Marina Mandarin Singapore

stickytape

I'm interested to attend the upcoming fair... is it free? Anyone got any details on the fair? All I know is that it's on Apr 18th..

piggypong

stickytape, if u have already liaised with a coordinator from MM, maybe you can ask if they can register for u FOC.

I have already booked with MM and my coordinator will be registering for me. Don't have to pay anything

stickytape

@JF haha! maybe yes maybe not. Hoping to settle my VG b4 that.

I just wanna see the MM ballroom all set-up nicely, maybe can also try the food which is provided.. and have a look and feel of the favours etc lor.

Thanks piggypong! I'll liaise with my coordinator. =)
(BTW, i like ur nick leh. dem cute.)

piggypong

stickytape, no problem

I adopt my nick from a Swarovski Crystal.. hehe

toot80

stickytape > icic... like wat piggypong mentioned u can request for complimentary invites to the wedding fair. i got mine foc for the previous wedding fair. the last MM wedding fair they gave each couple a goodie bag. inside includes different wedding favours, small gifts from the different retailers involved in their fair, bridal magazines etc.
whitelink was the bridal studio tied up with MM so you can see their models wearing the latest gowns while having your food. Should be a 5 course meal if im not wrong.. MM oso have their special dance during the serving of the 1st dish. i rmb the song was nobody by the wonder girls.

the dessert mango sago ice cream thingy is good.

stickytape

thanks piggypong & JF!

Yup, got in touch with my coordinator and she registered for us for free!

The program says that it's from 12pm to 4pm... exactly what time should we reach? Lunch starts at 12pm sharp?

toot80

stickytape > i think u can come ard 1230pm.. they wont start the lunch so early based on my previous experience. have a good wkend every1!

cramanoif

juz visited Vanda Ballroom...

overall its very cosy and for the price of the package its quite worth it...

but i noticed that their ceiling quite low... and the march in is quite short...

pinkcoral

Hi ttoorroo

We're using Fiona and she's great! Her response time is fast and she's straight to the point - we needn't haggle over the contract, whatever she can give, she told us outright. So we save a lot of time which would otherwise be wasted negotiating back and forth.

chilliinketchup

ttoorroo: My coordinator is Fiona too. She's good, so far. Haha... As my banquet is in Sep, I don't want to conclude too soon. If the service standard can be sustained, then I'll come again to compliment her.

Like what pinkcoral has said, she's very direct. She knows many people will ask for the same perks and such, so whatever she can give, she'll give. Don't need to waste time. I am quite surprise. This is one of the reasons why we signed up with MM.

my HB and I are going to MM later in the evening. Our coordinator is Sen. We are wondering if MM is willing to give us the perks from the workshop though we are not attending. Any experience??

toot80

jernine > me. AD on 5 march 2011.

jasmine > mine sen too... the only additional perks btw the workshop package n mine is the $688 nett off total bill on wkend and foc 1 table on a wkday. not sure whether she'll give but u can always try.

cramanoif

Jasmine: Sen was my coordinator too (but i nvr sign up with MM bcoz i realise my dream hotel's package match my budget)
for my case, Sen offer the same perks as the workshop.
she's quite straight forward, know what we wanted and she just go straight to the point.
eg: additional parking, beer, corkage...

overall her offer was good to match for the price
i find that she's a good coordinator

but food wise im not too sure...

piggypong

actually i do find that MM coordinators are quite up-front with the perks.

We didnt not even need to ask for any additional perks as those that we are looking for are already given by the coordinator (eg. carpark, invitation card, free flow beer, wine per table)

there is nothing much for us to ask for and we confirm with MM soon after.

thanks gal! I was thinking if they can give us the $688 discount, beer and wine offers from the workshop. cos i understand that these offers only applies to 2010 weddings. mine will be in 2011 march.

cramanoif

Jasmine, should be able to..
my AD was Nov 2011, and Sen offered me those listed perks..
and she also told me 2011 dates start to fill up aldy..
she even got 31st Dec 2011 and 11th Nov 2011 confirmed bookings
as they do not increase price on hot dates

ttoorroo

Precious, my AD is in Nov 2011 too.
My coordinator is Fiona, but she did not mention about the perks.
Does anyone have Fiona as their wedding coordinator?
Did she offer the perks for 2011?

piggypong

Precious, you mean Sen offered you the cash discount as well? I was asking my coordinator about it but she said that the cash discount is only for banquets in 2010.

cramanoif

piggypong: my banquet will be a weekday, so not eligible for the cash rebate.. other than that.. all the weekday perks im entitled

ttoorro: my master calculated my AD date to be on 1st Nov 2011... heehee

piggypong

ttooroo, my coordinator is Vanessa.

Precious, oh icic.. really hope that they could give it to 2011 banquet.. definitely a v nice perk :p

smilem, its on 18 Apr, Sun 12pm to 4pm

Thanks Precious for your info. I will be meeting Sen later in the evening. We will try requesting for the perks from workshop. Hehe... update you gals after tt. cheers!

stickytape

yessss i want to cash rebate!

Let's all meet together and demand our coordinators to give us the cash rebate on 18 Apr. Power in numbers!! HAHA!

hey gals, MM is not giving the cash rebate for 2011 wedding. Only free flow of beer and wine/confirmed tbl. sigh* Neway, i find the Venda ballroom rather small, so I might consider another hotel.

ttoorroo

Hi Smilem,
who is your coordinator? Mine's Fiona. She registered for me immediately.
hmm.. Perhaps u can call your coordinator coz they are sending out the invites already
Best of luck to u..

cherry_chripy

hey ladies!!! I am also considering MM for my banquet next year . Mm.. But i have a constraint , is it a must that they die die must have 40 min tables on weekend? Anyone has booked with them with a lower number tables? like 35 tables ?

Could we exchange like expensive menu with less tables?

Have u all booked? if yes, could u please share with me if they willing to nego on tables? i know that swissotel can let u nego down to bout 5 to 10 tables.

jorder99

anybody has any clue?
- are the perks available for 2011 packages?
- can we use the mandarin room for 35-38 tables?

i have spoken to Swissotel Stamford and they are quite flexible..
Dannis is the coordinator i spoke to...

stickytape

@jus_nine I think if you read above you'd see the discussion for the 2011 perks?

I only managed to negotiate with my coordinator for 38 tables for the ballroom downstairs. Mine's on a Sat - they're probably more accommodating for weekdays.

HTHs.

ttoorroo

Hi jus_nine,

I have also negotiated for 38 tables for Marina Ballroom. Mine's a Sun.
Perhaps you can neg for better menus, 1-to-1 service (1 staff to 1 table), more nights in bridal suites or helper's room??
However, I suppose you may need to pay the 38 min tables.
Check with your coordinator and update us in your 'bargains' k..

babymilky

hi jasmineOng, ur is on march 2011? which date are u looking at? coz i aso interest taking MM for my AD next year in march. have u sign the package?

babymilky

I decided to use MM for my AD wedding next year. I was thinking 1wine/table is it enough? I know need to depends on ur guests who came.. But i would like to know anyone of u here bring in more wine and around how many bottle of hard liqour on the AD?

smilem

jz went to their wedding show at MM.. tried the food. the prawn is nice... the chicken bit hard, and the cold dish not bad.. but the mee sua not very gd.. perhap not to my liking..

babymilky

haha.. my htb also went down for wedding show, I can't make it due to working. He commented tat the chicken is nice even the breast meat part is good. He love the dessert Mago sago with ice -cream. But he say that the white link's grown copy fan wong and look more like Indian style.. lolx..

babymilky

lemonist- my cousin used to hold her wedding at MM in 2008, she said that the food tasting is nice. AD she didnt managed to eat, but all my relative comment the food not bad. =)

I also checked with the coordinator, she say food tasting not allow before deposit. Although i think this is ridiculous even though i will pay if i do not sign the contract. But if u really wan to taste the food, i think u need to go for their wedding show or other alternative ..