Maldives

Hello Garfield,

Imagestation is up, Kindly take a look. Cheers!

Hi Oriental_B,

No, still haven done any research on Bora Bora trip yet. Maybe you can check in the forum regarding Bora Bora or Tahiti, I remember someone said booking from some Australia or NZ travel agent would be cheaper.

However, I think the air fare doesn't worth it. If I'm pretty tight on budget, say less than S$10K, I would choose Maldives again. Can stay more days, and it's beautiful there as well.

You can let me know your email add, then I can sent you an e-invitation. Okie

Wu

Hi Wu,

Been to Maldives once so tot of gg somewhere else n Bora Bora is on top of our list at the moment.
However, if it turns out way too ex, we may opt to go Maldives again, but a different resort.
Another option is fiji =)
My email : [email protected]

Hi Oriental!

Which resort you've been too in Maldives?
Oic....., it's the EX factor again, har!

According to ppl, those Holiday location around equator, like Maldives, Tahiti, fiji, Hawaii should have the same white powdery beaches, clear sea water...
So to me... keke... got such nice beach and water, I'm Ok liao.. So if I need to pay additional $2K per pax for the flight, I will likely choose a cheaper location.
However, Bora Bora looked very nice on pics.. got mountain view somemore, if got extra cash, I would also like to go there!

Will sent you e-invitation on my Maldives photo. let me know if you didn't receive, Okie!

Hi Ribena,

You will not regret going to Maldives, especially for honeymoon.
Then if honeymoon, most resort will give you some perks too.
Maybe Hilton might throw in 1 night stay for you at the sunset villa somemore...

Ok. Will sent u the link to my Album. CheerS!
Have fun!

Hi Wu,

do u know if we want to enjoy any honeymoon perks in any resort, do they want us to produce any cert to prove??

Hi Kissbb,

I think they'll need the marriage cert, as indicated in their terms & condition.
You can contact the resort for details, maybe can also tell them late honeymoon or aniversary, they should be quite open to this I think.

thanks.. wu.

married a couple yrs ago.. but would like to enjoy the honeymoon perks for my second honeymoon ..hee hee

Kissbb!

KekeKe.....
OIC :p

It'll be easy if you go back to the same resort.. then tell them Aniversary..easier. I'll use that trick when I go back Maldives in future

Wu,
Your Maldives pics are really marvellous. Now I am calculating the budget for the trip.. any idea whether Tsunami affected which part of the island or hotels??

Hello Ribena,

If you're there, it'll be 100X more marvellous.
Photos cannot express the feeling when we're there :p Kekekeke....

Tsunami only affected those resort situated on the eastern coast, however, most of them have re-open after renovation, such as Soneva Gili.

Hilton is at the south Ari Atoll, south western area, and it's totally un-touch by the Tsunami.

Envy you leh... the best part is calculating the budget, planning the trip and then fly

I really miss there leh....

Do let us know if you've decide to go Okie...

Hi wu,
i'm planning to go maldives for my HM. Can share with me ur photos? [email protected]

what else can we do at maldives other than diving? I don't know how to dive. I did snorkelling a few times, but still not very confident.

Hello Momoko,

The imagestation where I stored my photos was down for the moment. Once it's up, will sent you an e-invitation to my photo album, Okie?

Don't know how to dive ah, maybe can get certified here in Singapore, Malaysia first before you dive in Maldives. Much more cheaper to get certified/License here.

It's a must to dive in Maldives, don't waste the trip, and remember, Diving is easy to pick-up, not as bad as it look.

There's whole list of items for you to do over there, i.e. Island hopping, line Fishing, Sports Fishing, Canoe, learn catamaran sailing, Glass bottom boat tour, Sunset/sunrise cruise/snorkelling, surfing, waveboarding, kite surfing... everything you can think off.

For romantic stuff, since you'll be there for HM, can do something like go to a private island, as a couple alone, or private dinner near the tip of the island with your personal cook, or go for the glass bottom Spa treatment would also be great too

I can sent you a list of items with pricing as well.

Anyway, the main motive there in Maldives is to do nothing, just relax and enjoy the scenery... I call it the art of doing nothing!

I saw alot of guest, esp Caucasian there just lying there beside the swimming pool/seaside reading books for most of the day there.

Hope these info helps, if not, let me know okie

Wu

wu,
no problem. send to me when it's up

my AD is in sept. think it's too late to learn diving, so will go for the other activities instead. those which u've listed seems to be v interesting and exciting. everything sounds so perfect.. so romantic.. i can't wait to go...!!

yes yes, pls send me the list of items with pricing ya. Tks so much

Hello Momoko,

Just check on the imagestation, still down for maintenance...
looks like I'll sent you invitation next week then.

Meantime, I'll sent you all the iternary and price list for Hilton Maldives. Cheers!

Wu

Hi Wu,

Can share with me your Maldives pics too? Thanks!

By the way, you booked Hilton thru local agent or from the internet? 'Cos so far have not seen any agent doing Hilton especially the suite water villa...

Hi twinstars,

Will sent you an e-invitation as well.

I've booked thru Hilton website, initally for the beach villa, then when we're there, their staff porpose us to upgrade to their sunset water villa, at a discounted rate

Wu

Hi Wu,

ur pics r lovely.
I stayed in Kuredu. nice resort at very reasonable rates, dun think its popular with locals. thru out my stay there, me n bf were the only asians. most are english, italians.
We had a small budget then n wanted to stay in water bungalow so that worked out very well for us. Now for HM, we have a bigger budget, looking at 10-15k, so thinking of either Bora Bora or back to maldives. thinking of soneva or kanuhura if gg maldives..
thanks for sharing the pics

Hi Wu,

Thanks for sharing!
Beautiful pics

How much you actually spend for this trip?
Can roughly guide me a breakdown like which airline you took, air tickets, tax, villa, upgrading etc?

Hi Oriental_b,

WoW.... 10 to 15K... yes yes.. go to Bora bora then. Should be good enough lah..

Hi Shan_Shan,

Will sent you an e-invitation as well.

You can go there all year round, just that May to end of the year will record more rain fall. Maybe you can check directly with the resort.

Hi Astley,

Me and my wife spend ard S$8k
We stay in Hilton for 7nights, breakdown as below:-

7nights beach villa:- US150++ per night (early bird rate), now should be around US400.
Upgrade last 3nights Sunset water Villa:- USD750++ per night(1 night free)

breakfast only
Bed tax:- USD8 per night
Service:- +10%

SQ(return):- S$398+ tax S$161 per pax
seaplane(return):- USD250 per pax

Food(lunch/Dinner):- ard USD20 per pax per meal.
Excursion:- ard USD35 onwards
Special dinner:- USD150 onwards per pax.

I'll sent you a detail list(itenary) to your email, then you'll be clearer. Okie

Wu

Hi Wu

Wow... Thanks for so detail.... Yes please, hope to receive your email

This is my 1st time DIY travel, I'm planning this trip for my anniversary, I hope I won't miss out anything...

Is March monson season?
Hmmn... You walk around in Male?

Hi Astley,

I've already sent more info to your email. Most of them are provide by Hilton themselves.

I love DIY travel, as we can save much more and spent it on other meaningful stuff

Most resort would arrange for the seaplane/speedboat transport. All you have to do is book the resort, book the flight to Male, and be sure the transfer time to the resort from Male. Seaplane don't transfer at night, thus you'll have to book a hotel for the night or you can stay at the 24hrs restaurant in the airport. Those resort near to the Male airport would then have speedboat transfer in the night. Airport hotel is ex, ard USD200. Male Hotel(Motel) is cheaper, the one we stay is USD75. need to take a ferry(Dhoni) to the Male island, 15mins away.

Maldives got different type of monsoon, which I'm also blur. Just keep this in mind, Dec till April timeframe is the dry season, less rainfall. May till Nov, more rainfall. I think March is a good time to go... but it's be more ex though!

Don't have time to walk around male.. don't dare also. Morning still Ok, but night, a bit weird. Those local their are still awake at 12am... I mean really awake, lots of cars, motorbike, guys, girls walking around the street. PPL standing around the street talking. Ah....ya like Geyland in the night lah.. kekeke...

Hi wu,
what a beautiful pic u've! tks for sharing. I was so excited when i saw ur pic... simply lovely. would love to go Hilton but don't think my budget allows that

By the way, where is the Baro Baro? seems to be a very beautiful and exp place.. hee.. any web site to view that?

Wu
haha.. u 've become a consultant to Maldives...keke..
er.. for monsoon, u are right...there's two so call distinct season...more rain or less/no rain... but just wanna correct u if u dun mind, March is a good time to go cos it's so much less expensive than in Dec... Dec dun go!!! it's superlative ex... it's the high high season... wif xmas n new year...go unless u wanna join in the crowd to party...;p the rates will start to drop after Jan... feb till april is the "low end of the peak season"....

Hi Wu,

I've not receive your email yet...

Think they only provide speedboat since you listed earlier that seaplane US$250 per pax... 24hr restuarant? But still cannot sleep right... Don't wanna be "panda" when we reach the resort... hehehehe... Feel quite a waste to stay a nite in the city "for nothing", but most airlines depart late evening. You book your Motel from the website too or you walk in?

I've done some research but can't find the price you've listed, do you mind to let me know which website you book from?

Oh... Geylang type of city... not our type... think we can skip that too... unless we are hungry... hahaha...

By the way, how's the food at Hilton? (From what I saw in your pics) Mostly steaks?

@stley
some resorts got speed boat transfer so u dun need to stay one night in Male town... for me, my resort is reachable by speed boat so upon reaching the airport, there's a resort guide welcoming us at the exit n bring us to the resort straight away using the resort's speedboat... think the Hilton seaplane cos the island is rather far out... my resort by speedboat is like an hour ride lor..quite far away from Male n airport... so think Hilton is much more far away...that's y need sea plane... think Wu didn't send u his pics yet cos the web site of the pics is under maintenance...

Hey Starstar!

How's your weekend? Kekeke... Not consultant lah...just eager to help out you see...kekek.. don't know why... maybe I also want to share and wanted others to enjoy what we've been thru.

Ya loh, Dec is a killer.. will force ppl to eat the Xmas dinner somemore.

July is still the cheapest :P kekeke...

Let's keep this link alive should we? Maybe more ppl will join in, and we can share more lobang... kekeke...

Hi Momoko,

Ya... hitlon is Ex, Above average I would say, but I think worth it loh! Never did we receive such "royal" treatment thru-out our holiday trip though. The moment you reach the Hilton Seaplane lounge, you'll feel that you're Kings and Queens

Bora Bora is in Tahiti... more ex (as in the air ticket is S$2K per pax).

will sent you the link later

Hi Astley,

Will try to sent you the info again..some problem with my email acc.
No lah, not advisable to stay at the 24hrs restaurant at the airport, actually we intend to do to save some money. Until when someone approach us to offer a Motel stay in Male city. Take a Dhoni there takes 15mins, US$1 per trip. Take taxi to Motel, another US$1 per trip per pax.
Or you can book from starasiatravel.com, or your resort operator, ask them to book for you by giving them a budget. Remember, airport hotel AKA Hulhulhe hotel is too ex USD200, not worth.

I booked thru Hilton website. We're lucky that Hilton main island new opening got special discount. So the USD150 per night offer is one time only, and we're the first occupants staying there, totally new beach villa. Imagine they're still installing the blind when we check-in.
You must play around with the dates, room cat etc.. the rate is always diff.
Example:- initially, I check non-smoking room and the rate for the beach Villa is USD180, then I try checking smoking room, then they got one cat called bounceback cat, the rate is USD150+ breakfast. You have to fiddle around with the option though.

Food at Hilton is like typical Italian or western restaurant. Steak lah, Spagetti lah, seafood combo lah..etc, They have at least 5 restaurant there with diff kind of food stuff, ala carte, set, BBQ grill, underwater Maldivian food, etc... will sent you more info later in the afternoon. Okie

Hi Astley,

I try sending the info to your email but received a delivery failure, claiming your mailbox is full.

Kindly check out your mailbox size, or alternative, sending to your company mailbox?

Wu

hi Wu,

thanx for sharing your photos

its reali like my dream paradise....how i wish to fly there now...:p

btw, i hv some stupid questions :p...check wif u, i saw from the photos dat the water villa has some stairs dat lead directly to the sea...so meaning we can juz jump down n swim rite? but do they hv life jacket in the room? (sori coz i duno how to stay afloat n wifout the life jacket i dun dare to swim..:P)...n is the water v deep? as for the snorkeling equipments, is it oso provided or we hv to bring our own?

Hi Shan Shan,

Yes, it's a paradise over there, how i wish that's my home :p Really missed there alot!

The stairs used to lead to a open sea swimming pool, not anymore liao, as due to some sand movement, the dug-up swimming pool was gone now

During low tide, the sea level around our villa is ankle deep. high tide, it's only waist level. However at times the current is pretty strong but still manageble though. Quite difficult to swim though, as the water level is still to shallow even at high tide :p

They do have snokelling equipment(Mask, Snorkel and Fins) for rent, I think it's USD12 per day per set or USD60 per week per set. Life vest is USD5 per day.

So when are you going to Maldives then
kekekeee ..... I'll be saving up some money, planning to go there again around April 07, that's a long time man

Wu

Wu
sure... I'll pop by whenever I can..;p my weekend? ok lah... seems to pass very fast leh...haha..
just had a 12km route march last sat... maybe that's y I feel like it's very short weekend...:p

Hello Star Star,

Of course short weekends lah, after road march sure tired mah, then rest for the rest of th saturday, sunday wake up late then weekend gone :p.
So, is the 42km march coming any sooner?

If road march in Maldives different case hor, I can walk for 100km...kekekeke...

hi Wu,

ic, thanx for the info...

well, im planning to go for my honeymoon next year early nov...haha, can feel dat u reali love dat place alot...

Hi shan Shan,

You too, will fall in love with Maldives, the beautiful sea, powdery sand(those sand in the sea is so fine until you though it's mud, really

and also not forgetting the really genuine Maldivian ppl.

I'm now considering whether can I further upgrade to a dive master or dive instructor so as to have a chance in working there.

Much better than working here in Singapore, 9am to 9pm..... Xian

Anyway, did I sent you any itenary, excursion event list to you? I can sent it to you if you need them, a good price reference, so you can prepare a budget for your trip.

Wu

Hi Wu

How many days will you recommend to go to Maldives? What are the other activities that we can do there other than visit the Male town?

Other than Hilton, what are other similar resorts that you will recommend? Any idea how is Maldives different from Mauritius? Will Nov be a good time to go?

Hello JJ,

If I'm rich enough, I'll stay in Maldives for 1 month. Really!! The scenary alone is really worth it! I can only afford 7 nights in Hilton though,

The Male city/town is the capital island, nearby there's he Male international airport(Hulhulhe airport), on another island.
Hilton is ard 20mins seaplane flight away at the South Ari Atoll. Maldives consist of thousands of island really small ones, so if you decide to go to a resort say Hilton, you're gonna stay on the island for the good 7 nights or so.

It really depends on you, what activities you're involve with. For me, I do diving, so I'll always allocate 3 to 4 days for Diving. Dive and fly does not come along, so no flying for 18hours after last dive, thus always a rest day on the 2nd last day. My trip to these kind of beach resort always range from at least 6 to 7 nights.
Other than diving, there's a whole list of excursion, seasports, spa, snooker, etc.... everything cost money, USD. So for me with limited budget, I'll spend more on Diving, on some excursion and seasports only, then food.

It'll really depends on your budget to choose a resort( if you got unlimited budget, WoW, no problem with any resort at all!! )
Example:- The Sunset Villa that we stay, original price at ard USD2800 per night, we pay only USD750.
However, hilton got the lower end beach villa that's ard USD400~500 per night.
The price range is that much, even on the same resort island.

Other really top end resort are like Huvafenfushi, where the high end villas was USD4800 per night, peak period.
Or Soneva Gili, top end around USD1300 or more.

There also mid-high end resort such as the famous Banyan Tree, Four season(quite ex also), Angsana, cocoa island, one&only etc...

Some Mid low end ones that I like are Mihiri, Meeru, Vilu Reef and veligandu island etc.

Some resort are good for families, some good for diving, and some for romance, you really have to do some research on the internet though

I've attached the starasiatravel.com link for your reference. That's my first bible to study on the resort type, room type and of course the reference for the room rates.

http://www.asiatravel.com/maldives/maldives.html

I'm not sure about Mauritius, never been there. From the photos, Maldives seems to have nicer beach, as in the sand is whiter...kekeke.. I prefer white sand than golden sand though. Mauritius is a much bigger island, and there car or bus as transport. In Maldives, Male city, drive one round the island with no traffic probably takes only 10 mins. Travel to other island, will beed speedboat or seaplance. To me Maldives is more exclusive, in the sense that small island meaning less ppl(also depends on which island you go). Then Mauritius is near to Africa, south Africa, and I always think there's great white sharks there, so I cannot dive, thus,I'll not choose there as my destination. kekekeke.....

I think Nov is still Ok, the rates will be more ex than during June, July period, but cheaper than Dec/Jan. If you want more sunshine per day, April would be a good choice.

Kekekeke...anymore question, do let me know. Anyway, these are some info that I know, and I'm sure there're more ppl out there knew Maldives more than me, and been there more than me

Do drop a post if you have other question, will search thru internet for help if I can.

Wu

hi Wu,

yeah, tink im already falling in love wif dat place by your description even before going...

haha, yah imagine working in a heavenly place...u won't even tink dat u r working at all...:p

yeah yeah, dat would be great..
...pls send your event list to me...
...reali thanx alot

Hi Shan Shan,

Already sent you 7 files, all info on Hilton Maldives.

Kekeke.....the only thing I don't like about Maldives is the food. Those western food stuff....kekeke. It's not that it's not nice lah, but not used to it lah, you know what I mean.

Have fun!!

Wu

Hi Cherz,

Sure, you'll not regret going Maldives for Honeymoon..esp they got honeymoon perks as well.

I'll sent an e-invitation to you to view my photo Album right away! Kindly let me know if you didn't receive it.

Have fun!

WU

Hi Missylan!

Yeh.... Congrats!!!

Don't think you'll regret lah!

Have fun and do show us photos Okie?

Wu

wu,
tks so much for the info
showed my HB the rates for few hotels and he was like... huh, so exp one ah. But he's fine as long as i like it. Will be showing him pic on the water villa to tempt him... hee... yesterday i drew pic of water villas for different hotels and he's already excited abt it

missylan,
can share what ur 5K+ covers? me also intend to go in mid Sept. If not convenient to publish here, can email me at [email protected]

Hi Wu

Thanks for the info. It's really very detailed. I didnt expect Soneva to be so ex. Will take a look at the link.