Mandarin Oriental Singapore

hi iii

i never go into the detail abt their wallpaper cos i think the guests r not so conscious abt tat..hehe...i think most likely they will focus on me..hahahaha

Heehee.. the last i went down.. feel dat some part look a little old :P

prob going down for last one time before i confirm with them. wanna to see a long march in arrangement. m also quite particular abt the stage n deco :P

wen is ur wedding, bride to be.

hi iii

my wedding is on the 2nd wk on NOv this yr.how abt u?which BS r u wif?

I intend to compile my fav songs into a CD for my dinner. However, my friend caution that some hotels's system can only play songs/music from original soundtrack. An awful incident happened at her colleague's wedding coz the hotel couldn't play songs downloaded via the web/ non-original soundtrack.

Brides who've had their wedding at Oriental, care to comment? Thanks!

Tiara, We compiled a CD with our favourite songs and the banquet manager was able to accomodate... so should not be problem. to play safe just check with your coordinator in advance.

HI

any 04 bride here? m settling wif Oriental..finally.

do share ur experience? any fotos dat brides like to share on oriental ballroom.

Ya, she is not new but are both the banquet manager or onli one is?

tks yan..
yes going to either end of this week or next week.
99% are with oriental. think it is value for $ though think the stage deco is okay only.
the coordinators have been accomodating and most imptly of all, heard the food is good. Hope they keep up with the std.

why do u sign up then?

wat are the additional perks u are able to bargain for...

i just met agnes last nite...and oriental would definitely be one of my options...

thanks a million =)

hi maroz

wat r the things she is giving u?
from there we can see wat u r not getting

welcome u in advance to be an oriental bride!

Hi iii,

main reason is of cos its value for $$. and comments on the food and service has been good..

second reason is that i intend to hold my solemnization at the poolside... and both my bf and myself like their poolside, cos of the CBD backdrop...

and lastly, both of us are very comfortable with our coordinator, Melanie... so decided to go ahead and sign with Oriental... We value customer service very much...

iii, i do agree with you that the stage decor needs some changes...

the whole backdrop is so white!! must really think of ideas to brighten up the stage..

and that the champaign fountain and cake are on the floor and not the stage... worried that my guests are unable to see us cos both myself and bf are nt beri tall..

Hi maroz

We almost sign up with another hotel around the Marina area but was very comfortable with the service provided by Agnes, so went ahead with Oriental. Foodwise, I can't comment yet as I have not gone for my food tasting yet. Hoping it'll be good. The last time I tried the food at the bridal show, I wasn't impressed tho.

Going to have wedding banquet at Oriental real soooon....... Arrghhh.. less than 2 weeks away. Have to admit the coordinators at Oriental are really nice. Have realise that u guys are very concern u will "lose out" on the perks & extras. Don worry, even if u have oredi signed n the terms discussed, along the way, if u discovered what there is something else u need, juz let your coordinator know. I have worked with bothe Melanie n Agnes, they are both very amicable. Do not ask for the perk juz bcos someone else's have it. Checked n asked for things that u really need. For example i have hi-tea vounchers for my helpers. That do not mean everyone muz have it too. N i have other perks added in by Agnes juz a few weeks ago, without me asking.
As for the food, there's lots of give n take. I ended with a menu which i bet none of u have heard b4. With no extra charges. So rather to keep asking what to bargain for, asked yourself what u really need.

Value for money and the nice coordinators are the main reasons why i would want to sign with Oriental.

i hv the same tot abt the champagne fountain and the cake :p. see if we could do anything abt it.

babbit, tks for sharing. it gives good insight on asking for wat is needed as everyone needs are different.

don't you feel the carpet at reception quite old and dirty with some dark patches here and there.

it is 15yrs old. so cannot compare to other new hotels. but given the package, it is value for $ for the food and hopefully the services as well.

Does Oriental mgt have any plan to do minor reno :p. we will be glad.

yep, since so old already shld already consider change the wallpaper and carpet, make it more "gold" I hope.

cheers !

m a oriental bride as i have just signed up wif them. saw the new wedding favour ie. keychain.
okay lah. thinking of providing either keychain or chocolate.

anyone pays more for the ballroom deco (more flowers etc). also thinking btw the theme suite or the habour view suite.
cheers.

hi ops

u seen the keychains??there r 2 diff designs rite?how is it?attractive?n how's the packaging?

for the deco,i think i getting china roses instead of the normal indian roses cos they bloom
bigger n nicer,have to top up for tat.

yes, i did. there are 2 designs. One is the lock and key and the other is the he and she.
think the he and she is quite cute but it really deps if u think ur guest will use it. Not bad but the packaging is normal unlike the one for pralines. It is boxy.

wanna to hv more flowers but not willing to top up much. so far how much have ex oriental brides top up?

ya, i just received an email from her... so disappointing... i tot her is pretty new to oriental.. why leave so fast???

dun know whether agnes will be overloaded or not since all the couples will be placed under her???

yes, she is leaving. heard there is another new officer who will be starting work. so m sure they will split the load b/w agnes and the new officer.

bride to be..not choosing yet. too early for me lah.. :P.

btw, yan saw u r disappointed with the quitting in the other thread.
dun worry, heard agnes is equally nice. we cannot expect our coordinator to stay for long. seem like the turnover is high for this line :P

cheers.

hi inc, i cant help to find disappointed cos me and bf initially signed with oriental cos we are veri comfortable with mel and she is one of the considering factor when we signed on the dotted line..

It is not that i dun like agnes. in fact, we quite like her as well. just worried that she may may be able to cope with all the couples under her care now.

We had a brief encounter with Agnes before.she showed me to the bridal suites.. she was actually waiting for her appointment to arrive and she was willing to entertain us as we walked in without making any appointments... she could have simply ignore us...

btw,i see that u have been following my other discussion thread... When is your wedding?? wanna join us there??

i normally just search messages for past 12 hrs etc n hence you can see all the active thread. mine is next yr.

mel is nice and flexible. ya, from wat u mention, she seems quite service oriented. think some brides here hv good encounters with agnes too.

really do hope oriental would change its wallpaper and the table cloth, seat cover. if tis can attract more couples/biz, why not?

shown the oriental menu to my frens and they all say it is good.

i just had my wedding dinner at Oriental!
Most of my guests had favourable comments abt the food, the ambience and the service. I used the keychains as the favours and it was a big hit with everyone!

Melanie is a very nice person to work with and she really see to my all requests and we had so many last minute changes, but she is still very patient with us and very accomodating. The banquet team was very good and they guide us along the dinner.

of course, i would not say that everything is perfect, there will always be some guests who feedback to you abt certain things they are not happy with and also, us facing some very very last minute changes, but overall, we are pleased with Oriental.My hubby and i really enjoyed our wedding dinner and it was so much fun!

i hope every bride and groom will have a lovely wedding at Oriental! ;)

Hi Bortei Khan

tks. i went down to view ur wedding set up on 31/8.
glad to know u hv a wonderful wedding.
Could you share the menu you chose?

did u stay at the harbour view suite or the theme suite

Tks.

Hi Bortei Khan

Welcome back....Glad that you are happy with the Oriental service.

Did you choose the short aisle or the L Shape one or the long one???

Hi Bortei

Congratulations! Glad your wedding went well. Tried sending you an email before your wedding but mail was bounced back.

Are you leaving for honeymoon soon? Do share some actual day pix and esp the ballroom set up if you have them.... you know my email

i stayed at the jasmine suite on the 14th floor. view wasn't that fantastic as compared to the harbour suite. But it's fine with me as i hardly notice also. =)

oh yes, oriental will provide a complimentary plate of chocolates in yr room. very sweet of them. =)

i chose the long march in, with 2 tables by each side. I only have 30 tables, so basically everyone has a good view of the stage and the march in. It wasn't really that long.

for the setup and all, we leave it entirely in the good hands of Oriental. I only stated that i want full bloom champagne roses and tea lights everywhere! That's it. Overall, am pleased with the ambience created. And a lot of my guests feedback that it was very cosy and nice.

yo tiara hope things are fine with you, i will be going to tasmania in another 2 weeks. =) . will email you and kim the pixs when i am back then.

for the menu, the deep fried buns with crab claw was the hot fav, followed by the hot dessert , snow fungus one. My relatives felt that the cod fish was too sweet and the first dish was rather small in terms of servings...h...let me see what else. oh yes, my friends commented that the sharkfins was really good.

for the sound system, initially i was pretty worried, the banquet manager did a test run for us at 5 plus and assured us the volume will be adjusted accordingly. and sure he did! it was just right. =)

Tks bortei for all the sharing
yes, do pls share wif us the fotos.

i went to the habour view suite n the view is so awesome... love it the minute i saw the view but of course it is smaller than theme suite.

the onli thing i would like to change is the seat cover and the wallpaper :P did not stay to see the ice carving but think i will do without.

yup, saw ur long march in arrangement. do u find the stage low?

simply love oriental menu

enjoy ur honeymoon

hi bortel,

thanks for sharing with us your experience with Oriental..

U mentioned that u gave key chains as favors? Are those the new favours that Oriental is offering? Do u have to top up extra for them?? I am asking this cos my contract specifically states that the favours are chocolate or potporri.. thanks for your advice

Hi Yan

i saw the keychains. they are the new favours. dun think oriental is so strict abt not extending it to you.
in fact, we saw the new cake too but i still prefer the old design :P
try calling agnes to check. Good luck.

thanks inc.. maybe later closer to my wedding date lor...thinks its too early to "pester" her now..

did they change the cake as well?? i tot there are several designs for us to choose from?? remember mel showed me several designs of the cake... i