Mandarin Orchard Singapore

minnie_goh

Junebride, i tot of doing the same thing as u....huh really cannot ah...sian leh like tat. i would like to have retro theme. and my montage i wanna have diff songs for diff slides. now all these cant be done!

hobee i dunno who is the best at this moment. who knows the best is serving notice liao. haha...heard that june, who was my cooridnator was gd. but she oso left liao. tat time when i sign with her, we still ask her will she leave or not. she said wont lor.

Tresia gd?

btw anyone had food tasting already? can recommend which dish is muz have?? i heard herb duck is gd.

- braised chicken or roasted chicken nice?
- sauteed prawn or sauteed scallop?
- cold dish suckling pig or lobster salad?

in_truder

DoraDiego >> could i have Cara's email add so i could touch base with her to further proceed my prep? Btw, is she good to work with, friendly and able to give advice?

dor_diego

i heard she is leaving soon as well but nonetheless whatever you have discussed and agreed upon will be in good shape when its handovered to the co-ordinator. i think she is pretty accomodative to requests made. but then again it must be reasonable to a certain extent, i guess. dont be afraid to ask, if you cant get what you want, negotiate for the best option that meritus can provide.

junebride2010

Minnie,

I like your retro theme! =)
Hmm.. since you roughly know what you wanna do, discuss with your hotel coordinator what can be done...
One way is to play the montage and the song (from a player) simultaneously? If you wan a few songs, den will be trickier..

I went for food tasting.. herbal duck is indeed good..=D
If you chose herbal duck, den maybe go for roasted chicken as the braised duck also have herbs and taste very similar..

I tried the sauteed prawn.. liked it too.. but the number of prawns might be a little too little..not too sure about the sauteed scallop..
i aso tried the suckling pig.. nice! loved the jellyfish.. =)

What are u gonna choose for dessert?

in_truder

DoraDiego >> Thanks for sending Cara's contact.

Oh gosh, what is happening to MM management? Y r coordinators leaving one after another? Sigh....

joeshiko

can i check with you if MM's mandarin court is still open for wedding in 2011? i emailed them but they told me there's only 2 ballrooms. i really like the theatre design of mandarin court and thought of using the theatre theme for my wedding. you guys have any suggestions or ideas?

dor_diego

Intruder > No problem. i guess its because of the RSW and IR hypes.

Yoshiko > Yeah i think its open for booking for both ballrooms. but however mandarin court can accomodate up to 22 table max. so it all boils down to your invitation capacity to select the ballroom. mandarin court ballroom is at level 35 and i like it too.
) if you are doing ROM on the same day as your banquet dinner, theres a lobby area just outside the banquet venue that you can hold your ROM or alternatively you can do it on one of the rooms that they will provide you with.

in_truder

Does anyone happen to have other coordinator's contact just in case Cara doesnt response or doesnt accept any more assignment like what AKSZ said.

joeshiko

thanks dora, i just emailed Marina Orchard and got their reply.

to those who are asking for 2011 package, just email them and you'll get their reply promptly.

in_truder

AKSZ, saw your previous post asking for Tresia's and Angie's email add, did you manage to get it? If yes, could you send me too?

ellentg

junebride2010 > which menu and what dessert are you choosing? i would like to change my dessert too but they've yet to get back to me on what are the choices available.

in_truder / AKSZ > actually if you wanna look for a particular coordinator, just call them and ask for the person you wanna look for. then you can talk to them, check ballroom availability immediately and save on all the e-mail ding-dongs. they will e-mail you the package detail quite promptly after your phone calls.

just btw, actually Tresia is also quite new. When i first talked to her around Oct last year, she was new there

dor_diego

Can anyone share good picks for the 9 course menu selection? Which is good and a must take?
i learnt that herbal duck is good. but not sure what else is nice.

akszaksz

@ |n_truder: Nope, i nvr got Tresia's and Angie's email add. BTW, MM has assigned 1 coordinator to me & i'm meeting her on this week. Hopefully she is a gd one =)

minnie_goh

Hi Junebride, today is 3 june liao. guess ur wedding day is drawing near!

I look at the name of both dessert i dun like liao. so weird de..i ever ask my previous coordinator said we can choose other than the 2 if the price is ard the same.

well just found out my latest coordinator is christine. anyone had experience with her?

junebride2010

Hey Minnie,
Yupps.. soon! =D When's yours?

Ellen,
I chose Yam paste.. =D cos i lovee yam paste.. (orh ni) hehe.. it taste quite good.. has cubes of pumpkin.. but it is not the traditional yam paste.. got coconut =)

ellentg

junebride > wow the pumpkin cubes in orh-ni sounds good... i think my mom will love it but we're choosing something else keke :p thinking of having mango sago pomelo, still waiting for MM's reply on whether it's possible.

goh > ya lor the original desserts in the menu are simply weird... but i vaguely remembered that the one on weekend menu 2 was quite okie de...

lavender_bride

Yup, my coordinators changed thrice and my wedding is next month. Wonder what is the problem in MM? Any advice on the theme and wedding favour? Any new additions?

akszaksz

@ |n_truder: Yes, i've meet up with my co-ordinator. She is quite friendly. However, for the perks, there is not much room for nego =(

akszaksz

Hi all, which are the essential things to include in the package? Can share the perks which you've gotten from MM?
Any free food tasting or free helper's room?

akszaksz

Has anyone got the perks for free flow of beer/wine + free printing for invitation card? (this was offered by another hotel which i'd visited)

in_truder

AKSZ >> I have spoken to Marie b4 but have not talk abt the items yet. Will be mitin up with her again. Hopefully things will turn out well.
By the way, do u know what is her designation?

babyfirefly

I have been previously liasing with Cara but she recently left MM too. Loved her as shes a very helpful coordinator. Suggested many ideas while we are just viewing MC.

I have yet to decide on the banquet venue and have been considering other venues as well. Currently, im being assigned to Marie. Anyone who has been liasing with her on the planning? Is she helpful? Any comments?

hjn

Hi guys, I've been laising with Tresia. She's pretty friendly but i can tell shes overwhelmed and take a few days to respond.

happyxx

Hi all! Does anyone knows the cancellation clause with Mandarin Orchard? Anyone who have already signed the contract - can share please? Thanks in advance!

ellentg

jiani > ya Tresia said many pple have left MM recently so she is very very busy.

happyxx > cancellation charges (for my contract signed last year):

50% of total cost : if cancel more than 180 days before AD
75% of total cost : if cancel 30-179 days before AD
90% of total cost : if cancel less than 30 days before AD

Hope it helps

ellentg

Lynn > it's stated non-transferable. when i asked the coordinator she also told me it's non-transferable.... but i saw there were pple trying to let go package in this forum before... hmmm.

kili

Ya.. was wondering why there are ppl selling package that's why i asked.. not sure if can change to transferable.

ellentg

hmmm but why you wanna make it transferable in the first place?

my friend from hotel line looked through the contract and said the terms and conditions are v standard, nothing to worry about. my guess is that many hotels have non-transferable stated in the contract, but if there is a really valid reason, they'll try to help by letting you transfer ba.....

felyn

Hey, I've just signed up my package with Marie and she was fab! She was very pro-active and helpful with me and my husband. I think u ladies shld nt worry that much too. ;)

missywinnie

hi all i am a june 2011 MM Court bride. Initially my coordinator was doreen but then she left and i was then passed on to a lady call Christine. Will be mtg her next week to place my deposit. Any one deal with christine? How is she? Flexible and provide ideas to couple? I had signed the contract but not yet place the deposit. Now i m abit worried cos not sure if i will be in the good hand of christine.

dslitegal

R these new coordinators all non-Singaporeans? - Just my curiosity. Mine was chged too. & I'm shocked with that the coordinators having been changing.