Merchant Court Swissotel

nearbtb

O if thats the case then y worry about the $50 per table increase? if they are giving you the price of 2011.

dun worry, wedding dinner he should be more worried, my htb oso like that at 1st but after we went to othe hotel then he relized that smc is reli value worth then we book it on the spot when we go to the wedding fair. Just give him some comparision then he will relize.
Just look at the hotel that you shortlist then bring him bah.

ernie80

the package is based on the 2011 list but we'll still hv to top up $50/table.

last week, i've downloaded so many pricelists for him to compare but he didnt even bother to open lor.. and last nite, told to me do the comparison instead.. sigh...

in my opinion, SMC's package is really quite detailed and whatever i wanted to ask for, it's already there. if he had left the decision to me, i would have just booked it.

nearbtb

o dear.... okie then we are more straight forward cos smc have what we wan and suit our budget then we booked liao.

what ur htb wans? u just tell him u like smc lor if he dun like ask him to find himself, plus add a deadline for him if smc. haha

ernie80

We have decided! Or rather, hubby has decided.. hehe.. Yes, we're gonna hold it at SMC. Yay!

Replied to Lidia over the weekend abt our decision but was informed thru her e-mail autoresponder that she's on leave till 10th may. Francis is currently covering her so hopefully he'll be able to reply to us today.

fln_1028

hi ! met francis.. 2012 package is out.. noe frm francis, they wun b havin any open house tis yr.. $1128/table is their cost of 1 table.. and as ernie had say 8course instead of 9course..

ernie80

I keep reminding him in the morning, noon and night... I made him do all the comparison and calculations, and so finally agreed on SMC lor.

The other venue that i liked is Conrad but the current dinner package is above our budget. I would have gone for a Conrad lunch wedding but he still preferred dinner. Still need to rent your own projector(s) too.

Anyway, I'm glad we made the decision. Now is just awaiting the SMC coordinators' replies. Hopefully we'll be able to book the ballroom on our desired date. That will mark our 3rd anniversary since our ROM in 2009 and it'll be nice to have everyone celebrating with us.

lemonicesky

Hi all, I guess we won't regret our choice by choosing Swissotel Merchant Court. I just had my solemnization by the poolside on polling day. The whole experience was great! (Although its warm.. cos i have it at 11.30am,, haha) I would like to thank Francis and all Merchant Court staff (esp EMC staff) who have helped me on that day. Although Francis can only be there at a later timing that day, everything still go on well as planned. They are really accomodating and flexible.. Thank you all for making the day a memorable one for us and i definately look forward to my AD at Merchant Court in Nov.

ernie80

Hi kunniqinwa,

My AD will be on Sat, 9th June 2012. ROM was 10th June (also hubby's birthday) but couldn't get that date cos someone has booked it.

As we are still getting a 9-course dinner from the package, we didn't bother to ask about the reduction in the dinner course. Perhaps I'll enquire when I'm going down to SMC to sign the contract.

kunniqinwa

Ernie, have u booked the venue for 9th June since you said someone has booked it? Seemed like SMC is quite a gd place!

Oh! can ask for the 9 course dinner? When will u be going down to enquiry? Do let me know what are the things that I need to look into..

Im still considering and looking around for venue. Thanks!

darguel

Hi all, we're having our dinner in Oct 2012 but checking out venues early as we're scared that prices will just keep going up and up. SMC seems very reasonable and we sneaked in just now after dinner to take a peek and the ballroom looks quite nice too. Love the large and exclusive cocktail area and kind of exclusive toilet (though I think the patrons from Ellenborough will come and use it :p)

We're just worried about the themes and the stage as it seems very low. I know I'm just splitting hairs here but the carpet also seems very mismatched with all their themes which I've seen online. We're meeting up with Francis next monday but a little worried abt the service too. Hope it's just that email is a bad way to communicate and not because of the general service of the place.

SMC brides, how's the food? Anyone gone for tasting for the menu which they are offering now?

ernie80

Kunniqinwa:
We have booked 9th June but yet to sign the contract. Our coordinator is currently preparing it and we'll be going down to sign it tomorrow. Actually you can e-mail to SMC to enquire too, since you have alot of concerns. You'll be directed to either one of the coordinators who'll attend to you on future enquiries. So far, they have been quite prompt in replying.

Perhaps try to understand the given package first, then make a note beside those items eg. whether can change to this or that, etc. Try to compare with other hotels' package then see if either one is able to give you what you require lor. Commonly asked are more carpark passes, more invites, whether can have freeflow of beer, or more wine.. All depends on your needs and whether it falls within your budget.

Von:
Wait till you see the Bridal Suite... hehe. Me and hubby were 'wowed' by it when we went up during a friend's wedding. I was there to help her keep all the angpaos in the safe and we took a very quick tour around the room. Too bad I don't have any pics else I would have shared with you girls. Try to take more pics of the room when your turn comes. :D

Anyway 2012 prices are already out so might as well start looking around. At least you're able to secure your preferred date once you've decided on it.

I think the themes quite ok la. Should be able to mix and match if you don't like some parts of it. Actually I didn't notice much of the carpet. With the deco up, the carpet wouldn't be much of an issue. The service and food has been okay for us and we've no complaints about it. In terms of service from our coordinator, she has been quite prompt in replying to our queries and concerns. Don't know it'll still be the same after signing up so just keeping our fingers crossed.

kunniqinwa

Hi Ernie, thanks for the info!! Yeah, have email SMC.. Hope to meet up with the coordinator soon to finalize everything. Wow the bridal suite looks GOOD from the way u describe!! Looking forward to see it.. =)

ernie80

Haha.. Maybe I very suaku la.. Never check out enough hotels but SMC's suite is so unforgettable lor.. Bedroom is seperated from the living area with a balcony that overlooks the S'pore river and Clarke Quay... Very luxurious feeling. My friends said they were too drunk to enjoy the room and by the time they woke up, they had to check out. Perhaps you can google for the images of the executive suite. Ok enough of my ravings...

So happy... Gonna sign the contract this afternoon! Woohoo!

fln_1028

Hi Ernie.. Thks for e info provided.. Ur coordinators is francis too?? I Met him on last Sunday to understand e ground n e package.. So did u secure e 2011 package??

Hi von! Me n my hb gt a chance to see e oriental theme.. Quite pretty.. Bt abit red for me.. As for e stage still cn b seen if everyone is seated dun worry! Bt they only hv 1 projector
on e left side.. I didn't get e chance to see their bridal suite bt frm pictures francis provide 'wowed' me n my hb too..

Hi kunniqinwa! I tink u hv to act fast if u wanted to hold ur weddin there in 2012.. Alot ppl is takin up e dates ad they only hv 1 ballrm so it's veri hot!! I hv my AD in dec bt my date was blocked by Sumone else awaiting for 1 wk.. If they didn't turn up for e signin of contract we will confirm hold ours over there!! Goodluck to me.. If nt I hv to re-calculate my dates again.. Zzzzz...

ernie80

Hi Fiona... my coordinator is Lidia. We replied in time to secure the 2011 package but at an additional $50 because of the date.

fln_1028

hi Ernie !

Friday e 13th is nt my day !! it's sad to say i hv no fate wif SMC.. 3 of my ideal dates were all taken up.. hv to look for another venue again.. =(

anyway, Hope u enjoyed ur special day wif SMC.. =)

kunniqinwa

Hi Ernie, signed the contract already? What is the differnce between the 2011 & 2012 package? Other than the number of course for the dinner and price? We are planning to hold our AD in June 2012 too, hopefully able to secure the date!! *cross fingers*

Hi Fiona, when is your AD? This yr Dec or next year? Congrats!! U mean all 3 ideal dates taken up? So fast??!!

Actually I was considering between Marina Mandarin and SMC..

fln_1028

Thks btb.. i'm lo0kin @ sheraton tower n novotel.. haiz.. Hope they hv e date available..

Hi Kunniqinwa, my AD will be in Dec 2012 mine was calculated by master.. my First choice was 'orchard hotel' bt it was taken up long ago.. n second merchant court.. went dwn to hv a look.. really like e locations n ballroom.. tried to postpone or having earlier bt both no booking for my date for yr 2012..

kunniqinwa

Hi Fiona, wow! its like planning & booking one and a half year ahead & yet the slot is still taken up??!! wow! i thought this yr Dec..

Marina Mandarin has the date that we wanted but requirement for the ballroom was min. 40 tables fr weekend and Vanda ballroom can only hold max. 30 tables. Anw, the date that we wanted for SMC was taken up too! Cos it took us quite some time to decide.. Had no choice but to arrange it after the June sch holiday..

fln_1028

Hi kunniqinwa, 40 tables min ?? omg!! i tink there's an increasing of min. tables every year.. they dun hv smaller ballro0ms ??

nearbtb

fiona, i think tats the standard since 2009, for the biggest ballroom i think i remembered i did ask from them but the min too much so we did not take from them.

i think they do have 1/2 smaller ballrooms around.

darguel

I'm a bit slow but thanks for the replies Ernie!

Just to share with all, our first experience with SMC was pretty bad. We had agreed verbally to meet at a later time but the coordinator forgot or miscomm and 'scolded' us for being late. Quite .... He was also rather forgetful as he had already asked me for my contact no, our planned date,etc twice through email and on the phone but at the meeting he asked for everything all over again and wasn't sure about what he confirmed on the phone (ie, our date still avail).

I was really quite peeved after getting scolded for nothing but subsequent correspondences were ok and realised that he's just a bit 'uncle' :p Francis seems flexible and told us that all our changes (no favours, changes to menu) should be ok. As we were quite concerned abt deco, he said that there will be a wedding every weekend in June and told us to go down to take a look. We went down last weekend and it was the new ivory coloured theme (elegance I think) mixed with some elements from the Garden theme. He mentioned that they would be retiring the Garden theme but that it should not be an issue if we really want to use it.

So... we'll be going down to sign with them this week for our Oct2012 dinner! :D Wanted to check something with you all. Francis sent us a draft of the agreement we would be signing and I have some qns and changes we may want to make. Like changes to the menu, etc. Should we settle all this before we sign and make them enter it into the agreement? Or is it common for us to settle all these details later? TIA for the advice!

@fiona & kunniqinwa, we also had trouble with some hotels with 40 table minimums! For some they said that as long as we spent as much as 40 tables of their cheaper menu would cost, it's fine. So if you're really keen on those hotels you can have fewer tables but upgrade to more ex food/order drinks, etc.

fln_1028

Thks Von.. Bt I hv choosen Sheraton tower instead.. For Francis we hv bad experience too.. I kept email them frm feb they didn't get me bk on e package keep replying tat they hvnt open any dates for 2nd half 2012.. I keep chasing And keep askin abt when will it b avail.. And finally it's avail n we request to meet him n tok abt e package.. So He invited us down for a look as he said there wun be any open hse for them tis year.. What bother us is Francis didn't manage to check avail of our date before he invited us dwn.. When we go over we were keen to tk up their dinner package n was ready to pay e deposit already.. Bt after we left, Francis called up N say actually someone had already booked e date bt hvnt pay deposit n ask us to wait 5 more days in case e couple didn't manage to pay e deposit e date will b reopen for us.. So,another hope was given by him.. 5day passed, no news frm him until I msg him.. Abit frustrated n disappointed loh..

Hi Von, I have also signed up with SMC for next year nov wedding. I signed my contract ard april and I have also told francis that I would like to make some changes to the dinner menu. He reply me that finalise of dinner menu will be done few weeks before your food tasting therefore it was not enter into my contract too. But I think its ok or you can get francis to reply your enquires through email so that you can have black and white.
By the way, I found that francis is not bad just that he a bit forgetful. But afterall compared to other hotel coordinators, i can say he is 1 of the most flexible and nice coordinator.

darguel

fiona - I know what you mean. I was chasing them since last Dec :p Month after month they kept telling me that the package is not out yet for 2nd half of 2012. But like Wanting said, he's really not that bad after a while, just forgetful. For us the venue and the cost made merchant court one of the few shortlisted choices so decided to take the plunge! Hope you have a great wedding at Sheraton! I've been for weddings there before and the food was good!

Wanting - thanks! Yup in the end we didn't indicate the changes in the contract. He also mentioned that the changes would be made nearer to the date.Heard that the end of the year is usually solidly booked so I quickly went to lock in my date
How is your wedding prep. Though end 2012 sounds super far away but there seems to be so much to do!

I asked Francis for the name of the shop supplying the favours as I didn't like the ones he sent in the list. But I haven't received any info yet since it's the weekend. Does anyone know the name of the supplier?

Also, Francis was explaining the compass copyright restrictions. Does anyone know if we can play our music for the dinner through an ipod? All this copyright stuff is very confusing! Most of our music is bought so it's legal.

kunniqinwa

Hi ladies, I will be going to SMC in 2weeks time to sign the contract but was wondering if there is anything that I need to remind them or lookout on?

What are the common questions to be ask or check?

My coordinator is Lydia and she was saying that we need to confirm the number of tables so that she can include in the contract, is that the way? Or can we actually confirm a certain number then add on which the date is drawing nearer?

Do I have to ask abt the songs etc, like what Von mentioned abt the copyright?

Fiona, MM have smaller ballroom but can only hold max 30 tables. We have about 33 tables

Anw, my AD will be a year from now and I have yet to do any planning..

littlezhuzhu

von: i am experiencing the same problem on the wedding favours.. i totally don like the favours provided in the list too ~ totally cannot make it

kunniqinwa: yes you will need to provide them the est no. of table, my advice will be just take the minimum requirements of the table required by the hotel first so they can prepare the banquet contract for signing... nearer to the date if you have more guests then add on will be better.. cos remenber you can add on but cannot reduce the number of tables.

darguel

kunniqinwa - yup, agree with what littlezhuzhu said, usually people go with the minimum first and add later if needed. I think you only have to confirm the no of tables (not including the reserved tables) like a few weeks before the wedding. Francis told me that they were giving some perks if we confirmed 40 tables at signing. We don't have that many in mind though and the perks weren't really attractive so we didn't go for it. From what I understand from Francis, the signing is just to lock in the date and pay the deposit. And to check the perks given/included in the package of course.

For the songs, we were asking him if we could use an mp3 player instead of CDs and he mentioned the copyright clause. I think it has more to do with music used in a montage or your VD's express highlights. I read in another thread that you can check out the compass website for more info and to apply for an ad hoc license. $90+ before gst.

littlezhuzhu - I'll post the shop's details here when he passes them to me. Apparently we can go down and see what we like and swop it. If any top up needed to pay to the shop directly. But think you should check with your coordinator for details. The shop is apparently in Parkway, called Paper something, Francis wasn't very sure.

jwenfoong

Hi, i'm considering to have my wedding lunch /dinner (depending on no. of tables i have)... can someone advise the food at Swissotel merchant court? i heard alot of bad experiences about their food..

kunniqinwa

Von & Littlezhuzhu - Thanks!! My hubby asking me to think about what are the questions to be ask before we sign the contract. Im kinda lost, dunno what to check on with Lydia. Were they generous with the perks? Or need neg? How much deposit do we need to pay?

littlezhuzhu

kunniqinwa: normally they are quite strict in giving additional perks unless they have wedding show perks or upon confirming 40 tables.. nothing much to neg cos it is all fixed as per quotation... i paid $3K as deposit ..

von: thanks! to be honest i am super disappointed with the current flavours provided, cannot imagine giving them to my guest
Lydia told mi their previous supplier close shop & still sourcing for new vendors currently.

wen: i attended my poly mate wedding dinner at merchant court recently ~ the food quite nice & portion is big except for the servicing staff seem to slow & forgetful abt the drinks we ordered ~ guess they are students working part time but not an issue to me.

ernie80

Hi ladies!

Haven't been checking here for quite awhile... i too don't like the favours. was quite turned off when i saw the pics. Was thinking of giving popcorn or personalized candies as favours. We're still looking around for other alternatives.

Kunniqinwa: Which day in june is your AD? My coordinator is Lydia too :D

From the existing package, narrow down what are the things you wanna negotiate, eg: carpark passes, invitation cards, favours (if not taking, can change for something else?). Before Lydia drafts out the contract, ask her all these things first. She'll note down
Just go for the minimum 35 tables first.

Oh ya... for the deposit, if you have the Standard Chartered Manhattan card, use it. Can get 5% cash back.

jwenfoong

hey littlezhuzhu, thanks for the info

i'll be meeting lydia next week to discuss about the wedding package. hopefully all will go well with lotsa perks! haha!

missyflo

hello all BTBs.. i booked my wedding banquet with SMC too.. :D

btw, just to answer some questions regarding food, they are quite delicious. went to my htb's cousin wedding in march, and enjoyed the experience.. just wondering if 1 projector is good enough for the entire ballroom.. hmm

darguel

Hi all! Sorry for the delay, life has been so crazy lately. Here is the location of the shop which is now supplying the favours to SMC:

Retail Outlet: Paper White
Address:
80 Marine Parade Road
#B1-83M Parkway Parade
Singapore 449269

I understand that we can go to the shop and if we like something else, can check with the owner directly if it's included in the SMC price. If not just top up directly to the shop. Of course have to check with your respective coordinators first so there is no miscomm (none of that she said take money already, shop said no, etc). But can visit and get an idea of the kind of favours they have? I haven't had time to go down so if anyone goes down can post here?

I was flipping through the latest issue of Her World Brides and there is an ad with an offer. They didn't list the details but it's upon emailing only. I immediately emailed Francis as he just told me when I signed 2+ weeks ago that there is no offer coming up! Else I would wait! He was also a bit blur and had to check. Said he would come back to me but have to check with management if can extend to me. I am super sian and will probably fight this if it's some good perk which I need. Anyone of you have inquired and know what is the promo? Hope I'm not being taken for a ride here... :\

kunniqinwa

littlezhuzhu & ernie : Thanks for the info :)

I will be meeting Lydia this weekend to sign the contract. Hope everything will go smoothly! Will we be able to view the ballroom & bridal suite? Ha! Kinda excited..

Ernie, my AD will be on 30 June 2012.. Actually wanted in March 2012 but was kinda rush, so decided to change to 9 June but was informed by SMC that the date was taken up. Ha! And so coincidentally realised that its taken up by u.. hehe!! Yup, will ask Lydia abt the carpark passes & invitation cards.. Hope I wont miss out anything.. We have to pay for the printing of invitation cards right?

Missyflo : Hey, thanks for the update on the food!! I was quite worried when I saw the negative feedback.. Ha! Anw, think one projector will gd enough, dun worrry.. some of the guests will be busy eating too..

Von : Do we have to confirm the favours with SMC when we sign the contract? Oh! new promo coming up? Hmm, im going down to SMC this weekend.. Keep u update!!

nearbtb

wow alyssa, that makes u the 1st to do food tasting around here.

Do update us on how is it like, i'll be doing mine in Sep.

The menu u have already choosen? I think noodles is the common one as after 8 cos all will be too full to eat rice again.

ernie80

Kunniqinwa: Hah! What a coincidence on the date! 9th June is the closest to our anniversary/hubby's birthday so we had to book it.

Ya, we have to pay for the printing. I thought I could change the wedding favours to complementary printing for at least 70% of invites but they were not very flexible on this. We don't have to confirm the favours when signing the contract. A rough schedule will be provided along with the contract for us to have an idea on what to do during the last few months before the banquet. Things like selecting favours, confirmation of guests/tables, selection of menu, food tasting, etc.

She did mention that we can use our own music throughout the dinner except for the video montage. I can't remember if we can play from our own ipod or mp3 player, or it has to be from a CD. Perhaps you can verify with her on this as well?

alyssatay23

Hey btb, sure I will keep u gals update. I'm saw ur reply too late. Think i will just stick to fried rice =p
Btw I was told there is another couple goin food tasting on the same day as me =)
I have not hear anything about the favours from Lidia though. Lets take things step by step, I'm abit overwhelmed by the Amt of undo list I have hehe...

kunniqinwa

Ernie: Yup, so coincidence! We wanted to have the wedding during the June sch holiday but all the weekend slots were booked, so had no choice but to take 30 June (a week after the sch term starts)

I was looking thru the 2012 wedding package that Lidia email me weeks ago and noticed that there isnt any difference between the weekday & weekend package other than the price & menu. Or did i overlook anything? Cos i was thinking usually weekday & weekend package are different. Ha!

Okay, I will check with Lidia on the video montage and music when I meet her on Sunday..

Lidia has email us the contract but I have yet to look thru.. Looks like there's quite a lot of stuffs to do. How's your preparation so far?

Alyssa: When's your AD? remember to update us on the food tasting!!

darguel

Anyone seen the bridal suite? It wasn't available for viewing when I went to speak to them and again when I went to sign. Anyone has pics?

I heard that printing is not very ex, abt $150 - $200. Much less than the value of the favours I think.

kunniqinwa: Did you hear anything about the new promo? Haven't heard back from Francis. Think I'll go chase him next week.

ernie80

Kunniqinwa: Ehh.. after signing the banquet contract, I've done nothing. I signed up my bridal package 2 years ago but have yet to meet up to pick my gown and plan the photoshoot. Already found our photographer. Ours will be very simple as we're doing away with the gatecrashing and other customary stuff. My parents and in-laws are not very particular about all these customs. Only if his aunties make a big fuss then we'll probably have a tea ceremony before the dinner. Just for 'yi si'... We're both more concerned about losing the weight that we've put on over the past few years. Must look good for the photos la... lol

Von: Just google for images of SMC's executive suite. That should be our bridal suite. Have been there before

kunniqinwa

Hi ladies!!! Sorry, been busy since sch term started. I've signed the contract n paid the deposit

Not much negotiation can be done, perks are also quite restricted

I've called up my bridal shop n was asked to go fr my gown selection in dec n bridal shoot will be next yr Feb..