Mandarin Oriental Singapore

Thanks Babbit
Any idea how about the Guests who drive into Oriental Carpark on their own? Got complimentary?
You know, there are bound to have guests who are very particular and refused to let others park their cars.

AnW,
The coordinator will pass the complimentary passes to u b4 the banquet. The Oriental car park refers to those lots in front of the hotel. I don think the hotel allows guests to park at these lots on their own.

For those of you bringing wine for your wedding -where are you getting them from and what's the price like, care to share?

AnW, yeah I do agree with you that not every one wants the valet parking service. Our guests can use the complimentary pass if they park on their own - remember that was what Agnes told us.

Thanks Tiara
Cos the Parking part if quite a concern for me as our parents - as well as ourselves - dun wish to let the guests pay for their parking. But too bad if they blur blur park straight to Marina Sq car park.Actually asked Agnes about the Marina Sq car park - she said we can collect and she help us bring over to Marina to validate and let them have free parking - but we got to pay $1.50 each. Hopefully Oriental has got enough car parks for our guests.
Oh ya - for brides out there - any one done food tasting. Is it done during dinner time or other timings? Thanks
Btw, any of you feedback to Oriental that their Invitation cards are quite 'not nice'?? Any tips on enhancing it? thanks

Hi Thanks Coal!
Just wondering will the chef be the same as our wedding night.............

Btw,I have got a lot of duty-PAID (not Duty Free) XO, etc BUT their Labels turned very dirty & yellow over the years. My dad told me to buy new ones instead of serving the existing old ones. Anyone out there knows whether it is 'nice' to serve the bottles which have yellowed labels?Cos I feel the Hard Liquor will definately be drinkable, just how bad we are reflected as right? Any tips? or for all brides out there, any one had similar problem ? Pls help - must find ways to save $$$$$$

Hi AnW,

usually, its the waiter who will serve the liquor right?? the guests dun get to see the bottle, so dun worry abt them seeing the yellowed labels...
if u have tables who want a whole bottle to them, then maybe u can get new ones for them lor..
just my views..

Hi AnW

Have you decided on a date for your food tasting yet? I dropped Agnes an email to ask about it but no reply from her. My fiance asks me to call her instead, guess she is away or too busy to reply.

Hey Tiara

Think you better called her mobile - not sms but call.
I emailed her, no reply, sms her also no reply, ended up calling her mobile to tell her we want to pick up our cards. We planned to food taste on end Nov - but was wanting to speak to her before that to ask for her opnions on the food choices - cos she may know what tastes better mah........actually quite worried that she cannot give 'fast' responses etc......guess she is too busy.

Hi tiara and AnW,
I agree Agnes is really busy now.... I have already gone thru the food tasting (in fact my wedding over oredi, liao) Maybe i can help to answer some of your questions.

Thanks AnW!

Babbit, great! How long before your wedding did you have your food tasting. Also, when did you meet Agnes and the florist to discuss the decor and theme of your wedding?

Hi Tiara,
Actually the time for food tasting is up to personal preference, juz let Agnes know around 1 week in advance. I have it around 3 months b4 the banquet. We treat it also for the time to discuss the details for the guo da li. As for the discussion, around 1 month b4, Agnes will meet u abt the details abt the banquet, the feedback for the food tasting, the theme, who are the emcees, the type of wedding favours, wedding cakes. If u want to meet the florist, she will make the arrangement too. Close to 2-1 weeks b4 the actual day, Agnes will meet u again to confirm the details and get the CDs that u want to play on that day, so that she can try out on her player to ensure that it works. She will also run thru with u the program for the day itself. U will get to meet the overall banquet person on the actual day itself. Don worry, they r so experienced, its such a breeze to work wif them. Even the surprise my hubby planned for me, went well with no hiccups.

Hi, Babbit,
thanks for sharing with us so much of your experience.
Btw which cards you chose? When is ur wedding ?

I heard from my sis who attended a wedding recently at Oriental that their sound sys not so good,is it true??

I'll be having my food tasting end of the month. The chicken soup with 5 treasures sounds yummy, anybody tried that before?

babbit,
Which favour did you choose? All of them look very nice to me. Can't make up my mind.

Can anyone recommend me coordinator when i call them up dis wk? Who will be more easy to bargain n friendly n good wif service?

Hi Babbit

Thanks for sharing!

AnW, my friend was telling me that our co-ordinator should be responsible enough to call us instead of us having to chase her ever so often. Sigh! Agnes not very good with time management ;)

Hi Tiara,

My coordinator was Melanie but now it's Agnes. To be fair to Agnes, she does know her timeline of events. But I'm very kan cheong, so I'll email her or call her to discuss things with her before she calls me and that's the same thing I did with Melanie too. So far Agnes has been very accommodating to my requests. And I feel equally at ease with her as I was with Melanie -- my hubby feels the same way too.

So an advice to all Oriental couples will be to take the initiative and contact your coordinator if you really need to move ahead with things. Give them some lead time to reply as Agnes is really very busy these few months.

Stay cool!

Hi Babbit

You dun scare me leh...hahahaha..
My wedding is less than one month away and Agnes still have not called me to discuss the minor details. However we have already went for our food tasting...Now very kan cheong leh...

Hi ladies....

To Girl,
The cards I got was the beige one. Dad found the long, dark red one too dull, not auspicious looking. The beige ones when printed by hot stamping in gold actually turned out very nice n classy. As for my wedding, its over liao... held it during the hot September season. So, i have gone thru everything liao.......

The sound system... it was ok. But a fren who sang professionally find the mike not up to her standard. But to me everything went well.

tiara,
Favour? I took the lock n key key chain. Was very popular, i have guests who check whether we have extra. Which are the ones u can't decide?

Feb,
When's your wedding? Maybe u can give Agnes a call. What are the dishes u r having?

byee,
u can stick to Agnes. She is excellent!!!

HI Feb
how is ur food tasting?

HI babbit
tks for coming in to give the future oriental brides tips.

think agnes is really busy, let be more patient and understanding

My co-ordinator was supposed to be Melanie and no one inform me of her resignation!!! so I emailed Agnes and she replied the very next day!! ;)
Guess I caught her on a not very bz day...

My co-ordinator now is Wendy, i tik she's new, will be meeting her tis sat to discuss our time-line....

I hope she as good as Melanie. Anyone met Wendy oreadi???

hi Pipi,

Wendy is a very nice and friendly person. Felt good when I talk to her. So dont worry, i am sure she definite will be as good as Melanie...
Cheer

Hi babbit & inc

My wedding is on 10/11 and lucky Agnes finally called and arrange for a meet up next monday..Happy..happy...
and she claimed still got time for all the arrangement since I have three more weeks to go..

My food tasting is good..And positive comment on the food from both side of our parents..However not sure whether on that day will be the same...The menu are not with me so cant list what I have choosen..

Hi babbit & Inc

Sorry..Finally found my menu...

Appetizers : The Hot And Cold Seafood Combination
2) Soup : Braised Shark's Fin With Crabmeat
3) Seafood : Crispy King Prawns in Honey Sauce
4) Poultry : Stewed Duck With Red Dates in Red Wine Sauce
5) Delicacies : Sliced Abalone & Sea Cucumber Casserole
6) Fish : Steamed Fresh Garoupa With Spring Onion Julienne in Light Soya Sauce
7) Vegetables : Braised Winter Melon with Enoki Mushroom and Dried Scallops
8) Noddles/ Rice : Fragrant Fried Rice Wrapped in Lotus Leaf
9) Dessert : Yam Pudding with Ginko Nuts and Honey Syrup

Feb,
We got almost the same dishes.
ok......
1) Appetisier : i made up my own combi wif lobster, barbercued eel, chicken pockets and some other prawn stuff (can't remember)
2. Soup : same (taste: average)
3. Seafood : same, excellent choice!!!! Everyone loves it
4. Poultry : same too! But bcos the presentation was too dull, so we added lotus and Chinese mushrooms
5. Delicacies : same, added brocoli
6. Fish : promfert, guests love it
7. Vegs : i tried the dish u have wanted. Bland n colour was dull, so we switched to asparagus with fresh scallop
8. Crab claw : yummy!
9. Mango pudding- so, so

Hi Everybody,

Me new to this thread. Am considering Oriental for my wedding lunch so need some feedback.

Babbit, Congrats on your wedding. Glad to hear that everything went well. Must be a happy bride that night.

I understand that the ballroom "looks" a bit weird cos it is curved in shape. Any problem with the table arrangement? How are the servings?

Still trying desperately to lock-down a hotel, but it seems that there are too many comparisons ie Marriott, Merchant...

Anybody can give feedback on why Oriental was your choice? Thanks

Hmmm..... Tiara, u have pixs to show???? Me interested too.

Mr Bean,
Why Oriental.... Many reasons. 1st thing, i was not able to get the date i wanted which is a Saturday. Sunday was available. Agnes actually offer us complimentary stay from Saturday onwards. And everything is ultra flexi, we r able to move the piano into the ballroom. Was not able to do that at Regent. Agnes will try her best to deliver the kind of banquet u want, without occuring extra cost. If what u suggested req extra topping up, Agnes will actually suggest other alternatives. Rather than to tell u no to eveything or u have to pay extra.....

As to the ballroom shape, its actually in the shape of a fan. Find it pretty unique and cosy. We loved it alot!

Hi Babbit,

Thanks for the feedback. Glad to hear that things are flexible with Oriental. Will be meeting with Agnes tomorrow..

Any particular thing that I need to take note?

I think flexibility lies very much with the coordinator. My coordinator have been changed from melanie to Wendy..

I just spoke to her and found her inflexible... i am very upset as i took up oriental becoz i felt very comfortable with mel and she is so accommodating to my request...now it seems like all those are not possible already... Need some advice badly - should i ask for a change in coordinator or talk to someone higher????

Btw, Tiara, Can you share you pixs with me too? thanks and my email is [email protected]

Hi Poohpooh,

U dun scare me leh.... me too.... change from Melanie to Wendy.... will be meeting her tmr... I oso quite like Mel bec. she's very accomadating and flexible... Die!! now how?? ;(

Hi Tiara,
can i look at ur pics too?? my email is [email protected]. Thanks!!

hi gals, i have jus signed up with Oriental and overall Agnes is very nice. But somehow it seems that many things are not very flexible. Wonder is Agnes a breeze to work with? Thanks for commenting. Really really appreciate your advice.

Babbit, thanks for coming back to the forum to advise us. By the way, did you take the long march in or the short march in?

hulos.... m pipi's other half.. we met wendy this am.. she's quite ok, but not the usual kindof coordinator you'd find in most hotels...

kinda miss Melanie though we've only met her like twice. she makes me feel more secure.

i guess when it comes to holding weddings at hotels, i'd dare say 98% of us are new to it and the sense of security + good svc w personal touch from a coordinator counts alot...

btw.. we took up the deal purely because if Melanie's personal touch at the intro.

guess all of us who've been reassigned to other coordinators have at least gotta be informed by the hotel and reassigned before Melanie leaves out of basic courtesy and making people feel safe and not for us to DISCOVER that our coordinator's gone when emails bounce back.

So far things have gone well with the hotel, maybe thats y this glitch was really unexpected.

Has anyone used the 3 function rooms at level 1 for holding their wedding banquet instead of the grand ballroom ? It was suggested that I place the stage in the centre but I am not too sure whether the room will be too long and the guest might not be able to see much. I need some feedback on the room and whether it is a wise choice. Thank you.

M new in this thread. Been to Oriental on Saturday. Met up with Wendy. Both my fiance and I tot she is very friendly and professional. She listens to our requirement which makes her different from most hotels we been to. Initially, we were thinking of holding our wedding reception at Shrangri-La but after meeting up with the Sales Manager, we decided to drop the idea. Since my fiance and I are very particular with services and we are very comfortable with Wendy, we are almost as certain that Oriental will be top on our list!

c0co,
I took the short march. Was not possible to have th elong one cos' we have more than 40 tables, and the grand piano too. However, it wasn't that bad. The march in was still very nice and romantic. At the end of the day, i really feel its the people and your helpers who make a difference to my wedding. I simply enjoy watching the video over n over again.

Tiara can i view your picture too please?? [email protected]

My wedding's in Feb and as i've never attended any wedding at Oriental, i'm clueless about the whole experience and set up and not forgetting ambience. So if any one has phtos to share that'll be perfect!! = )

Babbit did you have video montage?? i heard from Agnes that the project screen would be set up at the far end left corner... would guests be able to view it from lets say the entrance??

Hi Babbit
Well my number of tables shot from a mere 30 to 43(est).....so I guess I got to have the short march in as well then. sob sob. Is it very short? Been to a collleague's ne at Merchant court, short march in as well - then know what? She is on stage in less than 5 seconds from the entrance.
Any tips on how to make the short march in nice and romantic?? or make it 'longer' feeling???

Hi AnW,

Are u n FH the confident/not shy sort? Waltzing in slowly could be romantic and takes a longer time to do...

it'll be memorable to many...

Hi Clayre, the ballroom pictures I have are not from my wedding - mine's in Dec
They were pix I took during the bridal show at Oriental.

Hi babbit

Ya me too..Worried that the guest can't see the highlight if the projector is placed at the corner....

What did you choose for the favour. Have seen the new teddy bear favours but not very impressed cos there is no packaging done just individual bear placed on the table.....

Hey Xstix!
No way!!! Won't dare waltz my way in lah!!!!hee hee. may spolit guest's appetite! hahaha. Thanks for the suggestion - erm any better ones?

Hi SallyYeo,
Why did you ask for that date?? kind of late you you wanna book now eh?

Feb,
Can ask for 2 projectors, one at each end??? hee hee
*greedy*

Hi clayre

Have sent you the pix. I would think the set-up at the bridal show is the standard style that Oriental offers - couples are free to make changes according to the theme and decor they want.

Hi AnW,

No lah, not me, asking for friend, actually I wanted to type 2004 but typed too fast 2003, wanted to edit but boss walked over ...errr ...

Pai sey ... not "snatching" your date.
Sorry for typo error ... didn't manage to clarify in time earlier ...

Hey SallyYeo
Aiya just Kpo see how come you so last minute also wanna book mah........hee hee
End 2004 should be fine right? But i got friend booked hers with Oriental for Dec 04 liao, so better let your friend know if ok, better book fast. A colleague wanted March (dunno what dates) no vacancies till May 04 I think.

Well think we all are typing away in office eh??? hiak hiak

Hi AnW,

Thanks ya! She want me to check here 1st! If taken up then she won't bother to call OH and ask.

She very fickle minded, I nag and nag already!

Hee, I only read and post during office hours because my PC at home is really an antique and very slow because I am still using dial up.

Have to watch my back while typing!

The ballroom wasn't that long and broad, so the guests have no problem seeing the screen.
As to how to make the march seems longer.... Ok, for my 1st march in, i have 2 pairs of flower girls and page boys who threw flower petals. They were so nervous, so the march was actually longer than usual.
As for the 2nd march in... Haiz... Agnes if u are reading this, u r really good in keeping secrets too. I walk in with my 2 bridesmaids without my hubby. He was actually near the stage, playing the piano and singing.....
So that's all for my march in.