Mandarin Oriental Singapore

piggys

Hi Ah Ger, also dnt noe...initially they said no costume bt during the nite, it cm w costume.

Ya....they may increase e $ 4 yr 2006.

kiki_an

**** URGENT *****

Hi Everyone

Let me introduce myself. I will be booking my wedding dinner next week with Oriental. Wedding dinner is on 5th November 2005 (Sat). I do find that Oriental are quite rigid in anything additional. Does anyone manage to bargain for the below:

1) Do you know that the signboard, red carpet and dry ice are not included in the contract?
2) Complimentary beer, wine or waive of cockage charges.
3) Complimentary deluxe room for helpers come with breakfast?
4) Downsize of menus fm 9 to 8 course (weekends only).
3) Centerpieces of flowers for every table?

Should i still continue to sign contract with Oriental? Please advise me, I am very lost...

littlegirl

kiki_an

1) These for sur ewil be done, further discussion will be made prior to wedd. I did nt opt for red carpet cos abit out. The carpet itself is nice enuf. Also 1 gd thing of nt having carpet is - u dun hv to worry if u will trip over the carpet. I hv a pic of the ballrm bt I hv nt scan into sodtcopy. Wil hv to wait till after CNY if u dun mind.

2) well, u can try asking bt then again, no harm showing ur neg skills, sometimes they may allow.

3) Usually they give day rm use only. Hwever, again subj to neg, if they happen to hv a rm available, they may give u.

4) Y do u wanna reducce to 8 course? The food is so nice *yummy*.

5) Centrepieces - are placed on every table, then b4 dinner starts, they may remv them. If u want them to remain, u hv to discuss w/ them c if it's possible.

I think - it really all depends on the neg. I nv regretted taking up Oriental bcos it's simply marvellous!!!!!!!! Hw I wished I could hold on to the time I had tat night, haben enjoy fully then the day is gone. *sob sob*

Everybody was helpful - we had Francis & Walter on the flr tat night. They were just 2 nice ppl to deal w/. They followed us whereever we go, just in case ppl make us drink then he will shove a glass of "liquer" to us. ha ha ha......

Kiki, hv u asked if u could hold the contract till the bridal show? I m sure there may be more attractive perks. Maybe u could ask if they can tentatively hold the date for u, or u can quietly ask them wats the perks like during the bridal show.

We can't comment much for the present pkg cos we r 2004 brides, pkgs more or less might b diff.

Do let us know if u hv anymore doubts, I m sure the gals here will b more than willing to ans u.

Piggys - talking abt the sound system - it was ok. Cos my gf actually helped me did a test run on the CDs & the sound system. All of my guests could hear background music playing.

starmed

kiki
for me, the dry ice thingy n what u mentioned in no(1) I have in the contract.... me got waiver of corkages for hard liqour but not wine... got an extra room for my hubby's parents who's coming from overseas. n yes... it does come wif a centerpiece of flowers for each table n I get to choose....

littlegirl

star star

Dry ice - is @ no xtra charges, just tell them prior to the wedd.

Then hard liquer - all along it's waived mah. Then neg w/ them on the wine - c if they waive a few btls for u. Tell them - u hv alot of heavy drinkers, so can she try to b more lenient?

audreysu

ah ger...the new package they dun waive corkage for hard liquor & wine liao, have to neg with them. can share with me ur menu?

littlegirl

winniepooh

Is it? bt usually hard liquer for most hotels are waived off leh. If ur guests r nt thoe heavy drinkers of har liquer - I think u try ask for 5 = 10 btls waived will do. My banquet, we brought 5 btls in, drank only 2.5btls only.

My menu, hmm, I can't rem the exact name, bt can agar tel u. Bt hor I think u can refer to the archived files cos I've written tare b4 also.

Nt sure if the menu change though.

1) seafood cold dish
2) sharks' fins w/ crabmeat or scallop (can't rem)
3) King Prawns (MUST TAKE)
4) Stewed Chkn w/ chestnuts
5) Shitake mushrooms
6) dunno wat greens w/ sea cucumber
7) Cod fish (tis is a MUST TAKE)
8) fried buns w/ crabmeat sauce (NICE)
9) dumplings

All were nice, bt those I highlighted were special, so must try, cos most of the restaurants or hotels dun serve tis.

piggys

Hi ah ger, my bros' also did a test run n e system was ok at tt time bt last min the speaker at e corner nt working n my guests feedback 2 me after my wedding.

1) mayb shld neg 4 waiver of 1 bottle per table.
2) dry ice, red carpet, etc.....k b neg....usually no problem.
3) day room 4 sis & bro til 8pm. unles they provide a 1 nite stay in e duluxe rm 4 parent....shld cm w b.fast.
5) tink k reduce e course 2 8 bt guess e price wld remain e same. so wat e pt.
6) type of centrepiece k b neg prior 2 wedding. usually remove them b4 dinner start 2 serve e food.

it better 2 wait til e bridal show...as e package wil be attractive....n usualy e hotel staff wil let u noe their package 4 e show in advance if u chk w them.

beanbean

Am considering Oriental to hld my wedding dinner in Oct '05 - really glad to hear that the food is really good! Went to look at the ballroom and thought it was really nice though was disappointed that the march-in is really short (cos I'm prob going to have about 45 tables).

Just wanted to check - have any of you worked with Liping (instead of Agnes) before? Met her recently and found her a bit stiff and she felt rather inexperienced so I'm not confident of having her in charge. Any feedback? Do you know if I can ask to change to Agnes?

To answer an earlier question, I asked about reducing the courses from 9 to 8 for a weekend and was told it's no problem - there'll be no reduction in price but they said they will re-work the package to give you more stuff, eg. waiver of wine corkage, more cards, etc.

littlegirl

jean

u can prob highlight to them the short march in thing, then ask if they hv any other suggs.

I am pretty sure both of them can provide you with excellent service.

If u reduce to an 8 course meal - then it's nt 2 bad to hv other perks. Bt then - frm my experience, no need to get so many cards - waste only. Cos u hv families, frens usually come in couples - nt so many on individuals. U will always hv balance.

Bt again u hv to c - wkday or wkend dinner. Wkend dinner 8 course is abit 2 little. Guests may nt feel full.

These are just my pt of views

starmed

ah ger
I'm afraid of getting drunk on my wedding dinner...cos my friends n colleagues are going to 'sabo' us... so if u go round the tables during the dinner, is it possible to ask the staff for some help as in use a 'fake' liquor???

beanbean

hi ah ger, thanks for your comments
are the portions small at oriental? was thinking of reducing the number of courses because previously i found that by the time it comes round to the noodle/rice dish, i'm the only one left eating! (I've got a big appetite
) plus because the oriental package doesn't include any beer, alcohol or wine, am trying to see how to save money... am planning to have my dinner on a sunday. is the food at oriental good anyway? and any idea how elaborate or simple the floral decorations are? Cos Liping sent me a picture and the table decor looks rather plain.

littlegirl

starstar
I was also saboed on AD. I also drink. Dun worry lah, they will take care of u. In fact Francis followed us whereever we go holding on to a cup of 'fake' hard liquer, we nv tell them to.

Bt eventually we also nv take - we were spotting, just play along lor. I din get drunk, bt my hb did.

Jean, to me I find the portions were ok. To many of them, for a hotel food - Oriental is considered very gd - nice food & generous portion. I simply love Oriental food, bt din get a chance to eat them though they were brought up after our wedding, cos my hb was drunk. By the time I rem we were supp to hv supper, it was the nx day & can't eat anymore *sob sob*

Hmm, to me - I dun quite fancy very very elaborate designs; I prefer simpler design. My decor was plain - just flower stands, their new backdrop, then table centrepc. & I think it's more than enoufh. 2 many will b 2 much. I din even hv red carpet cos I think it really looks better w/o red carpet & I was glad I heed Agnes advice. Recept area - also simple - long recept table w/ gerberas, then I placed my Tatty bear in the middle. They had ribbons tied infront.

Hw abt u ask when they r having a wedd banquet again, then u pop by & hv a look. It's always best to c thing physically.

beanbean

am happy with a plain backdrop and no red carpet but thought of having lots of flowers - i love flowers...
the centrepieces in the photos i got looked rather small and unimpressive. but yup, i'm going to take up your suggestion and pop down to oriental to take a look at the wedding setup - they told me there's one this saturday.

hallie, the max capacity is officially 48-50 tables. i was told that if you have more than 40 plus tables you have the option of using bigger tables and seating 12 to a table so it won't be so cramped. Not sure if that increases the max - you'll probably have to check with the hotel.

littlegirl

I was told the max is 48 tables, bt they hv bigger tables to accomodate. U hv to chk on details w/ the hotel.

Flowers, usually shld b sufficient. However if u r thinking of having MORE flowers, then prob u need to top up.

Bt dun 4get - having more doesn't necessary mean gd. U still want urself to stand out right? Skali more flowers then ppl focus on the decors rather the bride leh?

Bt anyway it's just my views lar.

hallie

Tks Jean, Ah ger & winnepooh for the info.
this sat got wedding?? hmmm...mayb can pop by to take alook at the new setup.

fong

me not a Oriental bride... but juz to give sm comments.. went to a wedding show last Fri... was brought around the ballrm, suite, etc... the suites are REALLY FANTASTIC... the windows are facing the sea/esplanade/fullerton... VERY GOOD VIEW... I feel that the newly reno lobby looks very classy...

littlegirl

hi fong

care to share wats their pkg nw?

I was an oriental bride & their suite (though din manage to get high flr tat time) was really really fantastic after reno. Their lounge, their entrance, their ballrm - everything was nice.

inlove

Hi Ah Ger,

They gave me a newly renovated suite that face the sea last december when I held my wedding there and guess what, the flush din work and black out in the middle of the night and hubby and me have to eat our post wedding supper using touchlight hahahaha........

vinmei

Me just went to see the place last nite! It was wonderful!!! Think it really give a different feel after the reno leh.

But it is too ex for me. Not within my budget!

gentasg

i went to the wedding fair too. my hubby and i were impressed by the suites and ballroom settings...

BUT again, prices too high...

starmed

so long never pop in..busy wif my wedding preps...well..my dinner's this sat... hopefully all turn out good... meeting agnes later in evening... to discuss the final details... ;p

Inlove
wow...then your wedding nite must be very the romantic.... ;p so did u get them to rectify? u stayed there for a nite or two?

inlove

Hi Star,

Asked them to fix the black out. The light came back on in half an hour time
stayed for one night only cos' can't wait to go back to my new house. Don't worry, everything will turn out nice cos' that's the comments I received from my guest. They loved the posh setting and the delicious food
My in-laws were so happy cos' their friends really enjoyed the food

littlegirl

InLove

I also had a newly renovated suite. Well, the blackout thing also occurred to us many times during the day, we told them & they went investigating. They suspected some guest may hv used something tat triggered the lightings.

The common bathrm flush also din wk bt we asked them to chk it & was ok after tat.

Starstar:
kan cheong or nt? Wedd coming wor........... hey, tats 3 mths exactly after myedd leh.

well, for the rest of the gals, I also agree the price was steep, bt 2 bad they couldn't reduce the price. Wonder if anybody still went ahead w/ signing w/ them or nt hor?

greekgal

Hello all..
Visited the oriental ballroom yesterday and was simply impressed and memerised! the ballroom is so classy! really love the place at first sight. but again, the price is a big problem!

any idea how many mini tables for 2006 weekend package?

thanks all...

p/s. could u ladies share with me the pics of the wedding favours and centrepieces? [email protected]. Thanks. =)

starmed

greekgal
hi...jus had my wedding there two weeks ago... luv the place... anyway I'll email u a pic on the favours n centrepiece when my pics for AD is ready... really enjoyed my dinner there... miss being a bride..keke..;p

greekgal

thanks so much, starstar. may i knw the name of ur coordinator? how much was ur package? so did u make a profit? hee..~i am planning to meet up with my coordinator soon..may i know wat can i negotiate for? is it still okay to negotiate after their wedding show? i didnt attend the wedding show, no aware of it. =(

looking forward to seeing your lovely pictures..please send to my email at [email protected].

starmed

greekgal
my coordinator is Agnes. She's very nice n helpful.. willing to negotiate. Mine was the old pricing(before reno)..it's $828 nett per table(weekend). I didn't make any profit... in fact loss abt 10k... well.. expected it cos I heard from many pple that if u hold in hotels(esp those good ones)... very hard to make profit... if can break even is very good... jus hope won't lost too much... got pple even give $20 ang bao leh... $50 is also quite common... so one word of advice, dun expect too much can liao... just be happy n be a radiant bride...

least it was good n memorable to hold my dinner there.. manage to ask for two nite stay in the suite(the room is great!!), free corkage for wine, a nite stay in the deluxe room for our one year anniversary, another deluxe room(one nite) for my hubby's parents coming from overseas for the dinner n a free 30L of beer on top of the original 30L in the package.

It's ok to negotiate so as long u haven sign the dotted line in the contract.

dili_mummy

I had my dinner at The Oriental in Jan 05... was quite lucky to have 798nett per table (weekend) cos I booked in Nov 03.

Just wanna say that I have a great experience with them. The dinner was fantastic, with nice portions. Good presentation, in terms of food, crockery, table setups and flowers etc. The suite we had was heavenly, got 2 DVD players (not that we used it, but there're not many 5star hotels that offer that!)

Co-ordinator was Agnes... and Banquet manager was Thomas, both were excellent.

Made a profit about $5k... so nothing to complain about!

Anyone who wishes to book with them... I highly recommend it! Even though there's a price hike after the reno...

gentasg

Hi starstar,
glad that u had enjoyed yourself. I would very much to hold my dinner there too. simply in love

possible to send me your photos when they are ready? thanks

starmed

Dili_mummy
u r lucky....
sigh..think my relatives n friends still kept to their own market rate... keke... didn't "keep up" with times... haha..:p darn..should have booked early...haha..

Linda
no prob..oncce ok.. I'll inform ya k?

greekgal

starstar
10K is really a lot..but i think i will face the same situation as u if i go with oriental..does pple know that oriental is 5 stars? erm...

dili_mummy
tks so much for sharing ur experience too..i also love the place..but the place is really too expensive..i think it's ard 880+++ for weekend lor..so will easily hit 1K per table...very pricey right? sigh..

btw, anything i can negotiate with my coordinator? please share share..=)
i look forward to receiving ur pics too..

starmed

greekgal
can try asking whatever u want... for me, both my hubby n me misunderstood regarding the perks... like order how many tables u get some perks... so we negotiate a deluxe room for his parents, two nite stay at suite... then when we confirm our tale numbers nearer to our AD, Agnes ask us to choose two perks(cos we got 35 tables)from the list of perks n got 30L of beer free on top of the original 30L... n she changed one of the perks"a nite stay for helpers" to our anniversary stay... :p
also the red wine we wanted the hotel vendor dun have so we bought our own consignment of wine in... she gave us free corkage for the wine too...

greekgal

starstar..
should we negotiate at our first meeting or only when we have made up our mind to engage them? coz right, we are still not firmed in gettig them due to the price. am worried that a lot of time will be spent on negotiating and all the ding-dong then in the end, we didnt sign up.

i wish they are cheaper..coz now after adding the tax and GST, it's easily hit 1K per table..

sigh..

starmed

for me, I negotiate wif them after confirming... the second meeting... I sign the contract only on the third meeting... the first meeting which u'll be going... just see see look look the place n ask abt the package...how it works lah...etc.. nothing much... once u decided u want to take it... meet to negotiate... then Agnes will draft out a contract n send my email.. u vet thru n if happy, meet to sign n pay deposit... if not, can always call back n ask abt it..
hope this helps...

audreysu

for me, same as star, 1st meeting ask abt package, 2nd meeting starts to neg, 3rd meeting sign contract & pay deposit liao

vivileow

Hi All Oriental brides,

I'll havin my weddin at Orential tis OCT, using the Atrium Suite, wonder if anything having their dinner banquest there & wud share wif me their opinions/ experiences? Becos I abit woried the ballrom would be very cramped,to accomodate 22 tables. I ask for 20 tables, but a bit worried that might increase the 22. Agnes do email me the floor plan, but i stil wud like to hear from brides.

10 U all.

starmed

vivi
sorry can't help u much cos I held mine in the ballroom...but i can rest assure that the service is good.... u'll enjoy your dinner like I did at mine..
food's yummy...

littlegirl

starstar

I also missed my yummy food. Worse than u, I din even hv chance to eat wat was served to my room cos hb was dead drunk *sob sob*, end up looked after him & 4gotten all abt my food.

Nx day woke up then rem the trolley *sob sob*

starmed

ah ger
aiyo...poor gal... lucky my hubby can hold his alcohol... he was very "high".... felt like puking a few times but he controlled himself...still managed to enjoy the food... he was a dead log once he laid on the bed.... haha..

starmed

winniepooh
we have the dinner food brought out to us in the warmer trolley to our room n we had $80 to spend for the room service...since I had two nites there..i spent the $80 on the next day dinner...

lawpei

winniepooh,

the usual practice is that you get to eat the 1st 2 dishes (cold dish and shark's fins) and the 4th dish after the champagne and yum seng on stage and maybe if photo taking ends before the dessert, you get to eat that as well!

Oriental will bring up some food (such as chicken, cold dish (again!) and dessert up to your room in a trolley for you to eat for supper.

mine's a luncheon, hence it became my dinner...it's not that warm and tasty but it's dinner cos we were so hungry, we ate most of it.

starstar is right about the $80 complimentary room service, we had that as well but not sure if it has changed. anyway we only knew about it on the day when we check in so it's sort of a surprise bonus from the hotel.