Marina Mandarin Singapore

kitlovestar

Hi JK,
Thanks. I am going to sign the contract soon sometime this week. I had changed to the main ballroom as my guest list increased till 35 tables so we had to change to a bigger ballroom. I actually liked the bigger ballroom with higher ceiling and lightings. Hope the food is good too. The weekday menu seems quite normal nothing really special, really hope it's good despite it being simple. Ya i went during the wedding show. the decor not very nice leh. But i heard from other brides that the candle light effect is nice.
When is your AD? And who is your coordinator? Mine is in Dec 07, weekday

blessedger

Hello galsparkle,
My coorindator is wendy lou. will be gg down to sign the contract this weekend. Oh my AD is also in Dec weekday. 6 Dec. hehe. when is yrs?
yea, the grandball room is so much nicer i must say, too bad our tables too little, can't meet their minimum requirement..
Btw, have you sign up for BS? which one u signed up with?

crysstall

Hi JK,

so u are a MM bride too?

Tentatively I m waiting for my coordinator to confirm with me my booking. My dinner is gonna be on the 18 Dec, Tues so that means that I will be taking their weekday package too.

So excited. I really hope tt the ballroom will be available for me as I find that the food at MM is good and the Vanda ballroom is nice n cosy while the reception area is private, yet spacious. =)

kitlovestar

Wow, there are so many dec MM brides-to-be here. My AD will be on 13 Dec, one week after yours. My Coordinator is Fiona. Actually my initial date was on 18 Dec too...vanda ballroom..but i gave it up for 13 Dec main ballroom...Crysstall ...maybe you got the slot i gave up ha...

Yeh i had signed up with Bridal Concept. But haven't inform them about AD and stuff yet... wait till i sign with MM 1st...step by step.
Seems like dec is a hot month for wedding. Alot of weekends are taken...now the weekdays are hot too...

rasp_berry

Hi galsparkle!

Am with Bridal Concept too!! thinking of holding the banquet at MM as well. So how's your coordinator? Will be meeting with the banquet manager this thurs for discussions. My AD is on 28/1/2008.

kitlovestar

My coordinator is good...so far so good..quite flexible with perks except beverage stuff. So will be having the same BS and hotel haha..
have you got your house?? me still looking ard...

crysstall

galsparkle: my coordinator is steven and the couple who gave up the rm only did so today so cannot be you guys bah.

anyway i have confirmed 18 Dec with MM already! I m so excited!

so wat perks did u managed to get from your coordinator?

share with us so tt noone will lose out. LoL.

crysstall

Jk: yup I am also from the Z wedding forum. =)

so nice to find a BTB who is using the same BS and hotel as me. haha.

such a coincident. somemore our AD is less than 2 weeks apart. =)

so who's your coordinator?

kitlovestar

Actually i got what's offered in the wedding show and i find it pretty attractive already. The rest of the stuff like increase a bit on invitation cards and parking lots only loh...Anything else to ask for??

blessedger

Hello crysstall (crysstall)
same here! haha..we can guess our gown selection, PS session will be ard the same period of time ya..
btw, whos is your cooridinator in MM?

HI Ben,
As for Z wedding, there are good and negative comments on them..I was quite worried when first went to the thread and saw the comments. maybe you can go in and take a look at the general comments ya?

blessedger

oh crysstall (crysstall)
saw ur previous posting and steven is your coorindator ya.haha..ic ic...
How about Z-wedding, who you liase with?

rasp_berry

Hi galsparkle!

Have been looking for a place since late last year...haven't managed to find the ideal unit yet...so have you been to your 1st appointment with BC? so who's your coordinator? Have you chosen your photographer & MUA?

kitlovestar

Actually i also looking for a place..wasn't successful for recent ballot. Ben are you housing agent?

Raspberry:
I haven't had my 1st appt with BC yet...would be calling them up soon once i sign with MM this weekend. I haven't chosen coordinator, photograher and MUA. But hopefully can request for KIt as photographer and Lynn for Makeup artist. The sales person told me that he will also help coordinate for me leh..dunno can choose coordinator or not... what about you? I am hoping that i can take my photos in June.

elitegal

i m considering MM as my banquet venue too but hadn't viewed the vanda ballrm yet.=)

the extra perks do look v attractive..i think we shld be signing up wif them if the vanda ballroom looks gd enuff.=) wat other perks do we usually ask for ah?

even though from wat i see, most if not all my requirements are met, i think it's a practice to always ask for abit more..right? ha ha..=P

crysstall

Hi JK,

sorry for taking so long to respond. had been swamped with work recently.

anyway i m liasing with han jie at the moment. he is from santiago though (Z's sister studio).

rodrigue

Hi crystall n JK,

crystall, did you sign your package at the wedding show? dun mind can share the perks that you have? im looking at MM too.. thks!

JK dun mind sharing your perks and package offer by MM as well.. so i can compare.. hehe thks!

email to [email protected]

thks again!

rodrigue

hi cheesecake,

the ballroom is pillarless but ceiling not as high though plus with the hanging of the huge crystal lighting makes it lower...

however it's hard to say nice o not.. u gotta check it out urself ba.. hehe

kitlovestar

I find the main ballroom nice with the lightings...saw a the set up on sunday as there was a wedding there.it's quite nicely set up...and quite cozy. With regards to the food..i am not too sure...I am also concern with the food. But i should think it's not bad bah....i had already signed up with them though ha..

rodrigue

oh ya.. food wise.. so far from wat i found out it's not from the restaurant but from banquet chef.. however didnt hear much bad comments though.. shld be ok ba.. hehee

anyone care to share his/her package with me?
i wana know more details abt things that can be bargained.. thks!

kitlovestar

I signed up for the ballroom. Min 35 tables. I signed up during the wedding show..so most of the perks already given so dun need to bargain much. But the perks are meant for weekday package only...

crysstall

Rod:

I signed up with MM during the wedding show too and as mentioned, the perks tt they give for weekday banquets are really really good.

NOT TO FRET though as the package is valid till 11 Feb so u still have time though the better dates are probably taken already.

I took up the $808 weekday package, min 20 tables, max 30 (vanda ballroom).

Along with the usual perks for weekend, i get:

- 1 bottle of wine per table
- wavier of BYO wine corkage (usual is $30 per table, max $500)
- free 1 table

think tts it.

anqi

galsparkle, when did u sign up with MM?

my wedding will be on wkday and i sign with them during the previous wedding show.

blessedger

hello Rod (rodrigue)
i will be signing up with MM tml. haa. mine is a weekday package also. perks are similar as the rest of the MM brides to be. free 1 table for every 20confirmed table, 1 bottle of wine per confirmed table OR free flow beer. I chose wine as i already have 2 barrels of beer that i hope sld be enuff for my 23 to 25 tables. MM perks are really good. the oni setback is the low ceiling at Vanda ballroom lor..my HTB is kinda bothered by it. Me too la..haha..but the weekday price is really reasonable for a 5 star hotel, furthermre, the perks are good.

rodrigue

Hi JK,

Congrats for settling one main concerns down... i believe things will be much lighter after deciding ur AD banquet hehe...

For me, we are still searching.. we searched alot n still comparing.. hahaa

Oh ic.. 2 barrels of beer?? Did u managed to bargain for that? That's amazing! any other additional perks u will be bargaining as well before signing? pls share hehee...

btw, when's ur AD? mayb we may choose vanda as well hehee... (agree with low ceiling)

kitlovestar

wow getting 2 barrels of beer is alot..i didn;t managed to squeeze that out of my coordinator
maybe unless forgo some stuff in the package then maybe they will allow....actually i think 1 barrel of beer is not enough.

jule

From what I know from friends in Hotel Industry, the perks actually depend on the number of confirmed tables, ie. the higher the number of tables you confirmed, the more they can give you. They actually got to follow a guideline of how much to give also.

blessedger

Hello Rod , galsparkle,
Ya, its true that the package they offered us is really comprehensive and good..we nego very hard for the extra barrel of beer. haaa. wanted free flow but not possible . But sad to say, there might be some changes and we might not be holding our AD so soon..so most likely hve to forgo this good deal..

Hi Rod,
WE are holdiing our solemnisation at Amara hotel poolside this coming May..

rodrigue

Hi JK!

ooh sorry to hear for the change of plans, well there might be better deals coming up so no worries! ok? hehe ☺

btw who's ur coordinator for MM?

Amara? nice place... guessed u paid $500+++ for that? their wedding banquet is nice too but rather inflexible on some perks .. hehe

yingsan

I will be signing with MM too..
if i manage to confirm my date, i will be dec bride too.. im taking weekday.

Any idea hw many glass can 30 litre barrel of beer serve? Anyone have their coordinator to share with me?

Need some advice, i plan to bargain for the following, do u gals think it is possible??

1. Free 2 barrel 30 litre beer. I plan to take the free wine for every confirmed table
2. Two nite stay at bridal suite instead of one nite. (I can forgo one nite stay for helpers, just need a day use for helpers)

rodrigue

hi yingsan,

30 litre can serve up to abt 90 glasses..

ur bargain may seem possible! Good luck!
let me know if u managed to get that hehe...
email to to [email protected] to let me know ur bargain! thks!

oh ya when are u going down to sign?

yingsan

hi rod

me plan to call them tomorrow.
i hvnt met any of the coordinator yet. U have anyone to recommend?? u sign up with MM?

rodrigue

hi yingshan!

nice to hear from you, I'd not signed up with MM yet.. still considering.. you going for weekend or weekday?

Well my coordinator was random.. met her once only.. so far ok, she's Fiona. But i read this forum for quite abit, heard that Wendy is nice n flexible..

Mayb you can check with JK who's her coordinator is cos she managed to get quite a good deal!

When's ur AD btw? hehe congrats!

rodrigue

oops! sorry.. didnt notice your previous thread mentioned abt weekday hehee..

Oh ya.. jus my 2 cents worth of advice.. if your guests are not those beer type pple.. 1 barrel of 30litre is more than enuff.. cos nowadays not many pple drink beer.. but keep ur finger crossed.. there might be still la.. hehe

I went to quite a number of hotels, they mentioned mostly they jus opened 1 barrel n left alot.. (mentioned by the managers/co-ordinators)

For my case, jus to share, i may request for mayb additional 12 bottles (1case) of wine or mayb like wat u wanted - 2N bridal suite instead of 1. Other things mayb like Free usage of LCD projector is a MUST!

Good luck for your bargain.. hope it helps for u hehe

blessedger

Helo Rod & yingshan, my coordinator is Wendy. Yep! She is nice and patience.you guys can consider looking for her ya..she will try her best to meet your needs.

rodrigue

Hi JK,

Thks for the info. Yingshan hope u get your good deal! Rem to share the info with me too! hehee

Well after much "shopping" i'd also shortlisted a number of hotels.. good to say MM is one of it!

Good luck all for your bargaining session! hahaa

jenny_ang

I have signed with MM yesterday... DIN managed to see JK's post before that, otherwise would have nego harder for the extra barrel...
My coordinator is Fiona.. Did mention to her my concerns about the barrel of beer and thought might not be enough if only 1 barrel...but din ask for extra barrel... Let's hope it will be for my dinner!

I will be Dec bride too! I think someone mentioned here that she was holding the 13 Dec tentative booking for Vanda Ballroom... Well..she gave it up and I took it yesterday... Real glad about it! that was our (Me and HTB ) first choice date!
Thank you, whoever you are!

jenny_ang

hi yaya,

I think they will take bookings for 2008. But the weekday promo is only for 2007 and the prices are going up by about $20-$30 for 2008.

I had a couple with me yesterday when I went. They also asked about 2008 banquets. I heard from them that most hotels are not taking 08 bookings yet because of the pending GST increase... You having problems cuz of that too?

I was also planning for early Jan 08 wedding till the weekday promo came up! So I thought it's just a difference of weeks so why not just bring it forward to Dec 06! =)

Hope the info is helpful!

kitlovestar

Hey Hi...I am a 13 Dec bride in MM too...but will be using the main ballroom downstairs... cool.. so we will be having our wedding at MM on he same day...
I also didn't manage to squeeze my 2nd barrel of beer out of Fiona....we tried quite hard but still didn't

But we haven't decided whether to use free flow beer or 1 bottle of wine per table....will decide nearer the date.

yingsan

Hi JK,

Is ur coordinator Wendy Lou? I will be meeting her to discuss..

Hi Rod

sure, will update u if i got a good deal.. Dec is really a popular month.. my 1st to 3rd choice all taken up.. sad..