Mandarin Oriental Singapore

sweetysweetgal

Mmm....my wedding will be next yr. Maybe I can wait until the next Oriental wedding show so that can get more perks during the wedding show....;p

Anyone know when will be the next wedding show ???

bride-to-be

sweety
u can call them & check but next yr 5% GST liao

jane

Hi bride to be,

Thks for ur advise.
Wow, ur wedding on lunar calender is 15/8 is a good day...
ya, i'll try to ask for a free food tasting..u mean 12 bottles of wines waived? does tat mean FOC?? me thinking of exchanging some other perk egs anniversary dinner for a few bottles of wines but don't know can or not..currently my package don't hv all this.

sweetysweetgal

Hi bride to be,

I thought the price is in nett. Means that we will only need to pay the nett price even if the price increase to 5% next yr ? Wkend price is $798 nett, right ? As long as I book it by end of this yr, will do, right ?

sweetysweetgal

Hi bride to be,

I thought I only need to pay the nett price even if the GST increased to 5% next yr. Wkend rate at $798 nett, right ???? As long as I book by end of this yr, only need to pay nett price even if GST increased next yr, right ?

bride-to-be

hi sweety

yes..if u pay this yr...dunno next yr if they going to increase the price or not.

hi jane

welcome

If to think of the dinner in lunar calendar then it's good day (yue YUan ren yuan) but many ppl see it as 911
but i got no other choice cos the geomancer gave me all the auspicious date tat is good for me dun have too many other choices or either the hotels all fully booked (i'm too late for booking...last minute!!)

the wine waived dun mean tat it's FOC it's just the corkage waival.u can try change ur anniversary dinner to other thing.i think they r flexible abt it.anyway who did u speak to?My package doesn't include food tasting oso,but i asked for it loh..

jane

Hi bride to be

My coordinator's Melaine. but haven't contact her yet..will arrange to meet her soon. who's your? good??

As long as u r happy
dun be bother by what other pple said..

i thought the wine's free..so does that mean u can only give in duty paid wines?

sweetgirl

Hi jane,

wine is not free.

U either buy wine from the hotel or u bring in yr own wine but pay hotel wine corkage fees....;p

Hey, let us know how yr meeting with Melaine later. What kind of perks she gv u ???

bride-to-be

jane

my coordinator is Agnes the manager.She's quite accomodating so far.
yap..oni duty paid wine.If u wan to get from the hotel,they charged $29 per btl.i may get from outside,those tat cost abt $20 per btl.
How many tble r u getting???have u seen the suite yet.i went & it's big(abt 3 normal rms)but i prefer the harbour view.althought it's smaller but better view.

yan

Halo all,

Still remember me??? sorrie for MIA for so long...
Halo to all the new "faces" as well..

I am about to finalise my contract with Oriental... Hence would like to check with the "old birds" here, on several points... Please pardon me cos this will be quite long....

a)How much invites and valet parking coupons do you think is sufficient? How much did your coordinator gave you? Mine quite firm about giving me more...

b)Has anyone choose food tasting as one of the perks (but do not go for the foodtasting), and use that perk to offset one of the table cost? Do u think they will allow this?

c) Any idea how much does food tasting cost, if i do not use that as a perk?

d) Do I have to include all nity grity details in the contract?? I.e. do i need them to specify in the contract that they are providing the sound and lighting system FOC for my poolside solemnization...

Thats all for the moment... Will post more when i think of them..

Gawain -- Saw your photos and gowns.. They are lovely... fall in love with your WG... most likely will arrange to meet up with David end this month... so "qiao", my sister know david personally, so dun noe whether got further discount or not
Congrats for your coming big day... Must be very nervious now right??? Dun worry, you will be a mei mei xin liang on that day... enjoy the day...

Kesley -- Not too sure whether do you still frequent this forum.. How's marriage life so far??
Who is your florist for the day?? I am quite interested in their service..

jane

Hi sweetgirl & bride to be

Thanks for ur advices & info..
Will check with Oriental the other details..

Sweetgirl
Will let u gals know after appt w Melaine.

Bride to be
Most prob around 25 tables, but not confirmed yet. How abt u? hv u decide to choose the habour view's suite?

bride-to-be

hi jane

i have change my dinner to 11/11/03
still think it's better to change.Anyway 11/9 is actually my hubby reservice so now better dun need to postpone his service & can have his campmates to attend our wedding

still haven't speak to Agnes abt the rm yet.

hi yan

a)i get 20% for car valet & 70% for invitation cds.I spoke to Agnes tat i may need more & she said tat it can be done

b)i have a table for food tasting which is not from the perk & i think it's good to go for it cos if we have any opinion abt the dishes,we can still able to tell the chef & oso it's a chance for 2 families to sit down & enjoy!

c)i think some hotels actually charge for those tat has signed up wif them at a special rate...like maybe 50% of the price per table

d)as i'm not having a outdoor banquet,i'm not so sure but if for me,i think i would wan it to be in black n white to avoid any arguement.

hope tat i can help to solve ur queries

kelsey

Hi Yan,

So you're having a poolside solemnisation too! Must show me the pics when they are ready. Did Oriental charge you for the use of the poolside and are you having your dinner by the pool too?

I used Greenpoint Flowers. They are quite good and very reasonable. You can have a look at their portfolio in their shop. It's at Sin Ming. Here's their website.

http://www.greenpointflowers.com.sg/

I only used them for the bride and bridesmaid bouquet, wrist corsages and corsages. The flowers at the wedding site was done by the hotel.

lin

hi kelsey,
i saw your wedding photos and i thought you must had a wonderful wedding!

I didnt know you're still active in SB forum. I actually wanted to ask some questions.

I noticed you had western decor and arrangement. Did you ask the Oriental hotel to set up in such a way? Coz, when i saw another photo of the set-up at the hotel, it was more of a chinese set-up. All those wedding details on the table such as the placecards, candles, pebbles, orchids..did you ask the hotel coordinator to do it or you get your friends / relatives to help?

You help to answer indirectly to one of my question too (you're posting to Yan).
The flowers at the wedding site done by the hotel, how much did they charge you for that? Did they used greenpointflowers too?

In western decor, there isn't a stage being set up right?

For the wedding cake, it's a customized one? What's the rough figure for a wedding cake charge at Oriental?

hope to hear from you soon.

beverly

hi kelsey,

I'm interested to view your lovely photos too! If you don't mind sharing, please mail me at [email protected] thanks!

hi yan,
I have also more or less finalised on the contract with Oriental.

I have requested for more invites and was given 80%. They are quite flexible abt it. The food tasting cost $475 if i didn't remember wrongly. I don't think we need to drill down to the sound system if it's indoors, but for your case, no harm getting it stated in black and white for your outdoor wedding. Hope this helps!

bride-to-be

hi beverly

when is ur big day???did u manage to get the free flow?how many nite r given?

kelsey

Hi Lin,

Yes, I told the hotel to set it up this way. I wanted an asian touch (hence the colours) but the overall look to be very understated and minimalist. Placecard holders, table names and menu (which matched the invites) were made by me and the candles, pebbles, favours were supplied by me also. Hotel did all the flowers and the set-up. I just passed the stuff to them and gave them instructions.

BTW, I had a western dinner instead of the chinese hence the western table settings.

They did not charge me extra for the flowers but it all depends on type of flowers, what you want and negotiation. I hate roses so I told them I wanted orchids which are cheap. Agnes did tell me that there may be extra charge but after discussion, they were able to do it without extra charge. I forgo the ice-craving also and only had 2 flower stands at the entrance as I didn't want the room to be too cluttered. Flowers were done by hotel inhouse florist.

I did lots of research and bought pictures to show them in my discussions with Agnes.

There is supposed to be a stage...similar to chinese set-up but I told them to remove it so I can have a dance floor. Hubby thinks the stage is useless and took up too much space. If you're using the big ballroom instead of the Ariel/Taeping suites, suggest that you have a stage otherwise guests can't see you. VIP table was also supposed to be round but I told them to change it to a long table so that we can face the guests.

Cake was made by the hotel. I gave the chef a rough idea of what I wanted. The caketopper was made by a friend. I had 14 kg. I think I paid about $45/kg ++ for the cake. Can't remember exact price.

Phew! Long reply. Hope all that info helps. Let me know if you have any other questions. Advice is to have an idea of the look that you want before going to discuss with your coordinator. Also, alot of the stuff was made by me and it took up alot of time. If you have alot of guests, might make more sense and less stressful to go with what the hotel provides.

lin

hi kelsey,
Thanks for the advices and information.
I have a rough idea now how to negotiate and talk with my coordinator.

Now i have a rough idea too on the pricing of the cake

Thank You! You've been a great help!

bride-to-be

hi kelsey

i've seen ur photos...something warm & unique compare to the normal one..but too bad my families sure can't accept this but at least i have a guide to what i can do

fizz

Hi Yan

I'll b hvin a poolside dinner...& I've asked em to include the charges of the addn fairy lites in the ctt...otherwise...nothin else...but I did ask 4 all possible options to b included as well...like the exchg of wat 4 wat...tinkin of gettin a live band in 2...

Kelsey

Agree tat I still love yr pix & the tables...but my hubbie preferred round tables cos it signifies "tuan yuan"...hmmm...still tryin 2 psycho him...

worry

Hi to all

m little undecided.. know may not be appropriate for me to post this here but need all to convince me abt Oriental. I m torn between Oriental & Amara

so far, feel oriental package is quite okay. heard the food is good. but i hv reservation abt the ballroom ( a bit old) and its decoration. but it is afterall a 5star hotel. more comfortable wif the coordinator. but as for amara, the ballroom is newer and near to MRT. so dun know which one should i choose?? any advice here....

bride-to-be

hi worry

it depends which one is more comfortable for urself.

i chose Oriental cos
1)Free Flow of beer..my friends can really drink so i save alot for the beer.
2)i feel comfortable talking to the coordinator(they r very accommodating)
3)The package is reasonable
4)i like the cocktail area...once the guests arrive,they can see the ballroom.(especially for old folks,they dun need to go ard)
5)Last but not the least,i oso wan to fulfil my best friend wish cos she actually wanted get married & have her wedding there but too bad....

Personnally,I dun like the location of Armara Hotel.(no offence)

anyway..i wish u happy banquet hunting
24231.gif

worry

Thanks bride to be for ur sharing

each has their pros n cons
hence, m undecisive.
though m more to Oriental, there is something not so perfect abt the ballroom dat bothers me.
hope dun lugi too much
also hv the long aisle.

kelsey

Hi Fizz,

I've got an idea for your tables. Might be very untraditional though! In the US, it is getting more and more popular to have sweetheart tables. That means the bride and groom sit in a special little round table by themselves. Very romantic and I think it brings the focus back to the couple. I think it's been hardly done here at all so it will be very unique. But all depends on the parents....they might get offended that you don't want to sit with them!

As for the long table, all the other tables are round, only the head table is long....so still got "tuan yuan"!

fizz

Hi Kelsey!!!

I LUV yr sweetheart table idea!!!...

...guess wat...my hubbie agreed to it...heh heh heh...u reallie hv fabulous ideas...u shld consider freelance event consultancy...THANX!!!

kelsey

Hi Fizz,

Glad you like the idea! I've got more ideas so feel free to ask me.....wish I can go into event consultancy....it'll definately be more fun than my yucky job but no lobang!

BTW, are you having a buffet dinner or a chinese dinner? One thing to note, not sure whether you're planning on having candles on the table but they will most likely be blown out by the wind....so maybe you might want to consider lanterns or luminaires (it's actually paperbags with candles in it) decorated with petals or flowers on the table?

24373.jpg

yan

Thanks all.. i am at the final stages of finalising the draft contract... but my coordinator a bit slow in her reply leh.. give me this week as deadline, but she has not replied to my queries yet... you gals have the same problem?? seems like oriental is getting their staff to take no pay leave, hence the coordinators are forever "out of office"..

sweetysweetgal

So Yan, when's yr wedding dinner ? Care to share your package with Oriental ? What it include ?

I'm considering them but wanted to negotiate better perks....;p....or maybe I shld wait for their next wedding show ? Mmmm.....dunno when ????

Thanks !

Btw, is yr bday on 27 May ????

yan

Hi sweetysweetgal,

my wedding dinner should be around july next year, not confirmed though. i got the bridal show package, which includes the free flow of beer and one complimentary table... got a second nite stay as well...

when is your big day?? if no hurry to place booking, i personally think that it is more worthwhile to book during bridal shows.. more savings.. usually bridal shows are at those "not good" lunar months.. last time round was around lunar 4th month ie the qing ming month, the next round should be around the "7th mth".. maybe you can keep a lookout closer then

27/05 is not my birthday.. its our anniversary date

fizz

Hi Kelsey!

Thanx for the ideas...

I'm hvg buffet dinner at the space next to the pool...didnt wanna b so formal...afterall, the dinner 4 us to mingle wif our guests and enjoy...hope tat the food is gd...went to Cafe des Artistes last wk & wasnt too impressed wif the selection...

Yeah...I was tinkin of hvg candles but my fren had the experience of hvg her candles blown out as well...the pix which u posted is very nice...
...any idea where I can get em & how much they cost?...as 4 luminaires...I hvnt heard of em...hummm...candles in pperbags...dun they catch fire easily then...

Now tinkin of how to spruce up the place as the original decor which Oriental offers is quite plain...hope tat the live band tinky wont turn out to b like "ge tai"

worry

Hi Kelsey

tks. i hv received ur lovely fotos.
btw, is urs an outdoor or indoor event?
which ballroom did u use? dun look like the big one at ground floor.How is the stage deco? did u hv one in the first place? care to share. feel dat oriental deco is a bit plain but not very willing to pay a lot to make it nice :p

sweetysweetgal

Yes Yan, was also thinking to wait until their wedding show then can get better perks....;p

So, is yr wedding dinner on wkend ? How many tables u having ? So, how's your package like ? How much ? It includes 2 nites stay, free flow of beer & 1 free table (1 free table based on the no of tables u booked ?)? Anything else ? Waiver of wine ?

Care to share ???

Thanks !

trouble

Has anyone tried the baked sliced cod fish before? This is one of the choice for fish...dun know whether steamed fresh garoupa is better or cod fish..can someone give me some advise or comment, pls?

pebble

Hi Trouble,
I tried the baked cod fish during the wedding show in Apr... very nice.
I initially wanted to serve tat for my coming wedding in Nov but my fren who is a wedding planner said if my family is very traditional and pan tang, better to serve whole fish instead and he suggested steamed garoupa... Cos more auspicious mah... why not u ask ur parents whether they ok with not serving whole fish?
Or u can ve the cod fish during food tasting and garoupa during ur wedding lah... can ve best of both worlds... kekeke
Hope my advice is helpful ;p

trouble

Hi Pebble

Thanks for your advice. Its certainly help to clear my worry. When's ur wedding? Mine coming Sep'03. so going for my food tasting in July. Are u looking for a long or short march in?
I'm still thinking of which march in to use & also the songs to play for 1st, 2nd & food presentation. Now then start to plan...quite late liao...so started to get worry.

bride-to-be

hi trouble

i plan to have a long march but when i went there wif a friend during a set up,she commented tat the last few table from the stage r quite hidden so maybe i'll do a "L" march

pebble

Hi Trouble,
My wedding is this Nov... I would love a long walk in but dunno how it'll turn out lei...
I have not planned anything yet... Waiting for Melanie to mail me and tell me what t do... hahaha

The songs i like my hubby doesnt like... he says the songs i chose sounds so sad and like funeral song like tat... hahaha

All the best for your planning!

trouble

Hi bride to be

You're right. I hv thought of that also. The tables at the back will be very far for the stage if you were to do the long march in. I may consider to do a short march as my hubby & I dun really mind.

Hi Pebble

Hope we can find the songs that we like.
All the best to u too...

bride-to-be

hi trouble

wat songs did u choose for ur banquet.
wat's provided in ur package?

trouble

Hi bride to be

I hv not decide on the songs yet.
My package's quite standard like yours.
How many tables r u having? me having 25 tables so managed to get free food tasting.

bride-to-be

hi trouble

u got the free food tasting from the perk ??
i m having 25 tables too.any theme u r having?now i m quite lost abt wat colour theme i wan