Maldives

Hi Wu,

Sorry to trouble you...
Is your file very big? my mailbox is clear but then hotmail max 2k only...
Anyway, I've email you another a/c

Hmmn... any idea is there morning flight to maldives?
'Cos we rather spend the $$ in Hilton stay then in the city leh
hehe... thanks for your tips, will try your method for a better prices, 'cos when i click for "king bed" the prices are quite high manz

Hi starstar

Thanks for your infos

Actually after viewing Wu's pics so I always tot seaplane can have a better view to see and feel the paradise... and speedboat cannot see anything 'cos it's "flat view"...

By the way.. 1hr speedboat... pardon me, do you feel giddy? Will you still have the feeling like you are still on the sppedboat especially when you reach the island? 'Cos me and hubby both have this experience before
and it last for at least an hr or more...

Hi Shan,

Great Choice! Envy you liao.... What Villa will u be staying, and how many night?
I've sent you an e-invitation to view my Album. Have fun!

Anyway, u should be excited!!!
The seaplane flight there is already breath-taking!!

Wu

Hi Astley,

Ok..got it, I'll resent the info to your yahoo mail.

Sad to say, there's no morning flight to Male, from Singapore.
Will not spent much lah..kekeke... for our case, pay around USD90 more for return boat trip to Male, taxi to hotel, then Hotel stay. As what you say, not worth to stay overnight at the 24hrs restaurant for the morning transfer.

Another suggestion is to choose those resort near to Male, do a 15~20min speedboat transfer(ard USD100 per pax return) in the night. Thus you can save the first night Male hotel stay(USD90), save on the seaplane charges also(USD250 per pax return).

Astley, try to call Hilton direct to secure for a better price. Tell them some Singaporean folks recommend you guys to choose Hilton. Probably they can give some more discount. Use some tactics like saying Banyan tree give you this and that lah, Soneva gili give you these and that discount lah.... Really.. to get a good price,
you need to do that.

Hope it helps

Wu, We are planning to stay for 4 nights. Initially wanted to book the water villa but afraid of tsunami..so we decided on the beachfront villa. The beach front villas are newly renovated right?

ACtually at first we planned to stay at two islands. 3 nights in Hilton and another 3 at FullMoon but then, the person in charge of fullmoon wasnt very nice and helpful. So now we just settle for hilton.

You think 4 nites enuf? cos not sure what to do there besides sun baking, snorkling, diving.

Shan

Hello Shan,

Kekeke... if there's a Tsunami hor.. stayin in beach villa doesn't help too. The water villa might even be slight more above sea level compare to the beach villa.

Actually the beach villa was totally new, build from scratch and not renovated. If you're staying in the normal beach villa, it's 150sqm living area, 40sqm bigger than the new 5Rm-HDB flat. If it's the deluxe beach villa, it's 300sqm, almost 3X of 5Rm flat, and you'll also have a personal dive pool in your villa!

Already sent you the e-invitation on my photo album. You can take a look at the beach villa photos. In my opinion, the beach villa is already very nice.. really big living space, a good place to "Nua".

Forget about fullmoon lah. Simply not worth it. There're nicer resort around.

Kekeke...for me 4 nights not enough. There's more things to do there, especially the long list of excursion,like island hopping,fishing,sunset cruise etc..

Probably you can stay another 3 nights at the nearby Mihiri resort(probably 30mins speedboat away), the water villa(cheaper than Hilton but I think it's very nice, from pics).

I'll sent you more info regarding excursion and watersports stuff at hilton. Okie

Wu

hey Wu, Thanks for your pics...so so nice!! wished i can be there now. You are so lucky! managed to get the early bird rates at USD150. When did you book. Now cost so much extra! Beach villa cost approx USD400.
After looking at your pics, i agree 4 nights not enough!
Hubby was suggest to try the undersea restaurant. but i thought its too expensive. Is it worth after all?
How did you booked? via email or you called Hilton Maldives directly?
Need to try save cost.

Shan

Hi Shan,

I booked thru internet, around April/May. Fiddle around with all the preference, I got 3 different prices, from USD150 to USD180. I click on smoking rms and we've got USD150 plus breakfast.
Non-smoking rm charges USD180. Anyway who cares! We're the first to stay in that new beach villas..keke...

Go visit the undersea restaurant ONLY, but not the food. 4 singaporeans were there(thats us) and nobody like the food, tasted weird! Imagine curry powder on ice cream as dessert???? I don't think most ppl like the food as I still can see those AngMo not finishing most of the dishes. Not forgetting the "Cabin" pressure.... feel very uneasy during dining, feel like low on air when eating. For that, I think USD220(net)per pax is not worth it, there's nicer food out there in other restaurant. The only good stuff is the school of fishes(lots of blue strip snapper), stingrays and we even see Giant Barracuda hunting smaller fishes just above the Glass roof!

You can try calling Hilton Maldives direct, I read/hear from someone from some forum that it's possible to bargain. We got our Sunset water villa price(by bargaining) drop from USD3000 to USD750 per night, main reason is one of the sunset Villa(only 2 there) is vacant and no booking during our stay, and thus such offer

If there's beach villa vacant at that time when you're going, they should be able to charge lower though, Or when you're there, check out any vacancy there on the Water Villas, maybe you can get the price of the beach villas
for a water villas!(Stay at the New Spa villa if you can, more ex but it's much newer! I hear ppl complain that the normal water villa is old inside)

Hey Shan, probably I'll need your help to get me some info on a CD(a Maldivian Singer)when your're there at Hilton. It's always in the Beach villa room and the only one, and it's very very nice music and we loved it(we play it over and over again for 7 nights!). It's ex there so I never buy, and think there it might be on sale at amazon.com but I was wrong. I might need your help to buy for me, I can transfer money to ur bank account.
See how lah, I'll write to Hilton to ask first.

The singer was actually there performing live(Unplugged), and it's even nicer! When you're there, must go there listen, at the Atoll Market restaurant, at night! Ask the ppl there for details!

Wu

hey..u chose Taj Coral too! u won't regret man...;p enjoy yourself k?

astley
the speed boat ride was ok... very windy... it was too dark to see anything but I already saw the crystal clear water when we were boarding the boat at the airport jetty...

wu
haha..Hilton should give u some commission for advertising for them here..;p so u going back to there for your next trip?

astley
sorry..i think the baot ride to my resort then was ard 30min....not an hour... keke...felt like an hour cos nothing to do on boat so felt like the time passed slowly..;p checked wif hubby...he confirmed it's ard 30 min lah..;p

Hello Starstar,

Wha..you busy recently ah? Field camp? Kekeke.... No lah...got commission good loh!
if they can still offer me USD150 per night, yes I will! As it'll be the cheapest 5 star resort in Maldives! :p
Eh.... maybe will try either Soneva Fushi or Hufenhushi if got money. If not, on tight budget, maybe will choose Meeru, Mihiri, Taj Coral or Vilu reef.

NExt time round, I'll go there for 14 nights! Kekeke....
What about you? Which resort would you choose next time round?? :p

wu
no lah not field camp but very busy wif the training schedule... got a number of night training mah...:p anyway leaving for Brunei in two weeks time.. bringing the cadets over to there for jungle survival training.

next time round?... see how..depnds on budget...dun mind staying Taj Coral again...visit my Indon friend who works in the spa there... she kept asking me if I'm going back there soon?...
hopefully can stay in Coco Palm or Soneva Fushi.... *dreamy look*

Hey Wu
No problem about the CD. Just let me know. I will hep you get.
We cant book directly with Hilton. All fully booked. Hubby will book through his travel agent. Slightly more expensive..but no choice cos we have tough time accomodating each other's work schedule. Staying at Hilton for 7 nights and one nite at Male.
Cant wait!! hope weather is good!!

Soneva Fushi is nice..but too costly. Hubby suggesed to stay there a few nites but i thought better not since too much money to spend for wedding. :P

Hi StarStar,

i though u almost ORD liao? Still need to go such places ah? Really tough job man!
Do you have any photos on Taj Coral as well? Can let me have a look please. Roughly how much u spent there har?

Hello Shan!

Thanks in advance! :P
Oh..so you haven book with Hilton yet lah? Did you try calling them straight? (instead of internet booking). Probably most villa are being blocked book by travel agent!
Excited isn't it! Have fun lah!

Wu
I haven upload my HM pics on net leh...hee..in fact my AD ones also..:p can wait till end year can? cos my hubby only want to take up broadband when we have a desk top at home...currently he's still looking ard.. waiting for the Comex in early sep to get the best deals...:p I can tell you I spent abt S$6k for two pax... stayed there for five nights(water villa)... inclusive of all meals...

ya loah... still need to go Brunei...never mind go tehre got allowance take...also take it as the ORD trip lor..haha..:p

Wu
I haven upload my HM pics on net leh...hee..in fact my AD ones also..:p can wait till end year can? cos my hubby only want to take up broadband when we have a desk top at home...currently he's still looking ard.. waiting for the Comex in early sep to get the best deals...:p I can tell you I spent abt S$6k for two pax... stayed there for five nights(water villa)... inclusive of all meals...

ya loah... still need to go Brunei...never mind go tehre got allowance take...also take it as the ORD trip lor..haha..:p

Hello Wu,

Would like to find out more abt Maldives as we are thinking of going there for our honeymoon in March.

hope u can help us with it since u seem to know quite a lot abt the place. is march a good time to go? are there any special perks if we are on honeymoon? u mentioned we can bargain? how do we do that? is it cheaper to book via an agent here or to go there and bargain?

momoko,
The charge inclusive of 6nites, breakfast, seaplane, SIA flight and tax. That's all.

It is supposed to cost less than $2000 for per person for a 5days 3 nights package. + extension so added up slightly over 5K

Hello Starstar!

Okie lah, will wait for you to upload ur pics.
Must let me know when you done that!

HAve fun with your oversea training! Kekeke.... Don't be too hard on the cadets Okie!! :p

Hello gambit,

No lah...kekeke..been there once only, and only to Rangali Island where Hilton is situated. I reckon March is a good time, less rain fall.Bear in mind, best time to go equates to higher cost though! March I think is 2nd EX compare to December/Jan.
For Hilton, I was told by someone in some forum that calling them is cheaper. However, there's some resort which you'll have to book thru agent to enjoy discount. You'll have to do more study on the internet though!
For me, I'm lucky that the water villa that we're staying is empty plus low season, and that's why we can bargain.
Check thru the starasiatravel.com pricelist/individual resort wevsite as a baseline, set a budget and try calling the resort you're interest with then compare prices. Not always cheaper when you call direct.

What's your budget? I can give you some recommendation, and probably others here can help you out too?

I can also sent you link to my Maldives album, and you can view whether you'll like it also.

Okie

Wu

Hi Wu,

thanks for ur info! can u send me the link? my email is [email protected]

well, we dont really know how much hotels cost there, so have not worked out a budget! that's why we're trying to do a market survey there now.

has anyway been there for a week in march? where did u stay and how much did u spend on lodging and food?

Hello Gambit,

I'll sent the link to you, let me know if you haven received by noon time.

You would need at least S$4K++ for 2 pax for 7 nights, for normal beach villas.
Some simple breakdown of cost below, for your ref:-

A:- Fares
Airfare(SQ):- around S$400~600 per pax (Return)
Tax and fuel surcharge ard S$161 per pax

If you need seaplane Xfer from Male airport to your resort, add ard USD100 to stay overnight at Male.
If it's nearby, transfer only using speedboat, likely no overnight stay.

B:- Transfer
Seaplane charges:- Ard USD240 ~ 285 per pax(return ticket)
Speedboat:- ard USD100 per pax(return)

C:- Accomodation(depends on resort - low to high season)
1)Beach Villa would cost Around USD150++ ~ USD800++ per night
2)Water Villa would cost ard USD250+ ~ USD4850 per night
i.e. Vilu reef beach villa ~ USD150++
Hilton beach villa ~ USD400++
Banyan tree ~ USD650++
Havafenfushi beach bungalow ~ USD860++

i.e. Normal Hilton Water Villa ~ USD750++
Mihiri Water Villa ~ USD350++
Huvafenfushi Lagoon Villa ~ USD1300++

D:- Food
Most resort would offer B&B, half board(HB) or Full-board(FB). Try to select those who can offer you FB inclusive. If not, resort would charge ard USD50 ~ 85++ for FB per pax!

For me, mine is only bed&breakfast, and we spent ard USD50 ~ 80 on food*(ala-carte) for both of us per day.

E)Sports and fun
1)Excursion like snorkelling trip, fishing trip etc --- Price range from at least USD30++ per pax
2)Diving ard USD65 per dive(all includive)
3)Spa - from USD85 onwards
4)water sports like banana boat, catamaran sailing etc from USD20 per pax onwards.

F)Souvenir
Must prepare some cash (or credit card also can) for that.

I spend around S$8k for 2 person at Hilton, all inclusive.

Some price list from asiatravel and Crown tours for your reference below! Have Fun doing the research!

http://www.asiatravel.com/maldives/maldives.html
http://www.crowntoursmaldives.com/index.php?option=rates

WU

gambit
I went in March this year... spent total of $6K in all.. exclu air tics..air tics that time I booked promo one...think it was $600 each.(SQ)
stayed at Taj Coral Reef...

Hello Ali G!

Wha... I've been waiting for so long to talk to someone... Kekekeeee
finally you came. :p

Okie, I'll sent an e-invitation to view my photo album.
Let us know if you decide to go to Maldives and do share with us your experience as well!

Wu

Hi Purple_poppy!

Sure, glad to do that. I'll sent u an e-invitation as well.
Any queries do let us know!

Cheers! and have fun!

Wu

yo Wu
me back from brunei..keke...:p how's work and everything? me ROD mood liao...haha...looking forward to my Perth trip in march..;p

Hello StarStar!

Wha....after brunei holiday, you going for another holiday so fast ah? kekeke :p

Good for you lah... I know what you meant lah...ROD mood..... sleep until noon, eat lunch, do some sports.. hand over everything to the next poor chap

So when will be your ROD date? What's next after that? Be a Tai Tai ah?

My next trip will be Redang... a diving trip, likely around next Jun. If "heng heng" ganna toto or big sweep, I'll go Maldives again...Kekekeke...

Beside Perth, where else in Aust. have you been to? Any recommendation?

Wu
no lah..tai tai... not that I wish to be..if u consider me as a tai tai then I'm a "ku3 ming4" tai tai..haha... :p cos tai tai no need do housework one leh..me still gonna "bao" all the housework... actually i'm very happy to do all the housework... fulfill a wife's role(tot that's what a wife should do).. make house nice nice n cosy... cook a nice meal for hubby...hubby comes home from a tiring day also happy keke..;p

Full time housewife...I'll also be doing part time lah... tuition mainly..
I've already got a few students liao.. n also I've got recruited in a training consultant firm as a free lance trainer...

my ROD is on 1 Feb 06.. yeah...miss my pink IC... haha..can go n 'suan' my hubby... :p

aiyo..u call Brunei a holiday??? think more like jungle trip... kena mosquitoes' bites like nobody's business... super hot n humid...

Redang! lovely place..I haven been there yet... wanted to go but all the travelling puts my hubby off leh... must go there take pics leh...;p(wanna see) wah big sweep two million right...? haha..all the best then..

for me, Perth is the only place I've been to.. if u consider the outskirts of perth like Bunsbury(town of wild dolphins..alot man!can even jump into the sea n swim wif them...)n Busselton town... other major cities like Sydney n Brisbane haven go yet... but my hubby due to his work, travels alot.. been to these places liao.. think from what he describes n the brouchures he took...I concluded that Sydney is only good for the bridge climb... if u wanna go, I'll suggest Brisbane... more places to go n see..n of course, play...all the sea world lah..etc... :p Sydney..think it's rather same as Perth... that's my feel...;p

Hello Starstar,

Kekekeke..... true lah... you're still not 100% tai tai yet lah..maybe 50% lah. Wha, your hubby don't have to touch/do anything ah? "Ying2" liao loh! Must share share work load lah..kekekek :p

Hey, how you find students har? I want to find some to teach also leh! I try registering with some tuition centre, but they only gave me one primary student so far!

I got Redang pics, I'll sent you to link later. Another cheap alternative to Maldives.

Furthermore.... Redang charges in RM instead of US$...Super cheap!!!! Imagine my 1 dive in Maldives cost around USD70, while Redang is ard RM60. Thats 4X!

Wha, Australia so messy one ah, too many places the same I think....kekeke.... I think next trip I'll go gold coast instead. I actually would rather spend the money on another Maldives trip instead.... hmmm...... lets see
just bought some big sweep tickets

I ganna once b4, the big sweep, I think 5th or 6th price, around 3K, half year back.
Let's see this time round got at least 4th price or not...kekeke...

Wu

yoz Wu
got lah... now he got help out but next time I no longer working full time..think it's right of me to do the housework n try not to bother him too much... :p right?;p

students ok lah.. taught tuition before I join the force... last student was a lower sec boy...quite lazy boy...:p I registered with some tuition centre too.. but can't take on any tuition job now... only ard end dec or early Jan then can...
think gonna be patient with students the best...

thanks..i'll be waiting for the redang pics..:P wah.. u so lucky one... u bought alot or one only? big sweep quite hard to strike one leh...*envy*

Yo Starstar,

Ya lah, fair enough. Now you must do more housework. Kekekeke.... :P

Money not enough, I would also like to take up some tuition to save up some more trips like Maldives
Cannot always depends on big sweep lah!

I also think big sweep not easy to kanna, and the probability in striking all diff prizes are the same. How I wish that time it's at least a 2nd prize.

I got friends teaching Indonesian student, and he charges 600 ~ 700 dollars. That's alot. local kids I think can only fetch ard 200?

Then now the syllabus also so different. Sometimes simple question I also don't know how to solve using their new method. :p

Hey... off topic liao lah... should talk about Maldives! where are those ppl who want to go or share info abt Maldives? kekekeke.....

Anyway, sent you the Redang link liao!

Wu

Hi Wu,
Hey thanks for the pix...it really got me drooling... Just love the water and private jaccuzi.

R you an advanced diver? I got my basic abt 2 years back but just haven't find the time to go on a dive trip...

Hey Star,
U going to ORD and be a Tai Tai??? Hmm...is there something fishy behind this...sorry but I seldom logged on...hehehe

Keep It Real

wu
thanks... saw the pics..beautiful!!! wa.. redang seems to be more rocky than maldives... :p but is the feel of the sand the same? fine n white? when u planning for your next trip to maldives?

Ali
fishy? as in what? me not going to be tai tai lah... haha..

Hi Ali G,

No problem at all. Hope you like the photos.
Yes, it makes ppl drool, and we never stop drooling when we're there, or when we're back. Still drooling. Must drink more water to prevent De-Hydration. kekekeke:P

I'm just holding the open water diver cert. As I go along, I've pick up more skills. I'm now into my 15 dives only, don't have to go for Adv. now.
Hey, It's time for you to brush up your skills, or else you'll forget everything, ie. how to fix up your regulator to the tank.kekeke... But if you're going to Hilton Maldives, unlike typical malaysia dive resort, they fix up everything for you. Everything is on the dive boat, and all you have to do is know how to wear the equipment and jump into the water. They even dismantle and wash and store your equpiment, and they provide fruits, Evian mineral water, and hugh, thick towels for you after each dive and that's why 1 dive is USD70.

Allo StarStar

Yes, Redang is still beautiful, especially pasir panjang beach(Laguna resort in the picture with Pasir Panjang beach).
Powdery sand(only at pasir panjang beach and probably beach at the Bejaya resort) as well, fine and white. The water is generally clear as well, but that island is getting more and more crowded, and worse, typical singaporean at the buffet meals...really sickening.:P The next time I go there, I book the room only then go for Ala-carte meal. That's how the Ang-Mo do it, don't have to queue, rush for food.
Well, the room at Laguna resort also very big and spacious. If you plan to go there, go for Laguna or Bejaya, no point paying RM30~RM50 less for cheaper an inferior resort.
My next trip will be Redang or other surrounding island, Maldive cannot lah. No money liao. Have to save up for at least 2 years to have that kind of spending.

Another travel alternative for you? kekeke

Wu
wah..Redang does look n sound beautiful!!! hmmm..maybe we'll go there sometime later..definitely rem your worhty advice... go for laguna or Berjaya...At the moment... we're rather bent on going to Perth in March liao.. now sourcing ard... so u planning to go Maldives in 2years time? haha..maybe we can go together... travel by 4 maybe the air tics cheaper...haha...;p

Wu
wah..Redang does look n sound beautiful!!! hmmm..maybe we'll go there sometime later..definitely rem your worhty advice... go for laguna or Berjaya...At the moment... we're rather bent on going to Perth in March liao.. now sourcing ard... so u planning to go Maldives in 2years time? haha..maybe we can go together... travel by 4 maybe the air tics cheaper...haha...;p

Hello Starstar,

Redang is not too bad lah.. off course cannot compare with Maldives, kekeke..still my dream islands. I'll probably try Lang tengah or Penhentian(Redang's neighbouring islands). The quality of sand and water should be better

Another place worth looking is Sipadan or Layang Layang located in east malaysia. Also those island island type like Maldives. Divers paradise lah. But it's not cheap as well.

Yeh... Enjoy your perth trip... wha, almost like a ROD trip/R&R for you leh..... If SAF pay for it will be the best... then choose Maldives lah...... kekeke :P

Let's see whether we can plan for a trip back to Maldives in 2 years time. I think by then it's not gonna be 4 of us... lot's of your friendss, my friend might be "Gian" already. It'll be a SingaporeBrides.com trip to Maldives....KEkekeke

Yo Wu
haha..how I WISH!!! If SAF pays for it, I'll DEFINITELY go Maldives....haha..:p

Sipadan??? neber hear bef leh.... so is it more ex than Maldives? come to think of it... Maldives still the best...
I also saw some pics on Carribean... Tahiti.. looks super duper good also... but the price also duper "GOOD" lor... :p

ya man... think a numbe rof pple also wanted to go Maldives... think by then, it's a battlion of couples heading to Indian Ocean...with only one goal on their mind ---- Maldives!!! haha...

Hi Starstar,

Ya loh hor, SAF should organise R&R to Maldives hor...Kekeke:p

You can find info on Sipadan on the web. Sipadan is rank high up in the world's top 10 best dive sites, naturally, it should comes with fine white sand and clear blue water. It's already very famous in the world for diving and few years back, it's even more "famous" when a group of terrorist kidnapped tourist from the island and bring them to Philliphines.
Now, it's quite save as there's malaysian armed forces/navy patrolling the island.

Yup yup... tahiti is also superb, but the price even more superb. Accommodation almost same as Maldives lah, but the airfare is the killer.

Yes hopefully in 2 years time, there's enough "Maldives trip kaki" to form a critical mass to negotiate with any resort on Maldives to give special discount....kekekeke

Hello Evelyn,

so envy....you'll not regret going to Maldives..

Okie, will sent you the link in no time.

Cheers and do share you experience and pictures when you're back!

310975.jpg

Er... Just trying out how to upload pictures. Wha.. this forum only allow 50kb.. picture quality quite bad leh...

There's some other forum allowed much higher picture quality. Sad

littlemay
for water activities... think all resorts in Maldives the same...u need to pay for whatever activities u want... all in USD.... Banyan Tree is a 6 star resort... of course nice man!!
haven stayed there before..wanted to but out of budget... :p so in the end we chose a 4 star resort... still it's nice n cosy...:p

Yup was there for my honeymoon. Its definitely romantic place to go to. Intend to go back there for our 5th wedding anniversary & this time stay a little longer.

We stayed @2 different resorts cos too ex to stay in Banyan Tree. Stayed for 2 nites there b4 switching to Fullmoon Resort.