Maldives

reginahwz

Hi there!

I'm also planning to HM in Maldives nxt yr. Have looked thru your suggestions & checked out the Taj Coral Resort.. but there aren't rooms avail for the period i wana go (15th-20th Mar). Would any of you have suggestions of similar resorts I can check out? Tks a bunch!! (",)

lindy_koh

hi Regina,

I would say go check out the list of hotels and resorts at maldives and visit their individual websites. i have looked so many time but i still can't decide!!!=P

applet08

Hi Lindy,

I'll be going for 8 days, 7 nights..

so will be gone for over a week..and yupz i'm going in october..i actually booked directly with the resort and it seems they are able to give u better deals n also more solid information...Thru this experience, i found tat some pictures we found on the webby from other agencies are no longer valid as it could be down for renovation due to tsunami... And agencies will continue to sell us the package sometimes...so be careful when u make a booking...

lindy_koh

Hi js,
wow!!!! thats really nice!!!! i think 8 days wil def be sufficient,lucky you!!!

would you mind to share how much you spent on the accomodation and if you have arranged ur flights?

applet08

Hi Lindy,

yes i have already arranged for my flights..actually i'm truly blessed coz my job requires me to travel alot so i accumulated lots of krismiles n hence both our tix to maldives are claimed through the mileage n i didn't have to pay a single cent for the tix..(Thank God for that!
) In terms of timing, if u fly by SQ, the only flight out is 8:35pm arriving at Maldive at 10pm.. As for leaving Maldive, will be 11:35pm (Male Time, 3 hrs behind SIN), so u will arrive the following day morning

Because of this, it gives us more $$ to look for better lodgings...we actually took the water villa..which is a level higher than the bungalows...And the deal given was something like pay for 6 nites but we get 7 nites or something..not too sure..i also remember that there are honeymoon special thrown in..like free dinner by beach, flower arrangements etc...FH was the one who is in charge of booking the resort..i'm in charge of air tix... Cost wise..i think they charge us like 400 or 500 + USD per nite..Oh..also there is the 10% service tax u have to take into account..n also the speed boat transfers..The resort i'm taking used to be 4 star but they were affected by tsunami n hence they kinda of closed the affected area n some others n rebuild it..Now they are ranked the 5 star resort...pretty gd deal i feel..

Hope the info helps for u..

lindy_koh

hi js,
wow!!! thats nice!!!! free flights!

thanks for your info. yeah, i reckon we need to set aside at least $5k for a week trip? its really expensive but its such a gorgeous place!!!

applet08

Hi Lindy..

yupz..tat's abt the budget my FH & I have kinda of set aside for..but considering we dun need to pay for air tix..so we can go for better accomodation
Now air tix are getting cheaper..see if u can try to get some cheap tix so can save some $$

starmed

hi Lindy
long time neber pop in... so how's your plan??? by the way, if u guys wanna go for banyan tree it's good choice!! Also there's a resort called Coco Palm resort..it's equally fantastic... same pricing range as Banyan... but more privacy...;p can check it out in the net...:p me planning to go there to stay for one of our wedding anniversary..maybe in 2 years' time... keke...

lindy_koh

Hi star star,
thanks!i will check coco palm out. banyan is really ex, and its easily 1k+ a nite, gosh! to be honest, the whole island is sucha beauty i dun mind an average resort as long as its on beach front...

hi miso,
cool pix!!!!

lindy_koh

hey star star,
i just found a resort called Huvafenfushi, and it looks soo heavenly!!!! do you think nov would be a good season? dun wana end gettin sea sick from all e currents while swimming in e ocean..hahahah....at e same time, dun wana go when its super peak....can u advice?

lindy_koh

hey star star,
i just found a resort called Huvafenfushi, and it looks soo heavenly!!!! do you think nov would be a good season? dun wana end gettin sea sick from all e currents while swimming in e ocean..hahahah....at e same time, dun wana go when its super peak....can u advice?

starmed

lindy
in nov, it's the tail end of the southwest monsoon... so the probability of rain could be lesser... but still it's unpredictable... still u could try for it... in fact the best time to go..cofirm many days of sunshine n calm seas are late dec to april... for the weather in maldives, I'll roughly brief ya...

late dec till april is the so called dry months... with occasional rains in feb n march.

may till nov is the wet seasons... with weeks of sunshine in aug n sep...

well this is the weather there... it all depnds on u... Huvafenshi is a good choice!!!

lindy_koh

hi starstar,
thanks, i dun mind to delay our honeymoon actually. we can go for a short, more simple honeymoon rite aft e wedding...hehehhe

huvefenfushi looks absolutely lush, and peaceful. i love the outdoor 'backyard' bathrooms and little pool, simply indulging.

yeah, if u cld advise me a lil more about e weather, i noe that these islands is likely to have sunshine througout year, but dun wana go there for only a couple of days, only to have one day of pure sunshine!

miso

Soneva Gili is a great recommendation too.
Its peaceful and extremely beautiful.
Service is 6 star..

starmed

miso n lindy
soneva Gili is good too... but I think it's rather ex... isit? If it's ok with the rates... it's a wonderful choice...
hee..wanna stay there one initially but budget wise dun allow cos we wanna stay in Maldives longer mah... n it's right after our two wedding dinners...some more doing reno after HM... abit tight that's y settled for second best - Taj Coral reef..:p I'll love to go there again in near future n stay Coco Palm or Soneva Gili..

lindy
for weather...it'll depends..if u wanna to be on the safe side..think u go during the dry season then no need to be so worried...

lindy_koh

hi starstar,
yeah, i tink u have a point. since gona pay so much liao, better to go when i noe its sunshine all the days!!!!=P well, if we postphone to go later, that also gives us some time to save up for the trip!hahahaha....

haru

anyone been to mauritius? am planning to go maldives next year coz its quite ex. so maybe can go mauritius during end aug or early sep.....anyone been there?

sook

Hi, I am on a budget so only can omly afford Full moon or laguna Beach. Can anyone advise which is better, Full moon's beach front or Laguna's? Is there any diff between Fullmoon's beach front and deluxe room (cheaper). The water bungalows are under reconstruction.

ryo

Hi folks,

Anyone been to Hilton Maldives? I'll be staying there for 7 days, with Breakfast. Like to check out the cost of dining there, i.e lunch and dinner. If too ex, I'll probably buy more instant noodles.
Anyone into diving as well? How's the rate there in hilton Maldives?

Wu

starmed

Hi wu...I've never been to Hilton but I guess all the resorts in Maldives the same... they charge u in USD... so all stuff u utilise in the reosrt is in USD.... for me, I stayed in Taj Coral Reef..4 star resort...a trip for snorkelling is US$30 per pax... so it's around that price... food wise.. mine was full boarded...so didn't spend much on food.

starmed

aiyo..nothing to fear one lah.. the place is stil as beautiful as ever.... u'll defintely enjoy yourself my dear..

ryo

Hi Starstar,

Already check with the resort, per dive is around USD58. In malaysia, I can dive 4 times.
Anyway, I save up alot on the hotel rates though. Our rooms+living+spa area is a whopping 150sqm at a price of only USD150 per night, with breakfast, at Hilton Maldives. Thats a never before pricing at a 5-star hotel. But probably no more holiday for me for the next 2 years.... broke liao...kekeke.....

starmed

it all depends on you n hubby... if u can afford more... think Hilton a good indulgence. Taj Coral is less posh... but still for me, it's good enough... ;p

The tour guide told me that Mirihi Island is nice too.... Anyone stayed there before? She told me Taj Coral abit old...

starmed

it's old in terms of age...but outlook wise they're pretty good... think they revamp abit after the tsunami... they were affected slightly...that's y there was a mini reno after that... so no worries...
Mirihi Island?? where's that?? hmm.. a new place to go in future...;p

starmed

WAH!!!!! It's so beautiful!!!!!! hey...think it's great choice... well.. it looks kinda cosy... oh...I wanna go!!! but have to wait a few years later first... keke...
if u wanna go there, I'll support ya..;p

Alamak, me now so fickle-minded... Mirihi or Taj Coral or Soneva Gili... Hilton too x for what I want(Water Villa)...

The sea sports rental not cheap... Me going for 1 week with Holiday Tours, cos they got alot of resort to choose from.

yingal

Just to ask some silly questions.
As I'm really a good swimmer, is it advisable for me to go to maldives? Would like to try to some water activities but I'm not exactly a water person. Therefore, I'm worried that I may be bored if I'm going to be there for 1 week.

Any advice?
Btw, how much does it cost to have 1 week holiday in watervilla at maldives?

Many thanks!

starmed

yingal
it all depends on which resort u choose... for me, I stayed alost a week there... spent 5 nites there at Taj Coral Reef water villa... each nite cost ard US$250 for full board. It also depends on when u are going... xmas onwards are peak period..I went during March.. semi low season.

miso,
My agent told me not yet open.

yingal,
I am a swimmer too, I thought of the same questions too. I finalized Maldives mainly is because I am not a city tour kinda person. Wake up early dawn and travel certain states in coach for 5-6 hours. Look at the bldg, sceneries etc. So I think Maldives is for me and hubby. He is kinda stress in his business so an island resort is good for de-stress. He dislikes tour too. You can check the website I given regarding which resort provides water villa. Hilton is ard $2500 for 5 days 3 nites. Taj Coral is less than $2000. Mirihi is close to $2000. You go surf holiday tours website and select Maldives trip. They have the whole price list.

ryo

Hi folks,

Just came back from Hilton Maldives for 7 nights stay. Absolutely beautiful and full of surprises, especially from the staff there, and small and delicate details are being taken care off...
If anyone like to see some photos, please feel free and let me know, will email you guys! Cheers!

Hi Missylan,

I think if you call direct to Hilton Maldives, you'll get even cheaper price.

The staff there can do some tricks and save you lots of money...believe me..

Wu

I e-mailed Mirihi resort... their price more x than Tour agency.

Hilton will get cheaper? I shall e-mail them... thank you very much...

Wu
How much is your stay there and the seaplane etc... Can share?

ryo

Hi Starstar,

I'll sent you the pics once I've download everything from my camera... later in the afternoon..OK?

Hi Missylan,

If you can, try to call them direct, look for Mathai or Ali (they're taking care of some of the water villas and the sunset villa). It's Ali who help me to secure the sunset villa(only 2 in Hilton Maldives) at a quarter of it's original price. Guess what, the original price is USD3000 per night.

So you see, they can do such discount and really it'll still depends on the availability.

I stay 4 nights in their King beach villas USD150++ per night (Bed breakfast)
Upgrade to Sunset villa at USD750 per night (BB)
Seaplance transfer USD250 per pax(return)

Guess what, intent to stay in the Sunset Villa for 2 nights, they came and gave us a surprise during our 3 night stay in the king beach villa, one more night free at Sunset Villa!! Me and my wife almost started crying....

Want to see the pic of the sunset villa, will email you if you allow me to sent to you.

Cheers all!!

Wu