Marina Mandarin Singapore

Have not been here for a while and was shocked to learn about the news on renovation...

i hope all affected couples could find an equivalent alternative hotel soon...

Dear nther:

Maybe u can read thru the previous posts to get a beta idea. Have u spoken to the MM's management?

If u want an alternative venue, they offering Pan Pac/Meritus/Oriental if these hotels are still available on ur date. They'd try to let u change to one of these venues without additional cash top up, tho their menus might cost more than ur MM's one. They'd also try to meet the same perks. If these are not available or you have other preferences, they'd try to negotiate with the other hotels, though they can't guarantee that we dun need to make cash top-up nor get the same perks.

Or u can choose to postpone ur wedding on a date after MM is newly renovated. And the cost per table and perks would remain the same.

My coord yet to get back to me, would call tomorrow.

Fat, Casiberia, Tc_baby's sis, Chocolat, Swangal's fren, Michelle, Sallynah, nther:

Hope we can all update...

I'm also one of the affected brides. Hope we can share our updates too. I haven't confirm which hotel to choose yet but seems like MM is more confident that there won't be top-ups required for PP and Meritus Mand. As for Oriental, there's a possibility but they're still in the midst of discussion. Felt very lost now.. sigh..

Dear Lavendargal:

Thanks for joining us in keeping one another updated.

Did u ask for alternative venues? Or u asking for Oriental which they offered at first? Have u met the management?

Meritus is $588+++ for weekday, $689+++ for weekend.
PP's Pacific Ballroom is $768nett for weekday, $888nett for weekend.
Oriental is $780+++ for weekday, $880+++ for weekend.

Of course they'd rather we choose Meritus or Pan Pac.

Me also feeling lost and upset. Busy with renovator search actually. Have been losing sleep... Hope to get in touch with my coord today. No news since sat when i met the management.

Dear Sashamama,

I met my coord last Sat too. They were very compromising and their answers to our queries such as any top-ups required if we exceed min table (as stated in contract), perks remain the same etc are all very positive and reassuring. We felt better then. But next thing when I heard from this forum that this is not true and asked the coord again, she said the current situation is that we may need to top-up for the additional tables but this still depends very much on the mgt's negotation. I got all confused and upset.

Guess we are all feeling quite upset abt this thing now cos there is not much progress and confirmation at the moment. Things are quite messy now but there's only this much our coord can do cos they don't have any decision power. Think they are still pending their management's decision. We can only wait for their news whether there's top-ups for your alternative hotel. I had wanted Oriental, but if there's going to be top-ups, we might as well choose other hotels other than the 3 they proposed since it's not going to make much of a diff.

Dear Lavendargal:

I understand what you're talking about.
Also at a great loss now...
FH just got a call from another girl calling on behalf of my coord, asking to speak to their director on monday! So long?!?!
And FH never ask anything abt the outcome from the girl!!!
Argh... Men...
So anxious...
Wld keep u gals updated!

I am also one of the affected couples..looks like my timing is always wrong...sigh....and the bad news is now both my hubby and I were away from country. was anyone successful in asking MM to arrange for alternative venue at the same price? can share with me pls..at least I know what are the things I can bargain for from MM. SIGH...can't believe this sort of things happened to me again!!!..............

Dear Anydior:

So far no updates from the rest...
I met up with their events director last Sat.
They asking me to go meet the F&B director on Monday evening.
Still must wait so long, sigh...

If ur date is still available at Meritus Mandarin or Pan Pac, most prob dun have to top up any cash and would get the same perks. But still tentative only...

Hoping we can keep updating our status...

Affected MM Brides, Pls update, don't just read and wait ya? Thanks!!!

Anydior: ?
Casiberia: Wants to lead in suing MM
Chocolat: ?
Fat: Considering Meritus Mandarin, Marriot, Hyatt, Orchard Hotel
Lavendergal: Want Oriental if no top-up
Michelle: ?
Nther: ?
Sallynah: ?
Sashamama: Meeting mgmt on Mon
Swangal's fren: Offered Pan Pac
Tc_baby's sis: Suggests to make it big thru media

Dear Sashamama,

No updates from me. Haven't hear from them yet. Wondering why they are asking you to meet the F&B director when you've already met the Events director?

I'm also one of the affected brides due to MM renovation. My FH and I had gone to view the 3 hotels they recommended, we prefer Oriental. Being new and fully rennovated and the sales manager there is very friendly and my FH and I felt very comfortable with her. Perhaps having been through this stage before, they totally understand and experienced enough to handle the situation. The sales manager told us that Oriental is repositioning themselves as the top 3 in the city and assurance have been given to us that the transition is as seamless as possible. She seems to understand our concerns and had assured us that we will be treated just like all other Oriental couples. We have decided to go for Oriental but under no circumstances we will be topping up the difference since Oriental is one of the choices that MM has given to us to choose and as the customer we want the best! I believe MM will be professional enough to honour what they have promised us. So let's stand FIRM!

Dear Lavendargal:

I have no idea either... Gotta wait til Monday to know...

Dear Bewitched:

Oriental is very expensive comparatively speaking. May i ask how much did u pay for the MM package? Is it weekday or weekend?

Mine is the $600nett weekday package, might have lesser bargaining power. If they do agree to top up for you for Oriental, there're many other venues that can be considered.

Wonder how's my case going... SIGH!!!

Dear Piyo piyo:

The accessibility of Oriental is the same as Marina Mandarin and Pan Pac. It's main entrance faces Benjamin Sheares bridge. These 3 hotels are all connected to Marina Square. And it's Marina Square Holdings that made the decision to renovate lo...

Hope everyone can update

Affected MM Brides, Pls update, don't just read and wait ya? Thanks!!!

Bewitched: Want Oriental with no top-up
Sashamama: Meeting mgmt on Mon

Dear Sashamama,

Mine is also a weekday package too, and Oriental is still available for my AD. One of the reasons for choosing Marina Square area is 'cos we want to avoid the Orchard jam and crowd. As I've said, MM should not go back on their words for topping up as my coordinator told me that we will not have to top up a single cents so long we stick by to the number of tables guaranteed as well as whatever MM has committed to us they will honour it. Besides Oriental is one of the choices they have given us. I really don't think it's professional for them to come back to us telling us that we have to top up just b'cos the alternative hotels we selected is more expensive! All we need to do is stand firm!

hi all, i'm another one of MM bride that has to be relocated. Though i find cara very apologetic abt the whole incident, my fiancee doesn't think so. We've been offered Grand copthorne and pan pac...after visiting granc copthorne, my fiancee decided pan pac is a better alternative....any comments abt pan pac???

I am affected too. I am quite disappointed with how they handle the situation. Their terms seem less attractive as time goes by. First they told me I have 3 choices. Pan Pac, Meritus and Oriental. However, last week, they called me again to tell me that they only offer 2, Pan Pac and Meritus. For Oriental, I need to to up the price difference. They make it sound like they are "doing us a favour" by offering us Pan Pacific and Meritus Mandarin. All other hotels that I want I may have to top up the difference. I told them how can they do this? Forcing us to accept either of the hotel that they have chosen for us. She asked me to talk to the Director this week (a week after she called me). I said how come got to wait till so long? She said the director is not free.

I was so frustrated coz they didn't understand how anxious we are now.

Can we all insist that we can choose our own hotels? I have been to Pan Pac. I don't really like it coz the room they offered is the Ocean room where I have to pass through a long coriddor of other rooms before the ballroom. Meritus Mandarin is in Orchard, which I don't like as well.

Dear PuccaGal:

Oh no...
They insist we top up the difference?
I'm so upset...
No wonder they're asking me down today to talk to another director from the management!
For the Oriental saga, many couples chose Conrad, Hyatt, Regent, Fullerton, without top up for the guaranteed tables!
How can MM be doing this to us?
I will try to stand firm this evening and keep you gals updated.
I dun like Meritus and Pan Pac either...

Anybody has chosen a hotel and accepted by MM?
Pls update!

Dear Mas:

You might wanna refer to the Pan Pac thread for more info. Generally their food and service are good. But heard their coords kept changing. Which room did they offer you? Ocean room's ceiling is lower. Pacific room's ceiling is higher and ballroom nicer, though got higher minimum guaranteed number.

Dear Bewitched:

Oriental is $780+++, is $897nett for weekday.
We stand a better chance to ask for other hotels if they do allow Oriental. Many hotels are now cheaper than the new Oriental pricing. If they do not allow Oriental, then our bargaining power is only Pan Pac's Pacific ballroom at $768nett.

I just called to ask for the Copthorne's pricing. It's $628+++ for weekday, and now there's a promotion at $600+++. No wonder they're offering Copthorne as well! Argh!

Dear PuccaGal:

I also gotta wait as they said their director not free also... Which hotel are you asking for? What are they doing for you now? When are you meeting the director?

Dear Iso:

No idea.
By then the hotel would have completed it's reno, would be ex.
The current pricing is $708nett for weekday, $808/$838nett for weekend.
You may wanna check out their webbie:
http://hotels.meritus-hotels.com/meritus/marinamandarin/index.html
Or call 68451000 for their banquet sales.

Affected MM Couples, Pls update, so that we have STRONGER bargaining power, don't just read and wait ya? Thanks!!!

Mas: Offered Grand Copthorne and Pan Pac, Taking Pan Pac
PuccaGal: Offered Pan Pac & Meritus, Rejects both
Sashamama: Meeting management today

Hi Sashamama, thanks for the consolidation and would really appreciate your feedback on your discussion with the director tonight.

Actually I am not very happy that we need to speak to the Events Director and THEN the F&B Director again.

Anyway, my sister's friend was affected by the Oriental renovation and they were offered hotels like Conrad and Fullerton WITHOUT additional top up. From the way I see it, MM is not going to offer that to us.. BUT we can try hard to fight for the hotels that we want!!

The advice I got from my fren is NOT to sign anything with what they are offering first so that we are not shortchanged.

I am so glad I visit the forum today.. I was so upset that I lost sleep for the past week, just waiting for my time to speak to the F&B this week.

I refuse to accept Pan Pac and Meritus Mandarin!!!

Dear PuccaGal:

I have been losing sleep over this issue for the past 10 days since i know this also!!!

I'm also very unhappy that i need to speak to two directors!

My coord just called me. She said that for alternative venues, they might be only willing to pay 10% for us! I'm super duper upset...

I refuse to accept Pan Pac and Meritus too...

What can we do? ... Feel so helpless...

Dear Sashamama,

I know exactly how you feel. My hubby and I were very very upset. In fact, we already already very vexed by the renovation and work and photoshoot, now we got this BIG issue about the hotel venue. I think Marina Mandarin has screwed up our wedding plans big time and they are non apologetic about it. Sigh...

Did she say you canpick Oriental? Previously the coord told me we can choose from Pan Pac, Meritus AND Oriental. However, the latest news I got is for Oriental, we have to top up as well. That's why I am frustrated that the terms seems to get worse each day.

And after I visit this forum, I realise they are only going to pay for the guaranteed number of tables stated in the contract, which I think is way off!! When we signed the contract, the coord said we can give them the exact number of tables we want closer to the wedding date, and she was the one who advised us not to guarantee a high number of tables first coz we can increase but not decrease the number of tables. Now, if they want to "cheat" me based on the contracted number, I think it is sooooo unfair
(

Based on the experience from Oriental, they should not have repeat this mistake and let history repeat itself. Now that it has happened, it seems that they are not very sincere in their offer to us.

Are the rest of the couples fighting for their rights as well? Before I read the fourm, I thought we are fighting the "war" alone. Now it seems we are not, so I have the grounds to stand firm!!!

Dear PuccaGal:

Same here... I wanted 40 tables, but guaranteed 35 only, to be safe, as advised by them...

They did say i can pick Oriental as well, and even made tentative booking for me at Pan Pac Pacific Ballroom, Meritus Mandarin Court and Oriental. Seeing that need to top up for Oriental, super duper sianzzz liao...

I'm super busy abt my renovator search also...

I really hope the other MM couples can update with regards to their situation too... But seems like some just came in, dropped a post asking questions without explaining their own situations, and left liao... Sigh!!!

Will be standing firm tonight... :|

Maybe they are busy working. It's a weekday today, so some may not have access to email or time to reply.

Wonder whether we can do anything about it if we do not accept their terms. Will they just say "Fine, you don't accept, we refund you your deposits. You go find your own hotel.." as stated in the contract? I doubt they will do that as a 5 Star hotel though... but you never know.

Do u know when their renovation will end?

My heart goes out 2 all affected couples by the early than expected reno plans tt MM intend 2 carry out.I have friends who r affected too and I think MM did a BOLD move by pushing forward e reno plans which can affect e reputation of MM. I should think tt e person or mgt who has made this impt change of decision should step forward and give a gd explanation. I pity e
co-ordinators who need 2 b e middlemen 4 this saga.

What i can c is, they r arranging couples 2 meet in small gp so tt they can have e uppper-hand of ctrling e unhappiness of tt couple, if they r so bold 2 make such a decision then they should have e courage 2 face more couples at a time. Y not some of e affected couples meet them at the same time since there r SO MANY directors 2 meet and they seem 2 b very busy pple!

HI all,

sorry din have much time to update you guys. there's actually not much update at my end. for both my fiancee and i, we want to have a solution asap once they dropped the bombshell on us. We weren't that upset since they manage to secure 2 locations. and my fiancee preferred pan pac...since they offering ocean ballroom.

after informing cara that we decided on pan pac last week, i didn't hear from them anymore. we have yet to sign the new package.

was quite concern now that most couples informed we must do top up for additional tables. we've guaranteed 35 tables but i have a feeling it might go up to 38 ....would not want to pay more than current package...

has anyone signed up a new package with them??? can update us...

Dear all:

We have chosen Fullerton in the end. They are firm in not topping up for hotels other than what they offered like Meritus, Pan Pac, Copthorne Waterfront, etc. They have made it clear that eventually, it is our own choice, with regards to going for the hotels they offer, or go for one we want, or postpone our wedding to have it at MM still.

They are sincere in hearing us out, but as the contract stated, they actually have no obligations to top up anything at all when such situations arise. Especially when they inform us abt half a year beforehand, i guess it's a totally different situation from the Oriental saga.

Indeed, they'd only top up for the guaranteed tables. We confirmed 35, though we were looking at 40 + 2, so would have to reduce guest list liao...

Though we need to top up quite a lot, we would still go ahead with it as we are too into a Fullerton wedding liao, and we really can't change our wedding date to later, to have it at the newly furbished MM with maybe even more perks at the same promo price.

If we could change our wedding date, postponing our wedding date would have been a very good deal as MM might offer more perks, beta menu at the same price. This is win-win as it would minimise their losses too.

We are lucky as we still have alternative venues to choose from for our date. My heart goes out to those who have no alternative venue on their popular date. Hope you'd get a better deal with MM than myself, as a source of greater comfort.

Will come in here at times to kaypoh a bit still... We can also keep in contact via email, mine is [email protected] Anybody who still need my wedding info file, do feel free to drop me a mail too!

All the best, ex-fellow-MM-brides!!!

Hi Sashamama,

Glad to hear that u have choosen a hotel u like.. So does MM top up the 35 guaranteed tables for u for the price difference for fullerton? As for me, I have choosen Hyatt, till not have not meet up with the coordinators nor the directors.. wonder what can we do now? Seems like my date is a very popular date and all hotels seems to be full.. Even Hyatt is left with only one pathetic room for my wedding... No choice but to accept Hyatt.

Hi Sashamama,

I'm glad too that you've finally can move on from here. Not sure when your wedding though but would like to congratulate you still.

After reading the forum, you've been most helpful. Wish you all the very best of luck with Fullerton.

Dear Michelle:

Thanks for your well wishes!
No, MM isn't topping up the price difference for us, we top it up ourselves...

Hyatt is a great venue with good food too! Hope you can get it!

Dear Mas:

Thanks for your well wishes too!
Wish u all the best for ur Pan Pac wedding! Heard the food and service there is good, some more it'd be newly renovated.

Hi Mas,

Glad to see you in the MM thread. I know who you r. ;p So is the Pac pac settled? Do let us noe ok?

Sashamama and the rest of affected MM brides,

I tink all of you need to stand together for the top up as it is not your fault that renovation had to commence earlier.

Sashamama,
Hope you can settle on your venue and hotel soon

Dear Sashamama,

Glad that you've chosen the hotel you really like. At least you've advanced a step. For me, Oriental is out cos we're required to top up. MM is still in the midst of checking other hotels for us though. We also wish to settle this asap. Thanks for all the updates ever since this saga happened. You've been most helpful and active in this forum! All the best in yr negotiation! :-) Would also be interested to know how much they are willing to top up for yr case as they have told us that they are only willing to top 10% of the package price.

Me just back from overseas .... sigh...2 days back just talked to my coord from MM, and she said the same thing, there is a cap (10%) to how much they will top up, and for additional tables, we have to foot the bills ourselves. The choice of hotels given to me are also
just Pan Pac & Meritus.

There isn't a lot of choice. Any body else got a better deal than this?

Dear all:

Thanks for all the well wishes!
I be meeting with the Fullerton coord later this afternoon. Am on my own with regards to negotiating for the perks. It's as tho MM return me my deposit, then i go liaise with Fullerton myself. I dun have any MM perks, and Fullerton is very stringent with perks.

They are only agreeable to top up 10% of our contract price, which is $60nett from the $600nett banquet price. Fullerton's cheapest weekday package is $738+++ = $850nett. Sigh...

Note that they would only top up for the confirmed tables only, excluding the reserved tables.

I gathered why MM ain't compensating us like the Oriental saga:

1) 4 to 6 months away from AD, ample time to change venue
2) hotels of comparable standards of food and service are offered, and cost equal or more than the MM packages; like Meritus and Pan Pac, at no top up for the confirmed tables and with most perks remaining. Might even be able to bargain for more, im unsure on this.
3) willingness to postpone wedding to a later date would grant the couple beta perks and beta menu (unsure too) at the same price, and at the newly furbished hotel. MM gets to minimize cost too
4) It's stated black & white in the contract that when such a case arise, where the banquet has to be cancelled due to reno works, the hotel would only be obliged to refund us the deposit and fullstop. But of course they dun just do that la...
5) They're even helping with the sourcing for other hotel venues and maybe with some liaising (tho i dun have). And even offers a 10% top up though they're not legally bound to do that. For my case, 35 tables x $60 = $2100 'compensation' lo.

So i guess, we just have to resign to fate...
Note that the top up per extra table at Pan Pac & Meritus is abt $98nett each, that's slightly more than 15% top up as of the $600 package price. I'm unsure if this can be a good bargaining stand for u gals. Note that some couples are choosing Grand Hyatt too. They might have a deal with MM or something, unsure...

That's abt what i can help with so far...
Am still concerned abt all of ya situations!
Do update

Affected MM Couples: UPDATE!

Anydior: Offered Pan Pac & Meritus
Lavendergal: MM checking out other hotels
Mas: Offered Grand Copthorne and Pan Pac, Taking Pan Pac
PuccaGal: Offered Pan Pac & Meritus, Rejects both
Sashamama: Offered Pan Pac & Meritus, Decided on Fullerton, compensation is 35 tables x $60 (10% of contract price) = $2100; No MM perks

I've found out from my FH's colleague who has to relocate his wedding to Fullerton due to Oriental's rennovation. Oriental have also given them ample time (6 months)when they broke the news in May and in contract also stated in black and white that the hotel will not be liable when such as case arise. But my FH's colleague commented that Oriental has indeed honour what they promised from DAY 1! I guess for that matter of fact I respect Oriental has handled this situation more professionally than MM! Cos Oriental has a reputation to lift up to I gather.
Still in the midst of negotiating with MM and I will consult our friend who is a lawyer. Will keep you update

Afterall, think about those affected couple whose weddings in April, they also have 3 to 4 months to source for alternative venue. For me, I'm lucky, like Sashamama, to have 6 months' notice and I'm not asking for unreasonable compensation but just want something reasonable! 10% is not reasonable for all the inconvenience caused and stress caused!

Hi, I agree that 10% top up is very low compared to the stress and inconvenience caused. For the past few days (or weeks I should say), I have been calling up hotels, discussing with my husband and parents whether to postpone my wedding or even to bring it forward. And that means I have to approach the master again to get another date. And it is NOT easy at all to get another good date coz most of the hotels would have already been booked for good dates..

Sigh... now I feel like we are at the mercy of MM. It's like "You want to pick the hotels we have dictate? No? Ok, you go find your own hotel, we pay you $60 per confirmed table to show our "apologies". It's really not our fault. Blame it on Marina Square. They are the one who changed the renovation plan. Not us. Have a nice day. Bye."

Anyone has the same feeling as me?

Dear all:

I feel the same way too...
I heard from another forum fren that Oriental topped up cos the affected couples' wedding was 1-2 months away only!
I din noe there are couples affected that are as early as half a year ahead...
Din have strong bargaining power, without all ur feedback here i guess..

Anyway, im meeting the Fullerton coord today to discuss on the contract lo. Just wish to move on and get over with this saga...

Of course im upset with the way MM is handling this, as compared to Oriental. But i guess we really dun have a strong case to fight for better compensation lo... It's really up to the hotel management and our individual choice at the end of the day.

For me & FH, we went along with the impractical way of topping up for our choice venue. Would have postponed my wedding date if i wanted the most practical way out, tho troublesome...

Keep me updated, ya?
And...
TRY to have a MERRY XMAS!!!
All the BEST!!!

Dear look look see see:

Are you meaning why we cant ask for full top up at alternative venues as compensation by MM?

If you refer to our previous postings, cos the contract DID state that they're only obliged to refund us our deposit if such a case (reno works) arise.

Dear all:

I spoke to the Fullerton coord yest. She's very frenly, Perks there are really non-negotiable, but for the sake of the location, we're willing to risk losses lo..

And as what she told me, for the few affected Oriental brides that went over to Fullerton, their wedding date was 1 to 3 months (at max) from the day Oriental informed abt the reno works. Guess that would enable them stronger bargaining power than us. We have half a year or so, and most of us have alternative venues available, that's provided by them. Not as though there's nowhere else... Moreover, the packages provided at Pan Pac & Meritus are same priced or higher than the MM one.. So let's just take this as a blessing in disguise?

For those who have no alternative 5star venues, can update on what are ur plans like? Postponement of wedding? Or they willingly top up for the 6star hotels that are still available?

CHEERS to all...

hi crystal,

go to KentRidge Trade Press at Pasir Panjiang Road...they are cheap and good...430pcs at $90 but if less than 400pcs only $80...just printed with them...ready in within one week once you confirm your printing details...good luck

I'm going to source for alternative venues. Not going to sit waiting for MM to call me. Response from them is SLOW. Anyway, if anyone gets a better venue and compensation, do share with us. So I can go squeeze MM for more. ha ha...can't believe i can still laugh...