Mandarin Orchard Singapore

missywinnie

JL- hmmm if u really not very comfortable with her why not request for a change of coordinator? to me the coordinator need to at least have abit of chemistry with the couple. Initially my coordinator was doreen, was abit hesitated to sign with her cos find her not very good. Then suddenly she left. And christine contracted me. i suppose to c her today bt we postphone our appt. will be seeing her on next thur. if i dun feel comfortable with her i will request for a change one lor.

kero_ppi

New to this forum. Could someone share their package with us please? I am able to accept private messages in this forum.

ellentg

Tresia is my coordinator too, i find her quite okie so far

I think she only joins MM for about or slightly less than a year, but she is already the most senior one there now after the recent exodus of MM staff...

lavender_bride

I just finished my Jul wedding in MM and I must say it's a wonderful experience, nice ambience, great food. My coordinator is Christine and I think she is very professional, flexible and creative. The day went well with good coordination from banquet manager and AV guy. All my guest loved the place. I believe Christine is a nice person to work with.

muilaman

Marie is my coordinator and I've just signed my package with her during their last wedding show on 10 July 10. She is very prompt in replies and I feel very comfortable liaising with her. So not to worry too.

muilaman

Ohh. My AD is only in 2012. 18 March 2012. What abt yours? Managed to lock in at the 2011 rates. Marie is superb. You are also with JWN?

dor_diego

hey muilaman,

yeah..JWN oso..mine is jan 2011..which ballroom u taking? i am glad you commended marie..haha..at least a glimpse of hope...

dor_diego

Muilaman : i am taking the mandarin court ballroom which i think is on the 32nd storey. yeah my coordinator initially was Clara Puah, she left and Marie was assigned to me. however, up to date, i had no interaction with her as my ad is still far in jan 2011.

pinknoir

Hi ladies, I'm relatively new here and considering Meritus Mandarin. Anyone worked with Veralyn b4? I think she's quite new at this hotel. Her email responses have so far been quite slow...

ellentg

Just had my AD in July
everything went smoothly and i must give compliment to their banquet operation team... service was prompt and great

muilaman

Ellen: that is great to hear. Congrats on your great wedding.

Anybody just had their wedding at mandarin ballroom? care to share about your experience in terms of ballroom decor, cards, wedding favors and actual day itself? thanks in advance.

I intend to have my solemnisation before the wedding banquet as well. Just visited the hotel function room few weeks back and thought the function room looks a bit old though. Well, might be due to the lack of decor though. Anybody had the same arrangement before too? How was your experience?

ellentg

I think cards and wedding favours are the same for both Mandarin Ballroom and Mandarin Courts. For cards, you can just head down to T-Dragon to choose, quite a wide selection in my opinion.

As for wedding favours, not so much choices but good enough for me. Some brides in this forum got the wedding favours themselves and received some rebates back from the hotel...

chrystella

Hey everyone! I just signed with MM today and I am really so happy! Was anxious first cos so new to all this but Marie my coordinator has been really helpful. Super prompt in her replies and if there are things that she's unsure about she will take note of it and get back to me. Feel very taken care of during this process of choosing the right venue plus she will offer suggestions based on what best suits your needs. Love that! My AD is on July 2011 only so now time to concentrate on other things.. So all those still considering and worried, why not just meet them and get a feel of the place yourself then decide? My HTB and I are super happy today! =)Hoping for the best closer to the date and that my AD will be perfect! Hope this helps you decide!

xinzderella

Hi, anyone holding AD on 3rd quarter 2012 and manage to secure the price for 2011? wondering if i can confirm now at 2011 price for 2012 AD....

prettybridetobe

I would like to change my coordinator Tresia, she is not very flexible and always not free to meetup.

Anyone got a better contact??

Anyone manage to get more perks for mandarin court?

Kindly email me @ [email protected].

thanks in advance!

jarlslee

My name is Jarls from Singapore and I am an undergraduate at a Hospitality Management school in Switzerland. For my undergraduate dissertation, I am looking at the negotiation behaviour of prospective wedding couples looking to hold their wedding banquet at 5-star hotels in Singapore.

Your response is kindly appreciated and will aid in the completion of my paper.

This survey will take up 15-20 minutes of your time.

http://www.surveymonkey.com/s/negotiated_decision_making_weddings_in_Singapore

evanthlyn

wendy: I booked mandarin court too and my coordinator is Marie. Nice and friendly lady. But think the perks are more or less fixed so they wont really give more things.

mich_clare

I have also spoken to Marie yday with regards to the wedding package that they have in year 2011 and will be meeting up with her in a week or 2.
She was saying that there is a wedding that she is in charge this coming Sat and I might b going to take a peep at their layout...
Anyone's wedding this Sat??

My concern will be Marie will not stay long as MM's turn over is rally very high... keeping my toes n fingers cross cross

<keldeb> wats ur email add so that i can forward the 2011 package to you.

evanthlyn

Hi mich I like marie! And afraid she will leave too cos mine is dec 2011. Hopefully she stays. Are you taking mandarin court?

Update us on ur meeting with her :)

mich_clare

Hi Eve,

Mine will be in Nov' 2011
.. just 1 mth ahead of urs..Ya i also hope she stays.

Yup, mandarin court as my no. of tables is ard 15-18..n i like the layout as it tier form.. everyone can see the stage..

evanthlyn

Mich: yah ours pretty close :) I love the 3 tiered layout very special! Mine is on a sat yours?

I think the garden theme nicer. Victorian too plain

mich_clare

hahah ya.. mine is 26 nov also sat... which day is ur big day??

oh.. i didn't know there are diff themes.. goondoo me.. hahaha.. which one u choosing?
btw, how many themes r there?

evanthlyn

Mine 3 dec. Haha one week after yours! Pls don't mess up the place :) kidding.

There are two themes victorian and garden. Can ask marie show u pics.I will be choosing garden. The stage is quite small so design is simple

mich_clare

hahahaa.... its only 1 week difference!!!!!!!
Oic.. I wasnt told abt the themes when i called up yday

u hv confirmed your package with them or made booking only? wat r the perks that they hv given?

evanthlyn

yah signed with them the package already. You signing this week is it?

I think can ask for invitation card and carpark. The rest they are quite rigid.

mich_clare

Hv not neg with her yet leh.
Was thinking to ask for a room on wedding anni. but was readiing through earlier posts n like wat u said they are very rigid!

In the standard package that Marie gave me states that "No cockage for duty paid hard liquor broought in" wat about wines? is yours similar?

evanthlyn

asked for free flow beer and one more night but she said no. I think previous coordinator gave a lot of perks then management not happy. So now everything standardized and fixed already.

If you managed to get it, pls update me and I will knock my head against the wall.

I think mine no cockage for wine also leh. Cant remember but most prob

evanthlyn

my htb and my nego skills sux haha.

I have paid 3k deposit. Number of tables she put as 15 first. then nearing the date (one week before)then we let her know again. max number of tables one can have is 20+2.

Have you gotten a BS?

mich_clare

same as me man.. cannot really neg..

Yup.. im going to taiwan for phototaking, BS is 法国巴黎.. den will go ala carte for AD.. hvn't source for PG, VG, MUA gowns for AD.. headache.. coz we didnt want to have wedding dinner actually but changed our mind aft we've booked the package with the BS.
Wat abt u?

evanthlyn

At first didnt want to have wedding dinner too but in the end took MM. haha. Just signed up with My Bridal Room on saturday. Now sourcing for AD photographer and videographer. Those I like charging around 2k for 10 hours. exceed budget alr
So just looking around for suitable ones

mich_clare

wow.. eva, u same situation as me leh...
does ur AD comes with MUA?

i've looked through some forum thread n found some good reviews on PG &amp; VG from Coffee &amp; Tea Dreamworks and Unique colours... u may wish to look through their websites and ask for quotes..

evanthlyn

Yah AD comes with MUA but I wanna go for my trial first to make sure she is good.

I like unique colours and currently they have a package video and photo combi - $2600.

Since MM has exceeded my budget, I wanna have cheaper photographers and videographers. Is MM within your budget?

so exciting! still kinda long to go for both of us. Cant wait for the day :)

mich_clare

That is for sure that a trial has to be done for make up.
Ya unique colours seems not bad and will most prob ask him for quotes.
MM has definately burst my budget and will not know if im able to cover bk by the angbaos.

Seems like ive not done alot of things as compared to you. i've not sourced for AD gowns, PG, VG MUA etc.. sigh..

will u be having ur solemization during ur AD?

ellentg

wah, suddenly so many posts today

btw, i guess you gals can ask for corkage waiver for wine, cos this is pretty standard for all hotels to give the waiver~ just ask! asking is free... you may not get more perks if you ask, but you won't get any if you dun ask :p

as for carpark coupons, do take note that although they may give more, that carpark is usually very full becos a lot of other pple going to Orchard will park there. in the end, though we got more coupons, we didn't use all cos many of our guests ended up parking elsewhere
so better ask your guests to come early and "chop" parking lots

evanthlyn

Mich: haha MM burst mine too and my angbao sure cant cover. cos now market rate around $100 per angbao right haha.

I wanted ala carte at first but too troublesome so I just signed BS. now just pg and vg. update each other!

i am having solemnisation before my AD. at the reception area marie will set up the tables and 50 chairs for me. I saw before very nice! pple can look down from the 35th floor too hehe. My auspicious time from 6 to 645 so i will start solem at 630.

Ellen: Thanks for the heads up! :) but go source out other cheap parking place for guests then. when is your AD?

mich_clare

<ellen>

Great to hear your reviews on MM which held ur wedding in July. I would agree with u if u dont ask, u wont get anything :p

<eva>

Wow i was also planning for that but need to speak to marie before deciding.. im just afraid tat my friends &amp; relatives wld fall asleep hehhehe