Merchant Court Swissotel

seiko

Hi, I would like to know if besides chair covers at a discount/wavied, has anyone manage to get them to throw in additonal barrel of beer and additional nite stay in bridal suite?

I am expecting to confirm 45 tables and I think most hotels will accomodate to the beer and suite thing but MC seems really rigid in these things. Kindly advise ...

gourmet

I have attended my friend's wedding last year. The food was very good. Everybody at the wedding was full of praises on the dishes.

However, recently my brother attended another wedding there a month ago and I asked him to check out the food. Feedback on the dishes was not good. My bro even go around asking people at the dinner for their opinion. Feedback was not good too.

Now I am in a fix becos actually my hubby and I plan to have our wedding dinner there. Now with these negative feedback, we are quite worried.

Anybody has been there recently for wedding dinner?? How is the food??

hi elaine77,

that was what happened to my situation. i booked them last aug for this nov's banquet, and paid additional $20 per table based on last yr's rates.
according to my coordinator, i was told that they'll be changing their theme/decor this yr; but dunno when yet. if you go down to meet up with them, they'll show you pictures of their diff. set-ups too.

seiko:
MC is quite rigid in their perks. but nonetheless, no harm asking since you'll be confirming 45tables. you shld use hard liquor instead since corkage charge is waived, or even a few bottles of wines.
btw, were you frm the BI thread as well?

gourmet:
the review i heard frm my PIL who attended a wedding there last 2 mths was good. anyway, guess we'll have to point out the food comments during the foodtasting session.

doodbug

Hi! I used MC for my weding last Dec and the food was so-so - it was much better during the food tasting hahahaha. But service-wise and everything was goooood! Basically, I didn't bargain for much - only bargained for free seat covers. In my opinion, seat covers and beer won't cost much - but if you are serving wine, PLEASE REMEMBER TO NEGOTIATE THE CORKAGE charges coz they are SKY HIGH! Paying 15 or 20 per bottle (can't remember how much i was quoted) was really absord.

Basically, I tried to be as easy-going as possible. I believe in give & take - like the items I didn't need, I traded in for other stuff - I never requested anything free outrightly from my banquet manager. I think my hubby & I were easy-doing, and thus, the banquet manager also reciprocated by ding a good job. Even for the dates, I just looked at the MC calender and took a date that noone wanted. My coordinator was telling me that alot of couples complained about how fully booked MC was and cannot get 1st choice date etc etc - but what can the coordinator do if it was booked right?

MC is great value for money - I did not regret my choice at all. Unfortunately, my coordinator who was Dominic, has left MC already. He was very dependable.

elaine77

Hi cheers and doodbug,

Thanks for your feedback, im still going through a few hotels like MC and others. Im also more concerned about the seat covers, i heard that they do charge that. The lady that i liase with does not sound very friendly to me, when i ask her something, she just tell me and never bother to explain further. I was thinking who else can i tok to regarding banquet.

The problem now is that i might not have 38 tables. We hope to negotiate with them whether we can reduce to 36 tables. If not we have to look for other places. But MC ballroom is really big and nice, i havent been there for any dinner but i did peep at a banquet when i went to have coffee at thier lounge, its so nice and grand.
23232.gif

blurqueen

Hiya,

My banquet will be held this dec at Merchant Court, and we were served by Martin Tang. Nice guy I agree. I have yet to bargain with him for free seat covers. But generally heard that the food there is nice, tried it 3 years back, agreed it's nice. Anyway, pls book early if you really want there coz they only have a ballroom. I tried to book for a date in dec 2003 in sept 2002, but already taken up, so no choice but to take the following Monday... Anyway, cheaper also lah, hee

doodbug

Hi Blurqueen! For me, I managed to get free seat covers coz i made NO OTHER REQUESTS! And also I took up a date that noone wanted - so I managed to get the free seat covers! If you negotiated special arrangements, beer or whatever, it will be harder for you to get the free seat covers. Basically, you must negotiate everything with them before you sign up - that is when you have the bargaining power!

I took the white lily theme - std but not bad lah hehehe. As I sai dI quite chin chye one!

Hi Elaine! try looking for Martin and oh, if you want a reduction in number of tables, you could request for it, but if it a popular date or a saturday, they are less likely to budge!

MC is a good choice - but seriously, the food std seems to have ropped. Even during my wedding, I didn't find the food great.

hi elaine77,

you may try looking for Michael Yong
Phone: (65) 6239 1752
Telefax: (65) 6438 7203
E-mail: [email protected]

he's nice and accommodating. yah, like what doodbug mentioned; they can't budge if urs is on a popular day esp. saturdays! their buffets and highteas are so popular, doubt they'll drop their banquet std; otherwise their name is at stake. all brides-to-be had better emphasise to them when you go for ur foodtasting.

seiko

Hi elaine77, may I know which lady serve you? Cos' I find one of their stuff too biz like, like trying to close a deal with u, lack the personal touch, or mayb I ask for too much .... My pt is tt since I m willing to confirm 45 on the contract, so I shd hv more bargaining power mah ... right?

cheers, u mean fr the HI thread?

elaine77

Hi seiko,

I think not so nice to say who is the person right here, they might be looking at this forum. I think its ok to bargain some things with them but we try not to be overboard with it, dun demand too much things with them.

seiko

Sorry 2 barge in like this.....

im the Seiko wif the capital 'S' fr Beauty Inspirations and Meritus Mandarin Thread.
Think there's been some confusion as there r now 2 Seikos here.

I think the other seiko meant Hotel Intercontinental ( HI )

seiko

Hi elaine77, I agree tt when asking for perks, it's always a give and take situation and more importantly is the service that is provided and the follow up action after signing up with the hotel that matters. I think most of those who are interested in MC will agree with me ... : )

hi cheers, HI stands for hotel intercon, I also dunno what BI stand for ... ke ke ...

doodbug

Hi seiko, errrr in all honesty, I got into 'trouble' with my coordinator because of one of the SB brides here. I mentioned that I got free seat covers. One of the other SB girls, whose coordinator was Michael - went to confront Michael about Dominic giving me free seat covers. The situation got very embarrassing for the cooridnators, as well as for myself. so dun be unhappy if elaine doesn't respond to you ok?

As I always say, each package is different and each package is customised differently. MC made a few mistakes, and we did give and take, didn't pick on them. In return, they were also very nice to us. Again, if yours is an unpopular date, like Friday the 13th, you have alot more bargaining power.

hi seiko/Seiko,

oops..i'd only noticed the name but not particularly whether it's "S" or "s".

i agree too that when discussing with the banquet staff, it has to be a compromise somewhere..jus give and take. lest they play me out on certain things on my actual day. always strive for a win-win situation.

cheong

Hi, I'm another BTB at MC this coming end of Aug and my coordinator is Michael Yong. As what the rest had mentioned the seat cover is something which most of us not happy about but if you think in another way .. .. they could have add that $20 into and push the price higher so in the end it's quite okay for me and my hubby. As for the wine corkage, if I remember clearly I was given $30 for 2 bottles.

Gotto have my food tasting later in the evening today .. .. will let you ladies know of the latest taste of their food now.

Overall I'm quite happy for the service provided from them. For those who wants to know that the printer that link-up with MC for wedding cards is Jasvy. At first we wanted to choose other design rather then the red/ivory provided but when we reach there were quite surprise that we have not seen the whole finally touch up and it could turn out to be real sweet after adding your own Hot Print insert and some other design of your own onto the card. As for us, we ordered 280 pieces and the cost for the insert which is Hot Print will be ard $350/=.

doodbug

Hi Cheong, the corkage quotation for me was the same. There would be room to negotiate some more. I did not bother as I didn't serve wine.

I printed my cards @ Jasvy but regretted it. Please check all your samples heet carefully for spelling errors, tel no errors etc. Jasvy was very expensive compared to the other printers which my friends went to, such as Acepro.

I swopped some items for an extra night's stay at a normal room. I didn't really like the suite as it looked likea business suite. I was such an easy bride - everything also didn't want - didn't want yam seng so didn't have wine glasses, champagne popping etcetc. So I wasn't briefed on anything either!

paul_carelynn

doodbug : You really Chin Chai leh, like anything also okay with you like that.

So which design of the wedding card you took up with Jasvy? Tell me more as what you have for your wedding card leh .. ...

I using the Red "Double Happiness" but top-up to have my name & hubby's name below the "Happiness" logo, pink insert paper with glossy pinky red wording "Hot Print". Btw who attended to you, Jason or Ivy ? So did they recommend you to make some personal Ang Bao ?

doodbug

i took the ivory cards and only printed inserts in normal ink, didn't do hot stamping. print around 20 extra inserts in case you write wrongly or want some more cards later on. i didn't like merchant ct wedding cards coz very troublesome must tie ribbons. heheeh but i still stuck with it.

actually after looking back at all my wedding expenditure, i regretted quite a few things, such as topping up for extra photos. seriously, i have not flipped my album even once the past few months.

but one thing, i NEVER regretted having my wedding dinner at merchant ct. the service was good and the wedding dinner was memorable.

paul_carelynn

We're back !

After the food tasting tonight, I must say that their standard remains the same and all our parents are happy of the food .. ..

paul_carelynn

doodbug : How many pieces you printed for your wedding cards ? Other then that can I know the price you pay for it and the waiting time upon your confirmation with Jasvy ?

I was thinking .. .. since we paid for the template to be made for our insert can we keep the template as well ???

doodbug

hihi! i printed 300 inserts at less than $150. But still, my friends who printed at Acepro paid like less than $100. Also I spotted so many errors with the draft printout. Still, Jasvy is familiar with Merchant Court cards, so I used them. I didn't ask to keep the template.

Wating time was around 10 days.

paul_carelynn

Just collected my wedding cards & Ang Bao. All templates was return back to us and they don't keep any. As you mentioned the waiting time was around 9 - 10 days. Overall I was very happy of the work and service they provided.

doodbug

That's good! Most importantly you are satisfied with the end-product!

Now you can look forward to your wedding day - wedding is very fun one!

meadowlady

hello everyone,

I'm currently doing research on hotels. What I have in mind is M Hotel and MC. I intend to only host a tea reception cos mine will be a holy matrimony in a hotel.

Anyone has actually booked for tea receptions with hotel before? Like what i intend to do?

ding dong

Hi Meadowlasy
I did! Like you it was a holy matrimony cum tea recep but i did it at Orchard Hotel - also a Corpthorne hotel. I din regret it cos really fun and the mood is livelier.
Furthermore we din have to tire ourselves out. Had a private dinner with close relatives only after that at the Hua Ting restaurant.

What do you want to know?

meadowlady

Hi doodbug,

Did you have yours at MC? How much did i cost per head?

Hi Ding Dong,

I wanted to know about the price of tea reception if I wanna have it at MC. Then I oso went to see the thread at Hotel Interconti & think the hotel got very good reviews. My budget is about $40 per pax so trying to look see look see loh.

From your message i think orchard hotel is also a good choice... how many did you check out before settling for Orchard Hotel?

doodbug

Hi meadowlady - I had my wedding dinner @ MC, not a tea reception - but initially I had contemplated having a tea reception at MC too. Your budget is definitely enough for a tea recept @ MC, not to worry. Hotel Intercon is much more expensive for tea. I did my research for tea and Orchard & MC gave the best value for money, below 40 nett per head.

lynnad

Hi everybody,

do any of you know that how much is the cockage charge for the wine? Can have 1st ctn FOC?

Did anyone serve wine during dinner? Can I do without it? Will the guests complain? Please advise.

meadowlady

hi doodbug,

thanks for your information. it is truly music to my ears that Mc tea reception is below $40! I'm planning lunch reception tho...& think the food at MC is not bad. will go check it out with a few other hotels in mind.

Btw, seem like it is better to book hotels thru bridal shows rite? But how else will i know besides reading HW Brides & Female Brides?

Any advice.. anyone?

snow

my husband and I were very keen to take MC.....But dont know when is the best time to place the order.....Mine will be in 2005 June?????Can anyone advise me????? Thanks....

seashell

Hi snow

just you hv not chosen yr date yet right, once you hv chosen the date, call up MC immediately, so as to make sure that you book the date first.

Then meet the coordinator to discuss the price, etc...

snow

Hi seashells,
Thanks for the reply. My husband and I had discuss to book on the 6th june 2005. But if we book now, is it too K.S or too early to do so???? Thanks

eve

Hi Snow,
I've just booked MC for my wedding dinner next yr. Heard from my coordinator that their price list is gd until Aug 04. If you book now, you may have to pay additional charges for per table. Perhaps you may like to check with them as well.

hi snow,

so far the increase in prices is $20 every year. if the price is ok with you...juz go ahead and confirm it.

cosy

who can I contact in MC regarding tea-reception and wedding dinner? Is there an email address I can send me queries to? thks v much!! I love the merchant court ambience.

ashley

just checking out...
wat're the price ranges for the wedding dinner, per table?
on weekends and weekdays.
wat about weekend lunches?
thanks in advance!

paul_carelynn

Hi ashley,

the rate we booked last yr is $650+++ (weekend rate) Fri, Sat & Sun. So after all the +++ one table will be ard $760.

Now I'm so anxious about mine which gotto be this coming 29th Aug !

perhaps3

hi there, i had a fren who had her wedding in MC with 35 tables on weekday in May tis yr and got free seat covers & waiver of corkage. Now I paid for weekend rate for 35 tables on a weekday but was told to pay extra for seat covers and there are no waiver of corkage! Wondering what's going on at MC? How come so inconsistent? Is it because SARS is over so biz is better already? Any1 can help pls email at [email protected] thanks very much

hi perhaps3,

bargaining for additional freebies is a very subjective issue. MC's standard is that corkage charges for hard liquor is waived but not for wine. seat covers might be waived if you have more tables, or even if you have booked a few rooms for ur guests, etc. i wouldn;t want to jeopardize my wedding dinner if i were to insist my way with them. perhaps, if you have more bargaining power, you can point out to them and reach a compromise.
btw, when's ur wedding?

perhaps

hi cheers, sorry was caught up with work. Mine is in oct and having attended another fren's wedding there with the same no. of tables and she only paid for weekday rate but got free seats covers & waiver or all corkages, and I m paying weekend rates for a weekday wedding dinner but still have to pay for all that juz makes me think that MC has different standards amongst their staff. If that's e case I won't recommended any1 there but probably tell people to think 3x about it

hi perhaps,

hmm..i really dun understand why you're paying weekend rates for weekday dinner? there're weekend rates and weekday rates available...is it bcoz you upgraded ur food?
worse comes to worse..juz mention to them abt ur friend!