Maldives

Wu,

OooOOOoo.... but they dont have free wifi ar? hehehe. I tot can bring lappy there.

really still got free teabreak ar?? That would be good!! Hhehe. cut cost on food!!! I waiting for my turn... i am still 3 digit away.

Yo Fanfan!

Great!! Muahahahha........ I go there first "open road" for you first!

Kekeke...... hopefully the USD can continue it's weakness till next year...Then if next yr got money can go Maldives again! But I think they'll increase room rates for next yr...

Yo Mish,
.... Don't know whether got Wifi or not, if hv, probably hv to pay, like Mirihi loh! but hey u suppose to go there and forget about the civilised world! Kekekke.... Forget about World wide web!! :P

Don't know still got free tea break or not...better let zhuzhu answer the question

Hahahhaa.....really cut alot of cost on food. Remember all 4 of us there kept eating and eating and eating, and refilling.... Anyway, nobody eat mah, later throw away! I think most AngMo all in the villa resting..only the chinese are roaming around!

aarrghh i'm lost again
after long weekend went to genting, caught stomach flu + fever
kao_dizzy.gif

but now ok liao

got some newcomers here hor!!

i just drop by & say hi
hee

hi LPH,
i stayed at the central karon hotel at karon beach, so we had to take the tuktuk everyday to get to patong. i love phuket, really relaxed and u can laze at the beach, go parasailing, body boarding...it would be ideal if u stay at a hotel right at patong beach. nt sure if burasari is still there, its a small nice hotel, very near to the patong beach. can check it out..

ya zhuzhu,
let us know if there is teatime still provided ya? =P btw, relax inn FINALLY replied. they just confirmed the date of the booking but they didnt give a booking number. but i'll just take that as a confirmation lah...thanks so much for your help!!

hi folks...
wow.. very fast moving thread. Not able to read all postings. I am thinking of going Maldives for my HM which will be in Dec. But seems that Hilton is very popular. I was considering ClubMed cos it is inclusive of meals and water sports. Will the expenses be high if i stay at other resorts where i got to pay for food and water sports?
Will it be too late if i booked for trip during NATAS fair or should i book earlier? hehe..

Hi Rainette,

Hilton is popular becos of it's value.. and that's really valid from mid May till Oct. During Dec, the rooms rates will be really sky high.

Oh yes, clubmed might be a good choice for u, cos their price seems to be staggered between months to months and not just low/high season in other resort.

The expense would be rather high, but there's way to control it, especially on food thingy. We always bring some food there, thus can save some money on food. Lunch/Dinner would cost ard 20~ 35USD++ per course. And the cheapest excursion would be around USD35++ per pax. Spa will cos USD55++ up and special stuff such as BBQ dinner will cost USD100++ per pax....etc....

Can take a look around NATAS lah.... hopefully they'll hv a good rate. Be prepared to pay ard 2X the low season room rates for most Maldives resort.

Yo Rainette,

Oh yes... take for example, hilton beach villa, May till July period, it's USD200++ per nite. 18 Jul ~ 18Dec it's USD360++ ,then 19 Dec ~ Jan 13, it's USD630++

However, most resort would request customer to stay at least 7 nites or 10 nites or even more during the most ex period. Not sure whether local agent got diff or not.

Kekek.... Thats' why we folks in this forum always go during low season, AKA May ~ July.
You can see our chart in the earlier post!

Yo rainette
yup...dec is the super HOT season... seems like alot of ang mos will be there... cos they go there to escape the cold mah...
keke..
best time to go is may- july... rates are so much cheaper... the $$ u spent for 4 nites in dec can actually let u stay for 6 or even 8 nites in the same resort if u go in the low season... it's that drastic...

one more thing to go during the low season is less crowds...

mirror
yo..take care..
how's your trip to genting? casino got any winnings?..;p

LPH
phuket is a nice place...
like what haru mentioned, staying near Patong beach can be rather convenient... food n shopping just outside... beach too..
u going in aug? keke.. me planning to go Bali in aug also..:p

yo people.. any reco for Bali? which resort is nice? Me planning not to stay in Kuta... planning to stay in Sanur... or Ubud. anyone got reco?

loves this thread

i was thinking of treetops arasia in phuket but not near patong beach le...n patong area like dont have this kinda resort.

i went bali n stayed at hard rock. so cant recomended. like the swimming pool at HRC n the shopping area with all the surf wear.

rainette, think club med is worth it if u are into the activities they provide. else i think hilton wld b a better choice for 'nua-ing'. look at Wu's album n im drooling

personally, I don't really like Patong...cos though all the shops are over there, it's sort of like cluttered...for me, I prefer to stay @ somewhere with a nice beach and take a tuk tuk to Patong whenever i want..oh yah, noticed that island hopping booked at Patong area is more expensive than Karon..Bursari at Patong is still around...u can go www.phuket.com to see the list of resorts avaliable

I think for treetops, silk air has some promo with them

Wu,
Yeah!!! Finally I've confirmed my trip..now have to guai guai countdown and save money..haha..do check out which room numbers are the best..then see whether i can "chop" that room...heeheee

hello hello

so much activities here today

btw checked out treetops webpage - very very tempting le... hvnt tried any hillside resorts before (excluding the very lousy Genting Highlands... ;P)
but nt the time to spend $ for me - definately hope to go for a small romantic escapade once stable.

then again just put in some more $ can go Hilton Maldives liao right...hmmmmm.....but need to go somewhere to unwind le...maybe try hotel stay....but like very waste $$ cos at home also got the same facilities minus the restaurant only mah...hmmm haizzzzzzz

Nevermind - earn $$ first then say ..

wish me luck and prosperity

Yo Yo Yo!

Wah...you ladies really "Da Dan" hor.....4 me hor, don't know leh, I wouldn't go to either Phuket or Bali, becos of the tragic accident that had happened. Really can't get over it.
Oh yes, another thing like wat bvbride say, add in abit more can go Maldives(I okie with a 3 stars one also) liao...:P

Yo bvbride, do up your house to look like a resort or hotel.... cook something and it'll be like a hotel liao! Kekekekek.....
4 me, feel like doing up like Hilton, especially the sand filled Atoll market but cannot, cos my 2 dogs might just shit around the sand patches... Muahahhaha!!!

Yo Fanfan,

sure! will check out best rooms for u folks....just scare that when we're doing the checking, ppl thot we're peeping! :P

anyway, I think all rooms is facing other side rather than the west! So if you wanna go see sunset, hv to go to their overwater restaurant! just near the biggest sandy beach!

check out Mirihi's webiste, they hv a video clips show on Mirihi, very nice one indeed! How I wish Hilton can make one like this!

Yo folks,

Haiz..... just went and play around with Hilton's booking system. Looks like next year the rates gonna increase yet again. this time round Jan ~ May period price is USD570 for beach villa and USD670 for Deluxe beach villa, up from USD360 and USD550 respectively!!!

Hope that it's a cock-up issue.... else... have to look for another value resort liao!!! :P

Wu
haha..what 'da dan'...:p my hubby never go bef Bali lah...He wanna go there to see see...:p anyway this trip is not that ex... in all, we'll be spending the most $1.5k include air tics n accom n of ocurse expenses... staying there for only 3 nites lah...

well... think after this Bali trip..we'll not be going back there for a long long time...haha..

Heyz all

I'm back!! hehe.....Maldives is indeed awesome!!! Felt so sad to leave dat heavenly paradise!! Hehe

But uh...wldn't realli recommend club med...haha...tink the svc sux big time leh...and the GOs there are not as frenly as i expected leh...tink other resorts might b much better ^.^

heyz there

May is actualli the start of the rainy season, so i encountered a couple of rainy days there but they're rather quick showers. Sun is still blazing hot though! hehe

Mi package quite exp ah... >$3K per pax

Lotsa pics...hehe...need to organise abit then share wif u guys...coz both mi & hb got our own cameras ....pics all so messy now...haha

Moonlight! YOU ARE BACK!!!!! heheheh. So exciting.. so many couples come and go! Hehehe. Yippie!

Hope you did enjoy yourself over there eh! Club med that bad ar? What happened? How's the accomodation? Gd?

Hi Truffles

ok both me and my friends who went there find that Deluxe are not worth the money leh.
Water are rough over there, plus not much privacy as i mentioned as those people walking towards the deluxe can see the villa sun bathing deck. really depends which room u get lor. U shape mah..

Better views ah? hmmm..i still think lagoon villa better leh. U know the whole stretch of lagoon villa is one line mah. So confirmed if u at sun deck, people at the side wont be able to see lor. Only those swimming in the water can see lor, but can't see much. Can see my pics mah. That time i went there. got someone sunbathing in nude lor..my neighbour. A guy. Then my 2 room away neighbours also nude lor..that one european gal. Both can only see when i am in the water.

My room is 111 that time i think... almost in the middle lor. so quite ok lor, near swimming pool, near restaurant.... U going there? waaah..i envy leh.

But i must tell u first lor..All these description is before tsunami hit. Now all renovated liao. And i heard its better. Imagine that time i went there so POWER already. Now renovated new new..WAAAAAHH!!!!!

How much ah? maybe if affordable, i can go back...kekekeke.

moonlight00, i agree that the GOs not very friendly. they are frendly only to those of their same race. anyway, we always sit at 2 seater table n cant be bothered with the socialising.

the only nice GOs i met are those at the sea sports centre.
show me pics of your beach villa.

hey LPH

Yah manz! so glad i'm not alone in tinking dat way. i was esp pissed at the restaurant where the waiters keep treating us as transparent & wldn't clear our plates! But they'll keep gng to tables where eurasians are seated, make small tok to them & keep clearing their plates.

Still got alot of other incidents which got mi so angry wif their svc manz but then again, luckily got v beautiful scenery all ard which enable mi to simmer down v fast Muahahah.......

Definitely will go back Maldives if got chance but NVR EVER Club Med!

Heyz Mish! hehe....i did enjoy miself there la...though generally pple sux big time there...but still got a small handful of frenly pple ard...esp the mauritius guy who taught us to sail! Hehe...quite yan dao too! Keke....Even mi hb agreed he's quite a looker **wink**

As for accommodation..great!!! Luv both the deluxe beach villa & lagoon suite!! Condition much better than expected...hees..V comfy!!...But then, the food there not DAT fantastic though.... :Þ
Tink on the 2nd or 3rd day, mi hb commented we might lose weight by the time we leave club med Wahahaha

so agree with moonlight00 about the waiters, i tot it's only me

other than these waiters, the luggage transfer from the water villa took ages. n we had to call them a few times. n after delivering the luggage, still expect tips. my bf so angry with this that he refuse to give any tips.

the mauritian guy is called laurent right? nice body. he teaches me wind surfing. theres a thi girl who is also quite friendly.

i wldnt go back to club med maldives too after seeing Wu's hilton photos. but wld like to try other club med.

so did u join in their pool activities n bring a medal home?

Yo Moonlight,LPH,

Regret to hear what you folks hv encounter in Clubmed.... I'm not sure whether is it becos that not many Singapore(chinese) go there for holiday, and they're not use to serving Chinese? Or it might be the case of racism or other issue... as I've read in the news that Chinese National go there as worker and create problem there as contract workers, and somehow Maldivian kind of fed-up with them, or now becoming us? even though we're not them?
Anyhow, this should not even happened in a svc industry anywhere in the world though.

I would suggest you folks write a complain mail to Clubmed(Singapore branch), of post in the tripadvisor, put down your room no, occupancy date.. and hopefully those clubmed management would sees it and compensate you folks. We cannot allow such things to happen, as we really spent so much money!

It doesn't happened to chinese only, I read some review on the Huvanfenfushi in the tripadvisor, and most are Angmo and they complain the attitude of the svc staff there! Bear in Mind it's Huvanfenfushi, one of the most ex resort in Maldives. Generally all these folks wld recommend Soneva gili or Reethi rah instead!

Really do agree their svc need to improve.....as they kind of inefficient and kind of slow as compare to Singapore "standard"( do we hv one?). Haru should know what I'm talking....booking the relax inn thingy.

However I did encounter bad svc at the Male Hotel staff, really "Ai Mai Ai Mai".... :P

For me personally, I did not encounter such events in Hilton, but there's some reception staff's attitude are abit weird to us.... but I think the main reason is as some of them are not fluent in English though. But personally, my encounter are generally very good, i.e. waiter/waitress would talk to u and ask hows the food(the american way), and we are always approach by a couple of the GO, talk to us and let us know more about Maldives history,their family and they're also keen to understand more about Singapore etc.... Probably Hilton has been around for so long liao, and they're more into svc?

Good that you folks look at the brighter side, the sea, sand and sun is really unforgetable!

Don't give up on Maldives....cos I think generally most of the Maldivians are good folks!

hi imagesxela,

yap, gg. tentative booking for lagoon villa cos deluxe lagoon villas r not available. i am waiting for resort to get back to me on whether deluxe is available. but thinking maybe i shld jus save the $ and go ahead with my booking for lagoon villa since u said they r good. but do u noe why the deluxes r smaller?

Issit smaller? i went to see that time..from outside, seems like same size leh.

Waaaah..u going Taj Exotica?? Me is so envy lor...how much?

Save the money lah. Take lagoon better.. no regret.

when u going?

hi imagesxela,

forgot to ans ur question re cost.

it shld cost around 3.5k/pax for lagoon villa and more if i manage to get the deluxe. 7nites stay, on B&B.
hotel quoted me USD780 for deluxe lagoon villa n USD 610 for lagoon villa.

it says so on the website that deluxe is smaller leh. lagoon is 71sqm, deluxe is 60sqm.
so i am thinking pay extra but how come room smaller?

n like u said, U shape, pple can see u frm the beach rite..not much privacy. i went to maldives a few yrs back, n stayed in the water villa. the layout is similar to the lagoon villa in taj exotica. it offers more privacy, can tan nude if want to. ha......

yes lor. More privacy as compared to Deluxe. everybody can see if walk pass ah.

lagoon water is very calm. nicer leh i feel. The bathtub also shiok, facing the sea from inside (see thru glass). From outside can't see thru during the day, but if at night u use tub with lights on, can see thru lor. But i guess most guest will be in their villa, the most one or two couple out in the open dark dark sea at night lor..kekekeke.

and yes, can tan nude during the day if u want. the most just cover when u see people in the sea lor. Can't see much if u are lying down also because the villa is lifted up the water mah. But tan nude is not allow at the premises hor, but i still see people do lor. All those nude one can only be found at lagoon villa.

Wah wah... me is so envy lor. feel like going back again but told myself must try others. kekeke..

hello Truffles and Pearls
u mentioned tt u went Maldives few years back..where did u try?

the USD 610 for lagoon villa is for peak period?
pricy~ but am sure the place is worth it

btw must say that my encounter with service staff at Angasana has been nearly flawless. the porters r discreet and do their job well, the guy that showed us our villa - ok - even played table tennis with us one night??!??!!! but he was abit wierd on the first night - perhaps language barrier? hmm...

the slightly elderly waiter who served us at the restaurant that we dine at everynight is fantastic
wrote compliment for him in feedback form
fantastic service - very caring and attentive
we tipped him the most!! hahaha... regret nt taking a token shot with him - such a nice guy.
told us that he really saved $$ so tat he can go home to visit his family on another island ...awwwwww....

gave them the benefit of the doubt, i supposed that they cant really speak english, that's y dont talk to us. coz they talk to the ang mo also not in english.

the sun, sea and activities makes me forget about all the unhappiness so never thought of complaining.

Hey ppl
I am back online..

Wu
the free tea break still on...I haven't got the chance to try it yet..Think i will try the tea break later..

Last nite went for the private bbq...my god..the food was ALOT....the lobsters were HUGE...me & hubby cannot finished it...but its really an experience...I got take pics of the food..when I come back then show u all..

Haru
Should go n book the private BBQ...dinning under the stars is quite cool..

I nearlly wanted to change to the deluxe beach villa...they look so nice..and they got a nicer spread of the beach..but then in the end, dun wan to waste the $$ lar..

T&P,

Just curious, why did you choose taj instead of hilton? Becoz its kind of like water villa? Hmm. I also comparing. But the cost of taj too high for me. Hee.

ZHu ZHu!!!!
You are here! OOOOOoooO I must try the bbq... sounds like its really gd! so excited. Zhu zhu, does the beach villa has any sea view? Or the deluxe one really much better huh?

hey mish...
finally see someone online...beach villa got view..but i think deluxe one is better..cos they are further away from the lobby...less sea activities..quieter

tokin about water villa..i dun really like the water villa islands..find it very quiet and deserted...I rather have some lifes on the beach villa island..

Yo Zhuzhu,

Did you take up any half board or full board yet? Hv you try the Vilu restaurant yet? Go Look for the seafood spagetti, very nice, must try!

Aiya, give the teabreak a try okie...that guy who prepare the food very poor thing leh, everytime not many ppl, then always serve we 4 Singaporeans! :P

There's suppose to be another person walking around there, and at night as waiter in the Atoll market there, his name is Nizam, a very nice guys indeed, always talk to us during dinner and during tea break. If u sees him, please sent me my regards!

Hey, your room facing which side har? West or East?

Oh yes, the water villa island, Rangali very deserted( Most AngMo like it that way) and need to walk very far to visit the sunset water villa, so hv you check out the sunset water villa yet?

Oh yes, the beach villa island definitely more havoc...especially at nite! Is there any live performance yet? Hows ur CD album in the villa, nice?

Kekeke....so many question to ask you...cos I miss there very much!

Hey Wu
Nope..I did not take up half or full board..no need lar..
I just went to vilu for breakfast this morning..spread not as much as the Atoll market...

Yday I came by..saw a few ang mohs eating the tea break leh...tonite i goin out on the lucky dolphins trip...
My room ah..am able to see the sunset villa..should be West lor...but there is a stupid dhoni parked nearby our villa...sian ah..

there are some magic show..casino nites..
the CD ah..okie lor..hear until sian liao..

Zhu zhu,

So exciting leh!! How come u haven try their high tea!?! How's the food? So nice!!! Deluxe beach villa rather ex leh... let me recalculate my cost first. hahahhaa.

Yo zhuzhu,

Muahahahah......imagine I listen the CD Album for the 1st 4 nites! .....then for the rest of the few mths back to Singapore, the music still rings in my ear! :P

Oh yes, the Vilu B spread not as much as Atoll...so hv you try to make your own fruit juice? That giantic juicer machine!

Your villa facing sure nicer, Actually I would prefer the west side...east side morning sun very glaring!
Aiya, ask them to move the Dhoni away lah! You se my speedboat still theres?.....sob sob.... I miss the ride! :P

Casino... no money one right, just play play only, sianx.

Anywhere else you go? Undersea restaurant go adi?

Yo Mish,

You still haven consider whether beach or deluxe ah?
Go go go!! Go for the deluxe one, the stay 7 pay 5 deal is good! Next year price gonna increase liao...... It might be ur best chance to get this price!

Hey Mish
Errr...let me think..1st day..check in already shack liao..then sun..supposed to go for the sunset cruise..but missed it..so din go for the tea break..then yday got private bbq mar..so must save the stomach for the food...today lar..today got chance to eat..

The deluxe villa got a small wooden gate leadin to the beach..i personally tot its nicer lar..maybe u wan to consider a few nites there or..

Yo Wu
I tried makin the juice yday..duno how to do..get the waiter to do it for me..
eh..i din know u own a speedboat in hilton ah..

I was thinkin of going to the undersea rest. cocktail leh...dinner is too X...I went to sunset grill oso...food so so..

When I come back..I will give the rest some "cheapskate" tips...hahaha..

Zhu zhu,

cannot leh... Sigh.. i taking the 5n free 2n... so must take all the same type. I just calculated. Its about 1045usd more leh... Hmmm

Yo Zhuzhu,

Sob sob.....I just "own" it for 3 nites, and only ride it for 3 trips.

Ya lah, just go for the cocktail can liao. Don't think the dinner as nice as ur BBQ!

Oh ya, I also like the little wooden gate to the deluxe. Looks like more privacy!

Go go go try out the teabreak! Must go there chop the big day bed hor!

Wu,

Ya lo.... i itchy hands... wanna get the deluxe.. but like... 1045usd more leh... OMG... dunno hw... thinking leh... hubby says... *FAINTS*

Yo Mish,

It just might be chance of a life time..... Just check out the Hoteltravel website(same pricing as direct booking from Hilton).
Rates for 2007 already out! Oh yes it's gonna be price hike okie... Beach villa up by at least USD84 nett per nite(low season). Oct season up by USD144 nett.
Deluxe one up the most! Low season up by USD168 nett per nite and Oct season up by USD246 nett per nite..........

U this year go sure "Wu Hua" one! Just did a rough calculation for you. If next year hor, a stay 7 nites pay 5 in deluxe, you'll need to pay USD1230 more than this year! Go for the deluxe!!!

I sianx liao lah.....next year gonna find another resort liao! :P

hi bvbride,

USD610 is for their off peak rate. it's cheaper to book thru agent in s'pore. but seems like most in this forum prefers to book direct wif resort.

hey Mish,

why not hilton? i think mostly cos i want to stay in a water villa. so the highly recommended deluxe beach villa at hilton doesn't appeal too much to me, as for hilton's water villa..as wat Wu said, they r quite old n not so nice. so tats why we didn't shortlist hilton in the end.

as for taj exotica, both me & FH likes it lots. had wanted to stay there the 1st time we went maldives but we were on budget then, so cldn't afford to stay there then. Plus it looks great on pics and they r a very reputatble grp of hotels/resorts. =) and also....try something different, i can come back n share wif u guys rite.