Mandarin Orchard Singapore

jaslyn_82

anyone know that Mandarin Ballroom is undergoing renovation?
Cos as i was going to confirm my venue they told me the min will be increased to 55 instead of 50 after the renovation..
When i ask them they should at least let me take note that there will be a renovation and after renovation they will increase the no. of min tables etc..

adelene

Upon signed the contract for Mandarin Ballroom, it was stated that at Min 50 tables, hence there won't be any changes to it.

However, not too sure about those who have not signed up with them. You may want to check it with your coordinator.

jaslyn_82

Hi Blue Ginger,

I check with the coordinator already..
she say my date is after the renovation so have to increase to 55 tables becos i havent sign the contract..
But I mean that they should at least tell me in the beginning that the ballroom is undergoing renovation and the tables will be increase from 50 to 55 from which date..
When I ask her she just say min is 50 tables..
Somemore, I already told her my date in the beginning.. Maybe she did not take it in mind..
Its not easy to add another 50 people...

Sorry to complain to much ah..
Thanks for ur help!

wyy

jaslyn,

i sense ur frustration and actually quite irritating too.

maybe u can ask her if you sign the package now, are u bounded to min 50 table? cos is not fair to sign a package that applies to the future...

I am not too sure but i think you need to clarify with your coordinator also feel like she is not as helpful as compared to other coordinator i meet....

jaslyn_82

Hi YY,

She says cos my AD is next year..
I also find that she is not so friendly and not willing to help...
so intend to change venue already..
Anyway thanks...

darren__eve

HI, I thought when we sign the paper,
min no. of tables will be noted in the contract as well.
Can we just use that to maintain our stand?

wyy

westerveld, from what i know from my coordinator, we can. And i feel that too cos is written black and white.

from what jaslyn experience, i was surprise cos does that mean that bcos i having my wedding in 2006, the table price follows 2006 rate which my contract is signed in 2005 (tabel rate follows the 2005 rate)?

think her coordinator is not being professional to explain clearly.

jaslyn_82

Hi Westerveld,
I have not sign the contract...
but when I wanted to confirm, she told me have to be min 55 tables becos of the renovation.. cos renovation is done before my AD..

Hi YY,
sent u a mail...
my table rate is follow 2007 pricing.. not 2006 even i sign in 2006... thought its like this for all the hotels? they look at the AD date..
my coordinator is always in a rush when she talk to me..

chng

I signed my contract in 2005, per table rate also follow 2005 rate though my AD is in Oct 06.

Wong YY,
From my understanding, I think yr coordinator Malcom has been transferred over to Neptune. He was my coordinator and I recieved a letter few months back to inform of the transfer and coordinator changed.

wyy

hi tots,

yup he has been transfer but the major discussion was done with him. on my AD, event was taken good care by Derrick. Overall i am pleased with everything.

chng

Hi Wong YY,

So wanna check with you how is Derrick? Cos he's supposed to take over Mal's duties. I haven't call or met Derrick yet.

Hi Jaslyn,

I think as long as the following year prices are not out yet, then they will quote u based on year of contract signed. Eg. If u enquire now and 2007 prices are out, then chances are u will be charged based on 2007 $. But if prices not out and you sign NOW, u should be getting the 2006 prices though yr AD is 2007. (Unless they change their policy lah)

jaslyn_82

Hi Tots,

oic.. thanks.. their 2007 prices are out when I enquire..
but I heard from other hotels whose prices are not out yet, they will normally add $30 per table for the next yr..

wyy

hi tots,

derrick is good, my HB like him. He find him sincere and relaible guy.

as for me, i did not really spoken to him. But inital stage when he called me to confirm the table no. i find him very polite. On ad, i see him, very "si wen".

sharlyn

hi jas,

From my understanding. Once they tell you the min of GTD table for each room.it will be the same and just make sure they indicate inside the contract.i am aware that they are doing some renovation for the ballroom during only 7th month.

i think it will look nice after renovation becos now it looks a bit old.BUt it does not affect me as i am using ACT 1 for my wedding.

jaslyn_82

hi sharlyn,

my coordinator say will change after the renovation..
anyway, my HB not very happy with this matter..
have to wait for him to decide...
Who is ur coordinator?
When is ur AD?

jaslyn_82

Hi sharlyn,

My AD will be on Dec 07...
My coordinator is Doreen..
I havent decide to choose Mertius Mandarin becos of the issue..
I would most prob change hotel..

sharlyn

Hi Jas,

Not to worry.if you find that you are not comfortable talking to her you might want to try other coordinator as i believe there is more than one coordintor in Mandarin right? If you like their package and place i think it not worth changing off because of her.

jaslyn_82

Hi sharlyn,

Yup.. thanks..
but my HB want to go and see more places..so we went to see Marina Mandarin and me and my HB find it very nice and comfortable..
so maybe considering there also..

earl_grey

I am having my wedding dinner at Meritus Mandarin in 2 weeks' time, but I have not chosen the wedding favour and deco theme. Is this normal? Should I push my catering manager about this?

sharlyn

Hi Skippy,

Chris is very friendly and helpful as he clear most of my doubts and give me good advice for my wedding but he is always busy and abit hard to get him.But i am very comfortable with him as most of the time if i cant get him. i will email him if i have any questions and he will call me and let me know about new things that mandarin had.

when it yr wedding?

sharlyn

hi earl grey,
i think they will call you next week already as i believe they will need to prepare their own operation things also.not to worry. who is your wedding consultant?

kenbel75

Hi, my friend just went MM last Sun for a wedding banquet and she came back complaining. Got myself worried as I'll be having mine at MM in Dec 06. Just for reference and to highlight during food tasting:
(1) Food
- not much sharkfins in the sharkfins with fish maw dish.
- portion of the serving is rather small.
- waiter removed the dish (can't remember if it's the lotus leaf &/or dessert) after serving each a portion instead of leaving for 2nd serving.
- fish not nice (dunno wat type).
- generally food not very nice.

(2) Service
- Waiter was like rushing to clear the dish.
- by 3rd dish, no more red wine after serving 1-2 bottles for the table. This is mostly the oversight of the couple but the waiter told them "limited red wine" and walked away.
- towards the end, the plates (after changing) were wet and one with stain.

They wrote in the feedback form and hopefully things will change for the better.

Hi earl grey,
Pls let us have your comments after your big day and congratulations!

chng

Hi ixus,

Wow...started to feel worried after readin yr comments. In fact there are a fair deal of good and bad critics given. For me the last round when I went for my friend's wedding in Nov 05, there were indeed minor hicups here and there. For example:
1) Insufficient carpark lots for guests. Many gotta resort to parking else where, so in the end were left with many complimentary carpark tickets.
2) One of the toilet cubicles got faulty. I called the coordinator 3-5 times within 2 hours before the housekeeper and maintanence came down to check.
3) Service staff spilled drinks on guest's shirt. But there were quick to response by giving the guest a spare shirt.
4) Light dim for a considerable long time before the first dish presentation was out.

From my understanding, all the ballrooms in the hotel were taken up that day, meaning 4 weddings. So I guess service might be compromise. But everytime i read about the good experiences about the other forum users from MM, I felt assured again. So as i say, sometimes it just depends on your luck too. Anyway, I sign liao so no turning back, just enjoy it! I guess even super posh hotels have small hicups at times too.

kenbel75

Yah, so let's pray hard they will improve after receiving all negative feedback and may future MM couples have a smooth & magical night there.

Aiyo, u mean the carpark got no space though they gave more complimentary coupons? That's bad. Hopefully weekday is better. When's ur AD?

wyy

ixus:
once i know that MM has changed management and my good coordinator was transfer, i now cannot say much about the other coordinator besides Derrick who is taking over Mal cos i never spoken to them.

But one thing for sure, anything that goes wrong is most prob due to communication btw u and ur coordinator and maybe the coordinator with the kitchen.

For your friend who complained on food. I believe he/she had a food tasting session. did she comment on it? I actually write the comment down during the food tasting and ask my coordinator to follow exactly. And i think my coordinator (either Mal / Derrick) has followed closely.

For the red wine, did she sign with 2006 package or 2005? cos if 2006, one red wine per table...then someone have to make sure mm give the qty. if 2005 package (where host provide the wine), then may have to inform the captain not to be stingy over wine. I think mm staff is helping the host to save.

I enjoyed my wedding. and i did experience a wonderful night. after the wedding, the staff was quick to react when i called them to help find my father's gold ring. Within 15min, the staff brought the ring to my suite to return which impresses me. try thinking, finding a small ring in Mandarin Court thought the hall is not too big but still is not easy to find.

BTW ixus, email you liao.

kenbel75

Hi YY, my friend went there to attend the wedding banquet (as a guest). My coordinator also changed from Francis to a lady (forgotten the name) whom I've not spoken to. Perhaps I should request for a change.
How early before the AD did you have your food tasting and collection of invitation cards?
Hopefully, I'm as lucky as you! Thks for sharing your pics.

wyy

ixus:

i have my food tasting about 1 month b4 AD. for wedding cards, i collect (with printing everything) abt 1-2 months b4 AD.

Francis is also being changed? Francis is also another nice coordinator. He did my MIL's boss son wedding. I think the old is being replace by new. Quite sad and disturbing.

I think since for you, most all the arrangement is thru Francis should not be a prob. If you feel unconfortable, maybe you may want to talk to the lady coordinator.

adelene

YY,
I think MM is really up to something this year. My coordinator have been changed to Jasmi Tan. Guess we have to follow-up closely with the coordinator liao! No more relax life.

kyra

New here =)

Going to be a 2007 bride (though already ROM last year). Have started looking around at the ballrooms and collated several quotations.

HB and I going to meet a coordinator at MM this Friday. Anything I should look out for? We are looking at Mandarin Court for 30-35 tables.

It was a lady who emailed me the quote, but we have not met her before. I tried calling her yday but she didnt pick up. In the end, my call was trf to another guy. He had wanted to pass us back to the lady but then called about 20mins later to say that he would be following up with us instead.

From another forum, I heard rave comments about Francis but got to know that he is no longer with MM. We are meeting Henry instead. Anyone liaising with him as well?

Many thanks in advance! =)

wyy

agreed Blue Ginger.

Better follow carefully cos with this changing of coordinator is really disturbing, right?

kyra, i think Henry should be ok. Heard his name before. No other comment cos never spoken to him before.

lipstar

Paiseh... so long didn't return here after my favourable compliments about my wedding experience at MM.

ixus: Is your new lady coordinator Jesmi Tan? Cos my coordinator was originally Francis who even treated me & hubby to lunch at Chatterbox - that was our 1st time trying the ultra-expensive chicken rice. Wasted man. Hubby and I already had our lunch. We weren't hungry, but die die also must try the famous chicken rice.

If so, don't worry. Jesmi is also very helpful.

Blue Ginger: Don't worry. Jesmi is quite nice. Helpful and meticulous. On our wedding day, hubby and I used white paper and hand-wrote (our handwriting not nice
"GROOM" and "BRIDEGROOM" to place on the reception table as directions for guests to register. Jesmi surprisingly turned up, saw those ugly signs and immediately went to print out nice ones for us on the spot.

lipstar

earl grey: I think we decided on the theme like colours of table cloths, seat covers, flowers... etc 2-3 wks before our dinner. Cos we have to give them details like do we need a stand to place our wedding album, how mnay Muslim and vegetarian tables, wedding favours... etc.
If you haven't, give your coordinator a call.

adelene

YY, You got mail.

Lipstar,
Thank you for commenting on my new coordinator.

Anyone know what kinda wedding theme and favour are they offering this year?

alesa

Hi kyra
Im having my AD on 11nov this year and my coordinator is henry. He is very experienced as he has been there for many years. We are both happy with him as he is very prompt in his replies and friendly as well.

kyra

Hi alesa

Thanks for sharing. We are looking at Sept 2007. Read some good comments abt Henry too. Now I feel more relieved. He does sounds friendly over the phone =)

Anything I shd look out for in the contract? Did you manage to get good perks etc? *wink*

wenshi

Hi Blue Ginger,

Did MM inform u before they change ur coordinator? I'm quite worry coz I quite long never contact my coordinator as my AD is year end lor.

Anyone here has Adeline as coordinator? I found she is very friendly n easy going person ler. But I seldom see her name in this thread ler???

adelene

Hi wenshi,

My coordinator drop us an email to crack the news. Don't worry! No news means good news.

Mine almost end of the year. So far, nothing much to do until the date draw closer.

I didn't know your coordinator. Can't help.

wenshi

Hi Blue Ginger,

ur AD also end of the year huh? Many couples choose year end wor. Anyway happy preparing ur wedding!

kenbel75

Hi Lipstar,
Thks for the assurance. Yes, my coordinator was changed to Jesmi.

BlueGinger,
I also dunno wat they are offering for wedding theme & favors. Interested to know too.