Maldives

Yo Mirror,

kekeke.... I see... but once you're ready have baby, these ladies will be of great help!

Ah... been to so many places in such a short time eh!...
so how? Maldives still the best isn't it, in terms of beach resort?

My wife is going to Japan next week.... Haizz... busy with work, cannot go also. How come all hubby wanna to take leave also so difficult har? Sianx......

So when are you planning for another Maldives trip? kekekek...... :p

zhuzhu
oh ok...the one near my place in the JW stadium is having fee increase next mth...
so boh pian... have to enrol him early.

u checked wif them the current rates? Must keep one copy onhand.... else they increase liao, we also dun know....

t&P
they open half day on sat.... must go in the morning.

hahah bvbride,
me not saying you mean lah..hahahah!! its the person who made the calls like T&P said. =P

starstar,
wow, MMI is really quite pricey eh?

haru
ya...I agree it's rather pricey.... :p but I've seen more ex one... I hear the price I almost faint.... one mth $1300!!! wah lau!! it's another famous school lor...keke... I think T&P knows which one I'm toking about. :p

hmm 2 years is not so short, right..
coz went to most of those places only a couple of days mah...

i dun think going to maldives anytime soon lar, so sad

hey i also cannot take leave from now to end Sept, so looks like we're not going anywhere until next year
oh but i'm going to JKT in Oct, got friends' weddings to attend
but i hardly associate going to jkt as holiday haha

hey mummies

i am so lagging behind the posts here.
still looking around for a playschool for kieran
not sure if i should put him into pre nursery when he turns 3 or start off with playschool when he turns 18mths?? the gap is like 6mths only so i thought might as well one shot go pre nursery at age 3?

Zhuzhu: i sayang to throw away le so i just look and look inside the box to see if there are any extra unexpected ingredients...like dont have le so just let it be lor...

Haru: T and P found maggots in her box of Healthy Times cereal !!! Gosh! its a very popular brand of organic cereal for babies. Kieran started off with that too! oh...

Ohhh... just did a mini celebration for Kieran's 1st bday at my mum's place...such a small celebration also got sooo much to do so many things to bring!!! i was lugging around 3 helium ballons whole day..hahha..such a clownish mummy
cant believe my boy is gog to be one in a few days!! he is still a baby in my eyes...plus he still has the babyface look...

another mini celebration at my in laws next sat!! cannot breath liao! hahah..

CHeers!!

ewwww!!!!!!! *grossed out*

T&P,
did you call the company to complain????

happy birthday Kieran!!!! *clap clap*

happy bday to kieran...

bvbride: anyway my barley cereal had been opened for so long lioa..Markus dun really like to eat it oso..might as well throw it away..

Today was the 1st time i bought him to the pool...the boy was sooo scared...he needs to go to the pool where he can touch his feet to the bottom..and I was sooo guilty..I just turned my head away for a sec and the poor boy tumbled and fall face down in the water..think that really scared him out...bad bad mummy here ..

zhuzhu,
one thing to note is never to take ur eyes ur your child at the pool, even when they can swim. and if he really accidentally plops in the water, just gently pick him up calmly and try to distract him instead of consoling him. => consoling him may give him e feeling that something terrible just happened and may get apprehensive about gg near the pool next time.

Me and my wife planning on going to Maldives for holiday.

We are thinking of choosing either
1) Anantara (Deluxe Over Water Suite)- SGD5100 for 2, 4 nights (include air tickets and resort BB)
2) Baros (Water Villa)- SGD5550 for 2, 4 nights (include air tickets and resort BB)
Given above prices, are we being overcharged??

My wife does not swim/dive. For me, I would love to dive over there although have not learnt before. How much should we expect to budget for other activites? (ex. spa etc.. ) Seems most of the activities are rather expensive.

advise u go W hotel resort in maldives..that place super nice..hehe..

when u decide to go?? i heard from my fren..know spa quite same like singapore price..around USD 70 to 100..

Hi Ron,

Great choice!! You'll not regret having a trip to Maldives.

Where did you get the quote from, may I ask, and when is the travelling date? I'll always benchmark maldives rates with the agent from Maldives (www.mal-dives.com). The Maldivian agent charges about 10-15% less than the local travel agent. I'm personally uses them for 2 of my trips to Maldives back in 2006 & 2008 July.

I would advise you to learn diving in Malaysia(thru Singapore Dive centre) 1st. As you're going for a holiday in Maldives, thus you wouldn't want to spent time going thru the courses, class room studies, practice dive, examination dives etc in Maldives. It'll take up at least 3 days to learn the basic. Alternatively, you can opt for the discover scuba dive there in Maldives, i.e crash course, just for the fun of it.

Some resorts are famous for the coral reefs around it... thus must choose wisely if you wanna to do Diving.

Per dive, nett, in Maldives is about USD100~120(including boat fees & equipment). It's about 3 times that of in Malaysia... thus a guideline for you on the expentidure there in Maldives.
Depends on which resort, Spa can cost about 2~3X the price found in Singapore. My recent trip to W-hotel, for a 80 mins spa, it cost about USD190+.

Try to budget about at least USD100~150 to spent per day, including meals. Most of the ppl there skip lunch becos the Breakfast are really enjoy to fill the stomach till evening.

But there are good news, most of the resort, non-motorise sports are free though...

Dun worry if these sounds ex to you... do a proper budget, it's still gonna be a very relaxing holiday for you.

If there's any other queries, just let me know.. Cheers!

Hello Wu,

Yes I'm going in Nov 08. I've booked for a 5 night stay at Anantara Sunset Deluxe Water Suite through mal_dives.com.

Will they give me a hotel voucher after I have booked with them? What do you present to the hotel upon arrival?

hey ladies

Haru: Thanks for the swimming tips - our first instinct is always to consol and sayang the little one. Kieran will be smothered w kisses and hugs if he burst into tears if he has a nasty fall. but i must say that he has been qt a brave trooper. he has knocked his head countless times until he is immune to it...generally he doesnt cry over falls unless he is hurting... :p

Zhuzhu - ohh Markus has has first swim
Kieran cried like mad first two times by the 3rd time he is slowly beginning to enjoy the water! but hor now weather is so gloomy so didnt bring him for the 4th swim liao ...the packing is one thing that makes me not want to bring him too! kekeke..one extra bag just for swim stuff!

oh maybe i can go to the newsstand to sneak a peek at dear starstar

hey mummies,
i am looking around for a good paediatrician, pref in city or west area. do you mummies have any recommendations? my gynae referred us to a gynae but i would like to have other options in case its not conveniently located for us.

bvbride,
best place to start is always at home. if he enjoys bath time, chances are he will take on to playing in the pool as well. can get some water toys for him to play with in the water.=>

ya... the photos that Wu took of W hotel were really amazing. But it is kinda out of our budget right now.

We finally chose Club Med. Me and my wife are actually working in Shanghai at the moment. So the prices are quoted by a local agency. We will be leaving for Maldives this sat (13th Sep) and paid about SGD7,000 for the 6day/4night package. Since it is club med, guess we do not have to worry about the meals anymore.

The first 2 nights we will be staying in the water suite followed by the deluxe room. But the first night a little bit "bo hua" because we will probably check in about 10 or 11pm.

As for the diving thing, if the crash course is not too expensive, might give it a try. Will probably try the spa as well.

Looking forward to our trip there... Hope it does not rain...

Hi Ron, i am sure the weather will be great!

Hmm.. i think you should stay in the deluxe room first then upgrade to water suite on the last two nights else you will not want to move out of the water suite on your 3rd day haha.... But it's also a good arrangement because if you really prefer to stay in the water suite, you can negotiate for an upgrade, maybe they will give you a good rate to upgrade if occupancy is not high.

enjoy yourself!

Hi littlemay,

once your booking is finalised, you can print your "vouncher" in mal-dives.com web. That voucher needs to be given to your hotel as verification n proof.

Have you paid mal-dives.com yet?

Hi Wu, I messaged you on multiply previously. I think I have more or less decided on either Banyan Tree or Conrad. Just to check, which type of villa did you stay in Conrad (previously Hilton)? I'm thinking of either the duluxe beach villa or the water villa for Conrad. They cost the same. Will be great if I could stay 3 nights in each villa but it would be more expensive to book 3 nights per villa separately as opposed to 6 nights for one villa.

Would you recommend half board or breakfast only?

Also do you know what are the timings for the sea plane transfers? I understand that they only fly in the morning? Which Male hotel would you recommend to stay for just 1 night?

Thanks in advance for your help!

Hi SCL,

I see..... great choice of resort.
Banyan probably will be a much more quiet resort... kind of kampong feeling. Conrad is Hip Hip hip... just like W-hotel, but with much more land mass.

I stay in the beach villa n Sunset Water villa, but also visited other category of villas such as deluxe beach, and spa water villa.

Are you going direct with Conrad or booking thru other agent? if booking thru Conrad, you'll have points, with agent you'll not get Hilton HHonours points. If they are the same price, you should be able to split 3 days each in each villa isn't it? Who are you booking direct with?

I'll recommend just breakfast for sure... based on my experience la. breakfast in conrad will be very sumptous.... the best range I've seen.(comparing with the other 2 resort I went, W n Mirihi). Check out with Conrad, I think 5pm there're free tea break session... and most of the time after breakfast, you'll be full till late afternoon, and the tea break come just in time.

Don't think only we asian dun eat lunch... alot of European dun eat also... becos breakfast is really too much for us...

Yes indeed... seaplane will fly as early as 6am till about 6pm... by the time u reach Male by SQ, it's already 10pm.

Dun expect much on the hotel on Male island. If you want better quality and convenient stay, opt for the airport hotel, but the rates can get you a nite in the nearby island resort by speedboat. it'll cost you about USD250 or more for the airport hotel.
thus most of us take the hussle of taking all our luggages....take a dhoni ride to Male island, walk for about 2-3 mins to reach the nearest hotel for the nite stay. So far I only stay at relax inn.. twice.. really simple fitting, which I dun really bother, just bath n sleep...

hotel staff are friendly and helpful too.

So when are you planning for the trip?? I wish I can visit conrad again.... got a few friends(the staff) there... really nice folks.

Just let me know if you need more info on conrad.

Happy birthday Kieran!!

Bot the shape magazine also....kekeke saw mummy starstar working hard....
A bit disappointed with not much info or pics on the resort....kekekek....

Enjoy ur weekends...

Hi Wu, thanks for the info!

You must have gotten a really good deal. The sunset villa is supremely expensive! I will most probably book from the website you recommended, mal-dives.com. The conrad website states that the villas are not available first week of January. Somehow if 1 book a villa for 6 nites from mal-dives.com, the rate per nite is much better than if I just book for 3 nites.Difference is about USD1000 if I want to stay 3 nites in deluxe beach villa and 3 nites in water villa as opposed to 6 nites in water villa or deluxe beach villa.

Did you eat at the underwater restaurant? Is it worth it?

Cool I will check if Conrad offers tea at 5 pm.

One more thing - is there anything to do (eg shopping or sightseeing) at Male at all? If not, I will just take the earlier flight to the resort!

Btw do you usually email or call the mal-dives.com people? The singapore no. listed on the website doesnt seem to work.

it's been a while since I log in... yeeks!! U all went to buy or see the mag... Oh gosh... see a fat fat starstar....haha...

Wu
actually all the model pics are taken in the resort.... u know the fashion spread in the mag? All taken at different parts at the resort. dun think I'll be going Maldives so soon..bet u going next year right? ;p I'm actually going away for a short weekend during the deepavali long weekend wif just hubby. =) Finally a trip just the both of us. Leaving small one wif my parents over the weekend. Planning to go to Sabah (Kota Kinabalu). staying at the Shang's Tanjung Aru Beach Resort. Wanted to go BKK...but the situation there dun seem good n dun wan my mum to start nagging n worry for us. :p

bvbride
happi birthday Kieran!! time flies man!! He's so big liao!!

The pic wif him in the sling very cute!! He's like very shy.... =)

u have a blog for him? Can add ya?

T&P n zhuzhu
I link u gals up wif my little one's blog k? ;p

haru
u into last tri soon right? excited?? ;p u managed to get most of your stuffs?

Hi Littlemay,

Yes I did. Fill up the authorisation form, photocopy the front of ur Credit card, and a copy of your passport. AFter they have successful debit the amount, you'll be able to print out the vouncher!
Yeah!! Maldives here you go!!

Yo starstar,

kekeke.... Ya I know. Becos I recognised the hammock thingy in the water villa, and the infinity pool thingy. But still no much photos loh... should feature more of the interior of the villas, especially the biggest villa there. Abit disappointing.... but hey... can see you and Sheena doing the stunts!! worth all the money la....kekeke.....some of the stunts hor,.. if I do hor, I think I'll fracture my back...kekeke...

Go sabah leh... take some pics... next time I wanna to go also. Especially to see their nite skies... full of Stars Stars!
Have you ever seen really clear skys, clear until you can see satellite flying across? KK is the place...

Yo Alice,

It's really 2 different themes loh. Basically, conrad's quality in terms of villas are better. They uses really branded stuffs in the villa, almost everything. The build quality of the villa are better, as in the material used. Conrad's got at least 8 categories of villas, while W have only 4.
But still, W is worth every cents, especially now Conrad villa rates is higher.

Conrad have 2 huge islands connected by a 500m bridge...it might take hours to walk around 2 islands... most of the buildup areas are cover with fine sand.... thus ideally, you dun need to wear any shoes. W, I can walk around the island in 10mins or less, build up area are cover in concrete,stones or tiles....
if you talk about facilities, Conrad win hands down... got spa village serving healthy food, lots of spa room with open concept toilet, spa water villas etc etc... all inside a village. more practical Infinity swimming pools, great view in the gym, lots of water sports. W in the other hand have almost all the above but smaller in establishment.

Food wise, conrad definitely have more range, more restuarant but quality wise, it's more or less the same.

IF you want value for money, go for Conrad's deluxe beach villa or W's Ocean villa. Or best, island hopped between these 2 island.... transfer can be done by speedboat. Takes only 30mins!

See best of both in just 1 trip!

Yo SCL,

yaya... kekeke... during my visit, we've been offered only USD750++ for sunset water villa, per nite. They gave us another nite for free, out of goodwill... so total I stay 3 nites for just USD1500++. We split with our couple friends and it's making it more worth while
try your luck... go visit the sunset villa... hopefully nobody stays during your visit, show your interest and wait for them to ask you whether you wanna to stay there...heheh...
Alternatively, look for Ali(who take cares of the sunset water villa)... he might give you a good rates.

Hmmm... I see. if you chooses 3 nites stay, each, for both DBV and WV, did you untick 1 of the seaplane flight? if you never untick, it's about USD700 more. Becos you only need 1x transfer.
Wah... Jan is the most ex period, should be also very crowded... nvm... spent more time in your villa. DBV is 300sqm big... I would choose DBV over their normal water villa loh. It's water villa is tastefully deco, with top notch quality stuff but it's abit pricey. Have you consider island hopped to another island nearby? I've been to it's nearby island resort name Mirihi. it's value for money, and at the same time.... brings back my kampong layback kind of feel...
Although a 4 stars resort, it has amazing nice food...wonderful and value Spa session by 3 nice balinese lady, and it's design of the build up area is like mini conrad(Design by the same designer... that's wat I heard).

Forget about the undersea restaurant. You can try their hightea in the afternoon, I think USD20++.
We went for the dinner, a 6 course meal(at USD220 nett per pax) there but really, as chinese say, nice to see but not nice to eat(even ang mo also never finish the food). Haa...spent your money somewhere else... like the grill or vilu restaurant etc..

Hmmmm.... in my opinion, forget about Male. Unles you are interested in their culture, fish market, else really nothing much to see. And yes... request for the earliest seaplane flight, so that you can reach the resort at about 9am, make full use of your time there in the resort. The bad thing is early flight, the view from the seaplane will not be as nice as when u fly noon time( because of the lighting condition whereby noon sun will shine on the atolls, sea, and it really takes ur breath away!!) Still early morning, will be nice to see sunrise, rising over the seaplane control tower.....

I started contacting them thru their online chat. It's a good tools whereby you can record all your conversation, and email the contents to your email add... for evidence la.

then I find it too slow, I ask for the ladies's msn.... thus communication is a brisk...

Try it!

Hey bro... once the topic of maldives raised, you really on fire ah... just count the number of smiley emoticon can tell you enjoying yourself sharing haha...

Mirihi, my next year target!

Hahaha... issit? kekeke.... I think so loh...when friends talking about Maldives I very excited.. time flies... so by chit chating here...so it's my turn to go. Hahaha..

Oh yes.. Mirihi is a hidden gem, at the price that you're paying. so far I dun think any resort can match that.. you know the kampong feeling, the quietness, the calmness, the little beautiful island...

I'll definitely visit the place again for sure.

Opsss. clarification. Speedboat transfer between Mirihi n Conrad is about 10mins. Mirihi to W is about 30mins. ...

Best is to island hopped 3 island. Mirihi water villa.. Conrad Deluxe beach villa and W's Ocean oasis!! Hee... The 3 best value villas in Ari Atoll.

starstar,
thats so nice! its nice to have some couple time together some time after baby. went for parentcraft class last nite and reality really sank in on how much time and effort we will really have to put in esp in the first few months caring for baby esp since we will not be having a CL. hubby and i promised that we will encourage each other throughout for an exciting journey ahead..

me will be 31 weeks this weekend. how time flies!! i have managed to get most of my stuff. goin to get the cloth nappies and bathing tub for baby tonite. cot will be delivered next month. i will wait with the breastpump and get that when i have tried and decided which one works well for me after delivery of baby. since i intend to go for TBF in the initial month. will also get the carrier closer to due date.

its a mixed emotion of anticipation, excitement and nervousness all in one. it feels surreal that she will be in our arms in just a couple of weeks...

Oh~~ hello Little may..
u going on nov yo..so good ler..
but tot got moosoon season?

Hi wu..
u know when is monsoon season?? hmm..but now earth changed liao..the weather also..cant estimated well..

Yo LittleMay,

no prob.... enjoy ya!!

Yo Alice,

I dun bother about monsoon... Maldives weather is unpredictable loh.... even monsoon period, I went.... sunshine for all days..

so the trick is .... go for more days.