Mandarin Oriental Singapore

littlegirl

hi hi Ah Ger (sounds like calling myself??

welcome to tis thread.

I m opting for Caliboro - bt whether to taek Cab Sauv or change to Merlot still nt decided. Currently reserving Cab Sauv. Yr arh - hmm, can't rem leh, think was 2002 or 2003 bah. 4got liao.

U taking frm them also?

Starstar
Ware got so many things to prepare? Shake legs lah...

Yeah - will view in Dec, so excited over the ballrm.

No prob, when I take the pics then show u all.

gentasg

So sorry to interrupt... my customary in 2006. My FH is interested in oriental.
Hope all oriental brides can share experience with us..

usually what can we bargain for for banquet?

actually, we are more interested in free flow of beer.. as my father and relatives are beer drinkers...

Hi winniepooh...
you have their new package?
What do u mean by hidden cost?

Hi star star,
Saw your posting at dec ROM thread. My ROM on 2 dec... so cant do and see see .. keep u updated

littlegirl

Linda & Lawrence

From wat I know their new pkg is exp lor.

Y nt u try & wait, c if they will hv any bridal shows after their reno? Since ur wedd is in 2006, u still hv some time to hold on.

Things to neg - beer, wine corkage waived off, xtra room night stay, day's room for helpers. I dunno wat else we can neg for leh. I booked mine so long ago, can't rem.

oops

Linda & Lawrence

u can try to call the coordinator up. They seem to hv plan for a show next yr.

I held my wedding in Oriental b4 the reno and i m so glad i made tis choice. I can imagine the ballroom will be even easier. The food has received good compliments too. Not only it is nice but unique. But i do know the package after reno is very ex now. Things to bargain (u may try).. free flow/barrel of beer, waiver of corkage for wine, nite stay; free use of projector, car park, seat cover (no charge), day room for helpers, etc...

piggys

Hi Ah ger

hv u try caliboro n merlot??? dnt like cab seuv myself personally... dnt tink wil gt any wine from parker cos my friend is a wine merchant himself.... try couple of wines but dnt like them....

winniepooh, i also 1 2 noe wat is the hidden cost???

dnt noe when we k view e ballrm.... so excited....hope they wnt disappointed us....

starmed

heloo ladies

nice to have u gals back...

Linda &Lawrence
regarding the perks, can ask for frre flow beer, extra nite stay, well, if u have overseas guests, can try ask for another deluxe room for them... day helper's room, wine& liquor corkage waiver. think that's all I can rem...
I agree wif inc n ah ger... maybe u both can wait for their bridal show... it's better to sign up during the show... can call them up n ask them to keep u posted in the show...

so your ROM's in dec too? wow...
how's your prep? my ROM's on 28th..do show me your photos k?

audreysu

halo

now oriental is not providing complimentry barrel of beer, if u wan beer u have to pay lor. they're also not waiving corkage for hard liquor. from wat I feel, the old pkg is definitely more comprehensive than the new pkg, definitely the price shoot up a lot more compared to the old pkg

littlegirl

Hi piggys

I tried both Cab Sauv & Merlot. Merlot is nice. Caub Sauv is abit deeper.

I find their wine is ok........... anyway during a banquet u r nt sitting tare to appreciate wine. Unless u say u r invitng all those great wine appreciaters lor then I hv no say.

littlegirl

Ann Teo - who r u tokking abt? U mean Piggy's friend?

it's ok, I dun wanna pay for exclusivity, nw I m just talking abt wine. So long as it's drinkable, nt so bad, & presentable I m fine. I m nt any great wine drinker either........

Winniepooh:
Hard liquor is free waiver for all hotels already, I dun think Oriental's gng to b the exceptional. As for wine corkage, nt stated in the quotation doesn't mean it is nt negotiable, can always ASK.

piggys

Hi Ah ger n Ann,

Thks 4 ur advise.... wil c hw it goes....havent decide any yet. may chk ard 1st...

seen like e new pkg is lot x...did ur postpone ur wedding date bcos of reno???

littlegirl

Piggys - urs postponed?

No worries lah, I m looking 4ward to their reno, & I m sure it's gng to b the talk of the town............

starmed

ah ger
I think the other ah ger is shaking her kegs.. keke.. :p that's what she told me when I ask her on her wedding preps... hee..
so how's yours? when is your dinner? mine's on 19 mar05....

piggys

hi starstar.....

my dinner is on 6 Dec 04'. previously im was shaking my leg also til recently ....nw chasing my friend 4 e wine....searching 4 photographer/videographer/wedding songs....guest list...etc.... v busy....n v tired...til nw havent confirm any yet....u shld prepare early so tt k shake leg ltr :p wat abt u???

weddings

Ah ger (Little girl)

The person I talking is not the same as piggy's. The exclusive wine is good to purchase cos at end of dinner, when your guests asked u about wine & find that it is not from supermarket & you look good. And the price are very reasonable too. Don't forget that if you get too cheap wine, it will be a waste & there are bound to have wine drinkers in your wedding. It is just my opinion. It is up to you to decide. No harm calling him to try the wine & you can decide after the meetup.

littlegirl

Ah ger (piggys)
Me shaking legs liao, cos most of the stuff done. When was ur original date? Then whoever u consulted said another date is fine?

Starstar:
U know me best, yeah shake legs c $$ will drop frm the sky boh. ha ha ha.........

Ann:
The wine I took is nt tat bad also. Anyway they quality u buy frm supermkts vs the one u get frm wine dealer, though it may also b ard the same price range, the quality will differs. Supermkts one are in mass production & bcos they wanna profit so they mark up the selling price. So perhaps each btl u buy frm supermkts is $20, the cost is ard $10 nia.

Anyway thks for ur contacts, I dun want to search already, since I m already satisfied w/ tis Parker's wine, then I will just stick to it. I m sure S'pore has many other wine dealers whom I dunno, bt it'll nv b an ending story lor.

starmed

Ah ger(piggys)
my prep.. so far ok... the AD photo n video confirmed... engaging a friend who does it freelance... rather pro fellow..
PS will be next thurs.. *pray good weather* keke...
chosen my WG n EG... left the guest list... think it's still early to confirm now... just drew up a list of pple we want to invite... haven RSVP...
wedding songs.. think I'll do it in Jan... rest a bit first...

Ah ger(little girl)
ya lah... u everytime just shake legs one... keke... so where got $$ drop from sky... I'll join u also.. :p

anyway.. I'll be taking their housepour... so not as busy as u gals... :p glad u all r doing well so far...

littlegirl

starstar
Yeah lor, cos last time 2 KS, do everything liao, so can only shake legs lor. By the time my AD draws closer, no more excitement.

I m still observing which part of Sin will hv $$ drop frm the sky, I find out liao I let u know then we both go & catch 2gether ok? Bt must let me catch 1st lah cos my AD coming liao. Then when mine is done, I give u the chance to grab the rest.

Yest went to a BBQ then I realised I actually really did alot of things liao. 2 of hb's colls - 1 in Nov, in 3 days b4 mine - all done like 5566 nia. Me already 7788, 8899 le.

No worries, will pray for gd weather for u.

starmed

Ah ger(little girL)
ok wah.. now can shake leg... *envy* hopefully I can be like u... then can go catch $$$ :p
No prob.. u grab yours first.. then my turn... haha..

Yours is in dec 04 right? 2 dec?

littlegirl

starstar, u very forgetful, 2 Dec is Inlove's, mine is 19 Dec.

U engage me b ur planner then u can also shake legs liao lor......... ha ha ha, then @ the same time I can catch some $$ frm u. kekeke...........

inlove

Yap yap, 2 dec 04 is mine
Just called Agnes to get the invitation card but out of stock. She very nice to remind me to go ahead to print the insert first. I forgot I can print the insert without the card

Ah Ger, which stage of preparation is considered 7788? I think I 5566 only. Just went for my PS over the weekend and will be selecting the photos this coming Sunday and next Sat (cos' I engage two photographers). Have not ordered the 'xi bing' cos' don't know where to order. Everything like in a mess
Luckily my younger sis helped me to get the Guo Da Li and An Chuang date. My Guo Da Li end of this month and An Chuang 12 Nov.

Please count me in if got $$ fall from sky. I need the extra $$$
I just realise I need a teadress. My hubby told me in the beginning no need tea dress but now he got orders from MIL and my Mum that I definitely have to change to a teadress before going back to mum's place for tea ceremony. Signnnnn..........

littlegirl

InLove,
Yeah I also went ahead to print the inserts 1st. bt I haben print lah, got layout nia. She said wanna send me the sample also bo send tio.

My PS over, pics selection over, waiting for layout to b shown to me b4 they go & touch up & print.

Cakes - agar know ware to order bt still trying cakes all over some cake shops lor. If ok then will order. Caterer I agar know who to order frm lao. SDJ also beo-ed already. MY guest list subj to modification, AD schedule already done.

GDL date & An chuang date haben nia. Wat else? Like nothing liao mah...

InLove, ur An-chuang so early? U sure or nt? Got any other dates suitable? R u aware after an-chuang, u can't step into the MBR? Then dun u need to decor & clean up abit again b4 ur AD? If nt will b very dusty leh. Btw, ware u get those dates? Ware ur sis find frm? I m also trying to get leh.

Sure will count in ur share if I find $$ frm the sky. Tea dress is a must like 'fan sum jiu'. I also haben get TD leh. Ware u intend to get?

inlove

Hi Ah Ger,

Me thinking of getting Tea Dress from Daniel Yam or just shop around Orchard loh
My sister got the dates for me from her colleague. Her colleague knew how to read tong shu. Find the An Chuang date very early but just have to take it loh. Told my hubby liao that he will be in charge of tidying up the room after An Chuang hahahaha..... good for me

I got the insert sample from Oriental when I signed the contract with them. It was inside the folder. Just called Hi-Tech, they charging me $90 to print 250 inserts (I hope I heard correctly cos' sounds cheap)
me going down this Sat to liase with them. They ask me to bring a sample of the invitation card.

My mother don't want cakes leh, she wants the traditional 'xi bing' which is quite costly cos' less people doing it now. Heard its around $16 per box and I have to get 28 boxes.

starmed

ah ger
pai say... me confused liao... :p

ah ger & inlove
u gals got an chuang one???? gee.. me no an chuang.... guo da li also anytime one... think both our parents quite "chim chay" .. *hopefully* my mum also tell my future PIL not to buy those traditional sweets... just some cakes can liao... hmmm... think I'm fortunate enough to escape those stuff... :p BUT i think i need to wake up super early on my AD cos my FH is a teo chew... need to fetch the bride bef the sun rises...

think the nite bef must sleep at eight so that I'll not be a panda on my AD...keke...

littlegirl

InLove, my FIL took this frm a cake shop - very tradition one. They sell Teochew cakes, Cantonese cakes & etc.

U can try calling them. They hv 2 locations: Bt Batok 6899 6929 & Sembawang 6257 1566/ 6758 3742. Name of the shop - Gin Thye. Or directly to Lawrence 9742 3859

Hb's 1st 2 bros all bought frm tare, then their brochure wrote can borrow the basket for free.

I m printing frm my Corporate printer. U can try callign Eazi Printing & ask them for a quote lor. Tel 6743 5296.

starstar:
GDL & An Chuang is a must. GDL must c date, an chuang nt exactly bt if u hv the gd lor.

inlove

Hi Ah Ger,

My MIL passed me the brochure from this Sembawang cake shop yesterday. such a coincidence cos' u introduce this same cake shop to me today
hubby just called them this morning. They got quite a variety of the traditional bing. Now headache which one to get. My dad find the Cantonese one appetitising. My mum find the Wu Se Tang more presentable. Hubby likes the Fujian red packets variety. So don't know what to chose now.

littlegirl

InLove,

ha ha ha..... so qiao.........

I called liao also, just called.

tarts one - $7 per box, bt he said ppl seldom order nt da fang leh.

Cakes - butter $6, walnut $7

Cantonese Wedd cake - $6.50/ $7.80. I like the Cantonese one leh.......... thinking of ordering tat.

Ang Pao pkts - $1 per pkt I think.

Free usage of baskets - only if u order cakes & etc frm them.

Starstar:
sometimes they wun say until closer to date, y nt u ask them lah.......

littlegirl

Tare was once I passed by a bakery shop in Chinatown also sell traditional Cantonese cakes leh, tot of buying bt mum dun want. Cos those traditional Kar Lui cakes are 1 big chunk one. Maybe show her the small one she is ok, cos she likes to eat tau Sar pia.

inlove

Hi starstar,

at first I also thought no need to GDL and An Chuang cos' both parents say to keep things simple. Then last week, my MIL suddenly ask me when to GDL. My mum at first say no need cake. Then last week tell me she needs 20 boxes of xi bing. I guess they must have heard from relatives and neighbours along the way and decided they can't do without the tradition

Ah Ger,

The Wu Se tang price range from $12.50 for small to $16.50 for Big boxes. The red packet is $6 if u want all the six varieties. I'm not considering cakes cos' my mum think xi bing more presentable.

littlegirl

InLove:
My mum finds Xi bing so traditional bt then I wil show her the small ones, so cute right?

Wu Se tang - dun want lah, jin exp leh.........

inlove

I find the Wu Se Tang expensive too but no choice if my mum wants it. Better to make her happy then she go around complaining

She don't want cake cos' she will be bring it back to Malaysia to distribute to some relatives.

starmed

hi ah ger & Inlove
btw u know what's the 'xi tang'? both parents agree on the guo da li... consists of the usual stuff but minus the cakes...
my mum wants the xi tang for the relatives that's all...

talked to our parents... phew.. both agree to do the minimal... n the best news is that both my FH n me dun have to follow the teochew custom... they asked us to OTOT... normal time...convenient for all the pple involved...
just need to look for the 'xi tang' think my mum wants 40 packets of it... can help to give me some contacts? if u gals have.. thanks..

piggys

wow....so many 2 do....me also v confused like starstar cos our parents nvr all these...GDL, an chueng, xi bing, cakes, etc.... me also need 2 confirm w our parents....

me juz called agnes on e wedding cards cos bf keep nagging 4 it....which design of e 2 cards r u all chosing? havent seen their cards yet...agnes said wil email e samples 2 me but til nw havent received. pls advise.

inlove

Hi Ah Ger,

Wendy included the card sample in my contract file that time. i think its still the same design right? One is beige in color and the other dark red. I'm choosing the dark red one cos' it has a gold 'xi' words embolded in the front. The beign color more plain. I called Agnes too and she said she ran out of stock but the stock will be coming this week so she asked me to go ahead to print the inserts first

Hi Star star,

We went to Gin Thye at Sembawang to order the Cantonese xibing. I think they have the xi tang there too. The telephone no at hubby there. will post it here when I find out tomorrow k

There seems to be alot of things for Guo Da Li leh. Just went with PIL to get a pair of gold bangle which they say need to be given to me during Guo Da Li. first time I heard of that. Hubby side will be giving the xi bing, canned pig trotters, twelve oranges, two bottle of alcohol, 2 pair of long feng candle and the ping jing. I have to prepare more things : a pair of flower candles, spittoon, 2 set of tea set for tea ceremony, whole set of beddings for An Chuang, new pyjamas, suitcase, sewing kits, orange juices, etc....

littlegirl

aiyoh starstar

one of my post abv has the contacts mah, even hv the address.

I think tat Gin Thye has it.

Ah ger (piggys)
I hv nt collected the cards frm Agnes yet, cos she said out of stock. So I will go ahead & print the inserts 1st lor.

My layout done liao, will cfm the printing soon, w/in these few days.

piggys

Hi Ah Ger,

k giv me a sample of ur layout? cos e 3 samples agnes email 2 me dnt realy like it.... u chose e ivory or e maroon type?

piggys

Hi Inlove,

k i hv e contact number for Hi-Tech?

Hi Ah ger,

How much is Eazi Printing charging u? called them juz now...they charge me $1 per card for hotstamping. Pls advise.

littlegirl

I hv some Lee Hwa rewards vouchers willing to let go. I can't rem the xact # I hv, hv to chk.

For every $200 purchase, u can use the vouchers to offset $20, up to a max of 5 voucher each item, on top of tat, there are also some Terms & Conditions.

it is valid till end of Nov. For those who are planning to buy SDJ it is just right, + Lee Hwa is having some promos now.

Pehaps u can chk out those stores then if u beo-ed anything & u can use, then let me know b4 I sell the vouchers to u, if nt if u can't use then wasted.

I m willing to sell @ 1/2 price. I hv no use w/ those vouchers so might as well pass to someone?

littlegirl

Piggys,

my layout arh - I actually did my own prototype & passed to Eazi Printing leh.

So it's my own lor. Bt very standard one. I copy & paste frens' layout lor. I chose the maroon one.

Eazi Printing - I m doing inserts, hot-stamping 2 exp & no pt, ppl will throw away after tat. I can't rem the price leh cos file nt w/ me, bt hot stamping I rem they charge for mould & then the $$ for printing on it.

Inserts are generally much cheaper. Think less than $100 incl of the papers (for a min qty think 300), bt w/o strings.

inlove

Hi Ah ger(piggy),

Hitech number is 64589455. They are located at AMK Techplace. They charge me $90 for printing 300pcs of insert inclusive of gold strings. They will be charging 5% GST too which works out to $94.50. I don't know the price of hotstamping cos' I feel the same as Ah Ger(little girl) that people will throw away the cards after the wedding
Hitech have a sample of Oriental's invitation card so you will have no problem knowing what to include in the inserts.