Maldives

Yo bvbride, LPH.....

Jia luck.....my wife would be going for a shopping spree liao.... She a Zara and Mango fan! Kekekkeke.......

hi starstar & bvbride,
my sis went to the Mango sale in Spain while she was on holiday there and she said it was pure bliss coz even though there's sale, it was so neat and nt crowded at all. but i gota say i go crazy and join in e frenzy too whenever they have sale. i am starting to like Zara a lil more now though..=P

hey everyone,
need some help about the DHL balloon at bugis. my friend wana propose to his gf so he wana noe where to buy the tix. is there a website? if poss,i'd like to arrange something special for them.=>

Wu
Wah!!!! like that it's really a good deal...
ya lor..agree wif ya on the first nite... wasted kinda but the next morning is kinda of good feeling cos wake up can see nice nice beach n water just by the window...:p

wah..seems like alot of u mango n zara fan...
hee... bet u all gonna enjoy the shopping sprees that's coimg up...
me pai seh...:p not keen shopper..how leh...think u all view me as 'no life' pax...haha..
yup..agree wif ya all on GSS it's a good time to buy stuffs...enjoy ladies.

haru
sorry..can't help ya on that...but maybe I surf the net see if got any leads..
let u know..

Wu,

Taj exotic cheaper than hilton beach villa not? or same? Hehe. Checking out promos... see got better one not. hehe

Mish,

according to holiday tours pricing, Taj Exotica is S$100 more ex, per pax, as compare to their Hilton pricing. However their Hilton pricing is around S$300 more ex than DIY, thus I'm seeing at least S$800 more ex then Hilton, based on a 3 nites accom. However That's Hilton beach villa vs Taj Exotica lagoon villa lah!

Wah... u gonna island hop is it? Think can consider Mirihi? Hehe...

If u don't mind the price, 2D1N or 3D2N, go for Reetha rai or Huvafenfushi lah!...Hurray!!!

I bet it'll be a fantastic trip, 1st in the forum to go there!

haru!!!
yo...got what u needed...
here's it..

"Named ‘ The DHL Balloon’, designed to carry a maximum of 29 passengers. It is scheduled to open to public on 27 April 2006. It will open daily from 11.00 am to 10.oopm. Tickets for the 10-minutes “flight†are priced at S$23.00 (adult), S13.00 (child aged 3 to 12 years) and S$2.00 (toddler). Passengers will be floating on a balcony with nothing under their feet but a gigantic helium balloon above their heads. This 10 mins silent flight offers passengers a real thrill with a 360 degrees panoramic view of the Singapore skyline both in the day and night."

Found the balloon belong to Ducktour... maybe u can try asking the counters...
or try this website http://www.singaporesights.com/events.2006/04/19.002.the.dhl.balloon.ducktours/index.htm

hope this helps

Wu,

too many days liao la... But base on the website of holiday tour.. it is for 4 to go leh. maybe i should call them to ask about it.. hmm

Island hop.. hmm Maybe not.. got tight budget leh...about 8.5k.. and wanna spend some money on the hilton's activities. so... i am looking ard see got better ones. if not.. i will be stuck with hilton. hehe

Wu,

no lah, not keen on banyan nor angsana even thou very affordable.

Starstar,
Taj Exotica quoted me USD610 lagoon villa and USD780 for deluxe lagoon villa. and $1798 is for 2N resort 1N male under Holiday tour.

It's definitly more affordable than 2 yrs ago.

Yo Mish,

4 to go, that's for the SQ flight promo. If 2 to go, add another $100 per pax.

OIC..... but for USD200++ for beach villa, it's a steal already. why not upgrade to the deluxe beach last 2 days? it's a steal too.. don't think many resort able to match that 300sqm area and the posh setting in the room, at that price!
U going for the 7N pay 5 promo is it?

REally ur 8.5K really healthy enough for ur hilton stay. If u switch resort(equivalent resort)...don't think the 8.5K can bring u much..or most of ur budget wld be paid for the accom/or less nites there.

That's my take lah....

I'll try to aim higher next year...now working out on Reethi Rah or Huvanfen.. probably 2 nites there would cure my Maldivian fever...then can settle down and start thinking abt having a baby.

It's really hard to cure my "Fever" u know! Kekek... :P

ya, I taking the beach villa 7n pay 5n promo. seems really a good deal. I calculate so many of them cant get any close to it. Hmmm. just looking out thats all.

Maybe I will be like you when i get back from maldives. hehehe. cant get over it.

Hey! You can even try "made in maldives - reethi rah" baby... hahahaha

Yo Mish,

89sqm Taj Deluxe beach villa(it's lowest cat) is USD780++

300sqm HIlton deluxe beach Villa(2nd lowest cat) is USD370++

Hmm..... Don't hv to said more lah. To be fair, it's difficult to make comparison. However, if we talk abt value, Hilton wins clearly here. However
If u compare water villa, then at least can compare.

hi Mish,
ya, me doing a 5 nites stay at hiton with bout 6K budget. have settled my airtix, so wil be spending e rest of budget mostly on accomodation,seaplane and meals/activities..i think you can def plan something really nice with ur budget.=>

so you planning "maldivian baby"??=P

Wu,

How did you get 370?? hmm... I just called holiday tours. They give me the rates for hilton almost the same as the lagoon villa of taj exotica. Difference is there is extra night spend in the airpot for hilton.

TP,

hahah. yeah. name baby Reethi... hmm interesting.

Haru,
Oh? Mine is about 8k+ for 7n. using the 7n pay 5n promo. hehe. I think should be quite nice la. I also planned the excursions and all. hehe. Just still bit itchy hand. looking for the most value for money one. hehe.

Yo T&P,

Hahaha...good try! I'll name my son Rah Wu (sounds like the spanish soccer player, Raul?).. Baby girl Huva Wu! :P

Yo Mish,

Kekek.... my comparison is base on Hilton direct rates for May~July. As for ur period it shld be USD550++ per nite... same thing for Taj, rates wld be more ex as well! Oh yes, Holiday tours price for Hilton is more ex then DIY! :P

Wu,

I dunno much abt soccer, but if i rem correctly, this Raul guy quite cute rite..
Actually seriously, it sounds nice leh Rah Wu.
or..if accident happens at mirihi, how abt mirihi wu??

Yo T&P, Mish

U are absolutely right! That cute tan guy lah, Best looking in the Spanish squard! My wifey "Bio" him also! :P

Mirihi in Maldivian means little yellow flower... I think nice for a girl? Kekekeke

Actually Rah, sounds like indian name.... then Taj Wu, ppl would think definitely 1 parent is indian.

Hilton Wu....eeeeeeee .....then not so nice liao. I kind of like Huva Wu for a baby girl!!! Kekekke

Muahahahahha!!! Kekekke..... Taj Wu is out then! :P
Not good on my surname.... Wat abt other surname?

Taj Lee, Taj Lim, Taj Foo .......

Aiya, best is to just stick to our origin, chinese name woud do fine...kekekkek....

hahaha..Taj Wu sounds like 'touch wood'.
Wu, u mentioned that you spent $8K? I supposed that is for 1 pax?

so, by taking out the diving trip n some of the activities, think $5K should be enough for me??

next thurs got isetan private sale somemore...im going to be real broke these few months.

hey Mish,
i just went to read up some reviews from tripadvisor.com and gosh, so much info to absorb.think i'm gona bring a lil notebook with all the tips/feedback esp on the restaurtants.

i agree! Rah Wu is a great name!!!Huva Wu sounds like a cute lil hawaiin girl,cute!!

hi LPH,
me already shopping without sale. so i think i'll try to avoid the malls during e sale period..if not i'll be really budgeting during my trip!hahah...

Yo LPH,

S$8k is for 2 pax lah....Kekekek....if 16K hor, I would go Huvafen or Reethi rah loh.

5K ah..really hv to depends on how many days u go loh.. and which period also.
For hilton beach villa, low season, and base on this year rates, you need ard $3.7K for 3Nites hilton 1 nite Male, breakfast only. So $5K shld be enough. If u wanna enjoy abit more, likely 6K.

Yo Haru,

Yes yes....huva sounds like Hawaii girl name....Kekekke... I want a baby girl liao! :P Anyway, for me, mostly likely it'll be a girl. Statistic has shown that those who did NS in my unit, almost 90% hv baby girl! Radiation mah! :P That's the sacrifice the govt can never pay us back. Actually my pref is 1 girl 1 boy lah...Justice!!! :P Acutally all girls also nevermind lah, but chinese always want a boy at least to carry-on their surname mah har!

hi LPH,
here is the link that i went to with all the recent traveler's reviews.=> most of them had detailed summary, so you can take ur time to read them!

http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g298325-d300676-Reviews-Hilton_Maldives_Resort_Spa_Rangali_Island-Rangali_Island_South_Ari_Atoll_Alifu_Atoll.html

hey Wu,
so when you gona start on your "Project Baby Huva"??keke....at first i was thinkin of having 2 kids, but i think we will prob just have one and see how we manage. Unless its twins!! i'm a lil more indecisive about whether i'd prefer a boy or girl, i guess i'll be happy with both as long as baby is healthy and happy!

Hey Haru
The BBQ dinner cost US$125 per pax + svc charge..not cheap..but i guess its once a lifetime..now sure if we will be the only couple on the beach leh...i go liao then come back to feedbac to you...

Hey Mish
I not sure of the shutter speed leh..but i think if u go canon website..should be able to find the specs lar..

LPH
the isetan sls is this coming thur (18th May) leh..not next thur...

Hey Wu
Like the name Huva Wu...but hor..kinda funny to pronouce leh..

Yo Haru,

Hmmm..... really don't know leh. Scare later gana tied up by kids... sianx. Actually we wld prefer a piggy! That's next yr right? Really hv to see how lah. Anyway, we spent most money on ourselves, like this Maldives lah... never really save much for kids, except for my CPF investment lah.

I use to be a saver, then my thinking really affect after 2 of my friend's spouse(1 guy the other gal) passed away suddenly,around 30+ only loh, really for no reason loh, very sudden....Haiz..kind of really sad. Sorry for bring this up in the forum..but sometimes ppl just take for granted, forgetton etc loh... everyday must remind ourselves in loving our partner.

Aiya.. so long as 2 person together happy can liao lah, money wise, let it be lah. :P

Yo Zhuzhu,

Kekek.....Yes Kind of nice name but pronounciation wise, kekeke...kind of weird. But imagine a Angmo Pronoucing it! It'll be perfect! I'm not sure about your accent but mine is typical lah...so prounce sure funny!

Hey Wu
Just last wk I was playing wit my colleague's 2 mths old gal...after 1/2 hr, i already felt tired..dun even know how am I going to handle my kids next time..

Yo Zhuzhu,

Yeh... you are right. I can go gym lah, carry weight lah, chest press lah, pull ups lah.....but when come to carry baby or kid har, just a while my muscle gave way liao. :P

You know why? kekeke....cos weights don't move around, Baby and kid does! :P

And when baby crys....oh my god..it's gonna burn my nerves!!!!

I think I better with dogs! Kekekek..... :P

Oh dear
I just packed my luggage..and with the water n foodstuff..it adds up to 40kg!!!...geee I hope I dun exceed the weight when I went on the seaplane...

Yo Zhuzhu,

Wah....you like going for an army exercise leh! 40kG!
Well just don't exceed much lah...anyway, they don't check the weight of ur luggage loh, not that I know off. Just don't be too excessive can liao. :P

Mine last time defintely more then 40kg!

Wah...so excited! Please post ur table again when time comes, ie still left 1 more day!

dont the hotel provide provide kettle for boiling water?

i didnt even finish the bottle of water they provide daily.

ya, i tot they have kettle now? is that also for the beach villa?

hi zhuzhu,
try to hand carry some items, dun need to bring toiletries like shampoo,etc which can add on quite a lot of weight..dun worry, most likely can go thru..

yes!pls share with e rest of us who wil be gg soon on what are the "must-dos" and "nice to dos" at hilton. looking forward to your review!

hey Wu,
ya, me like you. at first when just got married very keen on hving kids soon so we can be young parents. but we are enjoying the freedom rite now, so we are planning to give ourselves at least another 6mths or more to have couplehood before moving on to parenthood. with a child, your whole life priorities will be different..

wow! the thread really moved fast yesterday

I'm finally back in Singapore..after a scare of suspended flight from Queenstown to Christchurch..

Wu
Is Antony still working in Mirihi? I emailed him a few days ago to book direct my accomodation with Mirihi but no reply leh

Yo LPH,Haru,

They do provide 1 big mineral bottle everyday. Zhuzhu confirm got kettle but the water from the tap tasted saltish..desalination plant water is like that one.

Yes for the beach villa hor, don't hv to bring any toiletries.. They got everything there, towel also don't need.

As parents is definitely difficult nowsaday loh... especially after watching the show Super nanny....WOW the kids hor terrible lah. These kids just used the traditional "Chinese" method to "teach" can liao lah....my most feared method use by my dad/mum on me last time, those thin and long attap stem for sweeping water on the floor...All kids wld become "Kaui Kaui"! :P

YO Fanfan,

I've yet to email antony since after my reservation last time leh... you wanna to try emailing him again and cc urself and myself a copy? it might jus work. I'll try to look up for him if he still never reply within 2 days. Okie?

my email:- [email protected]

Eh....what's ur job har? so good one...can travel here and there!

hi Wu,
i watch super nanny too! but i think one prob is that the angmohs dun believe in using the cane. I think when necessary, a kid should be spanked. Spanking for the action they repeatedly do when they know and have been told that they shouldnt do it.

Hey truffles & pearls,
think i'll juz bring mainly instant cup noodles, instant hot chocolate, some cereals and cookies and mayb some chips..=P

dont over starve yourself.
i skipped lunch when i was in mauritius coz busy with the wakeboarding n water sports, ended up sick n vomitted all my dinner. ended up cannot enjoy myself on the last day.

haru
great idea!! instant noodles for lunch...
maybe something light for lunch then...
cos wif all the water activites..sure feel hungry in evening...

Wu
wah..so fast thinking of names for kids..
haha.. me same as u..one boy one girl it's the perfect combi...
exortic names leh...

zhuzhu
40kg like field pack leh...
u must be so excited... keke..

fanfan
welcome back..
how's your trip to NZ?

hello peeps

sad to say i thnk i will not make a very good parent cos i totally hv no idea how to discipline children. ive got very low tolerence level as well. guess hvg children is a HUGGGEEE responsibilty hence am not planning any for now.

just read sad story (on the marketplace thread) abt this little terrier which was given away cos the owner/one of the family member just gave birth hence cannot hve the dog living in the same house as the baby.
i seriously cannot tolerate pple who just buy pets cos they are cute and not think of the consequences. if a couple intend to hv kids soon, better not get a pet esp dogs - both big and small. some couples just buy the pet like as if they didnt see the kid coming...DUhhh!!

itz absolutely tragic to see doggies being passed around cos the owners got no more time for them - how sadd....

the bv hvg sad day today la...pardon my grumblings :p

bvbride
oh....cheer up gal...
dun be so depress..
yup..know how u feel... that's y me die die also dun want any pets in my home.. cos I'm a clean freak... can't tolerate the furs dropping all over the place...:p => not a good pet owner...so I can only see n play wif other people's pets but not able to have one myself...
Also having a pet will increase the household expenses... so next time got kids..it's kinda of an extra 'burden'.... dun wish to be 'tie down' by pets lah cos also end of the day if we travel.. also no one to help look after when we are not ard.. conclusion is not to have any pets..

it's ok... just today it's one of those lousy days...well, the day's coming to an end soon..cheer up..'min tian hui ge hao'...

later tonight, me going airport to send my parents off.. they going Hokkaido leh...
*envy* haha...

Yo Bvbrides,

Haizzzz...... I understand ur frustration on the pets thingy. I personnal help around 3 doggies to find new homes...reason varies though. I even help my own aunt to look for homes for her 2 doggies, 1 given to my collegue and another 1 to my FIL. Then after 2 mths, she wants the doggie back....Wah. I quarrel with her loh! How will the new owners think, and how will the dog able to comprehend, pass here pass there?

These kind of cases is everywhere in Singapore. If u go to those doggie website hor, can see every day got abandon dogs! Main reason is old age lah, got babies lah!

Oh yes.. we know how doggies would feel when passed around..u can look in their eyes, the anxiety for the 1st few days... really really sad!

Anyway for me, got baby or no baby, got job or no job, I'll keep my 2 doggies till they go to the rainbow bridge!!! All dogs goes to heaven but not all humans! Period! :P

Cheer up gal...If ppl's concept don't change, there'll still be abandon dogs. That's why I always encourage ppl to think carefully b4 buying and buy from oversea, pedigree breed, instead of the local puppy mills.