Marina Mandarin Singapore

worry

Hi White_lady,

I enquire about dry ice effect before. MM does not have the equipment for dry ice effect. So if you don't want the bubble effect, u can't have the dry ice effect. This is wat my ex-coordinator told me. as for whether bubble effect will be messy, I'm not sure.

white_lady

hi S,

but the new coordinator told me i can choose =? ... anyway , bubble will be more special , S u also having wedding at MM , who is ur new coordinator ?

keiki

hi hamasaki, lucky u, my family requested to taste the wine during food tasting, coz we'll be having their housepour as well, but we were told haf to pay for it :p so inconsistent one...

yah, charles has left, sen the new coordinator seems quite pleasant so far...

dreamdream

yuuri.. my hotel part also more or less settled. my new coord is sen. who's urs? actually im just starting to look into the other stuffs too.. was just very relaxed until last sunday.. suddenly realised there are so much more things to look into but only 2 weeks left! so now panicking liao! desperating trying to put the other stuffs together.. told my hubby.. if only we just had the solemnisation without banquet and all the other AD programs... solemnisation was so much easier!!

chocolat, for wine tasting, i think if u just request for one or two glasses they will oblige. but if all 10 pax wan a glass each during the food tasting they'll probably ask you to buy a bottle. in my case (i tink it was me who mentioned earlier about the complimentary glass), i asked for only one complimentary glass to try the taste initially. then when we realised that it actually tasted quite good, we told them we want to buy a bottle to go with the food.

white lady, when's ur AD? i'll be using the bubble effect. i can share the experience with u after my AD..

i need some advise here. do we have to allocate seats for the photographer and videographer during the dinner??? im sure they will need dinner too.. but then.. one concern is seat availability.. not sure if will have spare seats for them. another concern is cost.. the table price at MM is not exactly cheap... but if dun allocate seats for them, will it be like we're very 'niao' (stingy) and dun care about their stomachs??? can anyone advise?? thanks

white_lady

hi ,dreamdream , ur wedding another 2 weeks ? oh , mine is another month ! hahah , so u can share ur experience on the bubble effect with me ! hehehe ... n by the way , do u find the march in too short ? hehhe

hamasaki

hi keiki, i'm not too sure abt what others MM staffs had said to U guys... maybe U're rite... a bit inconsistent...

hi white lady, I dun find that having bubbles for the march-in will be messy.. for my case, Me and hubby like that really a lot... something special and my guests like that too...

worry

HI white_lady,

ur AD is coming soon. mine is still sometime back in nov. maybe this yr got the dry ice effect already? I also not sure leh cos wat i know is from Gladys. I still dunno who is my new coordinator. Had called MM last week and Cara took the phone. She said the new coordinator for ours will be in MM sometime this week or next week. So I also not sure who is it. Who is ur coordinator? Is she good?

chocolat

Hi dreamdream,
Happen to ask this qn before to my bro in law who's a freelance photographer, and he said there's no need to cos most of the time they would be moving ard and even so when the bride n groom has left to change after the 2nd dish, they usu would also take candid shots of the relatives & friends & anything tat catches his eyes.
I've a fren who actually allocate a seat for him during her wedding but he didnt manage to eat anything....but personally I think prob they would feel awkward too..

yuuri

dreamdream,
Yah i everyday lamenting that shouldn't have dinner! Just get it over and done with rom :p Seems like we think alike! haha

Regarding the bubble effect, before I chose MM, I was actually thinking of giving bubble-water(or whatever you call it) to guests and having them blow it at us during march-in!!

hamasaki

hi yuuri, since MM got the bubble effect, U can consider using it for yr march-in... then no need to waste $$ in buying the bubbles bottles...

worry

anyone saw the design plan at the MM booth at taka square during the style wedding bridal bash 05? wat do u think of the new design?

personally i feel the hotel (from the design on paper), it has become quite futuristic.. dun have that oriental feel anymore. i like the suite best. wat do u all think?

penguin26

hi all my AD is in April but still haven receive call since the collection of cards, is it normal?

anyone play photo montage in MM before? heard frm gladys need to bring own vcd player or labtop? anyone pls advise

white_lady

hi penguin26 ,

have u have ur food tasting ? if havent , think u can start to arrange a time liao lor ... n yes , for the montage , u have to bring ur own laptop ... =) ....

dreamdream

chocolat, thanks for the insight. think i won't specifically allocate seats for them. sure will have table with 8/9 pax that night. will get them to sit at these tables.

yuuri, one more week to go... how's it going?? ;)

yuuri

dreamdream,

Just finalising confirmed guests and did up the table planning!
Then realised I bought too little wedding favours (I didn't use MM ones)....short of 10! arrghhh

Still haven't chosen flowers and teadress from my BS. So in short, I'm a mess :p

Yourself?

penguin26

hi whitelady, mi having lunch so no free food tasting...but we haven confirm the dishes :p
err...tink haven decide music...etc etc

Chiam liao 3apr coming.by the way montage need labtop ar? not just vcd player?? i confused

jessp

Hi S (worry)

The new design of the ballroom, will they have spotlights on the couple as they walk-in? What are the changes they have made to the ballroom? What makes you say that they look futuristic now? Becos of the colors, lightings, wall deco or?

worry

Hi JoviaGer,

i never ask or take note whether there is any spotlight. Which ballroom is urs? For the grand ballroom, from wat i see on the design, there is padding to the walls, the things change new, utensils also new, cake also new. mine is level 5 one, the coordinator say is only changing of new wallpaper, new stage, etc. the chandeliers at the grand ballroom remains unchange. still using the old one, according to the coordinator too. dun ask me who is the coordiantor cso i also dunno her name. hehee..

why i think it is futuristic cos maybe the colors, deco and lights used. i would say the mixture of all these make it futuristic. ballroom dun look futuristic. only the suite and the recept looks futuristic. after all it is still a sketch. maybe the end product will look so different from wat is shown on the paper.

yen2

I thought MM got chocolates as one of the wedding favors?

Hi Hamasaki,

What is the wedding favor u used for your wedding?

worry

hi yen,

yes they do have the choc. wat i mean besides the choc, there is only 2 other things for wedding favour.

dreamdream

yuuri,

think i'm in a slightly better position than u. hv just finalised my table planning with my coord sen. hv also chosen my flowers and tea dress. will be collecting my gowns this coming thurs, n the flowers on sat. most of my things r more or less settled. meeting my jie-meis tonight to discuss further. hv a few experienced brides n jie-meis as helpers.

i've chosen chocs as wedding flavours. something tat most ple will eat. most of my guests r relatives. so chose something that's more practical.

only thing is i hvnt chosen my 2nd march-in song, which i'm leaving it till the actual day. will only choose on that aftn when we reach the hotel. :p

yen2

Thanks, S... thought MM has done away with the chocolates.. I'm a practical person, so tot it's better for the wedding favor to be something edible.. :p

Hi hamasaki,

did your guests like the candles?

yuuri

Iso,
Am I certain can exchange or that i changed for wine? In both cases, yes. But I guess it's also dependent on ur number of tables before they can gauge what to exchange for you.

worry

Hi yuuri,

I think room service is FOC. You opt the suite room out? then stay in deluxe room? wat they exchange it for you?

dreamdream

yuuri, i've chosen my 1st march-in song. will bring in my own cd for that. didn't designate any particular songs as background music. guess i'll leave tat to the hotel's discretion.

as for the stay at the hotel, i actually chose an additional night stay in the suite as one of my extra perks (cos we can choose another 3 extra perks right). so i'll hv 2 nights stay in the suite. tink i may opt for the breakfast in room instead of gg down to the brasserie. won't change it for lunch cos hubby n i wan to hv the porridge buffet at suntec for lunch! :

yuuri, guess i wun be logging into the net till after my honeymoon. so here's wishing u happy wedding! hope everything will go well for u and me! let's pray hard together that it doesnt rain this sunday!!

catch up with all of u in abt 2 weeks' time.. cheers..

hamasaki

hi dream, u still can get to makan yr food in yr hotel room after the banquet... they will serve the food up to yr room... give them a call will do...

vallhs

Hi S,
Read that you are using the Level 5 LO. How do you find it? How many tables can the plc accomodate? Is it big?
So far i've heard only abt the main ballroom in MM.

worry

Hi Yuuri,

do u know how much is the suite? but if in terms of nite stay, then exchange for 2 nite deluxe room will be a good bargain cos how often can u use the living room in the suite. Is your wedding a weekday?

worry

HI LHT (vallhs),

yes i will be using LO ballroom for my wedding dinner. Have you signed up with MM? How many tables are you having? the place is more on cosiness while the main ballroom will be more on grandness. LO ballroom can accomodate min 20 tables and max 30 tables. Will your wedding be after the reno? for LO ballroom, i heard that there will not be any big changes except for change of wallpaper, carpet, etc. those on the cosmetic changes. however, the changes to LO ballroom is not yet finalised. They have only finalised the design of the main ballroom.

penguin26

hello, S and LHT im using LO at level 5 too
my AD is 03/04/05, is there really change in outlook? the room looks small hor....i m having ard 28 tables

worry

hi penguin26,

I don't know whether there is change of outlook after the reno. this ballroom is supposed to bring that cosy feeling so that's why it should be small. but from wat i know, everything remains the same except change new things to the existing things. if can put in chandelier that will be nice and cosy but the coordinator say, very unlikely. hope there is intelligent lightings too.

chocolat

Mornin gals..
I chose Yam Paste with Gingko Nuts for my desert, a typical teochew fav desert I suppose...
Congrats dreamdream & Yuuri!!!! Have a Beautiful Day!!

worry

i suggested if they dun wan the chandeliers in the lifts they dun wan to use, can reuse in the level 5 ballroom since they dun wan to spend money on that. haha.