Maldives

ryo

Hi Kiko,

I've put some of the photo in Imagestation. Will sent you an e-invitation to your email, then you can see the photos. Will that be alright?

If you need to see virtually the video, let me know, I can sent it to you. Cheers!

Wu

jo_jo

Hi Missylan,
I checked out Mirihi's website and it looks really nice! May I know which is the agent that quoted you the rates, and how much it costs?

tks!

dreamer17

Hi Wu,

Its good if u can send me the video too....saw your photos...its a very nice place..hope to go there soon...but need to save lots of $$$ first...

Thank you.......

Hi Josephine,
U go surf Hoilday tours webiste. They got the price list and every other things we need to know.

Hi Wu,
The sunset villa is x! If your pictures are ready, can you send e-mail them to [email protected]
Thank you....

ryo

Hi Missylan,

It's X but with the discount they gave us, it's once in the life time experience for us. Imagine, 300sqm of living space, ,Bvlgari bath accessories, plasma TV, B&O phone, BOSE sound system, Jacuzzi, Open sea swimming pool etc.... and we got 2 personal Butler, 1 house keeper 1 personal speed boat captain for Sunset Water Villa occupants. It just feels good to be "rich" for err... 3 nights....kekekeke.... Now we're back to reality.... :p

Yes the pictures are ready, I'll sent you an e-invitation to view my album. Every now and then, will include new pictures, almost 2000 photos and 3 hours of photo to sort out.

ryo

Hi Missylan...

Not that "personal" lah..keke... They're always moving around the island with other job commitment. If we need anything or want to arrange for a speed boat or Golf Buggy, just call them and they'll arrange for the speedboat captain or fetch us using the buggy.

Or for in villa dining, they'll prepare everything, setup nicely for us.

We always give them our daily iternary, so they can arrange everything for us, like 3pm diving lah, 6pm fishing trip lah, 8pm dinner lah... stuff like that! :p

ryo

Hello Missylan,

What type of network error? yours? or imagestation where I'd place all my photos?

ryo

Hi Missylan,

Kindly try clicking on the view Album button again. One of the forum member, Kiko was able to view leh. weird hor?

I'll sent you another e-invitation again. you try out and let me know okie

Wu

ryo

Hello JJ,

Sure, I'll sent you a e-invitation and you can view the pics by clicking onto the links

I spent around S$8k for the 7 nights.
over my budget by S$2k.

Wu,
I am quite confused regarding the villas. They sent me pictures of their Spa water villa, beach villa and deluxe beach villa. I saw the sunset villa from your site. It is beautiful. Can I know whether what they called the Spa water villa is the normal water villa? They got so many types of villa which makes me confused!

Beach
Deluxe Beach
Water
Superior Water
Deluxe Water
Premier Water
Sunset Water

8K... does that include diving equipment or 8K for the whole trip? Sorry for all the questions

ryo

Hi Missylan,

I'll provide a brochure to you, scan and sent to you next week. It'll be clearer
Meantime, I'll explain slightly below. I think you can only find limited info in Hilton website as well, as their "motive" is actually wants you, the guest to visit them, the feel the difference. And yes, it's different, and when we're there, really, we loss track of time, they called it the art of doing nothing!!

Hilton Maldives consist of 2 island, Rangali and Rangalifinolhu.
Rangali island is the more exclusive ones with the older Water Villas, and the sunset Water Villas. Those who want to have a quieter environment will choose these.

Rangalifinolhu island just went thru 1 yr+ of refurbishment, since mid of 2004(Upgrading, not due to Tsunami), upgrading everything, including the new beach villa and the new Spa villas, reception, restaurant, gym, water sports centre, tennis court, shops etc...... ++++
Thus you got all the action pack stuff there, water sports,gym,shops,restaurant, everything, and you don't have to go to the island also can.

Now Hilton classified them under 4 cat. Yours is probably the old cat, and more detail cat.
1:- Beach Villa (150sqm)
2:- Suites (also called the deluxe beach villas ~ 300sqm) with dive pool
3:- Executive Rooms (Water Villas, diff size though, which include the new spa villas)
4:- Sunset Water Villa

The breakdown of my spending is below, estimate only:-
7 nights Beach Villa:- USD150++ per night (new opening rate)
3 nights Water Villa:- USD750++ per night
Dinner at undersea restaurant:- USD220 per pax
Diving(6 dives):- USD96 per dive
Glass bottom boat trip:- USD200++ (private hire)
Fishing trip:- USD35+ per pax
Food:- USD35 ~ 70 per meal
etc....

Everything will be much clearer if you go there

Really... b4 that, we also blur blur ones.. :p

No problem, any question, any time!! We want to to experience what we'd been thru as well

Wu,
Not only the resort is x... the daily spending there is x too. I really dun mind hilton resort, but still have to take into consideration about the daily expenses.
298441.jpg

Any idea, how is the Mirihi resort?

ryo

Hi Missylan,

We actually save some money by bringing our own food. Nissin cup noodles, sausages, cup soup, tuna, etc. We finished them in the first 3 days, then no choice, have to eat their food.

You don't have to go for their undersea restaurant kind of thingy, X and not nice. try their normal stuff, like seafood combo, spagetti lah.. all around USD15++. We often order other stuff and thats why add up to USD60+.
Lunch we normally spend around USD35 and there are days which we skip lunch(eat more during the breakfast buffet) kekeke......

For food wise, I think Mirihi should charge around the same. Excursion shouldn't be that much difference as well. You too have to take a seaplane to Mihiri too. So it's only the diff in the room rates. StarAsiatravel rates on Mihiri is from 300++ to 460++ as well. Don't think thats cheap as well. For us Diving and the Sunset villa really add up substantially though...

You can check with Hilton Maldives whether they still offer the promotional rates for Beach Villa which is ard USD181 net per night. At 150sqm, you got really a spacious villa. I think they have something call the 7nights rate, at USD180. Check out this link:-

http://www.hiltonworldresorts.com/offers/Maldives.html#jump

ryo

Hi Bonjon,

There's 152 photos in my Album. Hope you like them all....

ryo

Hallo Bonjon,

Forget the undersea restaurant. Too Ex, and food too exotic to our liking. Our only regret :p
Diving is good, although Manta season is over, but still see tons of other fishes, lots of eels, lion fish, cod etc....

starmed

Wu
seen your pics...are u planning to go there again in future? :p my hubby n me planning to go there again for one of our wedding anniversary but then again, dun know which resort to stay... think save up first...keke... we planning to go Maldives again maybe our third year or later anni... :p for next year, we going Perth.

ryo

Hallo StarStar,

Wha, every year ani you go oversea holiday ah? Good life leh!
You and me opposite leh, Anniversary you go Perth, for me honeymoon I go perth. Then I Anniversary go Maldive, and for you Perth....Hahaha...

I like perth too, especially the Corica Apple Strudel. :p

Yes, I would go back Maldives, probably will compare other resort as well, like Banyan, Angsana or Four season. Well, Hilton got give me points though, maybe got some perks. Maybe free 1 or 2 nights, or free seaplane...kekekeke :p

starmed

Wu
haha...u also good life wah...;p sama sama lah...:p

Four seasons is nice too!! oh ya wonder if u ever heard of this Coco Palm resort at Maldive...also cool... got jacuzzi at the water villa also... *dreamy*

Perth!! I love it there on in the autumn, spring n winter time...summer too HOT!!! yup yup..the apple strudel is a must try..keke... u went to the wine yards? also there a chocolate factory... been there bef when my hubby was training there, went to visit him. miss the place alot..:p we plan to drive down south to bunbury, margaret river n busselton for our next trip...most prob in March ;p

ryo

Hi StarStar,

Ya..Kekeke.... Sama sama.... :p
Saw the Coco Palm resort online, looks great too. The top end water villa got glass bottom splash pool some more. Rates not yet available but it's not gonna be cheap as well.

Yes, I love the weather there in perth, not summer though. Aiya, as usual loh, Wine yard, chocolate factory in Margaret river, tree top bridge, giant trees, dolphins tour, light house etc... Kekekekek...

The is best is the night sky during farm stay, Absolutely fabulous. Can see the milky way. We even saw a satellite travelling across the night sky! The Next time I go there, will bring my telescope, Giant Binoculars with me
(I brought my equipment there to Hilton Maldives, weighting a total of 10kg+).

starmed

Wu
Wah u actually lug that MONSTER wif you to Maldives??? must really give it to you leh...haha yup..agree wif ya..the nite sky at the outskirts of Perth are really beautiful..can't see that any where else in Singapore or even malaysia... so when's your next trip? your next wedding anni is still going Maldives or another place?

ryo

Hi StarStar,

Yes, a couple of "monster" in 3 bags. :p
Malaysia can see such a nice sky also, in the middle of the night in open sea.

Well, Next trip ah...er... maybe Malaysia, Redang, cheaper ones
. Do somemore diving first. Save up 2 years then following year then go back Maldives or maybe Bora Bora, which will cost me another bomb....

Hi Bonjon,

Yes, nice restaurant but food...nahhhhhh.. And also can feel some cabin pressure, don't know why though? Price per pax for dinner is USD220. Till now, I still don't know why I paid for it???? :p
I think Singapore that Sentosa underwater world dinner would be much worth while.

Yes, Hilton is also a good place for kids. Their staff are so well train with kids. At times when some parents are having lunch or dinner, the staff would volunteer to take care of the kids, really impressive! However, there's not much activities for kids though (no playground kind of things there). Anyway,how old is your kid?

starmed

wu
so your hubby n u are divers!!! :p cool... btw... your this trip to Maldives is your anni celebration right? so is it ok to let me know how long u guys are hitched? ;p Bora Bora is a resort in Maldives? have u tot of going to Carribean or Tahiti? me thinking of going there but dun know how... cos seems like no direct flight one...

ryo

Hi starstar...

I'm the hubby lah...kekeke...sorry for any confusion. Anyway, guys can come to these forum as well right. :p I always plan the trip, so have to search here and there for info, "Kang Tao" etc.. My wife just go and enjoy one. :p

We've been married for 2 years, and together for around 7yrs now.. Itchy liao... kekekeke... Anyway, usually our yearly event will be doing some diving in some resort, mostly Malaysia's ones. It's not difficult to learn diving, in Maldives, there's a kid, around 12years old dives too, and he's more experience than me :p

The Maldives trip should have been our honeymoon though. However, during that period, we just got our flat, reno, car loan..everything. So not much cash left, then have to opt for something cheaper, and that's perth.

Bora Bora is in Tahiti.. another Gorgeous place to be.. room rate somewhat similar to those in Maldives, but the air ticket is the killer. You can check on other discussion on Bora Bora/Tahiti though. Should be around S$2K per pax.

No direct flight to Bora Bora, probably need to transit in Australia or New Zealand. Then followed by an internal flight to Bora Bora, I think.

Go to this site and have a look at some of the premium resort(check out the Where to Stay link) and other info...it's really "poison", don't get hook ok.... have fun!

starmed

Wu
haha..ok..pardon me for the mixed up..:p
For me, i'm the one doing the researches... n looking for deals... etc my hubby's like my CO... go to him for approval...n he'll paid for it... ;p keke..:p

wah..2 years.. me haven one year leh... u guys have any kids? ;p

Bora Bora's in Tahiti...ok.. is this the only resort available? hmm..think I'll pop by the thread n look see..;p thanks.. hey u got any wedding pics to share?;p can send to me? [email protected]

haru

hi!
ok, we have decided to go to mauritius for our honeymoon. we mite leave maldives when we wana plan for a baby! (a maldivian baby!!!)

hopefully we will go to bora bora someday!!!!

ryo

Hi Starstar,

Kekeke....opposite har!.... I'm the CO,recce, but finacially we share
Wha.. you good life leh.. How I wish I can paid everything for my wife Kekekeke...

No kids yet. Anyway, if want to have such life style, cannot have kids yet lah. I got 2 dogs at home, a golden retriever and a cocker spaniel, so no kids for now

There should be alot of resort there...go to the link that I've sent you. 4 Cat of resort. Got high/mid/low ends type. High end ones are really nice as well...don't drool ok. :p

Wedding pics, can... I'll sent you some probably tomorrow.

Hello Garfield!

Sure, I'll sent you an e-invitation as well, alright? Hope you like them too! Cheers!

Wu

ryo

Hi Garfield,

Check ur email, already sent the invitation. If never received, kindly let me know!

starmed

Wu
Which thread isit?? I can't find it..only find 'Tahiti' but the last post was like 2003... only got two links in one of the post... the link u meant is it the same one? there's a link to the airfare one.. wah... not only the $$ is ex.. also the names of the airport..so 'chim' to pronounce n definitely look exotic... :p btw u heard of Fiji? isit same place as Tahiti? What abt Carribean? I'm getting all mixed up..:p

aiyah...even got kids can let your parents baby sit for a while...;p or even can ask your good pals to help mah..for a week or so...;p

ryo

Hi starstar,

Yes.it should be that thread. You can also visit the below link:-

1)www.boraboraisland.com
2)www.tahiti-tourisme.com

I think Tahiti also called French Polynesia(belong to france but now probably Atonomy), and Bora Bora is one of it's island.
Then Fiji is a country, I think also somewhere around Tahiti, all are situated in South Pacific.

Then Carribean is at central-south america area, where cuba is. You need to get a map liao...kekekeke.
It'll be useful then.... I'm thinking of getting one though... but probably not cheap.

Aiya... you think my parents would babysit my kids for that 7 nights? don't think so man. My dad always busy with his stuff, then my mum always go singing lesson. Even if they're, I wouldn't be that "Fang sing", even my doggies i left at home for 7nights with my sister around, we always think of them everyday and night when we're in Maldives. :p

We still want to be alone with our doggies, and also do more travelling...so no kids for now..kekekeke....

ryo

Hi Garfield,

I think there's some problem with the Imagestation, where I'd put all my phots in. Will sent you the link once the website is up!Okie ?

Wu

oriental_b

Hi Wu,

Have u fig out how to get to Bora Bora and the cost involved? I'm planning to go there for my HM. Am thinking whether Air New Zealand is a gd option, since they have F&E package to Tahiti. Any advise? thks.