Mandarin Oriental Singapore

sweetysweetgal

Hi Fong2,

My wedding in Nov'04 & most of the hotel are booked for my date.....

Now thinking of Fullerton but I only hv 25 tables. Anyone manage to get fullerton ?

wedding9999

Think if u cant meet the min req'mt for 30tables at Fullerton, u will need to top up.

I still waiting for my new contract....;p

Congrats LSC ! U finally settle yr new venue at Hyatt. A load off. Everything remains the same as yr signed contract with Oriental ?

lsc

Hi wedding9999:

yes, everything remains, more importantly, px unchanged... in fact getting more from the new place like freeflow of beer, 2 nite stay

onli thing tt bothers me is tt oriental coordinator didn't raise compensation issue when i terminated my contract the other day...

god bless the rest of the couples
and gd luck!

wedding9999

So gd LSC, u can hv free flow of beer. I dun think my new venue will give us free flow. I also hope to hv free flow of beer, if not at least another additional 30-litre of beer.....;p

Now I dunno if I can hv both the package of wat I signed with Oriental & also the package of my new venue ? It seems that u hv both the package of wat u sign with Oriental & also the same package of Hyatt.

I still waiting for them to draft my contract. Hopefully they can give me a gd package....;p

chillipadi

Hello
For those who is getting Fullerton, the menu from Fullerton does not have abalone and you will not be compensated for that. To add in abalone will cost additional $100 per table

I understand their min table is 25 for weekday and 30 for weekends. Oriental will put a cap on the tables they are able to top-up on your behalf up to 30tables, anything more you have to pay the difference yourself.
For those who have lesser than 30tables during weekends, Oriental will be more than happy to accomodate and push Fullerton to accept, but I am not sure whether u need to top up for the difference.
In terms of compensation, think Oriental will arrange a 1 or 2night stay in their newly furbished suite (but that will have to wait till next year) - this still not confirmed yet

littlegirl

I m a new entree in SBO.

Heard abt the reno closure during the period.

Winniepooh, btw, it's Aug till end of Nov, my coord told me it'll b up & running by 1 Dec. So for mine, it wun b affected.

Rdgs,

xiao_mei

I have just received e-mail from Wendy for Food Tasting session and knowing that hotel is going to reno in Aug. My wedding AD is on 13th of Dec after seeing the forum my husband and I are very worry they could not complete in time.....How??

pat

Mine will be on Christmas Eve. Veri worry aso. But think of it if renovation ends in Nov then we will be the first few to use the new ballroom

xiao_mei

Hi Patricia,

I have spoken to Agnes she said tat the renovation will be completed by mid of Nov so for the Dec couples shouldn't be affected...really hope tat nothing goes wrong...veri worry leh.

weoseek

Zoe,

Yep yep...so coincidence. U know, actually including u ..i have met two frens in this website. The other one was my roommate whom i didnt see for 3 yrs..I think..i didnt see u for approx 5 yrs liao..

BTW ur hubby to be is the same one from SP last time? U can also contact me at [email protected]

pat

Hi Zoe

BTW when is your AD? Angnes is also my coordinator. Wonder when will i be inform to discuss about the banquet details. So excited now...

How's your preparation? I'll be taking my PS on 6th Aug...

xiao_mei

Hi Xiao Wei,

Wow...is abt 5 years never see you liao...time flies very fast huh...yah my hubby is the same one from SP we have been together for 8 yrs.

So how u know yr hubby? And when is your AD?

BTW u can write to my personal e-mail [email protected]

Keep in touch! ok.

xiao_mei

Hi Patricia,

My AD is 13th of Dec (Monday). In fact my co-ordinator is Wendy however she is on leave till 23rd of July so I have no choice to call Agnes to find out from her. After seeing the forum I'm quite worry now...

Last week Wendy has informed me for earlier food tasting session due to the renovation...I have not reply her the date yet.

I have taken my PS already. Now I'm busying with my house...there are still alot of things need to do.

littlegirl

Din realise there is a Qn for me here & i've forgotten tat I hv posted a msg here b4.

Tokyo:
My AD is on 19 Dec 2004, Sunday. I was told tat the reno will end by end Nov latest & everything will resume back to normal on 1 Dec.

Zoe & Pat:
No worries, if I can hv the wedd so can u. Pat, urs on Xmas eve? I hv another fren who is on Xmas day itself. She's also worried bt cme to think of it, since they assured us liao then we just give them the benefit of doubt 1st lor.

pat

Hi AH ger

Yeah mine is on Christmas eve. The date is drawing near. Getting excited!.So how's your preparation so far and how many tables do you have?

pat

Anyone has any idea what is the colour of the table cloth at Oriental hotel? My evening gown is gold in colour. I'm hope it won't blend in with the table cloth

littlegirl

Pat:
Morning to u!

Me - waiting for food tasting nx Sat cos of the reno so we brought forward lor. When's ur food tasting?

I hv min 30 bt max 32 tables. We hv to ctrl the # or else arh, nv ending, hw big the ballrm can fit, FIL sure hv ways to throw in.

I think they hv a fwe themes, nt to worry, heard b4 there was ivory, champagne, red?

I hv everything booked liao - video, photog, PS date, mtg up w/ Wendy again in Sep/ Oct for further discussion, then print cards & etc.

I hv all noted in my diary liao.

hw abt u?

pat

Hi Ah ger

I've exchange my food tasting for an extra room. Hee hee so there are no food tasting for me.

Currently I've confirm 23 tables with Agnes. I've booked my photographer for actual day but not videography. Do you have any recommendation? How much do you pay for your actural day videography.

I've not met up with Agnes ever since the last time we sign the contract. I presume she will contact me when the date draws nearer.

Thanks for sharing regarding the themes. I think most likely I'll choose red as ivory and champagne is very much close to gold under the lightings. Wonder how does it look like with red?

littlegirl

hi Pat

Did u sign ur contract during the bridal show?

I hv 30 tables & abv so I hv 2 perks.The other one will be an xtra night stay for ourselves. I can't forgo food tasting cos u know some old folks sure hv lots of ????? in their mind on hw the food will taste like.

I took Eric frm Mirage Pictures. you may visit his website www.miragepictures.biz. I find him veey easy to get along. His office is located near Boat Quay area. If u wanna meet up w/ him, u may let him know u r recm by me lor. I dun get any commissions, dun get mistaken. Anyway he always 4get my name, so tell him the gal who's getting married on 19 Dec then he'll rem.

I hv nt met up w/ my co-ord b4 @ all. Cos mine was hand-over by a previous co-ord. Anyway I will meet her tis coming Sat for the food tasting so we shall c hw.

For me, I think I will b choosing ivory or champagne, cos 1 of my EGs may most prob b red, yet to cfm. The other is blue. Perhaps take Ivory on the safe side. Bt anyway these can b further discussed in Sep/Oct when we meet up again.

Red - I think maybe the red is nt those chilli red, prob is maroon red. I dun think ivory is very much closer to champagne, just a slight creamy col. If u r taking red, dunno will they overlay the botton table linen w/ ivory leh?

Me nt very cleber in matching all these. Shall wait till it's my turn then I go & worry.

When's ur AD?

ChilliPadi:
4 Oct - nt recv ur contract yet? Hw cme so long? U'd better call whoever ur co-ord is to chk. Sometimes, dun just wait for them to call u, when a person is bz, he/she tends to 4get.

It's ur big day u know, must push them. Hv they already sourced another hotel 4 u? Where hv they relocated u to?

littlegirl

I got mine during a bridal show, as mine's on Dec period, Orchard is def a

hb & I find their ballrm unique cos it's a fan-shaped, then also in town bt out of Orchard.

Price during the bridal show was very reasonable.

Only minus thing was the ballrm looked abit old. bt since it so happened they r gng to reno even the ballrm then gd lor.

Bt abit disappointed w/ the way they handled the situation cos weas such a last min notice & the couples had to find another location.

I supp most of the affected couples found something gd or else a gd compensation pkg?

oops

To Linda and Lawrence

it is the the food. all my guests hv good praises on how good and unique the food was. Also, their services are not bad too...

gentasg

Thanks for your reply. What is the price range of the banquet? Thanks

Got free flow of beer?
When we know whether there is a bridal show? anyway it is true that we will get a better deal during bridal show? thanks

littlegirl

Hi gentasg,
Price range of the banquet? U mean for Oriental or for most hotels?

I know Oriental, Marina Mandarin are abt the same price ~$800 for wkend lor. Bt u hv to take into consideration tat almost every yr they will up by $2 - 30.

yes, most of the time when u sign up during a bridal show it'll b better cos they must hv some attractions to lure couples to attend mah, if nt they where got so free organize one? nt an easy task leh.

During bridal shows, some hotels may throw in free flow beer, in which case Oriental did.

Look out for bridal mags for bridal shows. Most of the bridal shows - u hv to pay for it. Some no need.

Winniepooh:
nt sure if u r already an Oriental bride, bt do you know Oriental dinner is tailored according to wat u want? Eg, under 1st dish selection, there are 4 or 5 options for u to choose; same goes for the nx 8 dishes.

Most hotels are std pkg like A, B, C, D. U may b allowed to switch a few dishes bt u can't change everything. They may say "oh tis one u may hv to top up $xx cos tis dish actually belongs to a more exp menu". Another hotel tat I know can tailor the food is Sheraton.

Hope all theese info helps.

pat

Heard that the price for weekend banquet at Oriental hotel has increased from $798 nett to $824 nett.

Aiyah! I dun get my package during the Bridal show.

Can anyone share with me what are the perks they throw in during the Bridal Show?

audreysu

Hi Ah Ger

I'm definitely an Oriental BTB. I know tat Oriental's menu is tailored to my choice of selection, but I just wan to find out from ex-brides on their menu so tat I'll know which are the tasty food, just asking for a comparison.

oops

my dishes are (not in the order of serving)

1. lobster wif melon balls (cold dish)
2. Sharkfin
3. cod fish
4. clab claw wif bun
5. asparagus wif scallop
6. bao yu wif sea cucumber
7. king size prawn
8. cripsy chicken (try the duck, it is special but just dat our mums do not like it)
9. oi ni
hope it helps...

littlegirl

mine arh - I booked mine since last yr leh, can I still reveal hw much is the price?

I let u go find out ok? The price I got is the price usually for wkdays. Bt during bridal show they gave a gd deal lor.

Sorry arh, cos I dunno if I can still say anything. bt it shld b quite obvious.

clueless2705

I just had my wedding with Oriental last month.... It was a lovely event..The food was great, the ambience and feeling was just perfect...

All thanks to our coordinator Agnes, banquet manager and coordinator... Dennis & Ricky, you two are real great help during the dinner... Thanks for making our night perfect...

littlegirl

Hi Yan

ur co-ordinator is Agnes? Sigh. hw cme so many gals had Agnes? Mine is Wendy. I met her few weeks back during our food tasting session, she seems quite ok as of now though.

Was the food portion the same as during food tasting? How was the suite room?

clueless2705

the suite room is hugh... but barely enuff to house all the relatives and friends who came up to the room...

as for the food portion, i think its the same.. hehe... cos i hardly touch the food at all... just had a bit of the cold dish, and 1 mouthful of the duck...

yes, my coordinator is Agnes.. Dun worry, i believe Wendy is able to do a good job too..

just a small regret... Oriental's sound system really needs upgrading... We had our holy matrimony at the poolside, and the PA system is so bad tat we can barely hear the pastor... sigh... that's the only complaint i have for oriental...

inlove

Hi Ah ger, no worries lah. my co-ordinator is Wendy too. She is very helpful. She contacted me to arrange for my food tasting even though she was on leave during that time . My AD is on 02 Dec 2004 and the chef told us that we will be the first couple to hold a wedding dinner there after the renovation
and Wendy have kept me updated on all the necessary arrangement

tokyo

Inlove,
did you know that the reno will not be finished until next year? it is according to a recent news report.............
probably there would still be parts of the hotel that is undergoing reno........

audreysu

tokyo...according to Wendy, the last wedding will be this Friday & afterwhich the hotel will be closed for reno, the 1st wedding will be in Dec. The reno will completed in End Nov