Mandarin Oriental Singapore

feb

Hi gawain

Thanks for sharing with us your joy and like bride to be say we really wish ours will turn out to be just the way we wanted..

BTW, you mention u have color theme for the hotel deco. Can share what is your deco like? And do you have to pay extra?

kelsey

Hi Gawain,

Glad to hear that your wedding is such a success. David's really great isn't he? He does such an amazing job and is so creative. You must show me your pics when you get them and also, did your mom end up making the cheongsam with the material?

bride-to-be

hi sweetsweetgal

organised by oriental.the price is a $10k credit on the wedding banquet.there is also a tea reception.

tiara

Hi Gawain!!!!!

So glad to see you here and glad everything went so well for you

All the best in your marraige

yan

hi Bride to be, may i know what lucky draw is that?? is it for the confirmed Oriental couples or a promotion for new couples??

yan

Hi Gawain,

Glad to hear that you had such a wonderful wedding... Must rememeber to show us your actual day pics soon okie..

i am meeting up with David this Sun, hope everything turns out well...

bride-to-be

hi yan

it's for confirm couples who went for the april bridal fair

bride-to-be

sweety

yup...oni for those tat signed up during tat period loh.

yan

hi bride to be,

i signed the bridal show package lei, but was not informed of this event..
who is your coordinator? did they send u the invite or call you??

bride to be & sweety -- wah, u gals dun need to sleep one har??? pei fu!!

sweetysweetgal

Oic bride to be....;p...so no chance for me to go & try my luck lor....;p....$10K is a lot of $$$....;p

Heee...yan, I'm basically a nite owl....;p...I simply cannot wake up in the morning but dun feel sleepy at nite....;p

yan

sama sama lei... but now old liao, max 2am cannot tahan liao, must sleep...
yawn.gif
yawn.gif
now i hard core panda eyes... tried many ways to get rid of the dark eye circles, but *sign* in vain.. any good recommendations?

sweetysweetgal

Hee....I also got dark eye circles. Tried a lot of ways but still cannot get rid of them...;p

So I juz go for eye treatments to lessen it / to prevent it from getting darker....;p...I also use eye cream at hm every nite....;p

I also need gd recommendations to get rid of dark eye circles....;p

feb

Hi bride to be

No.. For this time I am not invited cos i signed up last year mah then tat time me already invited to the lucky draw liao...but never win...Hee Hee...

bride-to-be

hi yan

who's ur coordinator?mine is agnes.they sent me a letter of the invitation so i just need to confirm the seat wif agnes loh.y not u try to call the coordinator....good chance to win $10k...better than 4D..hahahahah

bride-to-be

hi piyo

quite true but i think they wanted to make it more attractive to attract the those brides like me loh..kekeke..

fizz

Hi Bride-to-be

Signed up durin the Apr show but didnt rec any notice on the lucky draw leh...Hmmm...

Hi Gawain

Mentioned tat u had a band...can u tell me wat kind of band is tat...and do u hv the contact?...Thanx!

yan

Hi Bride to be,

But I dun understand, if u are a couple who has already signed up with Oriental, why do they need to attract u?? Attract u with what?? Why do they spend this additional $10k to attract a confirmed couple??? Puzzled!!

bride-to-be

hi yan

hmm...quite true....i overlook this point.or maybe they want to thanks those who join them??i dunno leh....anyway pls gif me some lucks....i'm making my move there....hope to bring some good news back...if i get it..i treat u a lunch..ok??

yan

actually, i was there as well.. i called my coordinator and she informed me last minute.. only get to know it on sat...
i am beri disappointed as well.. can feel the heartpain..
heehee...
what were u wearing on that day, maybe i can remember you.. i was in a sun dress with my ankle bandaged.. remember seeing me around??

Can anyone tell me what's the per table cost for Saturday now? Thanx.

bride-to-be

hi yan

never really notice.u saw the couple who won the price??they r so cool!agnes told me tat they realised they got the $10k oni later..they tot it was just some consulation prize
i was wearing a biege top & blue jean wif a young gal.i left very late cos i was waiting for agnes.
did u see the guy from channel i?

yan

the guy from "ah girl" izzit???

ya lor ya lor, the couple like not excited at all.. me and bf tot they ultra rich so this 10k does not mean anyting to them.. heehee

sorry, neber notice u as well..
so when is your big day??

yvonne

Hi Yan,

How is the food rate over at Oriental? I'm having an appointment with Agnes the next saturday to talk about the banquet packages.

Do they have more than one ballroom?

yan

sorry Yvonne, but what do you mean by food rate??
i have not had my food tasting yet, so i cant comment much... however, the remarks on the forum seems to be quite good for the food quality.

they have one grand ballroom at the first floor (Fan shaped), i think three small function rooms on the first floor as well (not too sure whether can open up the rooms or not), and there is a smaller room on the 5th floor, the Ariels Taipeng suites.. been there last week, venue is quite nice, pretty cosy..

hi yan

thanks. $798 is before +++ right?
does the ballroom has high ceilings, i mean the grand ballroom. i like high ceilings.

bride-to-be

hi yan

when i saw them taking the prize,my heart break.
yah lor...the gal took the envelope then slowly walk back,dun seem excited oso.my big day is on the 11/11/03 & u??

hi 001

it's nett price

for the ceiling,i think it's not very high but higher than the one i saw in MM.how many tables r u getting?

babbit

Yvonne,

I have posted my comments on food tasting b4. Wasn't exactly the most fantastic but chef was nice. We made a number of changes to the dishes.

Depends on which day u are refering to. The rates quoted are usually nett.

Yvonne,
For 20 tables, u may not get the grand ballroom. Depends on the date u have chosen. If it is a Saturday or a Sunday, maybe a bit tough. The grandball room can take up to 45 tables. So for 20 tables, may look a bit bare.

hi bride-to-be

25 tables. do u think can get the grand ballroom for 25 tables?
the other smaller ballrooms have the same height as the grand ballroom?

yan

HI 001 & Yvonne,

I think the min tables for the ballroom is 25 tables, be it weekdays or weekends... not too sure of the ceiling height of the other rooms. but for the ballroom, its not very high, but high enuff to give a cosy and rather grand feeling. talk to melanie, she is quite a nice lady..

bride to be-- my dinner is tentatively on 11/07/04. kiasu right, i booked the dinner so early...

o2

Hi babbit,

Saw that you tried the crab claw with fried buns. How is the presentation like and is it messy to eat, as in need to use hands?

bride-to-be

hi yan

wah......so fast?!good oso lah...cos next yr GST increase again so probably price increase too.

hi 001

if it's more than 20 tables they give u the biggest ballroom which is the one on the ground floor cos the other ballrooms can't hold more than 20

babbit

Actually no mess. The claw actually quite small. Told the chef, due to the smallness, look a bit pathetic. So suggested to add more garnishing to make it look "bigger"? And the buns come in nice little 4x4x4cm cubes. So no problem to eat with chopsticks. The waiter will split the food and sauce equally. No dipping of buns in the same plate.

bortei

Hi Babbit
i will be having that dish for my dinner too.
Did the chef propose anything to make this dish look 'bigger'?
how many buns will each guests get har?

i tried the noodles and find it so so, thus the chef proposed this crab claw with fried buns.

so far my fav is the baked cod fish with teriyaki sauce. ya, i agree with you abt the winter melon. I was asking the waitress and she too admitted that this dish is usually untouched by guests! But she said guests will usually finish the crab claw.

babbit

Bortei,

Each guest will have 2 buns. The fried ones are super yummy!

I wld love to have the cod fish too.... But not so nice to have slice fish lor. So, no choice have to choose a whole fish. Thank goodness, the promfert turned out to be good.

So, wat vege are u having? Me getting the asparagus instead. Have u tried it b4? Wat abt dessert? My mango pudding was horrible. Too much flour.

bortei

is it? glad to know they are yummy.
but 2 buns like not many leh.
so did the chef propose anything for the extra garnishing?

for the vegetable dish, i requested for some combination. It will be Trio of Mushrooms with some green veggies for garnishing.

dessert i am having the hot snow fungus with red dates, not bad. I tried both desserts, this and the yum pudding with honey and gingko. Too sweet and it's a love-hate dessert. I have tried the mango pudding before and i am not too impressed.

o2

babbit,
Good to hear that it's not messy and very yummy! But i think if it's really small look then got to get the chef to do something, interested to know too what he propose to make the dish bigger.

bortei,
Ehh.. what does the trio of mushroom consists of? Care to enlighten? The yam pudding is very sweet? I quite like yam pudding :p~

babbit

Met Agnes yesterday. Chef has promised that the mango pudding will definitely be improved. N not possible to make the crab claw bigger but will give each guest 2 claws instead. Agnes did mention that if we wan more interesting desserts, can try Western ones like green tea mousse or chocolate walnut pudding but need to pay an extra $3 per guest.
Oso starting from Sep, have a choice of 3 types of wedding favours. Can choose pralines, potpurri or keychains!!!!! 2 kinds of designs, one in boy-girl couple, one in lock n key. All in silver.

bortei

Hi Babbit
i tried the mango pudding during their bridal show. as for the 2 other desserts, i requested for half half each for sample only
i did thot of top up for the plated dessert.but most of my guest might not like cakes too.
wow! the keychains sounds very nice leh!

O2, yes, the yam pudding tasted sweet to me. My My in laws like it, so does my other half. For the trio of mushrooms, sorry i cannot really remember as i didn't specifically check with the chef. I just let him propose.But i do think shiitake mushroom is inside...