Mandarin Oriental Singapore

Hi bride to be

If u booked 25 tables or more u can choose 1 of the perks. i chosing the food tasting. how abt u?
I dun hv anything theme..just plan to hv some simple colour..not very particular abt that.
U can ask ur co-ordinator to give u some suggestions if u want.

hi trouble

i have my food tasting out of the perk.i choosen my perk to be an extra nite stay

Hi Trouble,

Mine oso in Sep, haven't done anything including food tasting n printing of cards. Thinking of using the short march in, i'm planing to have 35+ tables, long or L shaped march in may not be so feasible.

I am officially an Oriental bride-to- be...
Just signed on the dotted line last night... Finally, one less thing on the agenda. Coming up next will the bridal studio... Another big headache...

Hence, in the future will need more advise from all the jie meis from SB..

hi yan

24835.gif

great to have another person in this thread!when is ur wedding?which bridal shops have u shortlisted?

Hi Babbit

Me too hv not print the invitation cards yet. Still thinking of the number of cards to print. Hv u arrange for the food tasting?
Deciding on which march in & songs to use is another headache for me. seems like there are many things which are not done yet.

Thanks bride to be for the welcome...

i rather ks, wedding is next july and i have already confirmed my hotel... ks rite??

bridal not confirmed yet, still sourcing around...
what's yours? any recommendations?

hi yan

i m wif bridal veil
24856.gif

it depend on wat u like & wat u expect from the bridal shop.any budget?if u like simplicity,elegant & crystal then bridal veil is a great choice.their package is quite comprehensive.

but bridal veil quite ex rite?? my budget max $5k
a friend of mine spend close to 8k for her gowns and photos.
how much is your package? and what does it includes? that is if you dun mind me asking...
i am more thinking of dang or silverlining for "designer" gowns or fame(yishun) for the package... been to quite a number of studios and now is rather confused of which one to pick..

hi yan

mine is the simplicity package tat include:

1 MTM WG (rental)
1 MTM EG (purchase)
1 cocktail/kua (1 time rental)
1 MTM man suit (purchase)
1 OTR man suit (1 time rental)
1 pair MTM shoes (purchase)
2 bouquet flower (studio/PS)
make up (studio/actual day)
corsages (can't recall how many)
accessories/gloves (rental)
photography (studio d'fia/chris ling
utopia/andrew choi & etc)
20 pcs of photos 8"x10"

i can't recall all,but tat's abt all

The simplicity package is $4980.BV sugguested me to get the simplicity package & if i do need any upgrade then pay later.i'll be taking photos by studio d'fia & i going to upgrade the size to 12"x15"..pay abt $2k more.so far i feel very happy & comfortable wif BV.u noe,actually i signed another package elsewhere & i already paid full there,but bcos i feel uncomfortable & unsecure so joined BV..i spent quite alot..going to burst my pocket.

Hi Fizz,

Sorry for not replying for so long. Have been very busy lately so haven't been checking the forum!

I've seen the lanterns at Ikea. I think they are about $7 or $8. I think the hotel should be able to supply the petals and tea-lights free. Spend an afternoon shopping at Ikea....there are lots of stuff there and ideas that you can use. As for the buffet menu, we actually wanted a buffet dinner at first and when we spoke to the coordinator, she mentioned that some of the items on the menu can be changed if you don't like them. Their breakfast buffet is quite nice but I had the dinner buffet at pronto and it wasn't that great. My western dinner turned out really good though. My guests loved the food. Just let the coordinator know your concerns and she can feedback to the chef.

As for decor ideas, if you don't mind, I can be your free "wedding coordinator" if you really need help. I enjoy coming up with ideas and your wedding sounds like fun. What kind of band are you having? Jazz or bassa nova band?

Hi Worry,

Very busy with work lately so only just saw your questions to me. Mine was both indoor and outdoor. I had the solemnisation by the poolside and dinner indoors at the Ariel/Taeping Suites. Didn't use the ballroom because I only had 12 tables. They offered me the Monet suites on the first floor but I liked the Ariel/Taeping Suites better.....much cosier.

I didn't have a stage. Decided to do without it and have a dance floor instead. The stage decor that I've seen is white decorated with white roses. It's quite nice but I didn't think it went with my theme of red orchids.

You don't need to pay alot more for the decor to look nicer. Just be creative! I didn't pay anything extra for the flowers...just spent money on the candles and of course time thinking up of cheap ideas.

Hi Kelsey

Thanx 4 yr offer to help...will definitely ask u 4 ideas cos I tink u r burstin wif em...I did change some of the items in the buffet oredi...Melanie was quite kind to agree to most of em...
...hv no idea on the band yet...my hubbie doesnt reallie fancy jazz tho I tot it was a gd idea...btw mabbe u can enlighten me wat is "bassa nova band"...most of the bands I enquired oni accept bookin abt 3 mths b4 wedding...tinkin of hvg a real weddin cake 2 so tat I can do away wif givin cakes to relatives b4 the weddin...more partyish 2...

hi fizz

still ard at this hour!? i'm still lost abt wat theme i want for my banquet.

Hi Fizz,

I thought that giving away cakes to relatives is a way to announce your marriage and is separate and has nothing to do with the wedding cake? Mmmm...if your parents and your in-laws are ok with it and your relatives aren't the very traditional type...should be alright. I managed to do away with all the traditions except for the tea ceremony because I told my mom that I want to keep things simple and plus he's not chinese...can't expect him to follow all our traditions. If you're thinking of a real wedding cake, I've got some really fantastic photos saved in my PC. Tell me what kinda of style of wedding cake you're looking for and I'll email you the pics.

Bassa nova is like brazilian, latin music. More upbeat than jazz. My hubby also hates jazz. If you can clear a small space for a dance floor, it will be so romantic and cool. An open air dancefloor with lots of tealights & fairy lights! You can have a first dance with your hubby.

Hi Kelsey

Yah...to substitute "givin cakes to relatives" 4 "real weddin cake" is jus an excuse so tat there'll b no fuss on the parents' side...real reason is tat I reeeallie wanted a real weddin cake & to save a bit of these "unnecessary cost"...& yes...I wld appreciate some fotos of weddin cakes...tink I like one wif lots of flowers / petals...but u tink it wld b unhygienic to put too much flowers on a cake???...my email is [email protected]...[img]http://singaporebrides.com/forumboard/clipart/kiss.gif[/img]

I suggested hvg a dance flr 2...but quite worried tat pple wont b sportin other than my colleagues I tink...it's sometink which I'm still contemplatin lor...but yes...it'll b so nice...I've oredi confirmed wif Melanie on the rental of fairy lites...mabbe can try to borrow a polariod to take some spontaneous fotos 4 the guests 2...

Hi bride-to-be

Noticed tat u r always up late here & the boutique forum...wat theme r u tinkin of...colors / ad&d alike???...dependin whether u wanna glam / casual...mine definitely gonna b casual...Oriental's able to borrow some other colors 4 tablecloths if it's within their means...will u b usin floatin tea lites?...u may wanna incorporate yr personal theme into the namin of the tables 2...some brides do tat...

hi fizz

yah..i dun sleep much.i have insomia so always having problems to get myself to ZZzzzzzzzzzzz
i prefer a glam. one.o...u mean they can use other colour for the tablecloths.wat colours do they have?i maybe getting block candles for the ctrpcs.floating candles..i thinking of it too but do they provide???wat abt floating candles wif petals in a bowl???naming the tables??good idea but wat kind of names can i use???can u sugguest to me some pls?

Hi Bride-to-be

Oriental hv a few colors 4 table cloths...standard: peach / white...request: burgundy / midnight blue...loan fm other hotels but not guaranteed...baby blue / pink...

I find tat floating candles in bowls can b gorgeous...intend to hv some at my dinner 2...saw a pix once which is velly glam & nice...the couple actually lined aisle wif dark brown fish-bowls-look-alike bowls on a white column-like stand measured up to hips level...hv lots of candles and petals in it...quite glam & a bit zen-like if u can imagine...

Table names can include anytink which associate u & yr hubbie...saw an article tat a couple gave all tables names relating to NY to tie in wif their theme Autumn in New York...or any places which r memorable to u & yr hubbie...

hi fizz

i like the idea abt the floating candles.where did u see the pix from???Do oriental have all this stands?

you mean can request for Oriental to have different color table cloth for the dinner?? my contract actually specifically state the color of the table cloth lei, do you think i can still request to have different color?

Hi Bride-to-be

I saw the pix in one of the mags...mabbe last yr last qtr HW...but cant reallie rem...the couple actuallie engage a weddin planner to do it 4 em...hee...jus borrowin the idea...u may wanna check wif yr coordinator how she can help u...or u may wanna play around wif pebbles (like those tat u decor yr hse) or sea shells...

Hi Yan

Different color table cloths r provided upon availability...ask yr coord...

Haloooo.

how come so quiet for the past days??? where is everyone??

btw, anyone here make use of the $500 voucher from graceful image? anyone going for their bridal show this coming sun?

hi yan

no1 here for few days

it's a very quiet thread.
how i wish tat this thread can be more lively

Hi bride to be

Understand u are meeting agnes rite? How come so fast u met her huh? Is it just to meet the florist or to collect the wedding cards for printing ? to now, Agnes still have not call me to collect the cards leh..Undrstand from her is 2 months b4 our wedding then she called to collect the cards, is it ?

anyone view the "L" shape & "long" march-in layout? anyone managed to get a lower price for the red wine?
we r meeting them up soon to discuss on our dinner in Oct. when we need to discuss e flower layout, cards etc??

hi feb

after u signed ur contract,u can go to the printer oriental introduce wif u want.like me,i went to Jasvy to make all the printing & from there,Jasvy will print & get my invitation cards straight from the hotel..so not hassle for me abt it.
r u printing elsewhere?or to Jasvy?
in fact,i meet up wif her a few times liao.i keep going down there to ask her this n tat until i very paiseh.

Hi Everybody

Just wondering if any of you been to the food tasting or planning to go, can you share which dishes will you choose?

I was looking at the varieties they have and feel very confused what to choose.

Anybody care to share?

hi bunny

do u have a free food tasting?
in fact,i check with my co-ordinator if she can recommend me any so she managed to explain the dishes to me.i'm as confuse as u but feel better after she describe to me the dishes.u can try checking out wif her & maybe discuss wif ur parents whether wat they like.

Can I get some comments from all the Oriental-brides that how do you all find the food over there?

Oriental is one of my shortlisted venue. Thank you.

Hi bride to be

Me also intend to get the printer from the hotel.But so far have not been there to take a look leh cos dun even know what to look for..Furthermore Agnes also have not called me to collect the card and my wedding is in early Nov 03 leh..You seem so fast...how ???

hi feb

call Jasvy for appointment to meet them.when u r there,tell them u r having ur wedding dinner at Oriental.they'll show u some sample(printed) of the red & ivory invitation cards.they'll ask for ur names,parents' names,wedding date,if there's anything else,they'll ask u or if u have anything particular,tell them eg.some couples want angbao no gifts so they actually put some nice sentences to state their needs.
like mine,i top up $ to get some design printed on the card.
then tell them either u want to collect from the hotel or directly from them or even ask them to send it to u but i think they charge abt $7 for delivery service.

hi feb

after confirming the printing,they'll email u a sample of the print.Remember to look at every words even the chinese character tat no mistake.check date,time oso.Jasvy will oso ask u abt the detail whether u have grand-parents cos in chinese,they have a way to state their wording.

Hi bride to be

Ya heard that we have to check thoroughly for the printing cos think some printers made a lot of mistakes in their printing. BTW, you mean you went to the printer first before the hotel called you for collection of cards ? Me also thinking of doing it early cos next month is the Lunar seventh month so we wun be doing anything for our wedding including the printing of the card lor cos my parents pantang lah...So if want to print will be in Sept 03 liao which I dunno if it will be a bit rush....

My banquet is in early Sep n i juz went for the food tasting last Sunday. A bit dissapointed, the food wasn't that fantastic but the steamed fish n prawns garned favourable feedback. However, be prepared for the presentations to be poor. Be ready to tell the chef exactly what u want that day. Can add in other ingredients or change ingredients if not favourable. We are re-looking at the starter. May mix n match the different dishes.
AS for the printer. I suggest sourcing for your own printers. We found Jasvy's rate was almost double from this other printer we have approached. Anyway, no worries abt the cards. Take the printer less than a week to print.

hi feb

i dun wait for agnes.i do it when once i confirm the venue.i think sept is ok.u oni need one week to do the printing,just tat if u afraid tat u got to many things to do then u have to do it earlier loh.

hi babbit

actually i'm prepared tat food from hotel will not be as good as restaurant but is it tat bad??
yah...i think i agree wif u tat we really need to talk to the chef abt our request.can u share sif us wat u taken for ur food tasting & which is the good n bad one?
o..is it?i'm wif Jasvy.b4 jasvy,i did make a few enquiries around but i think they r more ex than Jasvy.If the diff is not very big than it's ok loh cos the time & transport to travel to hunt ard may cost more.

Hi Feb,

can share wit us what dishs u took? how much ur printer charge, can share e contact? we'll b going for our food tasting in Sept

Hi coal

Think u call the wrong person is it???
Me now scatching my head cos I have not gone for the food tasting leh...Should be Babbit you are calling lah...Hee Hee..

Hi bride to be

Appetiser
Barbecue Meat Platter
- Meat generally fatty
- eel n chicken pockets r ok

Sharks fin wif crab meat
- more crab than sharksfin
- too starchy

Stew Duck with red wine
- too starchy (again!)
- kind of bland, not really outstanding

Wintermelon with mushrooms
- bad-- changing to another dish

Mango pudding
- Very, very starchy, like eating Nonya kuek

The steam fish, fried bun wif crab sauce n honey prawns r ok.

Printers -- i muz go back to check the name. But was roughly quoted $170 for hot stamping for around 300 cards.

Another wan have approached the hotel's florist??? My bridal package do nto include flower decor for the bridal car, n was contemplating whether to use my own florist which charges $480 or to use Oriental's.

hi babbit

thanks for sharing

does oriental help to do car deco????

Oriental has their own florist that will do up the ballroom decor n the table flower arrangement. If i'm not wrong, can get discounts from them if we gets flowers from their florist. But i'm juz not sure how good r they.

babbit

their florist works for them.i doubt they do it.did u ever check wif them?
wat theme r u having?
when ur wedding?

BTB,

Theme?? Haven't tot abt it. Juz wanted something nice n cosy. That's y chose Oriental in the 1st place. My wedding is this coming Sep. As to the exact theme n decor, will be meeting Agnes end of the month to discuss the details. Ya, their florist does proper flower bouquet etc, etc.

Sorry for the long absence, butI just came back fm my honeymoon!

The wedding was a SUCCESS! EVERYONE HAD A GREAT TIME. I was told the food was great and so was everything else.

The team at Oriental really bent over backwards to make everything beautiful for the wedding. Agnes was just wonderful. She met up with me and my husband and co-ordinating team 2 mths, 1 mth, 2 weeks and 3 days before the wedding dinner to make sure that everything was ok and the details were taken care of.

She made sure I met with the florist at least 1 more time before the wedding to make sure that I had the arrangements I wanted, the colour theme and everything.

Agnes also manged to have the dinner place settings all white as I requested.

On the actual day itself we had a few tables which required 11 ppl per table (due to family units which we could not seat separately) and they made sure that the tables had 11 seats and place settings.

I had a band and the banquet team made sure everything was set up properly.

It was somewhat emabrassing, but we ran out of wine, and the Oriental sold us their house wine at the pre-negotiated prices. They did not at anytime take advantage of the situation but was fair and helped us in all the arrangements.

I am told (since I hardly ate that night) that was food was great and the service was good.

Oh, we had no problems with the sound system either.... it was right on cue for our march ins.

Now saving the best for last, I can't tell you all how pleased and proud I am of DAVID LIM LEE. He really made me like a princess and it was just amazing!

For the dinner, he gave me 1 look for my cocktail. Then when I changed into my wedding gown, he very quickly dressed the top of my bustier wedding gown with a feather boa. It made a simple gown dramatic, and everyone who were at church the day before did not even think it was the same gown. They thought I had 2 wedding gowns made! The hair was amazing as well.

Then came the EG, and the compliments and praises I got for it was overwhelming!

EVERYONE COMPLIMENTED ME ON THE ALL THE GOWNS, HAIR AND MAKE UP. I really felt fantastic.

I swear without David, the dinner would have been half the event it was. It was grand, but not over the top. DAVID made me look really graceful and beautiful. He was a source of support as well, talking me through the whole process so I was not stressed and pitched in the event where he could. He is so easy to get along with that my wedding co-ord team had fun working with him.

I think every bride should feel the way I did.. It was a magical evening in every sense.

hi gawain

i'm so happy for u!having a great time on ur wedding n a wonderful honeymoon
i hope i can be as happy as u when it's my turn