Mandarin Oriental Singapore

Any brides here under Agnes? Is she easy to work with? cos my file has been handed to her cos Wendy no longer in charge of wedding

Hi Ah Ger

U may discuss wif yr florist on the type of flowers n arrangements which u prefer...shez very nice...generally u may not nid 2 top up any $$$ unless u r optin 4 the more costly flowers...the more commonly used ones r geberras, orchids n roses...I'd white orchids n roses for everytink...itz very nice unless u r "pangtang"...I wanted to upload a pix 4 u but my pix size was too big...

I was under Agnes...transferred 2 her fm Melanie...dun worry...shez very easy 2 get along n nice...she n Ricky helped us tonnes...wil never 4get...

Yan & Fizz:
thk u gals for the informative feedback. @ least something is off my head.

Sorry for the late reply cos I was bz w/ wk.

Winniepooh:
Mine also trsf to Agnes. I heard many +ve feedback abt her, so no worries.

Fizz:
Y pantang leh? Over wat? Tat day is aw those Premium ocrhids like veryy nice leh, then I told hb I m thinking of taking orchid bt dunno is it very cheap skate though.

Mine was originall Melanie then she left, then trsf to Wendy, & nw eventually to Agnes.

I m sure Oriental hotel will nt disappoint us.

thanks ladies for the feedback. cos when I first neg with Wendy, she was a little tough & a lot of things really have to bargain very hard. then I heard Agnes very easy going & also very easy to neg lor. so now at least I hear more +ve abt her I feel more at ease

Ah Ger

My chairs, flowers n tables r all white...luckily both our families r not "pangtang"...not all elderly can take white 4 a weddin...jus a pt 2 take note...

winniepooh:
unfortunately I dun hv wor, bt u can call the hotel & ask right?

Fizz;
tats gd, my parents wun lah, I think so ba...........

I'm an Oriental BTB.. having dinner in Mar next year... quite lost as in when to confirm the tables etc... Can anyone help me out in this area? When to confirm the menu? Can we ask for a dish change or whatever? Need to pay extra? Thx...

hi starstar

the co-ordinator will cal u up & arrange for food tasting & etc, dun worry, they will nt 4get. Usualy to wat i know, food tasting is done 1 - 2 mths prior to AD, except for us tis yr we had to do it way in advance due to reno.

Eg u cfm u want the food tasting session on 15 Jan, then u may wish to cfm the food menu @ least 1 wk b4 tat, so tat they can order the food.

Upon food tasting, they hv ur menu printed out, left hand side is the dish, right hand side is ur comments. @ the end of the day the chef will cme out & tok to u & ur hb, then discuss watever needs to b changed & take note of. U can @ tis time also change the food to other dishes, just tat u wun get to eat them.

try to bring along the selection list of dishes, so tat if u wanna change to other dishes, u hv something to refer to. We 4got to bring & in the end asked the Banquet mgr to give us a copy. Certain replacements shld nt add on costs, bt if the item tat u wanna change or add on is 2 exp then yes, perhaps u need to pay xtra. They will tell the cost per person, eg $3 per person = $30 per table.

As for confirming of tables, when u 1st signed up w/ them, u already had a min # of tables cfm right? To hv the actual # will b after u hv done ur RSVP, which is ard 2-3 wks b4 tat. Do nt RSVP 2 early, as ppl may hv a change in their plan, something may happen or crop up either @ wk or someware else.

Hope tis info helps.
I also provide info based on wat I heard, round & asked.

Hi Ah ger
Thank you so much for the info provided... at least I know how I should go about... (I was worried if they'll forget us...

Now that I know they'll call us one... BTW when's your AD? hope u'll enjoy yourself n be a beautiful bride!
Oh ya regarding the decor... we dun need to tell them what to do unless we have a specific idea in mind isit? The wedding package does come with decor one right?

hi starstar

Dun worry, they wun 4get us.

My AD is on 19 Dec tis yr - another 3mths more to go.

Decor - u will hv a final discussion ware u tok abt ur flowers, ur decor theme in the ballrm & etc.

Yes - pkg comes w/ those flower stands, centrepc & backdrop. If u want anything on top of tat, u hv to pay the diff. They shld hv a certain amt set aside for decor. I've nt had my discussion yet, they said will call me ard Oct or Nov.

wah!!3 more mths!! Congras!!

Me ard 3 more mths ROM... hee my AD is gonna be exactly 3 mths from your AD... cool man!!

BTW can update me on how's the ballrm like after reno? esp after your AD.. can? r u taking their housepour wine?

hi starstar

Yeap, 3 mths more to go - exactly 3 mths frm nw!

I dunno hw the ballrm looks like yet, most likely will visit the ballrm on 1 Dec when it's up & running. No prob, will hv them take lots of pics & show u.

I m nt taking their housepour wine, I m taking my wine from outside. I m taking frm Parker's Wine. U taking theirs? Wat wine r they serving? I 4got already. Hw much is tat? Do u hv any free corkage waiver on wines?

ah ger
Thanks... can't wait for your updates...

Dun know leh.. thinking of taking their housepour but not know if it's good... corkages charges on wine? not sure... think mine is only free for hard liquor n spirits...
think see can negotiate abit with Agnes.... hee...
So your AD's on Sunday... mine's on Sat... i've managed to get an extra room from Agnes for my helpers n my FH's parents who's coming from overseas...

Ladies...they'll be phasing out corner stone & change into something better, must neg on corkage waiver on wines b4 u sign on the dotted line. I got 2 day use room for my helpers. My AD is 8 mths away

hi hi star

I can't wait to share w/ u gers on mine also. Bt u gotta wait for 3mths wor.........

Winniepooh:
They hv cornerstone? hw much r they selling? Cos I've seen @ Cold Storage tat CornerStone is selling @ ~ $16 only.

Day room for helpers? Dun they hv perks for u to choose?

Hmm..... nvm when I meet up w/ Agnes, then I will ask if I can get one to use also, then my helpers dun hv to spend so much time travelling.

hi ah ger

day room for helpers is not in the list of perks, cos helpers will normally go home after the event. its also very useful lor, like jie mei, mums & sisters got room for makeup lor. day room is available from 3 to 8pm, if the room is not checked out by then, then got to pay. I'm not to sure if they still have cornerstone, the last time Wendy charge me $22 for housepour wine

ah ger

day room is on top of wat they're providing in the list. they shld be able to give cos my sis also neg with ritz during her wedding last year. as for the list of perks, I'll be taking food tasting & 2nd night stay

hi ah ger n winniepooh
thanks for the info provided by u ladies..

anyway most porb I'll be taking their housepour wine... btw how do u ladies gauge on how many bottles to order? quite lost... I scare later order too much... left overs...

Need advise...

so can ask for day room... ? then like that I'll see how... see can get a day room for the helpers then my FH's parents can get privacy for their rm we've managed to get from Agnes.. think my perks include a 2nd nite stay at the suite, one nite stay in a deluxe rm for his parents n food tasting...

ah ger... no worries.. I can wait... but with anxious.. haha..

hi Winnepooh:
Ok, thks for it, will try ask for tat.

starstar:
if u go to the Wine thread, there is a rough guide on hw to estimate hw many btls of wine u may req.

Hw many tables u hv? U cna get so many perks?

Hi starstar

if u r getting their housepour dun think u need to commit any bottle but jus give an estimate u r willing to open. If not open, it will not be charged. dat is the advantage. if ur guests drink beyond dat, the banquet manager will come ur permission b4 opening more bottles... it is a perfect arrangement for me. tks

heloo gals...

Ah ger
yup... u r actually quite right in sense that I didn't guaranteed agnes that i will hit 35 tables.. but count for so long, still ard 35 - 38 tables so can say it's cos of my no. of tables...

Winniepooh
guess i'm lucky I've got agnes as my coordinator... she's easier to negotiate... but me got no free flow of beer... only 30L... hee... but guess it's good enough

inc
I've decided to take their housepour wine... easier to manage...
need to watch the alcohol part cos both my FH n me work in the Armed Forces... so think I no need to elaborate more... drink n drink... wait all drunk then we headache... so must control abit... like that we also won't get drunk on our wedding nite... haha

winniepooh

think maybe u gave u in terms of other stuff? hmm.. think maybe your day room is one of the perks...
think some of the stuff u have I dun have... guess each of our packages r slightly diff... though there are the standard stuffs... free valet parking etc... aiya.. anyway it's signed for... dun compare liao...

star....$23 is still quite alright. I think I might end up taking their house pour wine cos I got no time to buy. Maybe I'll get 10 bottles from Carrefour & the rest take from them. Wendy charge me $22 nett for house pour wine

star....no too sure yet, prob ard 12 bottles cos none of our relatives drink so only friends, I also intend to buy some from carrefour.

Ah ger
u getting what kind of wine?

For me, think i'll prob take abt 18 bottles... or 20.. cos some of my relatives drink n almost all our friends know how to drink... gee... think i must make my emcees warn the crowd abt drink driving... hee...

sorry to reply late, server's abit bonkers.

I m taking Caliboro Cab Sauv from Parker's. I 4got my price but it is def lower than $20 cos I told her my budget, + she also advised no need to serve such expensive wine.

Does Oriental gives u any free wine corkage waiver? If so, then y nt just fully utilise it?

winniepooh

got neg... but both my FH n me were thinking of getting their housepour so dun really bother... well after looking thru the thread... seems like their housepour is pretty good... at least fang xin...

winniepooh:
Yeah, when I 1st signed my contract, I haben decided to get my own or order theirs. bt anyway, can just take to safeguard. In any case if u decided to get theirs, then ok lor.

U cna try calling Parker's then, since wine is much cheaper.

Starstar:
y nt u try calling Oriental up & chk if they can give u some btls free? Though it's nt stated in the contract bt sometimes they can do so.

No harm asking.

star..I agree with ah ger. try asking Agnes, she's not as tough as Wendy, I had a hard time neg with Wendy the last time, in the end, I got all I wanted

Ah ger

You can try to call Mr Teo @ 9788 3928 to check. His wines are exclusive which you can't get from supermarket. Affordable & good. He is good & will answer all your queries.

ah ger & winniepooh
gee.. thx... I'll talk to Agnes the next time I see her... anyway it's still quite early... got time, got time... kekeke...

Ah ger
when u going to c the ballroom? know it's next mth.. they called u?

Hi Ann

The wine tat I ordered frm Parkers can't be taken frm supermkts too, so far hv nt seen it yet though.

Bt thks, will also call Mr Teo & chk on the wines he hv.

Starstar:
Nt nx mth, she said can only view the ballrm on 1 Dec wor or slightly earlier only.

Oct/Nov is our meet up for final discussions.

wah so many ah ger dun know how to diff liao...

hmmm how come so quiet nowadays? all busy wif prep n work?

ah ger
so in dec when u go view the ballroom... can take photos n share? curious mah... wonder how it'll look after the reno... thanks gal!!