Mandarin Orchard Singapore

cbkoh

Hi Jellybean, have you paid your deposit already? Which ballroom were you looking at? Trying to sell off my package at Mandarin Court somewhere near your date....Anyone interested? Please go to the Marketplace & Exchange Corner: Banquet Packages under the thread Meritus Mandarin March 2006 Package to let go!!! for more details. Thanks

mayng

camy: kekke.. really!!! congrats.. kekeke.. i tot i saw ur nick for ages .. kekeke.

krisjon

HI LADIES

Wah... so many postings...

By the way is there any particular captain that I should ask for to overlook the wedding function??

mayng

ginger... all the same.. i named two captains tt i wanted, but only one was arranged to my AD, but at the end of the day, things will surely goes well, so no worries who the captain is..
they will surely be there to make sure things are in properly order.

chaiyo

Morning ladies,
I am in the midst of signing up wif meritus and I hav a qns for u all. Is it impt to feel comfortable and happy wif the service of ur coordinator? My current coordinator has a serious attitute problem. I dun really like her. First of all she is not like those 'all smiles' salesperson who always smiles and look happy to meet us. In fact she always put on a black face. And we have to 'beg' her to give us additional perks instead of giving us w/o asking. And 'give way' halfway only. E.g. We asked for 30% of carpark coupon she only agreed 25%. I am in a dilemmna to change coordinator anot. I noe it may not be that ethical to change but both FH n I cant stand her.

mayng

vivian: they will have a list f things which need to be discuss.. dun worry.. they have a system in gng through with u

Chaiyo: how many tables are u gng for? cos tt will be a factor in giving u more carpark coupons. even if she can give u 30% but tt day all the ballrooms gng to have functions, there is no way all the cars can enter MM as well. if the Sales lady is having such Black Face attitude, i have longed given her a piece of my mind, and i wont wait till now. Opps.. MM gng to Mark me manz.. ekkeke.. U can ask for a change in Sales if u arent satisified. u can try calling the Catering Director to state ur change, but i doubt the 30% can come through even u ask for a change in sales person.
on my AD, there were a total of 4 weddings, and some of my guest park their cars at all different plcs. so even if u have 30%, u might not make use of it totally.

gohwf

Hi Ling

...less than 2 mths 2 my wedding..hehehe..

wat do u think of their food? i noe tat the rest tat is cooking the food is pine court rest, quite reputable but when it comes to wedding, whereby it's mass cooking...dunno how izzit like? i went 4 my food tasting...ok...but need 2 change some of the dishes...will meet up with my coordinator this sat 2 discuss further on tat...
so how r u? when is yr due date?
check with u, which ballroom r u using?

mayng

vivian: The fOod!!!! Thumbs UP! wahahaa.. after dinner all come tell me. food good.. wine good. as long as all merry n happy i am happy too.. ekekek... ok.. as for food tasting n actual dinner... slight diff... cos food tasting only one table, but dinner many tables
so give abt 10-20% discount on the food taste. but surprisingly, my food everything was ok. Changes of Menu can discuss over email or phone.. cos Coordintor gng to see u 2mths before the wedding to make sure all things tt they have to go through with u.
my bb EDD suppose to be 23 Oct 05 (my AD 18 Oct 04) but now the EDD keeps moving forward.. i very stress manz.. kekeke.. hate to clash with the anniversary.
i was using the Grand Ballroom (weekday wedding)

gohwf

Hi Ling

oh..tat's great...pray hard tat my food will b nice as well..cos i've been 2 shang-ri-la hotel for wedding dinner..but my colleagues commented tat their food nt tat fantastic..probably cos their expectation high thinking tat such gd hotel shd hve quite nice food..hehehe...

ask u wat type of wine did u use for yr dinner? cos my hubby n i nt tat kind of wine drinker...no idea which is which, wat is nice...can advise me..thanks..

oh..i tot usually the actual date is eariler then the EDD...how come yrs kept moving forward?
y u dun like yr bb same as yr anniversary? nice mah..hehehe..can celebrate together...

oic...no wonder i didn't c any pillars in yr foto..

mayng

vivian: usually when one's expectation of fodd for a certain plc, their taste automatic switch, but after eating.. they will tend to complain lor.. tts human.

I served Fullerton's house pour wine, Willoglen. nice with good taste. easy to drink.. i ordered 48 bottles, and all consumed before 9.45pm.

my EDD is earlier and kept changing, cos the size of thr fetus... the bigger it grows, the earlier the due date.
mai lah.. celebrate bb's birthday n anniversary.. sure no peace.. kekekeke

ya no pillars... even in Mandarin Court if u dun have lots of table, u will still have a pillarless ballroom

gohwf

Hi Ling

ya i believe so, when one expectation is there, their taste will change accordingly...
...hope my guest wouldn't hve so much expectation..hehehe...

Do u mean Willow Glen Cabernet Shiraz? read frm other threads tat some brides, their hotel is recommending this...but they say yr tongue taste bitter after u drink it down...

how many tables u hve? i dun hve so many tables, tat's y couldn't get tat...

hehehe...me blur blur, read as yr AD 23 Oct, yr EDD 18 Oct...so when u say yr EDD keeps moving forward..i blur liao..thinking forward is moving later...din think straight...hehehe...i heard tat u can hve the bb earlier if u wan, doc can help u on this..izzit? can hve it even on the date u wan...

mayng

vivian: depends on the yr u are getting.. yr 2004 is good.. 2003 might not be that nice.. all my gf came to my wedding love tt wine, and i ordered exrta 12 bottles to give away to my jiemei n brothers.. and my friends who got married after me, all ordered the same wine.. ubt be careful with the yr.. cos my friend's colleagues went to order from another person, that person not honeset and give them 2003.. so the wine change taste not nice. All my tables had wine.. none of the tables got no wine lor... kaoz.. i should have ordered more.. thinking free flow beer helps.. but now all love wine. kekeke.. me n hubby both sip some before the reception even started.. whaha.. we both can finish one bottle easily

i have total 53 tables.

my AD is 18 Oct 04, my bb edd is 23 Oct.. but at 11 week i went to check its 21 Oct..
oh... doc can help to deliver earlier . thts call induce.. i dun wan lah.. let me celebrate my 1st anniversary in peace.. whahah but very unlikely

cbkoh

If I'm not wrong, they charge per person the same price as per person on a table of 10 pp taking the Chinese menu. They can allow you to add a person to the existing table of 10 if you don't mind the squeeze. As to whether they charge you for the full table charge for 6 muslims and 2 vegetarian sitting at the same table, you've got to find out from them? Hope that helps! =)

cbkoh

poshbb: You managed to get a good deal for the wine from Fullerton or did you get it from MM? How much was it per bottle?

hollywood

i have also booked the MM ( belverdere Room). Any comments so far on their service and food....anybody having their wedding in FEb 06?

Holly

mayng

cbkoh: i got the House pour of Fullerton from a supplier..
the price depends on the number of bottle u take.

Hi Chaiyo,

May I know who is your coordinator?

Ladies, any recommendation on a nice and easy-to-negotiate coordinator that I shd look for to discuss the banquet package?planning to make an appointment with them soon

Hi Sweet,

anyone also held their solemization slightly before the dinner? will they allow me to do so without any additional charges? also, realized there is no free rental of LCD projection in the standard package.Will they give it to us?

mayng

precious: LCD etc all inside the basic package. better to check with ur coordinator to cf,. mine comes with it.

dawn45

hi Holly

Like to check with u how is ur package like after yr negotiation with ur coordinator?

U getting which date?

chaiyo

Hi preciousthots,

I hav changed my coordinator to Angie Seng. She my fren's fren's ex-colleague. Havent met her in person yet but she sound ok over the phone. At least 'open' for negotiation feel.

I am doing solemnization b4 the dinner too and they giving me the function rm for free. But u need to bring the decor from the main ballrm to the function rm cos its bot included unless u dun mind the place w/o decor lor ...

hollywood

hi dawn, my package is a nine course for 25 tables is at 708+++ per table. Includes 2 night stay at the bridal suite, 1night in deluxe room for helpers, carpark, floral arrangements, champagne and cake, food tasting for 10pax, predinner voucher, free lCD usage...etc..the usual throw ins.

I might be getting more than 25 tables now..so not really negotiated for more stuff...the rate per table is fixed but i plan to ask for more stuff ...not decided what to ask for yet..

my wedding date is 25 feb 06 at the belverdere room. the lady is spoke to is very nice and friendly. I am not sure though if she is my coordinator??? I negotiated and paid the deposit to her..does that mean..she is my wedding coodinator??

what is your package like? what date u getting?

Hello chaiyo, you mean u doing ur solemmization on the same day as ur wedding day or a different date? i am also looking for a venue for my ROM. We want to have high tea after the signing..you have any hotel recommendations..?? I wanted to try the carlton?? what u tink huh??

cheers,
holly

chaiyo

Hi Holly,
I never check wif them but I guess if u doing on the same day then they give u the function rm for free cos no food n drinks involve mah ... Solemnise finish proceed to cocktail where its include in wedding package mah.

Carlton ROM package is 1120+++ for 30pax leh. I have the picture they send me u wanna see? Like not very nice leh. (Sorry no offence leh :p) I would recommend Amara leh. 999nett(if havent increase price). Also got the pic to share wif u. If I rom separately i will definitely go there cos I am looking for outdoor solemnise and not so ex one. Sentosa one 65 per pac for minmum of 80 pax!!!

chaiyo

Hi holly,

Email sent!
I heard tat ritz carlton ROM used to be 999 as well but due to popular demand increase price liao. But I forgot wats the price now.

hollywood

Hi CHaiyo,

Very sorry..my mailbox was full...can u resend the file. I did not receive it...
Very sorry for the trouble...
tks!!!

hollywood

hello...chaiyo..din seem to receive the email...
just to reconfirm...it is [email protected]

I kept trying since just now..dun have at all leh..i cleared all the junks...there is so much space now in the mailbox...

can u check again dear..pls resend if possible..
very very sorry dear...

hollywood

hi Dawn,

I have muslim and vegetrian guest but not spoken to the coordinator aboiut the charges...thought i will do that alittle later...

Holly

cottoncandy

hi preciousthots

yup, should be no prob to ask for free rental for the projector.. Henry gave it to me w/o us requesting for it

hi holly

i had my ROM solemnsation at Goodwood Park Hotel
very nice ambience. For Amara, if u are having it at the garden/pool side (open air), be careful loh..coz some photos may capture the nearby HDB flats. very near sia!

chaiyo

Hi Holly,
Amara's pic were too big. So the whole email was more than 2MB. Tink its bigger than what hotmail give us. I have shrink the pics and hope u recv it tis time

pinkypigfly

Hi ling,

for printing of cards do we need to make appointment wif T-Dragon? or we can juz walk in. iszit 3mths b4 our wedding date?? Wat do i need to bring along????

mayng

pinky: u dun have too.. u can walk in abt 3 mths before ur AD to get it printed... its take abt 2 weeks to be ready.. try to get it sent abt 2mths before. so those who can come will tell u n those who cant come u have to start sending out 2weeks to 1 mth before the AD.
bring along ur MM's contract with receipt and both parents Chinese & english names.. including the both of ur chinese n english names.

hopes this info helps..

poshbb = ling

hollywood

Hi Girls, i just got my ROM package email from Goodwood Park. Here it goes:
Held at Terrace, Level 1 ( round table setting)
Nonya Hi-tea Menu is chargeable at S$38.00+++ per person
* International Hi-tea Menu is chargeable at S$40.00+++ per person
(Above menus are inclusive of a free flow of soft drinks throughout function)
Reception table with telephone and flower centrepiece
* Directional Signboard indicating your event
* Creative buffet line
* Background music throughout the reception
* Fresh floral centrepiece on all dining tables
* Head table for solemnization
* Car park facilities for all guests (subject to availability)

chaiyo

Hi Holly & Sweet,

Thanks for sharing that piece of info. One more qns. Wat time is their hi tea ah? Afraid it will be quite hot to host outdoor solemnisation in the afternoon.

cottoncandy

hi chaiyo

my solemnisation cermony was at 2.30pm.. the high tea lasted till 5.30pm

We do have a marquee then for our solemnisation and high tea session..so not too hot

chng

Anyone held/attended wedding at Mandarin Court recently? Any comments cos looking at this hotel for my wedding.