Maldives

seems like most of the ppl here are planning for babies. so all of u are married?

i hav a shih tzu at home which was being passed from someone who feels that this dog is too violent. the first few days, its really hell for the dog...really quite violent n will bite people.

now, we cant even bear to leave him alone at home.

I was only @ Queenstown..the scenery was awesome.. very relaxing and slow place as well. The weather was very nice.. 3-4 degree C.. too bad no $ or courage to try those extreme sports popular in Queenstown...oni went to the jetboat thingy and 1 day trip to Milford Sound

Wu,
I'm in finance..handling APAC portfolio..but think after June, won't be much travelling..

i guess most are married here. as for me i stumbled across this thread when planning for Honeymoon

thx peeps! now better la - after some starbucks jelly marciatto (nt sure abt the spelling) and chkn tenders fro BK :D the jelly marciatto is to die for - iam a sugar addict but still find this too sweet so i alwys get them to add as little syrup as possible

starstar- guess im more or less like u...my house is generally clean except for abit of mess here and there. i got bad habit of keeping my clothes that i want to "recycle" for another day in my spare bedroom!!!! hahaha...just throw on some shelves there hahaha oppps...
the place can be abit messy but cannot be dirty and dusty

Wu - u are god's gift to little animals - Kudos to u =D

hi bvbride,
ya, am sure there are plenty of responsible pet owners out there like Wu who try to educate others on being responsible owner to a pet. to me, a pet shld be given e same respect as you wld give to a family member. they have feelings just like humans and there is no excuse at all for mistreating them. pple that abandon/abuse them are just cruel humans with no sense of compassion and just take advantage of their helplessness. my hubby and i both LOVE animals but i've had to put my foot down not to get a doggy coz our place is small and we r just too busy to give it the time. but i promised my hubby that the day that i am not working full time plus we have a bigger place, i will reconsider.

hey LPH,
me nt rushing into the "baby project" lah.but def dun wana shelve it for too long as well as we wld like to have kids while we are young. but like most of you, i think bout e commitment that comes with having a child, but like most mums that i meet, they all tell me when its your own child your love for him/her is just so great that the lack of sleep, etc just melts away..really sweet...

hi fanfan,
milford sound is gorgeous eh? i love queenstown too although it is very touristy. =>

Wah this thread is moving fast...got no time to read in office..trying to finished up my work b4 i go on leave...haiz~

Now i starting to think did i bring to much water..i got about 8 big bottles of water leh...geee no wonder got 40kg leh..

wow zhuzhu, seems like going camping.
i only time i prepared when going overseas was a trip to Mt Kinabalu.

i only bought a sports bag when i went maldives. so when i wanted to check in the luggage, the staff looks so shocked. n no porter help me when i reach maldives airport n club med, maybe nobody carry such small luggage.

zhuzhu
wah..u going for survivor in Maldives har? keke... that's alot fo water...
me that time only pack two 1.5L bottles of water... keke.. u come back from trip super strong...

bvbride
sama sama...
can play wif other's pet but can't have my own...:p

LPH
baby project see how lah... me letting nature take its own course...

fanfan
wow...the place sounds good... got white water rafting right? would like to try bungee jump but no courage to leap down...:p how much are the extreme sports there?

mish
the stocks not doing well these few days...keke... dun know if it's good to buy now when the price is low..

hi LPH,
you sound like person who loves extreme sports. but i think wakeboarding will be too expensive for me to try out at maldives coz hilton does not provide water sports FOC. wow! you only had a sports bag for your trip? i tend to bring more than i need for all my trips..=P

anyway, maldives resort everyday wear bikini walk about, no need much clothes ma, so can travel light.

the only thing i like abt mauritius is the free wakeboarding...stayed at the resort n wakeboard everyday. its very rare to be able to wakeboard in cleaner water

this is the only extreme sport i tried le...

but want to try sky diving if i go to cairns. must try more things now, else next time old already cannot do these kinda things (not that im very young now, so enjoy like to the fullest now).

hi LPH,
ya, the water in spore really puts me off so i dun go to the beach (nt sure if its even a beach)that much at all here. so me not too keen to wakeboard here too..

haru,
yup. Milford is very nice. esp when u look out to the sea...wow!

starstar,
yup..there's whitewater rafting. but me didnt go cos didnt bring swimming costume and the weather was too cold..heheee...nxt time if i go with my bf, will go try the glacier walking..looks fun..but i dun think i can ever do bungee..the extreme sports at least NZ$200 onwards, depending on what u want to try

Wu,
Antony replied
asking for my flight details.
Yipee!

Zhuzhu
Can update table liao. I most prob going on 13 Nov - 18 Nov. Will be staying at Mirihi

Yo Fanfan,

Finally!!! where did that guys go?? Holiday in Maldives??? Hmmmmm.....

So did u manage to secure the rooms at ur fantastic rates?

Hey starstar
I am the famous water bucket...
anyway I need the water to cook my cup noodles also...

Cham lor..I am having some sore throat...had been drowning myself with water like nobody biz...

Update 17 May 2006

<table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD>Resort</TD><TD>Date of leaving</TD><TD>Date of return</TD><TD>No of nites</TD><TD>Countdown( Days) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Starstar</TD><TD>Taj Coral (Water Villa)</TD><TD>Mar 05</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Been there, done that </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wu</TD><TD>Hilton (Beach Villa / Sunset Water Villa)</TD><TD>July 05</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Been there, done that </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bvbride</TD><TD>Angsana (Beach Villa)</TD><TD>Nov 05</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Been there, done that </TD></TR><TR><TD>LPH</TD><TD>Club Med (Beach Villa / Water Villa)</TD><TD>28-Apr</TD><TD>4-May</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>Been there, done that </TD></TR><TR><TD>Moonlight</TD><TD>Club Med (Beach Villa / Water Villa)</TD><TD>13-May</TD><TD>19-May</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>
370741.gif
</TD></TR><TR><TD>Zhuzhu</TD><TD>Hilton (Beach Villa)</TD><TD>19-May</TD><TD>25-May</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>
370742.gif
370743.gif
</TD></TR><TR><TD>Nelc</TD><TD>Hilton (Beach Villa)</TD><TD>19-Jun</TD><TD>26-Jun</TD><TD>7</TD><TD>33 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wu </TD><TD>Mirihi (Water Villa)</TD><TD>29-Jun</TD><TD>08-Jul</TD><TD>9</TD><TD>43 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Haru</TD><TD>Hilton (Beach Villa)</TD><TD>01-Jul</TD><TD>07-Jul</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>45 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Greentea</TD><TD>Fullmoon(Water Bungalow) / Hilton (Water Villa)</TD><TD>09-Jul</TD><TD>14-Jul</TD><TD>5</TD><TD>53 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mira</TD><TD>Hilton (Beach Villa)</TD><TD>10-Jul</TD><TD>16-Jul</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>54 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mish</TD><TD>Hilton (Beach Villa)</TD><TD>19-Oct</TD><TD>27-Oct</TD><TD>8</TD><TD>155 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Fanfan</TD><TD>Mhiri</TD><TD>13-Nov</TD><TD>18-Nov</TD><TD>5</TD><TD>180 </td></tr></table>

oh Bvbride
I went to honeypot yesterday and look for jolene...the waxing was not as painful as compared to Strip..guess its becos they use hot wax instead of the waxing strip...guess that also why i spend longer time there..At Strip, I am done in 15 mins..but at honeypot, I spend a good 30mins there..nearly dozed off..

So for those ladies who are afraid of pain..can try honeypot...but then the price oso not cheap..

Yo Zhuzhu! AKA water-bucket!

Take care of urself! Take some "Jin Du Nian Cher An", think will help!

2 more days eh!!! Hahahhaha.....must be very excited! Can imagine ur excitment also!

Yo folks! off course including you zhuzhu!

To make you all drool further!! Found another resort in Maldives, shld be quite new though!It's call " The Island Hideaway at Dhonakulhi"... Only 43 villas in such a big island, really a private island!
Their largest villa(only 2) can stay 6 pax, and it got 3 rooms and individual room is like a small villa on it's own with something which looks like a plunge pool, some vegetation etc.. the whole villa as it's own also hv a infinity swimming pool, common dining area, living room, and it's own private beach!!! Simply blow me away!!!!

Total land area is a whopping 1420sqm!!! That's almost 10X of hilton beach villa! :P
Price seems reasonable:- low season rates USD1790++ (USD100++ for 5th and 6th person)
so effectively USD331++ per pax!

Okie enough of saying...check out their website!
Enjoy!

http://www.island-hideaway.com/dk/index.php

It's in my wish list liao! :P

Hey Wu
I had been drinkin the pi pa gao since Sun nite..haiz..still cannot escape the devil arms of sore throat...

I saw the website...wah..super nice leh..esp the hideway palace..woah!!!

Hey anyone going to watch Da Vinci code tomolo??

Zhuuuuu zhuuuuuuu,

so exciting!!!! I am so excited for you!!! Yippieeee... 2 more days!!!!

Wu,

I checking out the webby that you pasted. hmmm. ANd the water villa is 235 sq m... wow!

Hi LPH and ByBride

U just been to Club Med and Angsana? Can share with me your experience?

I am planning Maldives trip with a group of friends around August period. I have been to Baros and Taj Exotica back in 2004 before the Tsunami hit. The place is really beautiful, this year i'm planning another trip back there and stay at a different resort (still shortlisting stage)

Any pics to share? and how much it cost you? Hows the weather?

Wu,
yup..finally...didnt ask him where he go..only after i send a reminder email then he replied...
the rates not that fantastic..it's US$422++ per night...but my bf say didnt want to go thru the hassel of booking thru agent and that the hotel has 25 days in advacne cancellation policy, which we need as we can only confirm air tix abt 1 month before..so in the end still book direct with Mirihi.

Zhuzhu,
U must take care leh..try to drink some salt water...may help

The island hideaway is fantastic!!!! but no $$$ leh

ZhuZhu!

That's tomorrow!!! Yipeeee!!!
kao_byebye.gif

Yo Mish,

Not as ex as compare with Huvafen or Soneva Gili.... Somewhat in the range of Soneva fushi.

Hmmm... as for the design of the villa, kind of rather plain though as compare with other well-established high end resort.

Oh yes, for the hideaway palace, defintely must go 6 person lah... actually kind of fun to grab a few friends and live within the same villa!

I like the design of the bathtub in the water villa though!

Yo Fanfan,

So you never obtain a special rates from ur "Kang Tao" lah. I also think so lah...booking direct from the resort is better loh, hassle free loh, though it's slightly more ex. Have you ask Antony whether they can give u agent's rates? Hmmm... I doubt so loh, as I've hint him b4....but seems like cannot.

zhuzhu
wow..u leaving tomolo leh...
must be excited...
enjoy yourself gal!

fanfan
glacier walking? hmm.. sounds fun...
aiyo..next time u go is hubby liao where got still bf right?;p

hi Truffles

I stayed at lagoon villa at Taj Exotica.
5 star and very exlusive. I lived like king there. Want what will get what. I mean they never refused our request lah. Service is Excellent. I throw my dirty clothes on the floor in my room, they will pick it up and fold nicely for you and placed all in order..i was like Duhhh!!!....another one is during breakfast, i want this from this dish, want that from this dish, want another food from another dish,...they will make it happen for you. no question ask. Fwaaah...me is super impressed lor.

I went there in October 04..before Tsunami hit. They have since renovated and built new accommodation i heard.

I have taken some photos back then...hmmmm check it out. http://community.webshots.com/user/plannerholiday3

hey imagesxela,

do u have any comments on their deluxe lagoon villas? do the lagoon villas have good views? which is better? deluxe or standard lagoon villas?
also, is it ex to dine in their resturants?
u went on fullboard or jus B&amp;B? sorry ah..alot of questions.

wait a minute..which one i stayed ah? Ok i did not stayed at the so called U shape water villa place. Think that one is Deluxe lagoon villa. Mine is by the side of the island one..can see from my photos. Also good lor. the room is nice. The bathtub is facing the open sea and See thru one...so be careful what u all do at night in there with the lights on ..Can see clearly one if someone is swimming out there at night..kekekek..Day time wont be able to see thru.

I find that lagoon is villa is better. The water kind of rough over at the deluxe side. My friend also went before me also agree Lagoon is good enough. Can still enter the water from the stairs at your villa.

Only breakfast provided. The rest of the days there eat own food lor. I brought bread lah, tibits lah, maggie mee lah, soup lah etc etc..one whole luaggage full of food. Things are quite ex there..and all in US$$. But we do eat at restaurant on alternate nights. One more tip. Go to their swimming pool. They serve free fruits and mineral water.

Hope these helps.

Hi Truffles

ONe more plus points. Privacy.
You can see the sun deck of the deluxe lagoon villa when they are sun bathing when walking towards the deluxe lagoon villa area..."U shape" mah, so those at the side no privacy lor.

But for the lagoon villa that i stayed in, no passer by can see the sun deck lor...only your neighbour or anyone swimming out in the open sea. Overall more privacy at lagoon villa side. This is the plus points that i choose lagoon over deluxe

hi imagesxela,

can give me a rough guide how much dinner wld cost for 2pax per nite?
is their deep end really ex ah? i wanna do a budget b4 i go leh..and what abt the water sports? do they offer free non-motorised eqip for loan?
and frm the pics...i must say their breakfast looks fantastic!

okie...if i remember correctly...
their Deepend dinner for Starter ranges from US$10 to US$15
Main Course ranges from US$18 to US$45 or higher..

24 degrees is slightly cheaper...slight only..

Wu,
Kang Tao only managed to ask whether we interested in beach villa..water villa not able to get cos it's peak period
I did try asking Antony to give me agent's rates but he told me he's not able to...actually add up the Crown Tours one oso only difference abt USD100+ cos of the 10% charge they levied on credit card payments..

Starstar
me always prefer to call him my bf..cos sound younger mah..heheehee

hi zhuzhu,
omigosh, you must be soooo excited now. think if i were you, no mood to work today liao..hahhaha...try to gurgle with some salt water and dry lotsa honey water. preferably manuka honey. its got good healing properties.

hey people,

need some advice here. Mirhi offered and ask whether we want them to book the Male hotels and the offer is as follows:

HIH hotel on the airport Island USD 188.00 per night
CENTRAL Hotel in Male' city which is 10 minutes boat ride away and
priced at USD 83.00 per night.

Any feedback on these 2 hotels? is the price reasonable?

Yo Fanfan,

Hulhulhe too ex lah... really not worth it.
Central hotel is in the middle of the city, not really convenient. Why don't ask them to book for u the hotel near to the Male jetty, to name a few:-

1)Mookai
2)Relax inn
3)Nasa palace
4)Kam

etc......

For me, zhuzhu and haru, all of us book thru Relax inn. Exec roooms at USD86+, I think it'll be a better choice for u. So next day you don't hv to rush to call a taxi to the Male jetty for transfer to Airport for the seaplane transfer.

Hows that sound?

hi Wu,
sigh..talkin bout Relax Inn i also sianz coz they have yet to replied to any one of my emails at all. i think its pretty rude. even if they confirmed the reservation, i think its only polite to just reply and revert to my queries...abit lost as to whether they have confirmed my room...
kao_angry.gif

Yo Haru,

Hmmm.... agree! They shld improve their overall service loh. So they've confirmed ur reservation liao lah is it? What other question u hv for them?

Did u cc urself a copy of ur email? I always do that and they always reply my queries leh... so far around 5 emails exchange liao.

If they still haven confirm ur reservation, probably can write them an email to cancel and book others, such as Mookai or Kam hotel loh, anyway just next door only mah!

Let me know if you still hv problem!

Wu,

Thanks a lot. I'll go to do some research on Male hotels

The Mirihi state in their proforma invoice to me that I've to make a direct TT to their bank a/c wor. Now I'm asking Antony possible to charge to my credit card or not.

Wu,

Ya.. i think hilton most value for money. hehehe
Look at others can only drool... cannot afford. with 2 nights of usd1k villa, i can stay in hilton's beach villa for 7n!!!! wow..hehehe

Imagesxela,

Your photos very nice leh!!!! wow...how about baros? Any pix or comments on baros??

hi Wu,
thanks for ur advice. Do you have any idea how the accomodation is at Mookai or Kam? Anyway, i will take ur advice, send one more email and if stil no response i'll just book another hotel.

Yo Fanfan,

Kekekekek.....no problem. Don't spent too much time on Male hotel lah, really wasting ur time and energy. It's only a night stay, and don't put too much hope on their service and quality of the room. Just think about the next morning seaplane flight! shiok ah!!!

I don't think so leh... you book direct meaning you reserve the rooms with credit card, and all charges will be settle on the last day mah! You check with Antony again.

Yo Mish,

You're absoultely right, unless I got lots of spare cash, else I wouldn't choose those that cost USd500++... I would rather go for the Hilton's deluxe beach villa, very happy liao loh! Don't think there's any villa elsewhere in Maldives as valued as both the hilton beach and deluxe beach villa, yet! Oh yes....waiting for the Shangrila rates....Hmmmmmmm....

hey-all

such a buuuusssy day for me!
gog mad soon - cannot breath. just recoverd from fever yesterday....pant pant..but now ok la cos after office hrs liao :p

Imagesxela: My Angsana trip was fantastic. its quite exclusive, no crowded feeling, no crazy children running around i only spent 3N there (first night wasted cos of arrival time)
total for flight and accom is approx $3500 for both of us. we spent qt abit on fishing and the other bulk of the spending goes to food
we were qt suaku so we booked a package from Holiday Tours. that was before i know of this thread. heheheee.....
hv learnt so much from Master Wu here !

u can chk out the pix here! not alot though but u can get the idea la
http://sg.pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/wpwgrent/album?.dir=8fc0&amp;.src=ph&amp;store=&amp;prodid=&amp;.done=http%3a//sg.pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/wpwgrent/my_photos

hi fanfan,
ya, i also dun mind a very simple room as long as its clean, basically only for about 6-8 hours sleep and maybe to wash up before checking in our REAL hotel..kekekek..

hey bvbride,
wah, you sound really burnt out.take it easy ya? treat urself to a nice desert after work! =D

Hi bvbride
thanks so much for the info and the nice pics. $3500 for two is a bit on the high side rite. I think its because you are travelling during their peak season.

I'm still looking at other options. Preferably with water villa. Haizz...but we dun want to spend too much ... Maybe 1.5K per person.. Dunno whether possible or not..hahaha..

Hi Mish

Yes i do have Baros photos. hmm.. here u go. http://community.webshots.com/album/208550556KcSIWJ
Not bad also lah..i think its a 4 star resort. We stayed at the beach villa. And they have since renovated the place.
I still prefer Taj Exotica. More exclusive lah. Facilities also better....kekekek...

imagesxela
u want water villa? u can try Taj Coral(4 star resort) or go back to Taj Exortica...
wah... from your pic..Taj Exortica looks real good..
hee.. me wanted to go there one but becos of $$ constraint n wanted to stay in lagoon villa... so ended up the cheaper alternative-Taj Coral.

bvbride
yo lady... take it easy k? like what haru said... give yourself a treat/break...
take care gal..

fanfan
haha..so u mean after marriage still call him bf? maintain the courtship feeling..

Yo Haru,

If I'm not wrong, last time I've gone thru the Mookai and Kam's rooms.... really not much diff from Relax inn loh! From outside Mookai looks like a service apt.

Probably try to tell Relax inn that others(i.e me and zhuzhu lah) who book from them already got the rooms confirmation email, and request them to sent you 1 as well, including the net price... hope that they'll furnish the info to u.
I think better write in point form better lah.

Let me know if u still got problem. Opss..there's another way in doing it, write to Hilton and ask them to book the hotel on ur behalf, let the big boys do the work!! hope it'll helps!

Hi imagesxela,

Really enjoy pics for both ur Album, especially those paranomic pics.

Oh yes Taj Exotica is definitely more exclusive, however ur Baros pics turn out to be much nicer, esp those nite shots! Kekekek.......
Seems like ur Taj pics is kind of cloudy... are your rest of ur stay there cloudy as well?

Overall, really enjoy pics album! Thank you very much in sharing ur happy moments! Good luck in your upcoming trips!