Marina Mandarin Singapore

anqi

hi andrew,

they have buffet lunch reception as well, maybe u can drop an email to MM and check on this.
btw, i just reply to your post in another thread as well, hee.. from sembawang bto thread right??

jasline79

hi JK,

My AD was on a weekday and i have 26 tables of guests. I only have a barrel of beer. It was more than enough. In fact i ahve altogether 48 bottles of red wine, and left around 18 bottles.

elcy

Hi ladies, sorry for the late reply, just back from my honeymoon in Switzerland & Italy.

Hi 318bi
, we chose the bubble march-in and it was kinda romantic compared to dry ice which we feel is passe.

Hi snowiee
, our banquet manager was Dan. We are not sure if the bridal suite is the premier suite but it did have one toilet with glass doors. You mean one of the bridal suites has two toilets?? We had a wooden sliding door separating the bedroom and the living/dining room. Quite spacious. As for whether it was facing the sea, we could get some glimpse of the sea though it was blocked partially by Oriental hotel. The picture looks like one on the Marina Mandarin website.

Hi JK
, actually the wine and beer consumption depends on the nature of your guests. For us, we had 430 guests and out of the two barrels of 60-litre beer given (no free flow for us because ours was on Sat), the first barrel wasn't even finished, so the 2nd barrel wasn't opened. I guess nowadays people drink more wine than beer. But then again, it still depends on the nature of your guests.

Good luck and enjoy your preparations!

benceltay

hi, Im meeting MM on sunday for my wedding july 07. after hearing some good and not so good comments, I wonder shld I chose MM or goodwood park, what you all say?

ling1411

Hi Ben,

I just attended my FH's friend wedding at MM. Overall experience was great! Pretty impressed leh..

The servers were very attentive.. Food tasted wonderful.. I'm one person who is very particular abt food taste =) The fish & prawns served were very fresh..

I guess people have very different opinion on service level & food quatity. But so far MM pass the test!

Don't worry too much... I guess what's most impt is how comfortable are you with the hotel on the whole.. The feeling you get from the time you reach the carpark, to the lobby, to the ballroom & to the bridal suite..

My experience with Goodwood Park not too good leh..

blurberry

Hi Elcy, we also use the burble for march-in, I felt it quite nice and romantic. The Bridal suite have 2 bathroom right?When is your dinner at MM?
Hi everyone,overall I quite satisfied MM.Mostly my guest aslo comment that the food also very nice, good taste!My guests also no problem with the parking lot, maybe on Sunday. hehe!

elcy

Hi 318bi
, glad that you like the bubble march-in and had a great experience with your wedding, too. Sounds like our suites are different? Our suite had only 1 bathroom in the bedroom area. There was no bathroom in the living/dining area. However, there were 2 plasma TVs, one in the bedroom, one in the living/dining area. Outside the bathroom, there was a vanity corner. The bedroom & living/dining areas were separated by a wooden sliding door. Overall, very spacious. What about yours?

blurberry

Hi Elcy~yes, me also like that ya,just the living room entrance there have another bathroom. Our room not the plasma TVs leh.is normal TVs.hehe! I can not attend the coktail because my zip broke. Quite angry of my bridal shop.The zip can not support the heavy gown.When I return gown, they never said sorry to me, only 'bu hao yi shi'....I not take the lower range gowns, I took the VIP range gown, end up also like that, my money spending on the bridal shop really not worth it, around 5k man...give me such bad experience.

blurberry

Hi Elcy, I duno how he did it, the zip manage to zip, but he still worry the zip will broke again. I called the bridal shop asked them send a tailor to re-zip(sew) it.gosh, this bridal shop really bad...

blessedger

Hi aN Qi,
I haven't sign with them, still trying to nego for more perks..hehe..actually we went down again and feel that vanda ballroom ceiling is really low..hmm...my HTB dont really like it. So we are still considering...

Hi Jasline,
Thanks for your info!

benceltay

I find the march in area very short for vanda ballroom le...what you all say.....tell you hor I got a very very good deal.....I put them till the max....keke

I got another barrel beer free or I can choose 12 bottles wine
another nitez stay - so now is 2 nitez
5% more carpark coupons and inviation cards.

And guess what Im still thinking of anymore to squeeze them...hahaha

puffykel

i booked with them for my AD 2008...
my sister juz had dinner there and she mentioned that when serving fish... as the lights were dim... the ppl at her table were complaining as they cant see the fish bones hence they never touch the fish till desert time when brighter lights are on... haiz... what u guys think... I like the lightings but didnt occur to me about this thing...

benceltay

fiona was my coordinator...I also find the ceiling too low and the march in a bit short....

but after seeing goodwood park today....and no other ballroom that is available, I guess we will go to MM ba....hope everything will turn out well :D

blurberry

Hi Kellie~my guest never complaint to me about the lighting and for the' fish bone'. They mention the fish very fresh and nice. If you worry that part, you ask let your banquet manaher know it, he can adjust for you.

Hi Ben~Before that I have same feeling with you too! after went to some ballroom, I felt that the ceiling will not a 'serious' problem. Some ballroom have very high ceiling and macrch in, but have pillar block.So we stick to MM too!
The coktail area is the best, for me! I like it...even my guest also enjoy the music and have a quick gathering with friends..

jaslyn_82

Ben.. how is Fiona?
my coordinator left and she transfer me to her.. havent met her yet..
when is ur AD?

which ballroom are u taking?

happytea

hihi we just had our wedding there 2 wks ago. overall was good.

just to share further, ours was on a wkday at the ballroom. we had 410 guests, 2 barrel of beer nearly finished, managed to drink only 30 red wines, the rest goes home with us, only 2 bottles of Martell that we brought in were used.

we were told that the waiters ratio for our night is more than 1 to 1 table, our coordinator wonder why too. BUT the problem is, my guests from different groups complained that they did not take the initiative to serve or refill the berevages. Guest must call for them to have their glasses filled. Quite upset about this cos we had brought in extra red wines and hard liquor which was returned untouched.

We love the cosy feeling that we get from the low celing and guests also compliment on the lighting effects and overall feel. the bubble effect is something different, i mean, this time this bride walked in w no smoke but full of bubbles ard, the feeling is special.

our room is the one w 2 bathroom room. it shld be made up of 2 rooms actually. got 2 room numbers. overall is spacious too, we are ok with it and glad that got 2 bathrooms espeically during the evening when frens and relatives poped in.

another not-so-impt" thing, the total of $100 F&B voucher that they gave us was used to offset the total bill (banquet and room service meals), i had thought that it was never meant for the banquet.

benceltay

hmm I wonder...weekend will it be better or worst??

Ya is S$1000 nett per table....very siong hor....buay tahan...

must sell more properties liao....

jaslyn_82

Ben.. I think that wkend will be better.. cos more ppl will be able to make it esp on sat cos next day is sun... can sleep late.. hehe..
urs sat mah..

ya $1000 is siong lor..
haha.. u must sell more properties.. means can lah.. haha

blessedger

hEllo. has anybody booked with MM for 2008 weekday package? can share with us what are the perks that MM has offered so far? Tks!

We are plannig to attend the wedding show at MM on 7 Jan 2007.Just to share, heard from our coorindator there might be more perks offer(like free flow of beer for weekday and free one table for 20confirmed tables etc) during that time, but only for 2007 wedding. So we might be bringing forward our wedding to Dec 07 instead...

benceltay

I heard that the perks are only for weekday wedding....Im also gg to take a look at the gowns....:D

Rich??? no la....got to find properties to sell....le long....anyone wanna sell...kekee

btw, Im a SHE...keke...Ben is my FH's name lar...hahahaha

need some advice pls...i'll be attending a wedding dinner at MM nxt tues but duno hw much to bao for AP. tis colleague(the bride) of mine is not very close to me (we only talk on official matters). she invited both me n hubby(very last min)...so i aim to juz cover her per head cost. any advice?

cheerss

Hi all MM brides,

I am thinking of taking up Vanda room, can anyone advise if it is too short for a march in? Any comments on the decor and ambience of Vanda Room?

Many Thanks!

blessedger

Hello Cheerss,
I have the same concern as you. the short march in and low ceiling...
but the decor and ambience is really cozy. Guess it depends on individual. Most likely we will be signing up with MM as they are quite accommodating to our request ..just need to convince myself on the short march in and low ceiling. hahaa. any MM brides can give comments on that to reassured us?

Thanks!~~

cheerss

Hello JK

Have you seen the Vanda room with the decorations on?

The MM coordinator told me that the march in distance is only abt 4-5 table distance leh. Which mean it is pretty short. My dream march in song is quite long wor. hmm.......

wedding_girl

hi Kellie, you mentioned you booked your AD in 2008 at Marina Mandarin? that's one of my choices, also planning AD for first half of 2008. could you share with me your package?
or anyone else who has the 2008 package, can you share it with me? my email is [email protected]

anqi

i think it's a wise choice to take a look at their promotion for the upcoming wedding show. for the previous round, we didn't attend but asked them to send us the documents with the pricing.

must admit that the pricing is reasonable with additional perks. for couples that can't attend, do send an email to them asking for the promotion details. there is a cut-off date for the booking to be done, usually around 1-2 weeks after the wedding show.

hope the information above helps.

anqi

hi ben,

the sad thing about MM's ballrm is that their march in is quite short, think ard 20 seconds.
i'm also having a long train, so try to walk slower, haa..

anqi

hi happytea,

glad to hear the good comments on MM and congrats for your wedding!

i suppose u have booked the Marina ballrm, meaning the one at lvl 1?
until now, i have not seen the bridal suite yet, but i did request for the meritus club suite, hee..

didn't know that they are giving away F&B vouchers, will check with my co-ord when we meet her next round, haa.
though not a big sum, but still helps in a way.

happytea

thks anqi! ya ours were at the level one.

i had a long train too for the short march in. heehee no regrets. Was thinking, if the aisle is long, the guests's applause will slowly die off before you reach the stage cos they are unable to clap for too long. :p
For ours, it was short but w a bigger impact for that moment! so gals, dun let the short march in bothers you at all.

And low ceiling is not as itimidating as one with a high ceiling. so long you like the overall feel of the room, its sufficient. my colleagues comments that its better than the Intercontinent ballroom which is low ceiling too.
i think the overall room made me feel at ease that i dont have stage fright at all when i am on stage.

just a reminder, remember to instruct the waiters to take initiative to refill the drinks. this issue made us feel so bad, its not as if we are stingy on the liquors and wines and yet we bring back so many bottles w complaints fr our guests.

Get someone to observe the waiters service level and drinking pattern of the guests. see anything not right, act immendiately! if the wine are going slow, see if its becos the waiters are not doing their job well.

eh another thing, we had used UOB credit card to settle the bill. got points. other banks like HSBC dont have.

blessedger

Hello Happy Tea,
congrats and thanks for your assurance..hehe. I hope this upcoming wedding show has more perks to offer..

Hello cheers,
Yup, i've seen it with the actualy deco. cozy feeling i must say, if you dun mind the low ceiling. hee...march in is quite short so it really depends on your preference..

weddinstory

Just had my wedding at MM main ballroom 2 weeks ago on a sunday. Thumbs up for MM. Everything went smoothly. The food, deco, service were great. B4 the wedding, i thot the aisle to march in is short but on the actual day, the aisle didnt seem short. With the right music, deco,bubbles effect and most importantly, the cheering guests, everything seem perfect and beautiful. the impact was there. Many commented it was a beautiful wedding. The food was great. My guests loved the ice-cream mango thingy. The banquet manager and my coordinator Steven were v helpful and friendly too.No problem with car park lot too. Started dinner at 815pm tho we had 40 over tables. If any one is considering MM, dun hesitate. u wont regret.

cheerss

Hi Weddin
Thanks for sharing your experience here.Glad to know such a beautiful wedding u have had.

I am going to see the Vanda room this sunday.

crysstall

Hi Ben,

u mentioned

:tell you hor I got a very very good deal.....I put them till the max....keke

I got another barrel beer free or I can choose 12 bottles wine
another nitez stay - so now is 2 nitez
5% more carpark coupons and inviation cards."

may i ask how did u managed to get the extra nite stay n more carpark coupons n invitation cards? i managed to get the option of changing the beer to 12 bottle of wines too but my coordinator, though friendly n helpful, didnt offer me any more stuff.

THANKS!

I agree tt the ceiling of the vanda ballroom is nice but i like how the overall effect is very cozy so i will most prob be a MM bride too. =)

liesth

Just signed up with MM on Saturday, so relieved to have settled one thing.

All the best for the wedding preparations!

kitlovestar

Hi, would like to find out whether the food in MM is good?? I am a potential MM bride..but haven't sign on the package yet. I will be choosing the weekday package,. Anyone have any comments?? Also how you all find Vanda ballroom... find it quite cozy but ceiling a bit low and not much decorations.

blessedger

Hello galsparkle,
the general comments on their food is quite good. So not to worry. I am also a potential MM bride. waiting to sign the contract..
only thing is their ballroom ceilin is really low lor...but their foyer has ample space for pple to move ard...Probably u went down and saw the set-up during the wedding show? I've seen their actual wedding set-up one of the evening and must say once the candle is lit up, it looks romantic and cozy....u may want to check with ur coordinator when is the next wedding and rop by take a look? noticed that during the wedding show, the set up not so nice leh..