Maldives

garfield

hi Wu, i am going Maldives in Sept. Would like to check wat currency to use when in maldives/resort?

Do we have to change to Maldive currency or can we use US$?

I staying in Full Moon Resort. Any feedback?

How much u spend for ur stay in W Retreat and Spa?

alice118

hello..Garfield..
U going maldives on sept ya? which date??
maldives is using US..
Full moon quite popular..
Wu spend a lot in W retreat and spa lah..she stay 8 night ler..haha..rich man..

alice118

Show u some full moon photo..Morning and sunset..keke..grab from my fren..
734299.jpg
734300.jpg
734301.jpg

ryo

Hi garfield,

Ya... Maldives using US$ or Maldivian dollars called Rufiyaa. Better to use USD instead. But some restaurant or shop or Taxi in Male/airport might wanna to charge you in USD but return you change in Rufiyaa...try to reject becos they uses lower rates. Always insist USD change or better, just use credit card(All shop in Airport can use Credit card).
Fullmoon is a popular resort with tour agent...i.e big islands, lots of visitor around the world, especially chinese. I dun consider this resort as a niche resort but hey, you still can enjoy beautiful sand,sea...
They have renovated their resort after the Tsunami. They have very nice water villa now...

I spent about S$15K for 2 person, including SQ return, seaplane transfer, 3 spas session for couple, 8 nites in W,1 nites in Male, plus food. Main cost is still the Villas in W.

Eh... Alice... I save up for 2yrs hor...kekeke... eat grass everyday for 2 yrs leh... me not rich la..
anw.. I think it worth every cents spending in Maldives lah. Breathtaking view every morning.

Cheers.. n have fun in Maldives!

lavendar_lover

bvbride
I didn't get a tan at all!! Cos I'm pretty occupied with photoshoot during my free time. The other reader managed to go for a snorkel when I'm doing my photoshoot. But when it's suppose to be her turn n it's suppose to be my free time, the crew asked me to be there too cos they wan to shoot both of us together. Thus ended up my free time is not enough to give me a tan one lor...

Wu
nice!! Love the montage!!!

haru
u too..hope u enjoyed your national day weekend. =) btw my boy started to walk over the weekend!! =) he can walk with me holding both his hands or one of his hands. He prefer one hand somehow... cos most of the time when I wan to hold both his hands, he kept flinging away. haha... thus my hubby n I went to get his 1st pair of shoes(meant for him to wear on his 1 year old birthday) and a pair of sandals as he tried the sandals on n refused to take it off. Even refused be put into the stroller. Should see him..wear the sandals walk all around the shop smiling and 'yapping' away.
He really enjoy walking alot!! For the rest of the day, he only sat in the stroller when he felt tired. Else, he just wanna walk!!

porsche

Wu, is it common for tour agency to get u to pay for the visa over at Maldives?

The tour operator only informed me after I paid up in full.

ryo

Hi porsche,

All my transaction in Maldives went thru with Visa or Mastercard. I only use cash for tips & buying drinks/food/souvenir in the airport(most would accept cash also), just that I wanna to get rid of my USD.

Booking with agent, you need to pay in full, with cash or visa upon confirmation. Booking direct, most likely they'll charge full after checkout, as visa is use for confirmation/booking only.

So where are you going then? Maldives or Mauritius?

porsche

Wu, perhaps u have gotten my question mixed up..haha...

I am referring to the Visa you need to go into the country, not the visa/mastercard...haha...

In the end, we decided to take up the ClubMed offer...

ryo

Opss.... sorry... whahaa...
u dun need a Visa for travel to Maldives. At least for Singaporean la...hee. Pai say..

Wah... so confirm Maldives lah... not Mauritius lah!

No worries lah... definitely a good choice.. if not better.

Enjoy your trip ok!

lavendar_lover

haru
ya..took pics n video....haha... just hope when he can walk on his own, he dun keep asking us to carry him! haha.. cos usu it's the case... :p kids somehow behave opposite.... can't walk..wish to walk, when can walk, wanna carry liao...=)

btw when's your EDD? lost track.. so sorry.

pcw

Hey bro, you really Maldives Ambassador to Singapore, one year "bring" so much revenue to your beloved homeland haha...

haru

starstar,
my EDD is 16 Nov.=> belly is getting bigger and a lil clumsier, sometimes feel like gona tip over when wearing my pants or skirt.hahah..

we have bot most of the baby stuff except the breastpump and baby cot. hubby went to get some storage boxes yesterday for our baby stuff. i've been havin dreams bout e baby too!! hahah...

hey share with us if you upload e pix or video ya? sorry coz i think i lost ur blog address.=P

bvbride

hey all!!!

Congrats Starstar - your boy got amazing motor skills! my darling is still the clumsily learning to stand! hahha..he is kinda clumsy la but i just let him develop at his own pace...the other time got so worried cos he is not crawling but once he started he crawled really fast lor haha..my boy still drooling loads - yours?

zhuzhu! where are u? do babies drool lesser when they hit one?

t and P: yo! looks like u have alot of pumping pals huuh
somehow im lucky to find a buyer for my ameda qt easily! haha but sold mine sooo cheaply w so many freebies thrown in man haha :D

Haru!! so u are 6mths along!! yeh..where did u buy your baby clothings? am sure u spent a bomb at mothercare! those pink rompers for new babies are sooo sweet!!

take care y'all
the weekends just around the corner !!

lavendar_lover

t&p
haha..not bursting with pride...more like kan chiong... scare he trip and fall n bleed... cos a few times when he was crawling, got too adventurous, somehow can slip and fell flat on his face and his front teeth cut his lips...
think it happen 2 times liao..so now he's walking..scare he'll fall.

haru
wooo...fast!! coming soon!! ya..saw ALOT of sweet girl girl clothes in alot of places. Ohhh...they're all so NICE!! very princessy...

my boy's blog is http://jaydensturf.blogspot.com

haven been updating for a while though...haha..lazy mummy here. :p

bvbride
my boy not drolling as much liao maybe becos he got quite a few teeth out liao... he got his 4 front teeth(top & bottom) fully out and the 4 incisor also coming out. The lower 2 incisors are showing abit on the gums while the top 2 incisor still hidden in the gum but can feel them.

He tends to bite more than drool somehow. Your boy I think will be able to walk soon. No rush gal... =) wait when he start to walk u'll worry like me, scare he'll hurt himself. Good that u take it easy. ;p

haru

bvbride and starstar,
actually i only bot a few newborn Bonds singlets from FOS, and 2 jumpers frm Zara. the rest, about 6-7 pcs of clothings are meant for 6 months and later which i bot during Fox Baby sale. I have a huge bag of newborn clothes from my kind friends. mostly mothercare and some other pretty comfy and nice clothes. so that saves us quite a bit.

but we spent a bomb on our stroller for our princess. bot a quinny buzz with a maxi cosi car seat.had to consider 2 long hours in the store whether to get it or not. in e end, so happy we got it. it really handles very well and its very sturdy esp good if i want to bring her out when i go for power walks, etc. and she can face both ways in the stroller which was the biggest draw for us. only thing is that its quite heavy and bulky. but hubby has no regrets we got it.

starstar,
i think i will feel like letting him wear all sorts of guards and a helmet now that he is starting to walk! i will be so nervous when he falls!! but still it is such a thrill to see how he is growing up to be a big boy.=>

zhuzhu

bvbride
ya Markus is drooling lesser now..but still got drools..when he got new tooth coming out..

starstar
when u boy knows how to walk..that is the really bo eng time..cos now they had this new-found freedom..they wan to go everywhere and touch everything..

Now Markus sometimes oso lazy to walk..wans to carry

zhuzhu

Wu
I finally had time to see ur Maldives pics...wah it makes me wan to go back there again...

starstar
I add Jayden's turf to Markus' blog okie?

Haru
sometimes hor..must let bb trip n fall..then let them learn their lessons..but of cos.. Markus never learnt his lessons..

haru

hahah zhuzhu,
guess the determination inside him over powers the probability of falling! he must be really "amazed" by e discovery of his new skill. so cute!

haru,

np! jus helping her ask around =)
hey the buzz is nice...i almost got it too.

bvbride,
quite a few gfs bfing..but i think now only left me. ahaha...i'm a good cow. think will bf till jarrett's 1 at least. then see how..

starstar,
link up ok? i'll add ur blog to mine.

My ah boy has learnt how to pull himself up and stand over the weekend! very bo eng now, as zhuzhu said..one of us has to be with him at all times, cannot even close our eyes now.

haru

T&P,
thats good!! keep it going!! i hope to be able to BF for up to at least a year too. mummy's milk is best. =D

hahah, once he starts to learn to walk then you'll be busy chasing Jarrett all over!!

m1rr0r

OMIGOD! I didn't visit this thread for some time and Wu, you guys went to Maldives YET AGAIN!!
I'm SO jealous
kao_drool.gif

the W resort pics are awesome!
What's the damage??

m1rr0r

oh btw, maybe you've forgotten about me coz very inactive haha
i went for HM in Jul 2006, Hilton
it was only USD200++ per nite!!!

bvbride

hey ladies

T and P/Starstar : must give your boys prizes for being so "hardworking"!! they both have such good motor skills! my kieran just learn to pull and stand up not that long ago le...gosh...think backside too fleshy la - heavy mah..

Zhuzhu! u surfaced again
how is Markus w rice? want to give Kieran rice too cos he is getting sick of porridge... he has 6 teeth - should be able to chew soft moist rice hor?? thought of mixing rice w soup veg and meat ala mui fan for him

Ohhh ladies i told u my hp got pickpocketed right? got a shock when i received my bill - that bugger used my hp to call Vietnam 3x in a span of an hour and incurred $31 worth of IDD calls!!! so mad!!! my telco willing to waive 30% of it only after i made some noise but still better than nothing!! at least its not like thousands of $$
so beware of pickpockets at VIVO!!!

Ciao!

bvbride

Haru dear

WHoa Quinny Buzz - must be very fancy le..me abit stroller idiot la..still slinging in Hotsling! haha but max for 2hours only cos my knees and back really ache after that but still wont convert to stroller cos my usual weekend haunt ie VIVO is so stroller packed on weekends!!!
go buy a Hotsling too and join T and P and I

lavendar_lover

zhuzhu, bvbride n t&P
can u gals give me your kiddo's blog address again? :p thanks a million!

t&p
ok... thanks. ;p btw u enrol Jarrett in MMI liao? or planning to go to another centre?

haru
haha...guess like what zhuzhu mentioned, let the little guy fall but like her son... my son also dun seem to know what's pain! sigh.. never learn...

talk abt clothes..just bought 2 sets of new clothes for jayden. cos we'll be having 2 celebrations for his 1 year old bash. :p keke...just an excuse to shop for him ... ;p

bvbride
wah!! that bugger really on leh... how come the telco waived 30% only? u got police report?

I've gave a little bit of rice for Jayden to eat liao.... :p cos he very greedy...we eat at the dining table he also wan to join and see us eat also make noise...wan to eat. no choice so gave him a little bit of rice.

your boy standing up liao... soon he'll cruise and walk...very fast one.... =)

btw ladies, anyone of u sign your kiddo up wif gymboree?

haru,
yeah! be determined ok..and dun give in to pressure to give formula. U'll do fine. If you need help, we'll all be here to share. =)

Bvbride,
heh..saw ur msg at my blog..guess what i made the same mistake at starstar's blog..hahaha..enter before i am done with the msg. so u r not the only SK one..

Starstar,
no leh not yet. The staff told me for playsch, dun need to enrol in advance. just go when the time comes, when he's 18mths. u sign up already? most likely try MMI 1st, if dun like then look around for somewhere else. U keen on Nanyang Kindergarten?
dun talk abt clothes lah...i way overspent..cannot buy anymore. at the rate it's gg I am gg broke. I already stock up to size 18mths liao. my hb kept saying i m crazy...

u check out gymboree? let me know if u gg to sign jayden up ok? see if we can go together.

lavendar_lover

t&p
where's nanyang kindergarten? MMI wise, I've enrol him in liao but yet to secure the old fee... they are raising the fee next month so if I hand in the registration form bef end this mth, I'm still entitled to pay the old fee amt. Paid the enrolment fee to secure a place liao. when is the last time u speak to the staff there?

ya..thinking of going gymboree at tanglin mall. booked a trial class for him next sat. Going for level 3 n music class. :p Went harbourfront to see but dun really like the gymboree there.

haru

bvbride,
omigosh, that is soo mean!!! =Z ya, hubby and i really had to think long and hard coz the stroller was the most ex purchase but we felt that it would be good since i go power walking and outdoors quite alot so a sturdy and strong stroller wld be good. boss has offered to get us a baby cot a pressie for our baby so i guess we could use that savings as part of the stroller cost!=>

as for the sling, my BIL who will be gg to states in sep will be helping me to check out it out there on the quality and price. i might ask him to get the breast pump and sling from there for me if it makes sense. def wil get a carrier/sling. nice to keep the close bond with baby esp during the early months.

starstar,
wow!! 2 celebrations?? so cool!! he will be so swarmped with pressies, hahaha..must take lots of photos!!

T&P,
thanks for your encouragement! everyone is saying how hard it is. but i think e most impt is to keep a positive mindset from the start. any negative tots wouldn't help eh? whats MMI? =P

Haru,

MMI is modern monterssori international. ha..u can start collecting info. on childcare soon.
The trick is not to think that there's a possibility of not being able to bf. Adopt the "sure can do it" attitude and half the battle is won. I didn't even buy any formula as back up.
The 1st week's the toughest but once you get pass that and establish ur supply, it's ok already.

starstar,
u r signing up for the playschool/nursery right? Can enrol now? Strange, maybe i shld call up and enquire again.
Nanyang pre-nursery/kindergarten's at bt timah, coronation road.
Let me know if the gymboree class is good ok. how much is the trial class?

adelene

Hi, gals.
Still remember me. Long Long time NEVER login.
How are your baby?

StarStar,
Jayden is 11months liao? Very fast. HAha.

Haru,
Congratulation to you. Just login and find out you have good news. Envy you have 4months maternity leave.

Wanna to add on breastfeeding. If you wanna get a pump, try to invest in a good pump like PIS(advance) or Ameda Dual. I have hard times pumping using Avent.
Try getting clothing online. U can get better and nicer stuff.

T&P,
How old is your boy?
I wanna bf until 4~5 years old. Hahah. Think too ambitious.

lavendar_lover

t&p
ya, I just enrolled him today. Paid abt $380 for 2 weeks trial class n the compulsory insurance. Yup, I've enrolled him in playgroup class. I KS mah... wanna to secure the OLD school fee price. :p Next mth they are raising the school fee liao.

Gymboree trial is abt $40 plus. Music one is cheaper... think there's some offer if u sign up for 2 trial class... yup...I'll let u know how it is.

nanyang kindergarten!! It's in the papers today!! Wah... super duper popular leh.... dun think I wan to put him there. not convenient n too long waiting list lah... I'm looking at somewhere near our place for his kindergarten. Maynot put him at MMI for K1 & K2....

Blue Ginger
long time never 'see' ya here!! How's your girl?
ya.. time flies.... ;p

u envy haru 4 mths maternity leave har? try for another one... ;p keke...

haru
ya..2 celebrations cos for his full mth, both of us realised quite a number of our frens are neglected...as too many people... so hard to entertain n catch up with one another. So decided to separate to 2 days. =)

starstar,
heh..i called up nanyang and put jarrett on the waiting list. no. 250..ahahaha..just put for fun lah..see if get it or not. anyway, even if get it i may choose not to cos i prefer to let him have a more linguistic environment, both english & chinese. but put for fun lor..cos still not too far from my office.
How much is the new fee at MMI? u noe? maybe i shld do the same..since i want him to go playsch at 18mth.

blueginger,
hello! of cos rem u lah. my boy's 8mths old now..and i intend to bf at least 1yr but dun really noe when to stop.

haru,
yeah..lucky gal! u get to enjoy all the perks!

haru

T&P,
yup, dun intend to stock up any formula as my mind is set on BF. =>

blue ginger,
harlo!! you tried e Avent? coz my BIL might b getting e Avent Duo for me from the US..

starstar,
talking of celebrations, hubby and i hv yet to decide if we will do a 1st month celebratn. if our family prefers to, we will have one. if not, we might just give out the the cakes and red eggs,etc..

oohlahlah

Hi WU,

I managed to get into the website. It is indeed cheaper than the hotel website. Is it safe to book via this website? Have you had any problems?
Btw, I'm booking Anantara.

bvbride

so many post abt preschool
hvnt really got plans for anywhere yet so gog to go for this nice church one near my mum's house
and they are not cheap now...about $750 for 3mths term, 3hours a day...
can T and P and Starstar pls share how much MMI charges? so far i really liked the church preschool cos it looks really cosy and v convenient for my mum...just next to commonwealth MRT

Oh mummies i just brought Kieran to Habourfront GYmboree for Music and Rhythm Trail class just for the fun of it...dun intend to sign up at all
just go there to pass time. its not easy to plan his nap around the timing of the class lor so Kieran ended up sleeping really late today cos his nap was postphoned. :p
i would say the gymboree class is more exp cos they let your child explore around on those "gym" equipment wheareas the music class is more sitting in a circle and playing simple instruments and sing-a-longs.

Haru: sorry darling if i said anything offensive or "mean".. :p i said fancy cos the Quinnys i see around are indeed very posh! :p

bvbride

oh T and P and Starstar

just my 2cents worth ...overall i think the gymboree classes are ok only la nothing extremely fantastic. great way to entertain your child and pass time

ryo

Hi Littlemay,

Yup, it's safe based on my experience... booked twice thru them liao. Try chat online with the folks.... ask any question regards to booking live...

Going soon?

ryo

Yo Mirror... ya... went again.. hee..

Off course i never forget about you, we did talk pretty much in the Maldives thread, dun we?

But you hor... after come back, MIA ah! :p kekeke....
is it becos have kids liao, just like the other mummy in the thread?

Oh yeh.... Hilton rates.... Haiz... no more USD200 liao lah.... now low season is like USD600++++++++

So how are you lately?

m1rr0r

haha i went missing BECAUSE of the baby talks
i'm totally not ready lar, not planning yet

been spending money on short trips coz if u remember, i mentioned i've almost never been to anywhere yet!
so after Maldives honeymoon, we've been to Krabi, Batam, (twice), Lombok, Australia (Melbourne & Sydney), Phuket, Hong Kong, and most recent was Cambodia (Siem Reap).
All the short trips add up maybe can go Maldives liao haha.. but what to do, haven't been to other countries..
wanted to go Japan end of the year but hubby can't take leave, blackout period.
so HOPEFULLY postpone to Spring nxt year just nice sakura season

bvbride

hey t and P

haha most probably hor Paiseh ah Haru! sorry~
see la this is what happens when u try to have a quick read on the forum after a super exhausting day w the gymboree, baby slinging and all.
dunno issit me or what but i feel like i had such a siong a workout after gog gymbo w kieran...weak la me..hahha

does Jarrett cry in his sleep when he is teething? Kieran kept whining and crying in his sleep last night - in the end all of us didnt sleep well... i made close to ten trips to his bed to pat and sayang him :p poor boy.

lavendar_lover

bvbride n t&p
MMI's fee is $674 per month after subsidy. This is for morning half day. Afternoon half is $625 per month. Full day is $706 per month. This is exclude GST. Next mth onwards, they'll be increasing the fees. Not sure how much... btu sure more than now. Also need to include $107 for registration fee n some other stuffs like the uniforms, insurance etc. Though these are not every month thing. =)

bvbride
me trying out the gymboree for fun too. See how my boy reacts to it. :p

my boy cries in sleep too. Think it's dreams..read somewhere that kids will dream alot one.. it's normal actually. =)

bvbride,

jarrett doesn't really cry in his sleep. sometimes he'll make some noise but he's usually still sleeping. But he was super duper cranky last weekend...drove hb & i crazy. Today we found his 3rd tooth out, so shld be the cause of his crankiness over the weekend.

starstar,
when will jayden start his class?

zhuzhu

YOZ YOZ YOZ...wah u ladies really KS leh..i just started looking around for sch for Markus and u ladies already enrol ur kiddos..

I intend to put him in MMI end yr...

starstar
u sayin they going to increase price..its for all outlets? then wats the point of govt increasing the subsidy..

lavendar_lover

t&p
not really cry as in cry wif tears...just sudden whining or cry out... then back to normal. =)

should the case for Jarret. teething... =)

jayden starting in april/may.... haven confirm the date. Just need to call them a mth bef coming in.... =)

zhuzhu
=) must be KS lah...cos both T&P n me staying in a pretty young estate...ALOT of kids one... so must be KS lor. Alot of our nearby good childcare got super long waiting list one.... so must act KS here...no choice.

not sure if it's all outlet...but the one at Jurong West Stadium is definitely increasing... that's y I enrol Jayden early to secure the old rates.