Mandarin Orchard Singapore

rainne

Hi Ling

Thanks for your advice. I went to a few.. Went to French bridal oso.. I must say their photography very good.. but i dun like the gowns cos me quite small size, gowns are quite impt factor to me..

Really difficult to mk a choice, i agree too many choices mk it harder for me to mk decision.

Hope to get one BS with both nice pics and gowns
very greedy hor.. I like both WL and SWC.. May go for anothr BS, then will hv to decide..

krisjon

Afternoon Ladies !!!

Ling(lux) > Wah.... GHA not bad... their cutting seems relatively sophiscated but too bad lah, my FH give me a very tight budget and moreover he is those conservative man, cannot bear back too low and in front must cover up and therefore, my choice of BS very limited. INitially, my no. one choice is Divine Couture and Ritz Couture but all the OTR dresses sure cannot pass one... well i had no says in all these, in the end, I will get preaching by him. Dun think I can have any photographers during my ROM... my FH said no points and cut cost... ask his friends to take for us can liao... hiaz... But then MM package is worth the value...

Zhuzhu > Yah, they had one standard package for their weekend dinner... but reassure tat they are very flexible, they can allow you to switch here and there in the dishes... And overall, I find that their food is better than Marina Mandarin, ( the last once i attend the wedding in these 2 hotels are last Nov and Dec 04)

Sweet > Heehehe!!! Think I better get the contact from Henry when nearer to the date... I wanna visit her nursery and make sure if she had the kind of flowers that I want.
Do you have the no. for Yew Kwang? May be having a bit of top up for the decos...

Phy *o* > Hi hi... welcome to MM thread. Yah, I have already signed up with them 2 weeks ago. Having around 25 to 28 tables and I am taking the belvedere room. At least most of my things settle except for video and photographer... Another question, my BS did not included the bridal veil and accessories in my contract, should I go back to them and asked them to fill in for me? Or will there be any additional cost incurred to me if I dun get them to add in for me???

chipndale

welcome back ling!
so did u top up for your flowers? or ask malcolm to settle everything for you? trying hard to recall what kinda flowers u used during your dinner but cant leh! like the idea of a mini garden!!! =)

chipndale

zhuzhu,

u are making me worried abt the food too! my gf just attended a dinner at MM- there were 89 tables and she said the food sucked, so did the service!!! so i asked arouund some more and found 2 other friends who gave a thumbs up for the food. seems like food is really a very subjective thing...jsut aim to please your parents and in laws lor.

zhuzhu07

I think I have to source for other hotels if the food is reli tt bad leh.
My fren's fren say the food was good. Could it be the hotel main chef throwing tantrums or wat??

phy_o

Hi Rainne,

If you are really seriously considering French, I've posted a transfer package on the bridal exchange: http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/153856/268492.html?1112751634

It's my colleague's package but she's not interested in it anymore ue to personal reasons. You can go to the site and take a look. I thought it was a pretty good deal when she showed me the stuff. Too bad I had signed up my BS two days before she showed me. Haha ...

phy_o

Hi Ling!

You're going to be a mummy soon. So stay happy ya? Then your baby happy come out will also be happy like you.
I heard that if you talk to your baby during pregnancy, your baby actually listens to you! Oh yes! Music also affects baby's mood. Must listen to those soothing music too ya!

mayng

jules: kekek.. ya like a mini garden. i did not top up. Malcolm made do with the artifical flowers which looks so real... and some ask me if the flowers are real

271723.jpg

phy: kekeke....i am always happy... kekeke... i frown when my dogs are noti... ya always nagging at my bb.. wahaha bb very noti oso.. cos last week went to see doc for a Down symdrom scan, the bb got so angry n turned its back on the doc 2 times.. kekeke...

lux

Ling, Wow the place looks great although from far the stage looks kinds downey. Thanks for sharing the pictures!

Gingercat,

GHA is actually rather low end compare to the likes of Divine Couture leh! Me also same mentality abt the hiring photographer for ROM..Dont hire, save money. However got a bit tempted when we change venue. Furthermore we want everyone to be in the pictures instead of a few of our friends running ard taking the pics.

Ya agree about the value for money bit about meritus. Waiting for FH to come back before going down. Hopefully the date we want still available!

mayng

ling: those are glass which looks like bird nest... inside plc with candles... GHA consider the normal budget range... where DC more ex... i went to DC and saw their gowns... i quite like it, but the only thing is the costume jewellery must rent from another plc.. which was few shops away..

gohwf

Hi ling

the pics u showed which ballroom is tat?
i think i'll b going for my ballroom deco discussion beri soon...so need some advice...
wat r the available design they hve?
when ppl say top up...wat kind of thing we need 2 top up?

Hi rainne

hehe..
...nice 2 c u here..so u hve confirmed yr hotel liao...which ballroom u booked?

ya a bit headache on the BS..source 4 a few BS, then compare wat they hve 2 offer n the prices..then go 2 whichever u wan n start negotiating with them....

mayng

vivian: mine is Grand ballroom. top up from 200+ onwards. how much difference? i really dunno. maybe like wat flowers u like to see, and how much more u wanna add...

tulipblue

wah..so many posts..

rainne,
maybe juz shortlist abt 3-4..more than enuff to decide what you and ur FH want in the package..otherwise will get more headaches
you won't want to have that so early coz the later part of preps got more things to think abt..hee

ling n,
your decor look so nice!
no wonder so happy with Malcolm lah..hahah he did a good job..so u left the decor to him rite? my coordinator is Henry so i wun be meeting him till abt 2 months time to discuss coz AD in Nov...perhaps one of these days will pop by Belverdere when there's a wedding and see how it looks like...

gohwf

Hi ling

oh the grand ballroom...nice nice...i like yr deco...hehehe..
the deco is u chose one or malcolm help u decide? so the top up is base on wat kind of flowers u need izzit?

mayng

tulip: ya i left it all to malcolm, as he assured me he will do his best... cos topping up means money too...

vivian: i left it all to malcolm... he took all the pain to make it so nice... all compliments to him... ya top up based on wat u need or wat u wan more...

krisjon

Hi Ladies !!

How do you all determine what kind of theme you want? Will the florist help you out in this decorations??

Talking about theme, honestly, have no clue where to start from...

phy_o

Hi GingerCat,

How's your wedding preparation? I wanted to reply to you after my last two messages. Typed a long reply! Guess what? My boss came by and tata ... the screen automatically disappeared!!!

Sigh ... Can't recall what I typed that day already. I guess I'm not taking this MM again. FH says many of his colleagues are having theirs there. So he doesn't want the same.
... really vexed that hotel is not settled.

mayng

vivian: errr...... scratch head.. how to tell u... kekeke read between words.. kekekkeke

ginger: u will get to choose the likely theme 2mths or 1mth before ur AD.. dun think too much now.. relax n get others done first..

Phy: to each its own.. dun mean others take MM u cant take MM, right? my gf got married in May 04 in MM, i attended a wedding dinner in MM in Aug 04, my wedding oct04 in MM, my gf who is looking for her wedding too at MM... as long as value for money and good food n service.. who cares if the same plc. cant be others wanna take MM then u forget abt the money u can save when u take MM... gng to others meaning u gng to spend more .. which is really more.
when i chose MM, i did not care if others having at MM, more impt tt we wanted MM... so if u hold at the same plc.. not an issue...

MM is located very well near Somerset n orchard MRT n lots of buses go there too.. convenient plc for all..

icecream

Hi previous brides of MM,
Can I know whether you managed to breakeven for the banquet? I'm having a public holiday dinner at MM and I'm wishing & hoping & crossing my fingers that I can at least break even...
Anyone can provide more info?

mayng

icecream: more or less depends on the guest u invite. if colleagues, abt 80-100... relatives at times lower but oso depends close or not... usually u should standby abt 5-8k for the loss.
this amt is surely enough to cover the normal weekend tables in MM.
u can too cut cost by not topping up for deco. dun spend so much on things tt u dun need like Angbao box, which MM can provide u with a nice glass bowl.

littlepanda

just wondering, when ppl say break even for dinner, is it the cost of the dinner alone, or does it mean i have to get back roughly the amount i spent on everything, like the dress, make up, photoshoot and all the lap lap sap sap?

hope can help me understand more.

mayng

little: break even mention only the Banquet.... if ount everything in.. kekekek tt will be a Bigger loss.. kekeke.. but if the Banquet is making.. of cos u can add the lap lap sap sap too.. kekeke

littlepanda

sorry to ask again,

how much roughly does one normally spend for a wedding in total? not including the dinner? is spending 20K for everything, except dinner too much?

mayng

little: depends how much u willing to fork out.... here's roughly my breakdown for my wedding in oct 04....

Bridal shop (Basic) 2888
Extra Photos 2020
Makeup Artiste 100 (for 2nd hairdo change but she give me total 3 hairdo for dinner)
Dowry 3888
Jewellery 6000
shoes 50
Angbaos for Bro,Sis 1200
misc 500
AD photo & video 1400

u can cut lots of cost on the Jewellery part... cos i am a teochew, expect the 4 types gold.. and u see my shoes i buy those Charles n keith ones.. kekeke.. i stingy. we used our own car, so the BS will charge lesser 200-300.

mayng

little: dun ahve to take alot of pics from the Bs, like me.. take up to 60 pieces... now.. the album land in cupborad... collect dust... 20 plus is more than enuff.. if u take more u can bargain

rainne

Hi Tulipblue

Thanks, I have managed to shortlist 2 BS, sophia and Whitelink. Will be gog down to the 2 BSs with my FH to negotiate for better deals then decide. how abt yours?

Who's next to hv wedding at MM? Mine in Dec 05. Just to confirm with u gals, MM will not be contacting us until time get nearer?

mayng

rainne: kekeke.. so kan chiong? coordinators will contact u abt 2 mths before ur AD to arrange meet up with u.
in mean time, decide when u wan to arrange the food tasting and given ur coordinator a ring so he/she can arrange the rest for ur food tasting.

tulipblue

hi rainne,

hehe..i have already booked mine..at J&M..also along the tanjong pagar stretch..

my coodinator told me that he will contact me again in June to start the preps...u might want to check with ur coordinator..who is ur coordinator?

gohwf

Hi Rainne

i think i might b the next 2 hve wedding at MM...on 18 Jun....2 more mths 2 go...

remember 2 try 2 bargain as much as possible with these 2 BS n c who can offer u more...
...all the best....

gohwf

Hi Ling

hehehe....read between words...chim....anyway thanks for the advice..

oh my goodness..might hve 2 top up 5-8k for the loss, i'm oni prepared abt 3k for the loss (excluding the tables given by my hubby 2 my parents)...kekeke..hope is enough..
...keep my fingers cross..

rainne

Hi Tulipblue

My coordinator is Francis.. Think he did told me that will contact us 2 mths b4 AD.. think i m too kan chiong :p

Hi Vivian

so guess u must be very excited now as the date is nearer.. keke..

mayng

rainee: kekkeek dun be kanchiong relazx... u should now set a date to go for food tasting.. like a mth before AD.. i think the food tasting should valid till the mth before AD.

gohwf

Hi Rainne

ya..beri excited....
this wed going for my food tasting liao n at the same time both parents will tok abt the GDL things...
so hve u decided which BS u wan 2 engage?

Hi Ling

Thanks...will hve 2 keep my fingers cross...

jellybean07

I ahve just confirmed my booking with Meritus Mandarin for 11 mar 2006.

Think their package is the best I have seen so far...esp the free flow of beer bit...

rainne

Hi Vivian

I have not confirmed which BS to take yet.. waiting to negotiate with them.. Prob gog this weekend cos still trying to get hold of the coordinator..

Hi Jelly

Besides the free flow of beer, actually i think they have throw in quite abit of perks and dont have to negotiate for more..

jellybean07

Hi Vivian and Rainne,

I have to agree with you on this man...

Also, i feel that the package is not as ex as the rest of the hotels.....

mayng

i can see u all getting real excited..kekek...

errr... talking GDL over food tasting? i would suggest to have a separate day for tt... never know wats gng to happen. i had mine both on separate days... simple cos GDL comes out from my hubby's pocket.. but of cos before tt, hubby should tell u how much he can afford and wat he can provide. the girl should ask wat her parent expect and wat kind of dowry they looking for etc.. so both u n ur hubby will have a general understanding n compromise... then when a common understanding is reached, shared them with both sets of parents.. at least when meet again, they will know wat to say..

on the food tasting.. best to get to know each other.. not first time sit down dinner talk abt dowry... etc.. unless its not the first time the two families sitting down for dinner...

my 2 cents worth.

gohwf

Hi Ling

oh..the two families had met up b4 liao..during our ROM lunch...n aso when my hubby's parent came 2 visit my dad when he's sick...

i aso had ask my mom wat she wans for the GDL, n told my hubby abt it..so far my hubby is fine with the terms...of cos hve 2 keep my fingers cross tat my mom wouldn't change her mind...

mayng

vivian: kekeke tts good... have a good dinner at MM... dun worry so much abt mum changing her mind, cos usually tts the case.

camy: when's ur wedding? hasnt over yet? 3k

ninkumput

Just wonder if MM could provide a small changing room near the grand ballroom so that the couples don't need to walk back to the suite to change?

mayng

ninkumput: i had my wedding at MM grandballroom... i went back to my suite to get changed. but u can check it out if they have one for u to change..