Merchant Court Swissotel

littlezhuzhu

Ladies, i just had my food tasting, no worry the food & service is great! My parents & parents in law are very happy

nearbtb

Christ, I onli heard of Hui Xian but left SMC liao now my coordinator is Lydia. Very respondsive thru e mail have not seen her before.

ssal

I viewed the bridal suite. Dun worry it looks great. With 2 bathroom, one living room and of course the bedroom. Looks quite spacious and cozy.

jwenfoong

Hi Christopher, i'm doing a lunch banquet as well.. i've met Hui Juan. A nice lady and pretty prompt in replying emails.

Hi Ladies, i was offered studio room instead of executive suite.. is it becoz i'm doing a lunch?

Hi Littlezhuzhu,
i'm unlikely to have time to do food tasting..need some info from you.. did you include "prawn in yam basket" in your menu? Is it nice? how's the fish?

jwenfoong

Hey Ernie,
saw your post on the AD stuff.. i think it will be beneficial for you to have Tea ceremony; It would mean additional ang bao
Hee..

i'm doing away the gatecrashing also..and was about to skip out this Tea Ceremony from my AD plans but my mum who is not particular with these customary stuff advise me not to skip this part. It's kinda "once in a lifetime big ang bao from relatives".

tiaevaleshya

Hi, im interested in having my Wedding lunch at SMC. Can anyone who's got her package there share the details with me? My email is [email protected]

Is it possible to neg for free flow beer and 1 complimentary bottle of wine for each table?

nearbtb

I N i dun think u will be able to neg for tat cos they r pretty stric with their perks.

o ya anyone is doing food tasting on the 17 sep?

ashgirl

My coordinator is Huijuan who is in charge of wedding lunch and yes they are very strict in giving perks. I tried to ask for additional red wine only but was not successful.

nearbtb

Anna I think its worst of for lunch cos its a huge diff in pricing for lunch package to dinner its almost half price, the best bet to neg with them is onli on fair.

anyone have any recommendation on food wise?
TIA

babylove2

but they didnt intend to have fair when i check with them and i was kinda late when i booked. but they still give mi reasonable amt of wine.

The rest juz top up.

nearbtb

piggylove, if that is the case then its alright bah, anyway u choose them cos u like that venue as well rite.
anyone choose the theme and favors?

babylove2

hi btb,

yup, love the venue cos only 1 ballroom

did a check with my other friends, they say the perks are considered not bad already.
nw juz looking fwd to the date

willwill

piggylove,

when did u book ur banquet? i managed to get either free flow beer or wine for my banquet. just booked it in july when they had the promo

babylove2

hi dreytan,

i booked it last dec and my AD is on 17 march 2012

When is urs?

From wat i know, there are changes to the perks this year

gwen02

i'll be doing the food tasting on 18 sep.. hope the food is good..

btw, ive made a trip to the favor shop at parkway.. the sales assistant knew nuts about the tie-up with smc.. she made a call to her boss & promised to email their latest addition - letter opener but failed to do so.. when i asked if can opt for the mini honey jar, a top up of 60cents is required per jar..

littlezhuzhu

Hi Wen,
I am having my dinner banquet, are you refering to prawns in yam ring? It is nice ~ my mother in law love this dish! my fish is steamed garoupa & my dad love the fish as it is very fresh & juicy! Hope the std remain on my wedding day :p

nearbtb

Hi all, I just done me food tasting over the weekend, its great!!!
The food is wonderful however, we were not served individually, dunnoe y leh, then as usual the food goes 2 rounds before someone start to take the food, haha.
o ya and a bit salty for my taste.
overall is gooood. *yummy*

gwen02

they dont serve individually for the wedding dinner (from what the previous co-ordinator told me).

for the food tasting, the food is quite good except for the prawn salad on the first course. so gonna change that to other option available. some dish a lil' salty for me (the abalone, the braised noodle), but already feedbacked to the chef.. other dish like the steamed fish, roasted chicken, yam ring, prawn in danggui soup are delicious~ overall is good..

gemitan

Hi all BTB,
I am holding my wedding on 2013, thinking of holding in SMC, anyone know when will their wedding fair coming?

gwen02

just had my dinner banquet. some hiccups. the dvd player crashed during the first course and failed to play the song we selected. ended playing their back up music. feedback we got from relatives was the service sucks. well, thats really upsetting having to hear such comments. but that's something beyond what we can control except the hotel can have a proper training on their staff.

my friend had to wait for an hour for his tropical fruits platter during our next day breakfast. we asked to cancel the order and five minutes later they still served it to us, saying they had a shift change and the order was overlooked. gosh! what kind of an excuse was that?! do they need to take an hour to prep just fruits platter?

simply_jean

Hi all btb,

Just had my food tasting n the food is generally good n portion is very big.

Is in a dilemma for the dessert cos we had the cream of golden corn n water chestnuts. My hubby likes the dish n thought it is something special to mk the guest curious to stay till e end, but majority of the people at the table dun really like the taste of it n prefers yam paste which is more traditional. Is there anyone who taken tat dessert? Did you change to other dessert in the end?

simply_jean

Thanx piggylove~ I saw tat dessert in e weekend menu~ :D mine is a weekday so doesn't have e white fungus unless top up again. So is thinking whether to remain or change.

we might need to top up more for some dishes like e veg cos weekday doesn't have abalone n it doesn't look very presentable with just mushroom n veg. :p

babylove2

oh ok, when's ur banquet?

i'm intending to switch my shark fin soup to others but MIL seems unkeen on it

duno hw to convince

simply_jean

Mine is on 14 march
a Wednesday

Yah, could b quite difficult to change their mindset as they tend to feel tat some items is a must in e banquet.

But their shark's fin was really quite gd, nt stingy in their ingredients. But if u're a nature lover, then u would really dun like it. E chef will pop by b4 e dessert is served. Maybe if can try asking him wat alternative he can provide for shark's fin? Maybe he can suggest something which Yr mil might like it ;)

babylove2

fish maw will be another choice but i was thinking if i can juz serve shark fin for my MIL table during banquet and the rest fish maw

hv u gone for food tasting? wedding favour chosen?

simply_jean

Hmmm... Dun sound quite possible, but no harm asking e coordinator! Lolzzz..

Yap, had mine on last sun, so now contemplating whether to change e current dessert cos hubby like it but family find the taste weird. Sigh..

babylove2

hw was the portion for the food tasting?

Is ur coordinator Lidia or francis?

nw i may be adding on tables to the original 35 i have. Worried that my insert wun be enuff.

simply_jean

the food portion is big, just hoped that they will maintain the same standard and portion on the actual day.

My coordinator is Lydia. Used to be Huixian before Lydia took over.

Oh dear, then you've confirm your printing with the the printer already? Better relook into your list again, if really not enought then can check with the printer again. ;)

babylove2

glad to hear good review of the food tasting, cant wait for mine

And we share the same coordinator as before and nw. =)

my inserts are already printed. cross fingers that it will be enuff.

simply_jean

Yay! Enjoy Yr food tasting session Tis weekend~! Hoped everything work out fine for u~! ;) tell mi Hw is Yr dessert ie e white fungus wif lotus seeds after tat ok? ;)

Shall start counting down to our big day..!! î–

babylove2

yea, thanks simply jean!

1 gd thing nw is my MIL is willing to try to change the soup during food tasting.

hope she will approve to change it for the whole wedding dinner as well

simply_jean

Wow! Tat's a great news for u!

Hope everything will turn out well during food tasting!

Dun b worried n juz enjoy e sumptuous dinner î•

simply_jean

No leh, I haven't choose e songs! Alot of stuff nt settle yet! Time to rush to meet e deadlines..! Keke..

Haha... On tat day, u might b so ganjiong tat u wish tat march in could end faster, Keke..

simply_jean

Hw was Yr food tasting, piggylove? Is everything ok?

Hw was e dessert white fungus wif lotus seed? Was considering to replace e dessert wif tat now, Keke..

babylove2

hi simply jeans,

food tasting was good. except that it was too salty for our taste. and we are planning to make some amendments to the menu.

The prawns with wasabi sauce was gd. dun need to peel shell.
the dessert was great too that we finish the whole thing.

good feedback from our parents and my aunt who's operating a chain of chinses restaurants.