Marina Mandarin Singapore

tambourina

To all affected MM couples,

I am sorry to read about wat you have to go thru.

My banquet will be held right after the reno, ie 1st week of Sep 05. Keeping my fingers crossed that the hotel reno will wrap up by then as scheduled...

babypooh54

been abt 2 weeks since last heard from cara. wanted to get this over and done with before the new year so that we can resume all other preparations. emailed cara to get an update. she mentioned that they are waiting for pan pac to get back to them on the contracts for all the couples shifting there.

those who have chosen pan pac eventually, pls update us and inform each other on the appt with pan pac. i'm kinda getting worried that there's no news from them until now. dont want another bombshell.....now i've phobia of renovation works....never completes on time and always got problems one way or another.....sigh...

hi swangal, tink i know who you are too.....so coincidental.....yes we are settled for pan pac but still on hold for the contract to be drafted....sigh....

Dear all, just dropped a line to say "Hope everything goes well"

incredible

Thanks Elin Wokk.

If some of the perks that they promised us originally are not in the new contract that they draft now, for e.g. say use of projector or free flow of beer, then do we have any say at all? Can we demand for the perks promised initially? I haven't heard from MM too... Was told that they are still negotiating with the hotels on the perks and drafting the contract. Now a bit worried that they would leave out some perks.

babypooh54

hey puccagal, when they met up with us, they promised us that they will honour our contract and all perks will remain the same....
i'd be upset if they revoke the perks....one of them is the photo montage with motion image....

what kind of perks are you all getting???

anydior

Hi mas,

you actually got free photomontage w motion image from MM? never see this in their package before...how did u manage to get 'em to give u this?

babypooh54

i've signed up with them in Oct 04. at that time, they had a promotion on their wedding package....think it ties in with the lucky draw thingy and the wedding show.....

when did you sign up your package?

sashamama

Dear all:

I changed my venue to fullerton, which wasn't what they offered, so all my MM perks are gone. Gotta liaise with fullerton for perks. Should be meeting Cara to get the refund of my deposit from them next week.

If your chosen hotel is either Pan Pac or Meritus, or MM when the reno is over, im pretty sure they'd honour the same perks. But if the hotel is your own choice, i guess you won't be getting the same perks. If you choose back MM at a later date, you might even be able to get a better menu!

All the best, ex-MM brides!
Have as Merry a New Year as you can!

swangal

Hi all brides,

Happy New year!

Hi Sasha,

So u taking Fullerton? How much is the package they are offering? Glad that u hv settled your venue already. Fullerton is a nice place as well and gives pple a grand feeling. But please continue to visit this thread and dun ignore us ok? We will miss having u here

tssa

i'm new here and happen to see this thread...juz my two cents worth:
i emphatize with those brides whom their dates are affected by the reno and can understand their frustration. i pray that the alternative dates for the hotels that mm willing to top up on are still available and to be fair to mm, i believe that they don't mean for this to happen.

i believe that the hotel is trying its best to compensate couples affected by the reno but frankly, if i'm the boss of mm, i also wouldn top up full amount for more expensive hotels such as ritz or fullerton etc. if the dates for the recommended hotels (which are of comparable standards) are still available...highly possible it's "ka cai tao" right?

anydior

Happy New Year ! My coord wendy called me to offer me grand copthorne waterfront. has anybody been offered the same? I haven't met up with the coord from grandcopthorne yet, not sure what kind of terms will be offered. Probably the same stuff in the contract as MM. anyway, will update all if there's anything new.

If anybody is being offered the same, can share what kind of perks was offered by grand copthorne? TIA!

merzy03

Sorry to read that some of you are affected by the renovations at MM. But me abit blur..this affects banquets in which month ah? i just tentatively booked for sometime in Oct 05. Will I be affected?

Any other general comments about the hotel in terms of food and service, other than this renovation issue?

worry

hi merzy03,

i think u are not affected as the reno is from apr 05 - jul 05.

the comments that i heard abt MM is the food is good but the service is slow. how true i also dunno, but just heard from frens who have attended MM wedding.

lavendergal

Hi Gals, need some help here. Am considering between Intercon and Pan Pac right now. Which do you think is better in terms of food, ambience and service? Thanks!

s_lavender

Hi lavendergal,

My FH went for a wedding at Intercon recently. He said food was GOOO..DD..DDD!! I attended one at Pan Pac last mth, food was alright. It was at Ocean Ballroom and personally, i didn't really like it coz the ballroom is longish, so those seated behind can't see what's happening in front at all. But it depends on how many tables u have also lah.. my friend had abt 35, i think.. Other than that, the ambience's quite good.

anpanman

Hi Merzy03,

I think MM's food is consider quite good for hotel standard. I'm not so sure about service, but I understand that the ratio of waiter to table is 2 to 3 (regent is 1 to 1).

Since the hotel is under going major reno, by Oct you may get a much more beautiful & newer hotel than you've bargained for!

yen2

Hi Merzy03,

so which date are u looking at? Keeping my fingers crossed that the hotel will look much better after the renovation..

anyone got any idea whether the bridal suite will be renovated as well? anyone saw the suite before? i only seen the video clip on the room...

s_lavender

hi Y,

mine AD is in Dec. also hoping to get a nicer Les Oiseaux ballroom

yes, my coordinator told me that the bridal suite will be renovated as well. i can't remember exactly what are the changes except that the bathroom will be with see-through glass walls. Of coz, it'll be fitted with curtains for modesty sake

s_lavender

hi Y,

my AD is in Dec. also hoping to get a nicer Les Oiseaux ballroom

yes, my coordinator told me that the bridal suite will be renovated as well. i can't remember exactly what are the changes except that the bathroom will be with see-through glass walls. Of coz, it'll be fitted with curtains for modesty sake

yen2

Hi Lavender,

So have u fix the exact date for your AD? Guess i'll be having my dinner earlier than u coz my AD is on 25 Oct .. me oso hoping that will get a nicer Oiseaux room.. but heard that there's no major renovation to the room....

haha.. was worried when i saw that u have indicated that the bathroom will be with see-through glass walls.. :p asian pple are still not that open yet... hehehe ..

s_lavender

hi hi.. yup, mine's in mid Dec.. and yes, no major renovation to the LO ballroom.

heard it's just a change of carpet and perhaps something to the stage. i was hoping they'll change the flower stand as well as hack the pillars!!

haahhahhh.. dun worry lah.. there'll be curtains in the bathroom

anything else u heard abt the renovation? when i signed the contract in Nov, the plans weren't finalised yet. So i dunno what other changes to expect..

s_lavender

btw, anyone knows what is the exact name of the wine that MM is offering as their house pour? i only know it's Wolf Blass Cabarnet Sauvignon 2002. i went to the supermarkets to check out but there's quite a few labels.. yellow, black, president's selection.. so i dunno which one.

yen2

i oso signed the contract in nov... so dunno much abt the renovations.... we can just keep our fingers crossed that the hotel will turn out nice and beautiful..

i'm not too sure abt the red wine... u getting the hotel's red wine?

worry

wow, there is a see through window? or is it a see through door? wat is a see through glass wall?
any other info on the renovation?

jessp

Hi Lavender,

I know the wine are Wolf Blass Eaglehawk Cabernet Sauvignon (Red) and Eaglehawk Chardonnay (White), not sure abt the year though.. maybe you can check out and keep us informed about the outside prices!

For the perks, you can also choose like free montage, extra barrels of beer, or extra nite stay right?

merzy03

Hey, for some of you that have already signed contract with MM, can share frankly whether it is ez or tough to negotiate some better perks? I think I would also be taking a risk with how the renovated ballroom might look eventually. I think it should only be better right? Given the current condition is still ok.....

Heard that Merchant Court harder to negotiate for better things? Is it true..anyone tried?

jessp

Hi Merzy,

Merchant Court and MM are among my final 3 choices previously, and yes, MC is very inflexible to negotiate, and previously, their prices for 2005 came out quite late! Even charging $2 per normal white seat cover??

In the end, I choose MM cos the perks offered are much better, though MC tables are wider, with side serving, 1-1 waiter to table ratio etc.

MM renovated ballrooms should only get better/newer, but whether we will like it or not, let's just have to pray! If I'm not wrong, my co-ordinator previously mentioned it's just change of carpet, wallpaper etc, the basic lightings/design etc shld not vary much, so if you already like the current deco, it would just be a newer and fresher version! =)

BTW, just a thought that striked me, MM was offering around $600/table previously in their promo for weddings held b4 Jun 05 right? and from what I had read abt them capping top ups to only 10%?, maybe they have factored in possibility that renovation plans may or may not have been brought forward? (my own speculation only..)

merzy03

Hi JovialGer,
I dun quite understand your last part about how MM was offering around $600/table in their promo for weddings before Jun05. Then now becomes what? Are you saying the renovation plans are likely to be delayed or...?

If they change carpet, i think shd be nicer, and if wallpaper newer, probably better too. Im still considering!! But also trying to find the right date available...

s_lavender

hi JovialGer,

Thanks, i'll check out the wine and let u'all know once i've got any info.

For the perks, i actually dun need anything else liao.. my FH not keen on montage
and we've got some Soo Kee letters which already entitle us to free flow of beer and extra night.
so what's left are: wine, sash for alternate chairs and food tasting. We wanna save as much as possible, so shld be taking wine.

hi Merzy,

not too sure abt the negotiation part coz i actually didn't bargain much with my coordinator. i was already quite happy with the overall package + perks, so can't think of anything else to get from them.. hehe..

isobellies

hey lavender,

parker's wines has got some pretty decent wines for approximately $16-19 depending on your quantities. my FH and i have been there almost 3 times for wine tasting with our friends for their weddings. WB Eaglehawk usually retails at about $30+ in DFS but for wedding dinners you don't necessarily need such expensive wines becuase you'll be mixing it with food, etc. some of parker's wines are really quite decent and a lot of my FH's friends are all wine collectors, so they know what they're drinking! but it would make sense to go for the WB if the corkage for outside wine adds up to be higher. good luck

p.s. if you are intersted, contact Meiling from Parker's, i haven't got the number with me though..

yen2

Hi Lavender,

Yeah, do keep us updated on the wine ... guess I'll oso probably get the wines as one of the perks... come to think of it, if the wine given by MM is WB (which is more ex).. can we take the wines home and use our own wines (cheaper ones) instead?

My brother just had his weddding last week.. and consumed 31 bottles of wine for 28 tables... guess we would probably need to buy extra wine for our wedding... the ones given by MM shouldn't be enuff one...

s_lavender

hi Iso,

thanks! will check out Parker's then
btw, hv u heard of this French wine called Cornerstone?? heard it's quite good and not too expensive... can get at less than $15, i think. I also think it's quite a waste to serve expensive wine at wedding.

hi Y,

31 bottles for 28 tables? hmm.. i'm most likely having the max of 30 tables, so i guess 40 bottles shld be ok, right? i'm getting a total of 24 bottles from MM coz that's what my coordinator offered me (for above 26 tables, select 2 extra perks.. am using both for wines). actually i did thot of using my own (cheaper
) wine and take the 24 bottles of WB home. anyway, corkage has been waived! but then again, bring home also no use leh.. i dun drink.. unless can sell at good price lah.. another option is to use their 24 bottles of WB and get 16 more bottles of other wine. but am not sure if it's a good idea to serve 2 separate types of wine. what say u?

isobellies

hi lav,

yes, cornerstone is french but actually bottled by local distributor Hock Tong Bee. not bad wine, so if you can get a good price, go for it! ;)

heaven

Gosh, do we need so many bottles of wines (31 bottles for 28 tables)? how abt beer? any idea what is the average consumption?

Jovia, by the way, is the waiter-to-table ratio 1-to-1? I was told 2-to-3 leh...

Just to add a note for those couples affected by the reno...sincerely hope you have all found your hotels...

yen2

Hi Lavender,

Actually my brother serve different red windes at his wedding.. he got the wines at the last minute .. and since it's just after christmas, he couldn't get more than 10 bottles per type of wine.. so just mix them lor.. guess it's quite ok.. coz they will change the wine glass when the guest have finish it... so won't have different types of wines mixed together..

I also think u can go for the cheaper wines if u can find one.. so long as it's not bad, then can serve at wedding liao..

Hi Heaven,

I think people now prefer red wine than beer... i'm also in a fix whether i should get red wine as one of the perks or to go for free flow of beer.. my HB prefers to go for free flow of beer but i prefer the wines.. my relatives consume more red wine now.. but my hubby side seems to prefer beer..

i dun think the 40 litres of beer were used up at my brother's wedding.. guess a lot depends on your guests.. if they prefer beer, then u got to cater more beer..

worry

i saw a 2003 wedding magazine...the courses for weekend and weekday are the same which is a 9 course dinner.. and the price is 798 nett for weekday and 888nett for weekend... why is there so much price drop now?

jessp

Hi gers,

saw this article today...

Jan 5, 2005
Couples turn chicken over Rooster nuptials

BEIJING - COUPLES across China are rushing to get married in the next few weeks before the Year of the Rooster, chickening out of what they believe to be a jinxed time to tie the knot.

This year the lunar cycle begins on Feb 9, which means it will not contain lichun, the auspicious day that marks the start of spring, earning it the dubious distinction of being a 'widow year', or unlucky for wedlock.

The Chinese believe that if the Chinese New Year comes before the start of spring, good fortune is forecast for the year; otherwise it will be unpropitious. Should the two days coincide, it is a sign of a truly auspicious year.

Chinese media report soaring marriage registrations as people scramble to get hitched in the last days of the Year of the Monkey.

'Business is normally low at this time of year, but this year, in keeping with Chinese beliefs, many people want to get married before the spring festival and we have lots of customers,' said the manager of a Beijing photo studio.

'Though the 'widow year' is nonsense, the fact that people try to avoid it reflects their strong desire for a happy marriage,' sociologist Zhang Youde was quoted as saying by Xinhua news agency.

The phenomenon normally occurs on average about every three years. The last 'widow' year came in 2002, the Year of the Horse, and sparked a similar marriage rush.

Hi Mercy,

I meant that they offered very much cheaply at $600/table for weddings before Jun 05 (maybe cos they took a gamble, see if reno plans may/may not be affected?), so now, though it's confirmed as affected, they have capped their liab at 10% top up (ie top up over $600/table instead of the usual $800/table).... just a wild guess

hamasaki

Indeed i find that MM is flexible and acconmadating to our requests..

Just like what U said, the LCD projector, we do not need to pay a fee, unlike some other hotels.. We have to pay somewhere $500 to use them..

i really glad that i made a wise choice in choosing them as my wedding venue..

Their food and services to me are excellent..

yen2

I just had my company's annual dinner at MM... found the food quite nice... hehe.. purposely went there just to try out the food.. now I can be quite assured that the food there will be quite ok... :)

s_lavender

Hi JovialGer, Iso & Y,

I saw a Cold Storage ad on Friday's Straits Times that they're having a promo now. Wolf Blass EagleHawk Cabernet Sauvignon going at $15.95 now. Usual price is abt $19, i think?! I believe this is the wine MM is offering, right?

isobellies

hey lavender,

don't forget to check out the year too! might make a (slight) difference.. i not too sure about the MM winelist, but should be the same one lah... ;)

yen2

Hi Lavender,

Guess that is the wine MM is offering... wow, so MM really makes a lot of $$ from people buying red wine from the hotel.. think it is charging its customer at 50 plus per bottle...

jessp

Hi Lavender,

Yar, maybe need to check out the year too, as what Iso said.

Hi Y,

The retail price of the wine is so expensive? For the wedding package, I think my co-ordinator quoted me $21 nett for each bottle, though Lavender's quote is much better... =)

isobellies

of course if you buy direct from a distributor or supermarket (some supermarkets bring in their own too) it's much MUCH cheaper. i guess it's standard practise for resturants and hotels to over inflate the prices, bohbian!! even corkage charge is quite ridiculous..

my FH and i went to see some hotels already but in the end i think it will be how much corkage they charge because we're budgeting about 2 - 2.5 bottles per table for approx 40 tables. if have to pay $20+++ corkage for each bottle we might as well not have the dinner liao, heehee