Mandarin Orchard Singapore

bridarine

Hi Lipstar, my coordinator 2 b is also Jesmi, however I dun find her v nice. Not v flexible in negotiations and v rude. Thking of switchg hotel becos of her. I wonder y is tt.

Hi Ixus, how is ur experience w her?

Hope to clarify whether I m too sensitive.

TIA

adelene

Bao Shi,
Is Jesmi on TV? I miss the programme. When is that, mayb I can catch up on TVmobile.

ixus,
Would let you know once I know the theme and favour.

wish bride,
I have never contact Jesmi before, no comment on her yet. But I believe our coordinator will place us in the good hand. If not, he'll get left, right, center from us as and when we meet him. HA! HA! HA!

tag2006

wish bride,
I heard MM went thru lots of changes and gone were the good old days.
I believe she also being control. Btw, when is you wedding?

lipstar

wish bride: HAve you booked them, as in paid deposit? Cos if you have and want to switch hotel, won't you have to pay penalty?

bridarine

Thks for replies. I am actually at such a loss yesterday aft meeting w Jxx. Cldn't sleep at all.

Hi Tag- I think I kinda uds wat u mean. I don't feel MM is worth taking too after gg their lousy treatment. My ad is on 7/7/07 and I only hav 25 tables so they kinda give me very ai mai attitude n force me to sign quickly if not rm will b given 2 others. FH is in US before this I can't b making decision myself, moreover there are things I like to clarify with them also.
Out of 10 things I negotiate with them, I get 0. I am unhappy nt so much for these things, but makes me wonder if they will go all out 2 help me on my day.

Hi Lipstar- I have not paid. Was given a deadline 2 pay yestd but aft meetg e coordinator, again misunderstding arise n we hav 2 postpone. I hav chg my coordinator oredi. But guess wat. E new coordinator said no nid 2 meet jus mail bk e form will do. I don't know how some ppl can b so lucky to get free chicken rice meal n nice treatment. Mine didnt even see e need to meet me personally. Mabbe becos i oni hav 25 tables n nt 50.

Now at a loss, want to change hotel oso diff cos alot of hotels booked..

tag2006

wish bride

I know your frustration & it is really headache to find a place on the good date.

Well, hope you could go thru the process and be a happy bride!

Cheer up:)

jewelmelody

HI Blue Ginger,
I think the programme Y Project was on air last week liao. Something like interview what a banquet manager does and Jesmi was being featured. Her boss is Thomas.
Heee.. but i no hold in MM lah.. no rich to hold in MM....

sharlyn

Is there is big change in mandarin? what big change is that? retrenchment? is my coodinator chrisy still around? hope he is not affected. got to call him tommorrow.

meimei77

hi wishbride,you sad upset with them. what didi you asked from them? By the way, your date must paid higher price for this date?

adelene

Bao Shi,
I checked with my coordinator liao. That's her.

Sharlyn, Mandarin is undergoing some renovation and there are having a few restructuring.

Wishbride,
What did you ask for? Their package 2006 is quite sufficient liao! And dun worry abt the chicken rice. Just go with an empty stomach upon signing the contract. =)

darren__eve

I was also given a treat at the chatterbox by my coordinator when i went down to sign the contract.

Any idea whether Act 1 room will be going under reno as well........But heard if the management decided to, the cap will still remain at 19 table max.

lipstar

Yup, they only treat pp to chatterbox when you sign contract.

I was also brought to Chatterbox when I went down to pay deposit.

chng

Serious ah? They never treat me to Chicken Rice leh, cos my deposit was paid by cheque via post. My coordinator used to be Malcom and now changed to Derrick.

Haiz...missed my chix rice chance liao :p

kenbel75

Me & hubby had a treat from Francis too when we paid the deposit. We ordered the most expensive on the menu (I think) - laksa with lobster plus chicken. hahaha...

Blue Ginger - Thks!

Wish bride - Haven't deal with Jesmi yet. Yes, what did you ask for? For me, I've only 30 tables. And the extras are the norm: cards up to 70%, carpark coupons up to 30%. I also feel the package is already comprehensive. So dunno wat else to ask for.

sharlyn

Blue ginger,

Thanks for the info.i called chrisy up and he told me that ballroom & reception hall are going to have renovation and he told me that my ACT 1 room might go on renovation too but yet to confirm by their management.

Really puzzle about the look at the new act 1 leh.. any one having wedding over there?i love the place..as it very special. :p

sharlyn

By the way, i hear that the chatterbox chicken rice chef had already left and are they still selling good at their chicken rice set and how much was it?expensive?nice?:pP

adelene

Ixus,
No idea when is the renovation.

Thots,
how can they treat you chicken rice when you send by post. Request from derrick again. ;P

My coordinator recommended lobster laska and their famous chicken rice. They were delicious. High end among those local food I had, but not worth paying for the price they are offering. I think it is abt $20 per serving. It is a very good experience, no wonder many ppl wanna eat there. Thank goodness that we were late when we were there for our down payment, hence no time to have dinner before we meet our coordinator.
Hmm... I finally see the advantage for being late. =)

kenbel75

Sharlyn, same sentiments as Blue Ginger. Not worth it if you're paying for it. They are local delights and nice chicken rice could be found elsewhere. Maybe the lobster laksa a bit unique.

meimei77

wow.so many chicken rice topic. I had personally taste it before last week.Although the taste is a bit different from the past but still as good compare to other as the portion look too much for me la..hehe..but the special thing is the sacuce and the chicken is served cold instead of warm or hot.. don know do they allow chicken rice to served during wedding?

vvn

hey i just signed up with mertius not too long ago, but didn't come to this forum until now!
is anyone going to have her solemnisation before/during the wedding banquet?
I am planning to have mine right before the banquet at the reception area outside Act 1, but now it seems too small to hold 100+ people. But i also don't really wish to do it in the ballroom on the stage. If I do it before the banquet starts, what if some guests are late? or what if some people doesn't really want to attend the solemnisation but just want to eat only?

meimei, you can opt to have chicken rice during wedding, but i think you have to top up some $!

how come you girls so lucky can have chicken rice treat? we only had free tea at the bar! (ok, my coordinator did ask us if we want any breakfast actually... but i think we pai seh to order, heh)

bridarine

Hi Ixus- I asked for day room n waiver of wine I think, both thrown bk. But I agree the package is more comprehensive than some other hotels, but I oso encountered much better service. Anyway I signed with them already, as was too late for most hotels. I oso chg my coordinator, so from now onwards I will start from a clean slate and close both eyes. Wedding shld oni involve happiness..

I oso was nt offered chicken rice treat. My signing was done in their office in e basement...

tag2006

Just wonder if you guys are going for the perks & package or small little thinny things of Chicken Rice?

We shopped around and found that MM is offering the most attractive package and perfect locations.

Almost all the hotels are charging the corkage for hard liqueur and wines, but atleast they only charge for wines, beside giving 1 bot complimentary per tables.

Other hotels also offering 1 night stay in the suite and additional helper's room. But MM offering 2 nights stay in the suite, thought they are not offering helper's room.

We can't expect what we want from the hotel, but rather to work on our basic need.

As this is the happiest occation of our life, why not we look for a bigger picture rather than the small thiny "cheapo" stuffs?

With this posting, I may offended alot of people, but I am just another one that feel MM already have thier best to offer.

pongpong32

Totally agree with Tag.. Just had my wedding few weeks ago.. Very satisfied with them. Other than the pillars which block some of the views the ambience, service and everything else are great. Learn to be contended instead of comparing this and that. I am sure if what u are asking for are reasonable, they will compromised. Wedding is a happy occasion indeed.. Enjoy the whole process.. Congrats to all..

parisgirl

I attended a wedding dinner at Meritus Mandarin last night as a guest. i would rate food as 6/10. cold dish presentation is not impressive, so messy like rojak! The sharkfin is pathetic.. so few miserly strands. Seabass is bland.. even though got sauce but so watery, no taste. the chicken is nice and crispy. Eefu noodles is okay, not soggy and would be better if it had been more generous with ingredients.

Decoration sucks! No table centerpieces for every table. the lighting is bright.. the white color light. i prefer orange light for dining.. not white light. They forgot or did not dim the lights during 1st and 2nd march in.

1st dish presentation has blue disco lights.. flickering.. yucks!

service, i also rate is 6/10. two of the guest clothes were spilled over with some drinks accidentally by waiters/waitress. drinks were not refilled.. had to ask and waited long long.
haven't finish eating, and waitress wanna clear the plates..as if they wanna go home soon.

chng

Hi smallgirl,

Was it really tat bad? Which ballroom was the wedding held? Did they do anything to rectify the matter when drinks were spilled on guest?

aiyoyo

hi gers!
i have just visited MM yesterday and found their package really comprehensive. Was told that the grand ballroom will be going under renovation this year during the seventh month. Saw the sketches of the new ballroom. looks nice! with individual spotlights on each table and changing lighting scheme on the wallas and stage! There are will new themes too!

Despite their package being comprhensive, do you tink they r still negotiable for more freebies?

aiyoyo

Oh ya! chicken and chicken rice balls are included in their standard package now! i tot its something unique to offer to the guests.

what do u gers tink?

aiyoyo

hi lim mei mei,
oops, not chicken rice balls, but chicken rice from chatterbox.
yup, grand ballroom will be undergoing reno during the chinese 7th month.
met derrick. he is nice.

wyy

aiyoyo...

derrick is really a nice guy to work wif. My hubby like to work with him. He handled the last part of my wedding which he took over from Malcolm and HB was happy when doing coordination work wif him.

skippy10

hi sharly,
i just had my wed dinner at MM Belvedere...it was a wonderful n awesome nite for us as well as my guest. when i asked ard abt the services n food, the comments given r good..
furthermore, i had a military weddin...so i think MM belvedere is indeed a warmth n cosy ballroom to hold my wed even tho wit the pillarz ard..

leoliz

hi skippy10
may I know if the waiters/waiteresses distribute individual food serving to the guests?

does any1 has experience with the cost topup for
1. dessert to ginko yam paste
2. seabass to goroupa
3. braised chicken to crispy type?

tag2006

hi nutty

i think if you change the dessert to yam paste is ok. braised chicken to crispy chicken also no prob.

but for seabass to garoupa may need to top up. is good that you can check with your coordinator.

vvn

i think 2006 and 2007 menu different bah... mine is the 2006 one, and i have the seabass or goroupa. (depending on weekdays or weekends)

erm, even if we have signed the contract, can we still change the dessert? my contract said i can change the shark fin soup to something else but not the dessert, but if there's no cost difference, i should be able to change?

leoliz

Tag, thks for your advice.

have approached my coordinator, he doesnt want to commit now. he mentioned this can be discussed when food tasting session comes near.

vvn,
my fren did a topup for dessert change with her hotel..
btw your contract is printed with the change of shark fin to others or it was only indicated during the sign-off?

vvn

nutty,
i have been telling my coordinator to give me another choice of soup besides shark fin for the longest time, so when he print out the contract for me to sign, it says there under SOUP: "pls choose one of the following" and there's the shark fin, some seafood soup and fish maw soup. He still included the shark fin soup coz he said i will regret when i kena from the parents if they are too conservative.

But for those food that are not printed in black n white - we can still swap or top up money, right?

leoliz

vnn,

your coordinator is doing the right thing to still include shark fin soup in your contract. I supposed all the dishes are opened for discussion before food tasting... depending on your negotiation skills, you may be able to have them changed for free or with a cost...

vvn

nutty,
thanks for the advice!

btw, how long before your AD is the food tasting done? is 2 months enough?

rachiru

I had my wedding @MM.I muz give them my thumb up!Especially my coordinator Malcolm,he is a very helpful guy where do give me alots of advice.But sad to know he had left MM.He'll b having his wedding @ MM in oct.I think most of the MM's employee not happy wif the new management.

Nutty,
Ginko yam paste is nice,most of my guests like it alot.

chng

Hi Rachel,

When did u held yr wedding? How did u know Malcolm was doing his wedding @MM in Oct? U mean there a new management at MM? Cos I know got lotsa reshuffling of staff but dunno got change in mgt.

rachiru

Hi tots

Wow,so many questions fr u ah,hehe!I had my wedding in Feb'06 but booked the banquet in May'05.
Malcolm told me & my hb abt his wedding when we r preparing our wedding.His wedding will b hold at Grand ballroom.Last 2 weeks juz saw him at Taka,he realli look very diff w/o the suit.
I think they have changed a new management cos if i'm not wrong I saw an article on newspaper mentioning it.(I think is the chatterbox's chef article in ST)

wyy

Rachel,
agreed...Malcolm looks different without suit....

Just sharing, this sat i will be going to Top of M to have dinner wif hubby with the vochur given by MM for my wedding....Rachel, have you been there?

leoliz

vnn,
the food tasting usually is 1 mth b4 the AD

Wong YY,
were you given free room service on your wedding day? I am given neither the voucher nor free chatterbox treat lei

wyy

nutty,

when i check into my suite on my AD dinner, I was given free $150 top of M vouchur, $50 electronic vochur which i can order food to room, free breakfast to room during my 2 day stay, free tea at their club house and free cocktail at their lounge. Also a free cake and a bottle of champange after the dinner. So pampered by MM.

Before that, when i 1st meet my coordinator, Malcolm then. He gave me tea at lounge, sign contract was tea too. Last meeting for confirmation of my dinner details, he gave me a treat to their buffet at the 5th floor resturant (which i think is abt $60+++ per pax).

Was realli pleased with MM....one more thing. They did the dish according to our comment during the food tasting. Though a few guests dun really like it but cannot blame MM cos is what I actually for.....heehee....my parents are pleased with MM too.

chng

Hi Rachel,
Sorry for the "bombardment" of questions. But thanks for answering them all.

Hi Wong YY,
Just like to know when is yr AD? Wonder was it the new mgt that gave you the vouchers etc since Nutty din get it. Was just wondering why is there double standard ini this case?

Hi Nutty,
When's yr AD?