Mandarin Oriental Singapore

inlove

Me back
A tiring but great night
The ballroom was very nicely done up and Agnes did a good job with the floral arrangement. She asked the florist to decorate the ballroom in deep red rose and it was great. I din manage to taste the food but most of the feedback received was that the food was fabulous. One of PIL's friend commented that he has never eaten such good food in his 10 over years of attending wedding banquet. That was such a relief. My red wine finished by the second course as we brought it especially over from south Africa and was glad that the guests enjoyed it so much
Heard that the services was great. The banquet manager was guiding us along the way advising us of the things to look out for and since I have 46 tables to go around, they coordinated by serving the food slower so that we have time to finish taking the photos.

There was some hiccups here and there overall it was a great night and really happy with the services provided

littlegirl

starstar:

Sure, if I can make it will go tare & hv a look.

Inlove:
hw many btls of wine did u bring in? All wiped out? Then I hv ard 30 tables bt I hv only 36 btls of wine.

inlove

Hi Ah Ger,

I have 46 tables. I brought in 30 bottles of red wine and 12 bottles of white wine. The red wine were all consumed and we opened another 13 bottles from the hotel. I still have white wine left after the banquet

littlegirl

Aiyoh InLove, 46 tables hw can bring in only 36 btls? Shld bring more.

My gf - she has 30 tables also used 36 btls liao. Then another gd - 50 tables used up 60+ btls.

Time flies, nx wk is my wedd le.......

Btw, hw's the suite room? Which rm did u use?

inlove

Hi Ah Ger,

I counted in the white wine also mah but in the end most of the guest drank red wine
Anyway, my hubby's aunt brought back the wine all the way from South Africa and good wine somemore. 12 bottles of 1993 and 12 bottles of 1995 wine. Feel paiseh to ask her to bring more

Hi Winniepooh,

I think the portion was sufficient cos' I can see some left over

1) Mixed Platter: chicken pocket, lobster roll, roast duck, octopus and one more which I forgot
2) Sharksfin with crabmeat and scallop ( heard very good review)
3) Roast Chicken with garlic
4) Crispy honey king prawns (heard very good review too)
5) steamed garoupa in soya
6) Spinach with Mushroom
7) Crabclaw with fried bun (very good)
8) red bean with lotus

sashamama

Dear all:

The Oriental saga happened to Marina Mandarin.
I'm a Jun05 Marina Mandarin bride and received a call yest that the reno works will be pushed earlier. Was Jul-Aug, now is apr-jun. So all couples affected.

Before i signed, was trying to make sure the oriental saga wun happen and neva expect that it did. Luckily i still have 7 mths to wedding. My coord helped me make tentative booking at Pan Pac, Meritus & Oriental grand ballroom. Any advice? Thanks so much...

inlove

Hi Sashamama,

When is your wedding? My sis signed up with Marina too and she is a May 05 bride. Think she received a call today too. Marina offering her Pan Pac, Meritius and Oriental too but she considering other hotels at the same time.

sashamama

Hi InLove:

Mine is 28Jun05, Tue dinner.
You mean can consider other hotels?
Will MM pay the difference and we still get the same perks?
Sigh...

inlove

Hi Sashamama,

Not sure whether they will pay the difference or not. But I think from the experiences of Oriental Brides who were affected, they were able to request other hotels but the perks and stuff will be negotiated by the coordinator. Example if you chose a more expensive hotel, they might request you to upgrade your menu etc. Think it will be better for you to talk to your coordinator. Will find out from my sis more.

lawpei

hi inlove,

I'm having my banquet this week as well for 45+2 tables. Is 46 tables too cramp in the ballroom? I went down to take a look at the ballroom last sunday and think the whole set up looks very nice. you mentioned they slowed down the serving of the food, do you think they served too slow then? Don't really want my guests to wait too long in between dishes. :p

btw, how's the suite room? Does it face the harbour?

inlove

Hi Lawpei,

I had 46+2 tables. It was a little cramp especially when u move about for your phototaking session. But I think overall still looks ok. Becos' i only have 8 courses and I have 46 tables to go around, they coordinated by seeing how far I have proceeded with the phototaking then estimated the dishes they can served. I did not hear any complaint with regards to food been served too slow

They gave me the suite facing the harbour. Great view but I can hear the sound of renovation when I checked in the afternoon
ie, drilling etc cos' the rooms above are still been renovated.

littlegirl

my wedd is coming, drawign closer & closer.

Long time nv cme in & chat cos bz w/ hse then my internet connex also abit bonkers.

I m sure MM will top up, to compensate otherwise they sure drop their pants when ppl complain right up to the media & anyway consumers can think of.

piggys

hi every1 .... im back again.....

u al hv 2 take note of e sound system in e ballrm cos my friends told me tt they cant hear e music especially those at e corner. mayb e speaker o ther not working.

i also did not hear any complaint on food served too slow.....anyway....overall is great....

sashamama

Dear all:

MM not gonna top up like Oriental last time... Guess it's becos they inform us abt half a year beforehand... And their contract did state that they're only obliged to refund us the deposit in case of reno stuff... Sigh...

Imposs for us to go for Oriental now, as they went back on their word abt taking Oriental... They only offering Pan Pac & Meritus.

Inlove, can you update me on ur sis' case? Thanks so much...

inlove

Hi Sashamama,

Same as ur case, they're only topping up $60 if my sis take Oriental. My sis have to pay the difference of ard 200plus more for each table then. So she gave up Oriental as a choice cos' its just too expensive. She considering Grand Copthorne, Pan Pac and Intercontinental now cos' MM confirmed that the price will be the same.

merzy03

Harlow everyone,

Anyone has the contact no. or email address of Agnes from The Oriental? Im interested to find out more details from her. Thanks!

merzy03

Thanks Winniepooh...it seems quite difficult to get her on the phone. Have tried to email her. Hope she replies...Unless anyone of you happen to have Wedding Package information for 2005? Maybe can email me?
If yes, pls send to [email protected]
thanks......

bynne

Hi Merzy03 . .I only know the rates . .hope it helps . .

weekday: 780+++
weekends(fri, sat and sun): 880+++

btw, we were the 2nd couple to get married there ... ours was on the 3rd Dec, which was a Fri ...

I think everything was great, from the decor and ambience,and the level of service accorded to the food ... absolutely no regrets whatsoever ...

i'd highly recommend Oriental to those considering the place ...

blurz

Hi bynne,

Do you mean you were the 2nd couple to hold wedding in oriental after their renovation?

How does the hotel ballroom look like after the renov?? good?? nice?

Its a table of ten or twelve??
Sori for asking so many qns.

piggys

Hi blurz, e ballrm after e renovation is far better than before.

They have table for ten as well as twelve ...depend on the no. of table you holding in e ballrm. hope it help

bynne

Hi blurz .. yup, my hubby n i were e 2nd couple to hold our wedding after the reno ...

I love the look of the whole place ... it's not the opulent nor the victorian type ... it's grand but subtly so ... I think e whole ballroom exudes a certain quality that i can't quite describe ... why dun u drop by to have a look ... i believe they'd be having weddings every day, if not every weekend ...

the px's for table of 10 ... although i think e banquet person did mention that they're big enough to seat 12 ...

perhaps i could show u my AD photos after i've gotten them?? but gosh, i'll only be getting them in another 3 weeks!

jule

Yup. The table setting quite spacious.. think the centre piece also quite nice.. just roses and it doesn't take up too much space.

littlegirl

I m back in action liao!

Overall for Oriental - THUMBS UP! All my guests like the ambience created by Oriental, food was great, svc was gd also.

My only hiccup was the 1st dish. Song played immediately after my Emcees finished their speech, bt the waiters came in late. bt it's ok lar.

Flr mgr on duty was gd also.

During my hotel stay tare, was also gd.

I've asked on table of 12 b4, Agnes said if you bk abv a certain # of tables, can't rem hw many was tat supp to be.

starmed

glad u all luv the dinner so far... I'm glad i've choosen Oriental... looking forward to it... btw ah ger...u use what colour flower as your centrepiece?? Is there any theme for your dinner? me looking for romantic n cosy feel...

lawpei

I would like to reaffirm all those having their dinners/lunches at Oriental Ballroom that you have made a wonderful choice! I had my wedding last dec and it was GREAT!!!

great staff (Walter, Agnes, Ricky, the waiters/waitresses, reception, etc)

great ballroom, ambience and GREAT food!

great suites even though I didn't get the harbour view room as it's not ready yet.

Me and hubby really have a memorable time there.

Good luck and enjoy for all the Oriental couples out there!

tokyo

Hi gals, just wondering anyone has choosen the bears in wedding costumes for the wedding favour? cos Agnes said currently out of stock :-(
by the way, what was the room no for the bridal suite allocated on the wedding day? I heard rooms 1 to 11 offer the best view & it's very nice.....

isobellies

hey girls,
notice some of you have something like 45 tables.. i thought oriental was max 42 tables? anyway i really like the place and think the package is quite attractive BUT for the corkage rates, because our family and friends are big drinkers. has anyone managed to negotiate any free beer or wine?

(we are budgeting 2 x 30L of beer plus approx 2.5 bottles of wine per table, not to mention hard liquor!)

piggys

hi tokyo, we chose e bears as our favours. my guests love it. as for e rm, mine is 801 (corner unit) great harbour view

Hi iso, max is 50 tables. mine is free flow of beer, waive of wine corkage 4 all wine.....as a form of compensation 4 us 2 postpone our wedding due 2 their reno. understand nw e package back 2 normal n increase in price after their reno....

audreysu

piggys, I find their old package much more attractive than the new one, new package no more complimentary barrels of beer, no waiver of corkage for wine & hard liquor, definitely the pricing is for weekday now is 798+++/table & weekend is 888+++/table

littlegirl

the bears we had during our dinner was naked one -got in costumes one meh?

My room was w/o the harbour view, facing Suntec & Pan Pac instead, could c all the reno wks. ha ha ha.

I used Sunflowers instead of roses & the rest, cos I wanted a livelier & brighter look. Then recept we took gerberas.

littlegirl

I believed all of us had the new ballrm.

I hv yet to collect my pics, so I got nothing to share.

Bt the whole ballrm is def much much nicer & more grand looking than original.

Y dun u go & make a visit to the hotel? I think it is ok to just open the door & have a peep into the ballrm.

U also frm Oriental right?

starmed

went for food tasting on sunday.. yummy... the food's good... service is good too... heard it's one waiter to one table right? n they actually serve the food for every dish n guests.... divide nice nice for all is it???

starmed

ladies
i've confirmed with the hotel liao.. it's 1 waiter to a table and for serving of food they'll usu serve every guests the portion from 2nd dish onwards but if u want them to serve for every dish...can always tell them on the day itself bef dinner starts.... even the sharks fin is each person one "zhong".... it dun come out in a big bowl or serving like other hotels.... they really going to "fight" with Fullerton... cos I went for a Fullerton dinner and they do the same.... but I can say Oriental's food is so so much better!!!
service wise...so far I feel Oreintal also fare better.... ;p based on the times I wore slippers n tees n shorts n went to the hotel to look see look see...keke...still get to be treated like queen... so friendly n helpful..;p

colleen

There will be a wedding show on 11 March 2005 for Oriental Singapore. (No Admission Charges) By Invitation Only

littlegirl

just a tip for gals who are interested in Oriental.

If u can, just go & hv a look bcos usually bridal shows have very attractive perks. Who knows, there may b a discount in table cost.

gd6!

colleen

Just check with with Oriental, couple who is interested for the wedding show will have to send an email to [email protected]

Information required :
Name
IC no
Tel (H)
Tel (O)
TEL (HP)
Occupation
Email

gentasg

Dear Oriental brides-to-be,

my AD will be in 2006... will be attending the oriental wedding fair in March( alreadi sent in the coupon from the magazine).

if i bargain with them for the perks w/o a wedding date, will that be very weird? do i need to place a deposit? will they lock the price for 2005 for wedding in 2006?

piggys

Hi tokyo, my bear comes w wedding costume.....

ya, advise every couple 2 go 4 e wedding fair....usually provides a lot of peaks....

Hi Linda&lawrence, u hv 2 confirm a date w them....in order 2 secure better bargain....a deposit hv 2 place 2 lock e price regardles of e yr of your wedding. e price wil b determine on e time u place a deposit w them.

littlegirl

5* all along bt ever since it renovated, it's aiming to clim to a higher category - maybe a 5.5?

Piggy - so nice - hw cme urs got costume one leh?

I think - if u dun hv a date, it's rather diff. Cos if u bk w/ them, end up in 2006 the hotel is full for tat date, then u hv to sqz in an alt date which u may nt feel comfy w/.

Dun take the risk.