stronger' now, not so "mang zhang" like last week.

Mr Bean, no lah we din quarrel. I juz told him very difficult to plan w/o him around as everyone seem to 'bully' me. But he told me to remember that I am the one getting married not my mum or his mum
And he very kind to share his vision with me which I am honestly surprise you know
I din know beneath his conservative surface, he actually wishes he can dance so we can have a 1st dance and someone playing a piano. Haha!!

My mum has already picked the date but we haven consult MIL yet, becos its chinese 3rd mth but my dad says this yr ching ming is in 2nd mth so its ok one. Hmmm... sian you know... I wish we all dun have to be so chinese sometimes... becos in my opinion, a couple can have the best and most auspicious date to wed, but if they dun put in effort to their marriage, still useless to wed on the best date in the year.

And hor, my mum not really paying leh (which is fine as she is my mum)... She is taking 10 tables from my husband already... and any additional tables she pay she says... MIL yesterday say why go soooo far why IMM cannot... I told her straight in the face IMM got what?! But not in offensive manner lah... hey at least I got her son on my side leh... ;)

Sorry but your know of any feng shui master to consult dates? Though I think I am like superceding my mum by doing that.

Dun need to ask any of my relatives who attended MC ROM that time - cos they say not very fantastic. Haha!! Then my little uncle says "up to you really cos' you are the one getting married, dun listen to the old folks but also must respect them abit".

I suppose yes I am the one getting married after all...

Hello Madwoman,

My pleasure lar! That's wat we are all here for mah ...

For the fengshui master hor, i think there's a thread where u can get a good one under the topic"Anything under the sun". Or else, y dun u just go buy a "tong-shu" that has all the good dates and show both ur mum and MIL? Think its out in popular bookstores liao.

Heheheh .. ur hubby very innovative hor -- have cha-wan-mushi as first dish .. yummy! But hor, dun think the older folks will appreciate it and its TOO un-conventional!
Wah! Seems like ur MIL's pattern sama sama to mine too ... initially, she also psychoed me and my bf to go IMM !!!! Aaargh!!! MIL and FIL's fav restaurant mah .. and she keep telling me how good IMM is....

But heng .... I already psycho my bf that i wanna MC cos its a once-in-a-lifetime thing ... and i keep telling my bf that he must let his parents know our preferences .... Also hor , since we are the one paying for the dinner, so my say is bigger!!! hehe ... This is also 1 of the reason y i die-die wan to pay for my own dinner cos i expected that my MIL will insist on IMM 1 ....

So, madwoman, dun worry.. all these problems are also faced by me .. noy u alone, ok?

Do keep us posted abt ur developments ...

Btw, have u sourced for your BB?

hey all, i went to MC to listen to their scottish music for first dish... not bad lah.. so not changing. : )

Madwoman, good to know you are feeling much better. You are also very understanding i think since you can tahan not being with your hubby now and that everyone seems to bully you. As for me, i am like Meixia, sure cannot tahan one... hee...

So hope things will go fine with you. Mine is drawing so near... abit nervous since many things to finalise and i haven't met the coordinator for final meeting. Thinking of using lilies or sunflowers for deco in ballroom. hee...

Hi Madwoman,

If your mum has selected the date, then suggest that u let her discuss with your MIL lor. After u get the "fengshui master", then she will say "dont believe me is it..." something like that. If your MIL likes the date, then let it be lor.

Yap.. at the end of the day, you are the one getting married, so u state the requirements (other than the dates of course). As what Meixia mentions, it's a once in a lifetime event, so make it memorable!!! Anything out of ordinary would be great.. like dancing, etc! hee hee

Jane,
all the best in your preparations!

Hi Jane!

Wah! So excited hor? hehe ... how r u feeling now? Counting down to ur wedding day? hehe ...

Really ah? THe scottish music not bad ah? Did u ask MC how the waiters will come in during their 1st dish presentation? Anything out of the ordinary?

What room will u be taking? Deluxe or suite?
Update us on ur preparations ... better still, after ur wedding, help us to compile the "to-do" list to liaise with MC nearing ur wedding day! hehe ... I'm sure all the brides and grooms to be will "gan-ji" you 1 ....

Mr Bean,
4got to ask u.. when is ur BIG day har? Even though u not having in MC, but will like to share ur infor too.....

I just tot to join this posting because we are going to sign up with MC. Just waiting for her to revert with the confirmation.

MC seems to be extremely strict with so many things, including corkage. Anyone has had any luck waiving this?