Mandarin Oriental Singapore

Hi all Oriental brides,

Can you gals recommend a coordinator (name/tel)? Friend need it, she's going to have it in early 2005 i/o end 2004. MIL said the date in 2004 not good! haiz! She's looking at Oriental because heard about the good comments about the food. Thks.

Hi Chatterbox,

We checked the Oriental website and saw that the ballroom is 13ft tall - is that still low? We tot that is already pretty high! But the total area of 500+sqm seems a bit small if we hold more than 40 tables? My friend is expecting about that no. and worried the spaces between the table might be quite narrow and make the whole ballroom looks cramped. Any feedback??

Thks!!!

So what most of you planned to do about the parking is to tell the guests - "FREE IF VALET PARKING -TOO BAD IF YOU PARK AT MARINA SQ"???

Anyway, we actually asked Agnes whether we can get Marina Sq to validate and pass the guests who accidentally parked into Marina the tickets ( yah- trying to be santa claus - but parents are quite concerned about their guests paying). The only way to do it is to collect from guests , validate, then return them! There would most probably be confusion here!!!

Har- sound system that bad har? sob sob.....my wedding is only 2 weeks away - think no chance for Oriental to 'upgrade' despite feedbacks??? Tiara, forgot liao - when's your Big day?

Think my package includes the supper - at first thought it would be left overs from the banquet- hee hee ......anyway idea got 'pre-dinner' snacks also ?? hee hee

My fren had in total 33 tables... I would say that is a very small area for her. Thk the ballroom was not opened fully coz I saw any couple holding their wedding on the other side. The setup is kind of long instead of square. Each side with 2 rows of tables. A little crampled....

The ceiling is considered very low coz there are big crystal lights hanging down from the ceiling thus making it looks even lower.....

Nothg much for the stage n table decor... Not too sure if it is the theme she opt.... Juz a small flower setup in the middle of the table...

Hi AnW,

Geez didn't know your wedding is so near. What flowers have you chosen for your decor?

My wedding is end Dec

Wow, this thread is getting lively.. keep it up.

ya, let feedback to Agnes on the sound system.

surprise to hear that 33 table is cramped. believe this is the super long march in set up.
well can choose the l shape or short march in.
if short march in, think can take up to max 50 as told by coordinator.

anyone heard if they intend to renovate the ballroom :P

saw the wedding card and love it. my fren who is holding their wedding there actually prints a separate note to address the valet parking issue.

Hi Tiara
I not very 'interested' in flowers, so chose some red+ champagne coloured roses only...but as my evening gown is maroon.....i got no choice but to choose the orange colour table cloth.
met Agnes only last weekend to go through everything.I chose the Bears as favours- very cute!! Have you met Agnes yet?

Well, inc, think we better dun scare ourselves, think 33 tables cannot be cramped - unless they put aside an area as dance floor - just like what i saw last week. The couple has got a dance area in the centre in front of the stage. COOL

Actually Oriental ceiling is considered LOW liao, compared with a few other hotels I have been to.But still very cosy and classy.......since we had made our mind to choose Oriental, let's make do with everything and be a happy bride!!!

is Agnes the only coord? Can I have the tel no.?

please pm me if it is not convenient to post it here. Thks.

so whether the ballroom looks cramped or not will depend on the layout of the tables, am I right? Which means whether you want a L march-in or straight march-in? Will let my friend know. Thks thks.

Hi chatterbox/anw,

maybe we are not good with the numbers, thought that the figure looks high to us! The height doesn't really matter, agree that we can create a cosy feeling which is quite nice. Too high a ceiling might make the ballroom looks "empty" if there is not much decoration.

Hi AnW,

We just met up with Agnes and will be meeting the florist soon to discuss on the flowers. I saw the bears and I love them too! Really adorable looking ones!

Guess the next time we meet Agnes is 3 days before to finalise all the final details.

Orange color table cloth? Is that for your bridal / normal tables?

Hi Sally

Agnes is not the only coordinator. there is another new coordinator, wendy (if i m not wrong).
i dun hv her contact no.

Tks.

Hi Tiara
the orange table cloth is for the Bridal table lor! that's the only colour she has lah......maroon one cannot, she said will look same same as my evening gown. the other tables are all in white only lor......normally is peach ( but quite close to thebridal orange colour)
Why you still need to meet up with florist? I wasn't told of anything from agnes leh - thought she settle everything for you???

AnW, I meet florist because I want to discuss on the flower decor. I have in mind what I want so communicating direct with florist is the best

Hi Tiara - Oh i see.....pai seh .hee hee

For me, I am not a 'flower' person......can't even remember what flowers i got from my bridal shop as my hand bouquet. hee hee. The lady at the shop got to choose for me. haha

hi all Oriental Brides

my wedding is exactly 2 weeks time, but Agnes has not called me yet....did your call her yourself or she will catch up with your??

Btw I heard that to take the bears as the wedding favours can only be alternative i.e. per table only 5 bears, is it true??

Hi Girl,
You have to call and 'pester' Agnes sometimes cos she's super busy and has no time to contact her clients... My wedding over liao... and hubby and i had to keep calling and emailing her to remind her abt some issues... But other that all these, she's actually quite nice and pleasant.

Another tip for brides to be... If you have lotsa unoccupied seats, pls remind your helpers to keep them for u cos for my wedding, i had a lot a lot of empty seats and some tables sat like only 4 - 5 pax... and the wedding favours were kept by the waiters together with the unused cutlery... Just make sure that you do not get short changes... We paid for all these and the hotel should not take them back...

Hi GIRL,

normally you would have met Agnes 3-4 weeks prior to wedding to discuss what favours to choose, type of flowers etc - have you down that. If yes, think the next meet up will be 3 days before the big day. If have not meet up - you better CALL her!!!

Well, wasn't told per table only 5 bears - very sure each table will have 10 definately! you better double check......I chose the bears as favours too........

hi, ANW and pebble...thanks so much for your advice...think i really very laid back liao..Agnes called mi last sunday to meet up with her tomorrow...hope everything shd be settled by then..

btw pebbles, how the sound system like huh? hdeard they said is not gd, si it true??

Have any of you feedback to Agnes that we heard the sound system is no good????

Kind of spolit the ambience if song very romantic but system real bad leh.

Sally: I have the other coordinator's Wendy contact number....6885 3569 (DID).

AnW: Understand that you will be choosing some red+ champagne coloured roses for yr dinner decoration. I thought of having that combination but my FH not very comfortable with it. May I know when is your dinner. If it is quite soon, can you send me a picture before I decide on my decor....my dinner is on the 1st week of Feb 04. Thanks.

Hi Sally,

Yes, my coord is Wendy, so far quite happy to work with her. I think she is stylish and professional. I have absolutely no problem contacting her over the phone or email and she responded pretty fast.

Hi all Oriental brides,

Since the sound system is so bad, has anyone engage a 'Live' Band during the dinner. Understand that the grand piano can be moved into the Ballroom from the reception area. Has anyone done that and does the piano sound good in the ballroom ? Will the sound be drowned by all the chatting from the guest. Thanks.

Hi Jaci,

Thanks for the feedback!
Will let my friend know. And congrats and enjoy your wedding preps, based on the good comments here, I believe you made a good choice.

Hi Girl,
The sound system was ok during my wedding... I had a church wedding at the foyer and the music was ok. During dinner oso alright... except maybe it might be a little loud for guests sitting near the tables at the right side of the ballroom cos there are speakers there.

Other then the bad service most of my guests received, everything else was alright... We intitally felt that their service was great until we heard the comments from our guets... One thing i must say is Oriental made us felt sooo special and impt... Esp the coordinators like May Loh and another guy (Cant remember his name). They made sure everything went on smoothly for us.

Hi pebble

wat about the bad service ur guests receive? Wen is ur wedding as we dun hv may loh as coordinator now.

Hi Jaci
nearer the day about 3-4 weeks before actual day, you will meet up with your co-ordinator ( my case i met Agnes Tan). Then she can show you samples of photos - so you are able to see what colours you wanna decide. Cos I dunno if my photos will show the flowers or not(heard that they will remove the flowers once dinner starts) - aand basically, i not very interested in flowers. hee hee

Well, now my most 'worried' item is the sound system - hope is not as bad .
Yah pebble - what is the BAD SERVICE you talking about??? *concerned*

jaci,
We did use the grand piano. There wasn't any problem, it was loud and clear without the mike. However, the loudness oso depends on the pianist.

Babbit,
According to a friend, the piano has to be tuned when they move from the reception to the ballroom. Did you request that the piano be tuned after the shifting? If yes, do you have to pay for the tuning ?

Hi INC and AnW,
Sorry i did not elaborate on the 'bad' service. Many of our guests told us that the waiters did not wait for them to finish their food and just changed their plates... without asking for permission.
I oso believe that the waiters ll dish out individual portions of food to the guests but guests from two tables feedbacked to us that the waiters did not serve them and they had to 'help themselves' to the food.
Actually still got a lot more but i cant bring myself to talk abt it cos everytime i think of it i get very very upset... it made us look bad... cos we were the hosts...

INC, May is the Banquet Coordinator, not sales side... She was the person we liased with on our wedding day... She's great!

I hope everything ll turn out well for your wedding... Anyway other then the bad service our guests received, my husband and i did enjoy ourselves... cos our guests were very fun-loving.

Tks pebble, we will highlight to Oriental. Is the waiter suppose to serve all dishes (normally they will do it for sharkfin, noodles/rice)? Some guests prefer while some wld like to help themselves esp if they know the pple on the table.

How is the first march in like?

Had my wedding few weeks back. I was told by my friends the waiters are very 'efficient' too. Cleared the plates very fast. As for the sound systems, i feel it's ok, so don' worry too much. Overall, i'm quite pleased with Oriental.

Hi Beverly
Thanks for the assurance - my wedding is in a few days time.......
Btw, just wondering how many of you used projectors/ screens from Oriental? Agnes told me only got one small one at one of the corners. And feedbacks - on whether the guests on the other end can see the show etc?

Hi Inc, our 1st march in was really beautiful... we walked in just after our slide show finished... The music and ambience was so romantic... Still can remember the feeling... It was just so sweet walking towards the stage while your guests cheer u on... Oh and DO REMEMBER, pls DO NOT walk too fast... or else the mood not nice liao... kekeke... As i watched my video, i can still see my hubby reminding me not to walk too fast.. kekeke

Hi AnW, Congrats for your coming wedding... The projector and screen provided by Oriental is ok... We had abt 31 tables and managed to have long march in so the screen was located at the left side of the ballroom... everyone could see what was on the screen.

Another suggestion for brides to be... If you cant bear to hire a videographer, at least loan or buy a video camera (installment) and get a fren to video your wedding for u... Trust me, it's gonna be worth it when u look at your video... My hubby and i still laugh when we saw how he got 'tekaned' by my Ah Yees... hiak hiak hiak

congrats pebble,on youre recent wedding... what theme did you use for your wedding... Colour theme and flowers? Heard that Oriental only has champagne or maroon VIP table cloth? hmnnn..

Hi c0co, we used maroon table cloth for both VIP and bridal table... The chairs were oso in maroon, tied with gold ribbon.
The remaining tables had peach and white table cloth...We used champagne roses as centre piece.

U may discuss this with your coordinator and she can oso show u pics of the layout.

Thanks Pebble,
thanks for yr assurance. I was quite worried that my guests on the other end can't see my video presentation (waste my money - hee hee)

Well i will be taking the short march-in, if not would be too crowded for my guests - i got 40 over tables. So i must walk REAL SLOW......

Hi Pebble,

Need to find out if the project is FOC or do we need to pay? My friend mentioned that some provide it for free while some charge you - how about Oriental? Though not a big $ amt but she uses this to compare among her choices. Thx.

Talking about slow march-in, once saw my cousin who walked rather slow, not because of timing but her gown was a little too long as she changed into a low heel pair because her original pair was damaged during the day unfortunately - she was afraid she would trip. We noticed that the moment she pass respective tables of guests, they all sat down without waiting for her to complete the whole march, and the clapping sort of stopped too, so her her guests was a little not "appreciative" and impatient about the march in!

Hi AnW, you're welcomed... No need to thank me lah... we're all here to help one another... kekeke... Wow u got so many tables ah... so very 're nao' one...

Hi Sally, u do not have to pay for the projector and screen... It's free... Just tell your coordinator tat u want to have them can liao.

Well i had the long march in but it was over very fast cos i walked too fast liao... until my hubby gotta tell me to slow down... I'm quite 'cho lor' one... hahaha

Hi pebble,

Thanks! That's great! *thumbs up*

will let my friend know about this!

No matter how "cho lor" we are - every bride are graceful on when they are in their WG!
Think subconsciously we will mind our movements! :p

Hi Pebble & Sally, it is not true that you don't have to pay for the projector, I was asked to pay $200 for it. Maybe, I only have 23-25 tables, so I don't get the 'previlege' or my negotiation skill is very bad.

Hi Clare, I am an Oriental Bride in early Feb 04.

Hi Jaci/wedding9999,

Thx for the feedback, so it depends on our bargaining power then? But actually Pebbles got 31 isn't much more than 25 tables, perhaps can try to negotiate?
My friend is expecting 40 or more - her other main concern if the ballroom would be too cramped with that no. of tables. But why there's different prices $200 and $250???

Hi Sally/wedding999,
Sorry, maybe it is $250, I didn't bother to pay attention once I heard I have to pay for it. I know it is at least $200. I rather let my cousin do it and give him the $ as an ang pow.

There are differences between 31 & 25 tables. 31 has 1 more benefits compared to 25.

Yes, bargainning power is important, I read from here, someone had the banquet on the following day (sunday) which is 1 day after the AD due to the unavailability of the ballroom on saturday. They were given a complimentary stay from Saturday onwards. Same thing happens to me but I didn't get a complimentary stay but has to pay for it if I want to checkin on saturday. Heard from a friend, a colleague of hers also managed to get 2 nights stay instead of one.

Yes, there is a difference if u hv 25 table & 31 tables like wat Jaci said. More tables more benefits.

Btw, jaci, how's yr package like ? Yrs on sun or sat ? Who u liase with ? It seems lots of sat (most sat) booked liao....;p

Btw, when yr colleague's wedding ? Sat also ? Maybe she has more tables ?

Hi Jaci/wedding9999,

Thanks for clarifying.

But sometimes with all the comparisons within the thread - is it healthy? What if we can't get what others get? Shortchanged? Just a thought that cross my mind, no hard feelings.

Hi Sally,
Yeah once u put on gown, u'll try to be more graceful but hor... I realised i keep pulling the skirt of my WG up cos it was a little too long n i kept stepping on it... I kept stepping on my gown even during my church wedding march in... quite pai say man... and my church coordinator kept telling me to 'Smile Smile'... How to smile when i was already so stressed?... hahaha

Hi Jaci,
I did not even bargain for the projector lei... I just asked Agnes our Coordinator if we had to pay for the projector n screen... If must pay den we wont take it... but she said it's FOC so we took it loh... Actually dun mind me saying but i feel all these are within the coordinator's means and it just depends on her 'mood' whether she willing to give anot loh... I initially did not have free food tasting oso but i 'po loh so' my previous coordinator until she said ok... kekeke

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!