Mandarin Orchard Singapore

crescent

tulipblue,

ya... i have jus went to Grand Copthorne waterfront yst... dun realli like it oso, the marketing person is not flexible on the perks n the ballroom has low ceiling...

i'm considering swissotel the stamford, holiday inn park view and grand plaza parkroyal...

tulipblue

crescent,
you still have some time to consider other venues..good luck! at the end of the day, being happy and stress free on ur AD is most impt and also be comfy with the hotel choice u both make

crescent

i went to Raffles the plaza yst...

i love it !!!
the bridal suite is very nice n such a fantastic view !!!
i'm going to have my wedding there...

irenee

Hi, anyone booked the act 1?? will the decor be a bit weird? i love everything there.. but the act 1 room... a bit farny...

scobido

hi irene

i love the act 1!!! is due to the unique structure and design of e br! is really beautiful!

just 2 bad that we have abt 20tables and my hubby is against it, thus we dropped it.

if u hv 15 - 18tables, u shld be fine. if u anticipate more than that, u shld choose belvedere. didn't like b so we gave mandarin up. v gd perks though.

yinyin77

Anybody heard that MM is actually plan to reno their 5th floor reception hall and 6th floor grand ballroom?

Anybody have experience to hold banquet at reception hall? can pass me some info?

Million Thanks~!

wyy

hi All, just got back from HM....

yinyin...i have mine at Mandarin Court just a month ago. Maybe you can check with the coordinator, they will tell you.

BTW to those who signed with MM,
I have to praise MM for the quality service i have during my banquet.

My dad actually lost his gold ring in the banquet and MM staff did a search and return the ring to me immediately after i called them after the dinner.

The perks given by MM was superb and i am very pleased with the bridal suite as well. Double thumbs up for their service.

Million Thanks to MM and staff....i really enjoyed my night!

yinyin77

Hi yy,

Congratulation!!! Nice to know that you having a very memorable nite with MM!

I am going to have mine at reception hall but the two huge pillars worried me a lots

Is the food nice? Did you choose chicken rice?

Thanks~!

darren__eve

HI, may i know where is the reception hall?
I have confirmed mine at Act 1 but now worried that i'll have more tables.
May i know the min-max no. of tables at reception hall?

wyy

food is nice....i like it....

But as usual, food is all up to individual....some guest dun like this and some guest dun like that so i cannot comment unless we share the same taste .....

Overall, the food is good. I did not have chicken rice during banquet but i did called for laska and chicken rice for room service. heehee

for my dish, standard 9 dish menu lor....heehee....i think the dish i like most is the chestnut chicken and dan kwai duck......i love the dan kwai smell....

yinyin77

Hi yy,

Thanks~ i heard a lot of people said that their duck is vy good~!

Hi Westerveld,

The reception hall is located at 5th floor which is just below the Grand Ballroom, the min table is 20, max is 22 at the moment, but heard after reno the max can up to 25. You may check with your co-ordinator. But just for your information there is two very huge pillars right at the central of the Ballroom!!!

darren__eve

Hi, thanks for the reply........
can i check if the reception hall that u gals are saying is the 1 without door at the enterance.........
using only curtain to cover the enterance.
The 1 in the newer building?

Any idea if they are going to reno the act 1 room?

yinyin77

Hi Westerveld,

I am not very sure is reception hall with or without door now but it will definately with door after reno, yes it s located at south tower (where chatter box located at).

I dont think Act 1 is going under reno cos according to my CO there is only lobby, 5th floor & 6th floor will be getting reno this yr 7th month!

Hi Zhu Zhu,

I also wonder why there is chicken rice inside the menu but CO said 'famous' mah so include loh, but can swoop with others alternate dish as well if you want so~!

Cheers~~

wyy

Happy Tea

they are talking about reception Hall which is another building (same building with the Ballroom) not Mandrain Court which is the other side so dun worry.

wyy

Westerveld,

think Act 1 sooner or later it will go thru a face life....seems like all the function / ballroom is renovating inclding the front desk.... MM is going thru a face lift. From what i see Facelift is for better. Now MM front desk and cashier area looks more neat and class compared to the time when i went there in 2005.

darren__eve

My AD is on Jan 07.....
So only left with these 2 months to know the outcome from the MM management.
If they are going ahead with the reno means its will starts in the 7th month.....

If not.....haiz, I might need to change to a bigger function room.

wyy

think maybe they will do renov in the 7th month cos that is when they have the least wedding....think the last time they do renov for Mandarin court is during the 3rd Month.....

btw who is your coordinator? Darren?

darren__eve

Yup will be holding my dinner in Act 1 but the max table limit is 19...Best is to keep at 18 tables.

Heard that after reno it can hold abt 35 tables.

My hubby need to add in about 4-5 tables therefore I really hope that Act 1 will go under reno as i love the unique layout of the room.

wyy

wow...very siong for you leh...

one hand control no. the other hand hope they will reno to increase area....

but i think you better check with your hubby to confirm the table no. and get ready a PLAN B of which hall to use if no. exceed what is stated....cos i dun think ACT 1 can hole more than 20 tables currently.

darren__eve

Ya the max no. of tables now for Act 1 is 19.
Actually best is to keep at 18 as the 19th table will be an odd one on the top of the room, beside the bar counter.

My hubby said he might need to increase the table to abt 23 or 24.

Or don't invite the ppl for that extra 4 to 5 tables but he felt that it will be very bad to do so : (
Not very nice also.

We have plan B which is to change to another room but we do not like the idea at all , we hate the pillars so much.

Our coordinator said he will update us on the outcome from management.
So we are still hopping for the best although chances not high.......

wyy

hmm....i had mine at Mandrain court....got pillar but nice...grand entrance.....

maybe i can show you some shot for Mandrain court:
364516.jpg

364517.jpg

364518.jpg

still looking for my march inpic

darren__eve

Opps, so sorry i don't mean that the pillars in yr ballroom looks ugly.
But i have only abt 24-25 tables, therefore i can't use mandarin court.
I can only use smaller ballroom which the pillars is really a turn off

wyy

aiyah...

i din think you mean that either....but for the smaller room.....hmmmm.....agree have bigger pillar which turns me off too. But i believe MM can deco the place nicely and will be a great ballroom afterall.

Cos during my wedding dinner, there is also another wedding taking place and i peek in and looks nice too with the lighting etc....

jaslyn_82

I am considering to have my AD at MM Mandarin Court.. but same as some of u gals worried about the pillars cos i will having more than 42 tables..

hi YY,
can u send more of ur photos to me so i can have a better view of the mandarin court.. before i decide..really hope my decision wont be wrong...
Thanks! Pls send to [email protected]

wyy

jaslyn,

your decision will not be wrong.....cos the lighting and etc done up by MM during my dinner was wonderful and my carmera man told us Mandarin Court is his fav room cos of the lighting.....

However, i am not sure if Mandarin court can carry more than 42 tables, you better chk with the coordinator. if Mandarin court perhaps can chk for the Ballroom?

Pic sent liao!

jaslyn_82

Hi yy,

Thanks for ur photos and ur assurance..

oic. the lighting must be very nice..
I was told by the coordinator the max for mandarin court was 70 tables and the min is 35..
wanted the ballroom also.. cos no pillars.. but the min is 50 tables.. i dun have so many friends and relatives.. haha

how many tables u have?
does the pillars block any of ur tables?

wyy

i have 37 tables....pillar no block at all and those pillar really adds to the atomsphere for my grand entrance.....like fairy tale cos of the dry ice effect....hahaha....

i really enjoy my day...the onli tiring thing is to count all the angbao $ at night, onli manage to open all and have to sleep cos is already 5am. Lucky MM gave 2 night stay else I will be a zombie....

jaslyn_82

hi yy,

oic.. then i will go have a look..
then confirm with them.. cos i have already make a tentative booking with them liao..

wah.. u really stay up to count ang bao ah..hehe
looks like i have to consider staying 2 nites..
cos thought wana change on nite for one free table.. then hear after what u say.. think i will stay for 2 nites..

wyy

yea...AB alot....and stack of $ which allow me to cover the banquet with it.

2 night stay is better...cos first night after sending guest off, it will be about 11pm. then you go up to suite to change, remove MU etc everything will be about 12:30am - 1am.

Start eating food from the banquet, finish abt 2am (If you have asked the waiter to reserve food for you for you to bring up to suite)

Get ready and start counting AB. For me, Started to unwrap AB and sort $ into stack of 50s 10s and cheque....takes me 3 hrs. that is why i end up sleeping at 5am.

The counting we do the next day morning, which takes abt another 2 hours then go to Bank to deposit $ and then F&E liao.

There is some pointer given by my coordinator, deposit the $ into bank and charge the bill to credit to earn points.

Also another thing i feel is impt, before you sleep for the first night stay, make a call to order your room service breakfast for the next day cos by doing so you will have to wake up to start the counting. (Breakfast Yummy!!)

MM perks is very attractive cos thru out my stay, i am not hungry a single bit. cos they have complimentary afternoon tea at their club, cocktail in evening and also $50 electronic vochur for food......

I really enjoyed my stay in MM.

lipstar

Another most satisfied MM bride.
365071.gif

Mine was at the Mandarin ballroom - no pillars. We had 51 tables.

The coordinator, staff and captain ensured everything went well. They even included a few surprises for us!
I asked my hubby if he had planned those surprises, he said no, they were the hotel's ideas!

And then the additional perks - 2 nites' stay, another room 1 nite stay for helpers, like YY said, $50 room service voucher, complimentary breakfasts delivered to our suite, and the waiter automatically packed all the dinner's dishes into boxes for us to enjoy in our suite after the wddg dinner, plus complimentary cake and bottle of champagne.

Kudos to MM for such a memorable experience!
365072.gif

bridarine

need some advice from you all.
I am going to sign with MM next week for my wedding in July next year. The coordinator is not flexible. She is not willing to give me a room for my helpers and I am not very comfortable. Not giving me anything besides the already stated perks as well. Is it the case with everyone? I only have 25 tables and I am paying for 2007 rates.
Anyone has any advice for me?

jaslyn_82

Hi yy,

ur AB can cover ur banquet ah.. thats gd.. i scared mine cant cover.. haiz..

looks like that you really enjoy ur stay in MM..
so interesting.. i m looking forward to mine (cos mostly will confirm them).. haha..will take note all the things u say.. so i will remember..
thanks ah...

jaslyn_82

hi lipstar,

seen ur comments and others..
make me really so xin dong.. haha
just like i told yy, looking forward and mostly will confirm them..

u request for an additional one nite stay?
cos my MIL says she wants a nite stay there..
so i thought of asking..

jingzjingz

hi i am a little confused. so only the smaller rooms the pillars bad? the main ballroom is it mandarin court? and what's the minimum no. of tables required? is it possible for u all to send me the pictures of the ballroom too? thanks. i am having prob abt 25-35 tables. oh also during booking do we have to confirm the number of tables? sorry. so many questions.

[email protected] for the email for ballroom pics. thanks!!

jaslyn_82

Hi Hui Jing,

I think its because smaller rooms the pillars look more obvious.. and it will take up more of the space...
mandarin court is not the main ballroom..
the main ballroom is Mandarin Ballroom.. which requires min of 50 tables..
so i have to take mandarin court of min 35 tables and max of 70 tables.. so its easier if in case i dun hit min 50 tables i still can use the mandarin court.. and if i have more than 50 tables i also can use mandarin court.. its safer.. hehe
if u consider 25 to 35 tables.. maybe u can use the Belvedere which max is 35 tables..

confirm the no. of tables during the booking i also dun noe cos i havent meet up with the coordinator yet..

as for the pictures i dont have only those from yy..

wyy

hi Hui Jing & Jaslyn

you dun need to confirm the no. when you book the rooms BUT the coodrinator do need your min no. to work with (for contract etc). The actual no. of table will be confirm again when your date draws nearer for them to coordinate on the food.

Jaslyn
Your calculation is right, Jaslyn. and i think your planning is good too. Dun take a small room if you know your table may be 35nos and dun commit yourself to big ballroom if your table may not hit 50nos.

For my case, initially, i work with 35 tables. and eventually when my big day draws closer, i confirm my table no. to 36+2 (=38 tables) so that 2 tables is for spare.

Lucky for me, i onli close one table thus end up my Final no. is 37 and i pay onli for 37 tables.

Hui Jing,
for your 25-35 nos. is not easy to work with but i think you can consult your coordinator. with their experience, they can frankly tell you the pro and cons of your selection.

I dun think I have full pic of MC but i have send you some. maybe you can use ur imaginary power to visualise the room.

jaslyn_82

Hi yy,

ya lor, cos my mum say will have more than 50 tables but she cant give me the no. so i better play safe then to pay extra..
I will have to calculate how many tables i need for the contract..
lucky u.. if not have to pay one more table and go down and have dinner again..

wyy

not all credit goes to me....have to thank my HB cos he also plays a big role in the table thingy.

Jaslyn,
my advise, just ask them to state the min no. required on contract. like that you will be more relax and leave the calcultion of the table to later stage. This is bcos things will change as you do planning.

jaslyn_82

oic.. thats gd to have ur HB planning with u..
envy u...
my HB will say anything lor.. u like can already.. everything also anything lor..

oic.. then i will tell them min 35 tables 1st...

wyy

yup yup...tell them will increase eventually

aiyah...your FH say like that now...but later he may say other thing. and at that time, dun be irritated by it cos is a process in the wedding planning.