Mandarin Orchard Singapore

gohwf

Hi Ling

will discuss with my coordinator on how 2 arrange the tables in such a way tat most of the guests r nt blocked...
Thanks....

by the way, congratulation 2 u on yr coming baby...

mayng

vivian: best to talk to ur co-dinator as they will be able to handle all queries. i think u should approach them abt 2mths before ur big day to get the seating arrangements, as more or less u already cfm the number of tables. They can work out a good arrangement with ur cfm number of tables.

tks.. kekeke... wishing all MM's bride oso faster get pregnant.. kekeke.. all have little doggie next yr. kekekeke..

gohwf

Hi Ling

this morning, the coordinator send me the layout of the tables liao...quite satisfied...

ya lor as wat u say 24 tables, nt so much blockage...but those behind really will b blocked liao...

mayng

vivian: u are fast ya... gladu got wat u need.. the plan.. keke it helps u to be sure abt ur table arrangements. but be careful, at times u might have extra guest.. kekeke.. so all these have to be put into considerations.

krisjon

We have signed up with Meritus Mandarin for our wedding dinner. What I can say is that their service is prompt and excellent!! Moreover their package are very comprehensive too and most of the things we required are in the package... no need to bargain for more...
I am taking the Belverede room.

Vivian > Congrates!! Going to be an official Mrs soon. Which BS are you from?

Hallie > So when will you be seeing MM? Did you manage to get my coordinator?

Ling, congrates to your on coming baby

hallie

hi gingercat,

not yet, 'cos rather busy these days. maybe will try to call him later this week n fix appt next week. ;p Let u know again..

mayng

ginger: congrats to u too for becoming a MM's bride. Rest assured tt ur coordinator will do a wonderful job. ENjoy urself during the wedding n it preparations.. and the preparations take ages.. while the wedding will be gone in a day.. kekke... tts the funny part abt getting married.. kekekeke

krisjon

Hallie > I will be at MM this friday. Need to take a peak at the Belvedere room again.
At the same time some discussion with my coordinator.

Ling > Thanks!! We have faith with our coordinator and most importantly towards MM. Yah...I agree with you... take ages to prepare and it will just end within one day...
And after that,... will try hard to have our first baby.

rainne

Glad to c tat so many are MM BTBs

Havent been here quite some time liao.. busy looking at the BS's forum..

Mine is oso at Belvedere room.. Abit worried that the pillar will block pple's view.. But i m sure their gd services can mk up for that..

Hi Ling

hope everything fine for u and yr baby

chipndale

wow ling your checkups very high frequency huh? but 1st babt sure very precious...=). u want boy or girl?

have confirmed the wedding dinner to be at MM. very happy to have finally settled it.quite satisfied with the package my coordinator offered me in the end. think MM really has a very gd overall package which already includes perks that u ahve to bargain for at other hotels.

gingercat who is your coordinator?

rainne, u signed up at MM already?

mayng

Jules: not me alone goes to check up often, 1st 3 mths have to see gynae like every 2 weeks, till after 3 mth stable already then one mth once.... the again fortnightly i think after 30weeks n weekly after 36weeks

mayng

Jules: lol... compare to a wedding.. i think wedding more expensive.. ekke bb is so much cheaper.. kekeke... 2-3mths $1600, 3-9mth $1800, delivery abt $3000.. total abt $6.4k... still very much cheaper.. dun forget giving birth can use Medisave and still got grant.. whaha.. wedding no grant hor. all from own pocket.

chipndale

hey hey, as u said b4 also, wedding over in 1 day...the little babe will be stuck with u for life!!! so definitely not only 6.4k oh...=) think i must enjoy life a bit after becoming a MRS b4 becoming a mummy! kekeke

krisjon

Jules > My coordinator is Henry. He is very friendly and in fact effective. Both myself and my FH like his service. Prompt and efficient. Compare with other hotel coordinators we have met, we both thumbup for Orchard MM service.

chipndale

hey has anyone tried bargaining for free flow wine?? just heard that marriot is offering free flow of wine for wedding dinners between now and august 2005. 1st time i heard of such an offer!

mayng

jules: is there such a lovely bargain? i once ask abt their wine, costing abt 68+++.. i got shocked... but if really GOT FREE FLOW WINE, why not... but.... i frankly doubt this is TRUE

chipndale

yes there is such a lovely bargain!!! its printed big big for all to see on the marriot website!!! serving wine at dinner is so ex leh...feel like telling the waitors that all my guests are recovering alcoholics...so NO ALCOHOL FOR ANYBODY!!!he he... i seriously doubt we can bargain for this kinda thing in MM anyway. wld be lucky to get a free bottle of wine. =)

gohwf

Hi Ling Ng

Thanks..will keep tat in mind...the guest list really a headache now thinking who 2 invite who nt 2 invite...especially colleagues, invite this one tat one dun invite aso cannot....
these few wks keep working on my guest list...but more or less the figures r there...

Hi ginger

congratulation 2 u as well...so when's yr AD?
i with sophia wedding collection...how many tables u r looking at?

mayng

vivian: ya.. the guest list is the pain in the neck.. try to invite abt 40 person more .... cos usually last min ppl will fail to turn up.

chaiyo

Recently I called up Meritus to ask if they going to have wedding show in near future. The lady said they not going to host anymore bridal show liao. Maybe they used to have lah. I tink maybe their perks quite good liao thats y they tink no point hosting shows ba ....

I hope this helps

krisjon

Vivian > Thanks!!
My AD is on the 24 June 2006. I am with Yvonne Creative and looking at 28 tables. Therefore no choice but to take the belverdere room. Beside the pillars, I think the room is perfectly fine.

Ling > How do you ensure that all your guest turns up on that day? Now I am worried about my guest for not turning up and then later lots of nonsenses... especially from my mother side relatives.. .hiaz...

Chaiyo > They do not host any more wedding show because according to them, their wedding dinner response is good and think they dun practice it anymore.

mayng

ginger: do ur RSVP 1-2 weeks before. and u have to estimate abt 20 guest not gng to come...usually u will have 2 reserve tables, make sure u invite to the max including the 2 reserves... so even if 20 guest never come, the most ur 2 reserve dun open only... one reserve on each side, so it looks better...
there is nothing much u can do... 3-4 days before, ask ur mum to call her relatives lor

lux

hi Chaiyo and ginger,

I am just afraid they suddenly jack up the price for 2006. Pretty interested in them for 2006 banquet but wanna see if they have those 'cheap' offers like a small discount on the tables.. heh heh

mayng

Ling: jack up price?? no .. every Hotel n banquet will have price increase yearly.. its from 1% to 5% increase. it has always been a practise... but i guess no matter how much MM gng to raise its price, it still gng to be stil value for money.

krisjon

Ling > Oh... okay... that means I will have to send out the invitation cards in 2 batches?? Hm...mmm... guess I have to do a full listing on my guests this time.

Ling(lux) > I Agree with Ling cos Hotel only increase their pricing on a yearly basis.

lux

Hi girls..

What I meant was an increase of prices by a substantial amount.

Even if it is warranted increament I still feel a high increase is jacking up.

Anyway ignore me.. Was just nosing ard

mayng

Ginger: 1st batch 1.5-2 mths ealier... then another 2-3 weeks before.. but wat ever the amt u sent, it should always be more than the amth u book.. so u have less table problems later... if u have 40 tables, sent abt 50 tables.. surely got drop outs..

Ling: no hotel will have a price hike by alot. and it has always been a trend of 1%-5% increase, reasonable amt. Our living std is forever increasing, of cos the banquet n many others will have price increase too. i bet all working adults oso wan yearly increment, and does all this money come from? Banquet staff oso need pay increment too... so increasing 1-5% alot? i bet not enough to cover all the staff increment yet. Just stating fact. if everyone felt its alot to have wedding dinner, then dun have one. so u wont get to be affected by the Price hike.

lux

Ling

Thanks for the advice.

The reason why I was asking AT ALL was because Regent and Mandarin Marina are up by at least 9% for next year prices. THAT.. is what I would call jacking up. I am hoping to hold it at Meritus thus just asking ard for the 2006 pricing if there might be hearsay of increament or price hike. Is there any wrong in that statement?

I am just curious if I offended you on the past threads or otherwise? I mean I am here to ask for advice and get resources for my wedding and I feel you are being simply rude. Manners and ettiquette are inculcated so I wont blame you since you are obviously lacking in that area.

However please take heed this is a free forum and we all have our rights to opinion and if you find some questions which you think are not worthy of your time, please just DONT reply.

All the same, I still appreciate your advice abt cancelling my wedding banquet in my best interest.

chipndale

hi ling(lux),

if i am not wrong, meritus mandarin has just raised its prices from 588+++ to 608+++ for weekdays. when i asked re the price for oct 2005 and Jan 2006, was told the price is still 608+++ as the perks are better and stuff. why not just call them up to double check? meritus truly has very comprehensive perks, eg free flow beer,2 nights in bridal suite, free LCD projector, all thrown into the pckage automatically already. really saves a lot of time on bargaining!

lux

Jules...

Yupe that what was forward to me by meritus regarding the pricing for banquet but I sort of notice the trend of price adjustment prior/after wedding show.. fearful!! So thought I check on the forum if they have any pending wedding show...

Anyway you are right about the perks! That was why I was attracted to meritus. Save plenty of neg time and what's not.

krisjon

Morning Ladies

Ling > Thanks for your advice. Now I know when I will be sending out the invitation cards.

Ling (lux) > oh... The reason for the jack up price in Marina Mandarin is because of their renovation. Anyway, I am very turn off by Marina Mandarin with their service and attitude. For Orchard mandarin, the price went up by I think a hundred? I am also not very sure because I am paying for $708+++ per table for weekend. Did some calculations and research but overall, it seems reasonable to me with all the perks and things that they can accomodate to me.
I did asked my coordinator before how come the price is a jump every year and guess the valid answer they gave me is economic growing and so the price have to go up. I went to enquire on a few restaurants too, the price also went up by $50... Show it to my FH and that is why we had decided to book our banquet in a hotel instead ( have a free room to count ang pao ) Btw, which BS are you with? Any source of good AD photographer and videographer ( reasonable pricing ) ? I am headache over tis currently.

Ladies, anyone of you know which florist is Orchard Mandarin liaising with???

lux

Ginger...

Ya I want to sort of have information abt the banquets places n stuff since FH will be back on home leave! So trying to gather the places where I can hold the wedding and in the end only found that a couple places that can accomodate our tables! *faint*

BS took GHA Tampines.. Regarding AD photographer have not looked into yet lah... it's 2006 for us so a bit long way still. However I personally like the work of Eulee and Hans

Webby www.photographybyeulee.com and www.onenineseven.com

Like their work but think a bit too pricey...However I am taking Eulee for ROM in August.. so hopefully if everything's good.. FH might take him for AD!!

chipndale

dun think they have impending wedding show leh....anyway, if anything, you shld always book early,cos at least the price won't increase further when they hold wedding shows in future. some one i know booked her dinner at meritus in 2004, dinner in late sept 2005. paying 588+++ rate and not 608+++ even though she gets the same stuff as what we do.all cos she book earlier

zhuzhu07

Hi gals, was looking thru MM and was surprised with their comprehensive package. Anyway Malcolm rec me the belvedere room cos i have between 22-25 tables. Seems the feedback on the belvedere room is not so fantastic. I need the free flow beer which is quite impt. They only have one standard weekend package which is $708+++ right?

cottoncandy

hi ginger cat

meritus mandarain's florist is a lady called Dolly
.. you can have a choice to ask the hotel to liaise with her on your behalf or u can do it directly too..

as for photographer, i can recommend u Yew Kwang
i enagaged him for our ROM as well as AD

phy_o

It has been a long time since I last came in! I'm still sourcing for hotel ... Geezz... the other MM was too rigid with their pricing. I can't take Merchant Court & Waterfront as I have not enough tables to fit their minimum requirement. Sigh ... What a headache!

Then I asked my FH, do you really mine Meritus M so much? Guess what? Now he says it's OK! After going a BIG round, I'm back where I started my search! By the way, does anyone know how many weddings can Meritus have at one time?

Hi GingerCat!
See you're here too! I've not managed to book with the other MM. How many tables are you having?

hokkaidolady

Hi Sweet (cottoncandy) and other MM brides

do you know what should we discuss with the florist - Dolly??
can we decide on the type of flowers??

Thanks in advance!!

cottoncandy

hi phy_*o*

understand that meritus has 3 ballrooms and there is a Act 1 Ballroom for very small functions.. so i guess normally at 1 time, it is 3 weddings together loh.. the grand ballroom, u need at least 55 tables.. for the 2 medium ballrooms, ard 20-40+ tables

hi happylady

understand that they have a few kind of deco, like tea-lights and others (hehehe... i dunno as i have seen them yet, but so far, coz i seen the tea-lights being the most popular choice) and also on the flowers.. if i m not mistaken, there are 3 kind of flowers to choose from like roses, orchid etc... any other additional deco items or other type of flowers (other than the ones given), a top up is required...

mayng

I am just curious if I offended you on the past threads or otherwise? I mean I am here to ask for advice and get resources for my wedding and I feel you are being simply rude. Manners and ettiquette are inculcated so I wont blame you since you are obviously lacking in that area. == i dun think this is a valid... sorry, i was just stating fact. nothing to be against u. Rude shant be a word using here, as i was purely trying to explain the price hike, which u were questioning abt. U might have been thinking i was pure rude tts why i did not reply, but i was away for biz during this period of time. if there is a 9% increase, i bet the other plcs will be able to provide reasons why such a price hike. our economy is for3ever growing, and demand of the living too increase. if 9% gng to be so significant, then i will just give tt plc a miss. each an individual hotel works differently, yearly increase in price will always in their mind, but increasing so much, meaning they will have to provide better service, food and perks.

Zhu zhu: i had my wedding with MM in oct 04, the food was far too good, and the portion was good too... service good... cant say excellent, wait ppl say i bias (correct spelling?).

Happylady: Malcolm recommended me to talk to Dolly before my wedding, but i told him tt, as long as he makes the right floral setup, i will leave everything to him... and the ballroom came up to be very pretty n cosy.. just like a mini garden...

phy: on 18 Oct 04, there were total of 4 weddings (including mine)

mayng

zhuzhu: my gf had her wedding there last May, comments same.... good... even my gf now oso thinking of MM for her wedding... my this gf went to Grand Shanghai 2 weeks ago, tt was her 1st choice, but now not even in her list... she says the food is bad... not enough n have to go home eat maggie.

rainne

So long din come in here.. still so active.. how's everyone? btw, anyone here gog to top-up for the ballrm deco?

I m still busy sourcing ard for BS.. Searching for BS is more headache than hotel.. u gals having same problem as me?

mayng

zhuzhu: when i went for the food tasting, i was always already thinking, will the AD dinner be the same as my food tasting... but be real frank, at food tasting only cook for ur one table, surely nice... but AD leh... so many table... minus abt 20% on food quality will be the real food on AD.... but at times.. the kitchen surprise u ... with the same food like food tasting.. kekek.. both my gf n myself had the same ting.. never minus in food taste.

Rainee: no need to top up if the noraml deco is good enuff for u...kekek BS problem.. keke.. have a budget in mind, and wat u wan.. a MTM or OTR, or good photos minus the pretty gowns.... then u slowly narrow down.. too many choices arent gng to be good for ur decision makiing...