Maldives

zhuzhu

haru
i ever used lanisoh milk bag..not bad..but expensive...then in the end i got thie milkmate bottles from Kidsurplus.com...i find it not bad..cos i like black marking on the bottles..than those transparents one..

washable breastpad...i only use avent lor..

haru

T&P,
welcome back! and happy birthday to Jarrett!!=D i think you can slowly plan for ur next Maldives trip, to make up for the not-so-great experience you had on this trip. kekeke..

did you had to throw away ur EBM coz cannot store too long? what a luxury problem! i am still doing 100% latchin now and only pumping once a day so my frozen EBM is still very little especially since i can't seem to pump so much each time. still getting used to pumping..

any mummies used breastshells before?

bvbride

heyhey mummies its Friday again tmr

Bz bz w work and after work xmas shopping! and i have only a tiny tiny list! strange im taking so long to buy all the required pressies..times are bad so must cut back but at the same time buy something chic, meaningful and most impt of all Useful!!

Haru: u referring to those hard plastic thingy to catch dripping milk?? i bot a set but didnt use it man! think i sold mine w my pump keke.. guess its a good buy for u since no need to keep changing or wash breastpad right?? but can only use at home la. heard from other mummies that after a few mths you wont drip so much on the other side while u latch liao...i didnt go on that long to experience that..u can ask T and P..

T and P: welcome back!!! thanks for the feedback..alamak..after reading your review i think Mirihi is a betta choice??
pix pls

and HAPPY BELATED BDAY to dear Jarrett! is he looking lesser and lesser like a bb and more like a toddler these days?? Kieran looks so much more like a tod nowadays...he just started walking more steadily (finally thank god!!) and i realised that he is becoming a littleboy...no more baby liao :p

Starstar: thanks for sharing..u are lucky to have a not so fussy child...kiieran is fussy and clingy by nature so i guess i need to be super super patient. Kieran now knows im the can bully one so he will kick up a big fuss and use his legs to wrap around my legs whenever i try to put him down to walk!! gosh!!

Zhuzhu: i totally am experiencing the same temper tantrums. they are very good at using their cuteness and tears to get what they want huuhh...sometimes ijust ignore him when im too tired and he is being too naughty..hahaha :D

haru

hey mummies,
finally gave in and intro the pacifier to my baby as she wouldnt stop crying when in her stroller. tried bringin her out again today in pram and managed to keep her in it and she even fell asleep! my pram was used as a shopping trolley yesterday coz she refused to stay in it. really glad at least it helps to pacify her especially when she's getting sleepy when we are outside.

haru

oh mummies,
i am thinkin of getting the Playtex disposable milk bags, anyone tried before? i have run out of the Avent cups to store my EBM..am storing 90ml and 100ml right now..

Haru & bvbride,
Thank you! Jarrett had a good birthday week. 2 ice cream treats in a week! Only a bit to taste thou, for fun. I watch his diet like a hawk usually..keke.

bvbride,
Kandooma's not that bad, maybe cos i've been to other more beautiful resorts, so didn't really like it as much.
Jarrett's never really looked like a baby before. i think he has more mature features leh..thats why we call him Uncle Jarrett. lol...he has taken his 1st few steps..so excited! but still unstable. got him his 1st pair of sandals..i must say the selection in sg is quite sad. Why no nice shoes for toddlers???
Why do you buy shoes for Kieran?

Haru,
never use shells or playtex before. so sorry can't advise. Re. the leaking thing, it still happens..which is why i still use breastpads. but lately i am trying to see if it's ok to stuff a hankie in the bra while nursing. tried twice so far, and it's ok. only problem is i may forget and create a mess if it leaks.
There's a BP on blue egg milkbag, u can buy one to try. It's quite good, cheap n afforable.

I am in this stage where i dunno when and how to stop breastfeeding. A part of me want my own body back to abuse (ahh...coffee and drinks) but apart of me is so attached to this bonding session. How??? Anyone can share some thoughts on this. And I went supermart last nite, gosh! Formula so expensive!! How long can one tin of 1.8kg last? Similac cost 60++!

lavendar_lover

t&p
think Jarrett should start on the GainIQ liao not Similac... it's slightly cheaper...abt $50 plus for 1.8kg.

btw glad Jarrett's had a great time during his birthday! =) Happy belated wishes for him...haven been able to log in here for sometime as I'm down with flu.

bvbride
well, think Jayden's also got his fussy moments... kids are just been kids...=)

btw ladies! Have a Merry Xmas & Happy New year!

haru

T&P,
how long have you been BF? i am currently only planning to BF for 6 months, but i do hope at the same time to be able to stretch it longer than that. like you said, its the bonding and closeness to baby.

starstar,
do take good care ya and drink lotsa fluids. get well for the merry making!

oh yes, Merry Christmas too all lovely ladies too!! I will be feasting at Olive Tree on Christmas day with family.=P

starstar,
GainIQ good? How abt enfalac? I am so confused. Maybe i'll really stretch till he's 1.5yrs old. save some $. lol.. how long can a tin of 1.8kg last Jayden? btw, i saw his pic, the one hugging barney to sleep..so cute.
R u ok now? Just read on ur facebook, u feeling very poorly huh? Flu plus pregnancy, must be darn uncomfy. U take care dearie..

Haru,
I've been bfg 1yr now. Initial plan was also only 6 mths, and then now 12mths and still dunno when I want to stop. Ever since the milk scare in China, my family keeps telling me if I can, might as well jus continue nursing till Jarrett's self wean or till he's 1.5yrs old.
just the other day, Jarrett pointed to my boob, said "mum mum" then sayang the boob and lie on it. So cute leh..my heart went "awww.....", so u see..it's so difficult to decide when I shld stop.

And jus in case I dun pop in before Christmas....MERRY CHRISTMAS EVERYONE!

zhuzhu

t&p
give u a rough idea..a can of 1.8kg milk..last abt 3wks or so...i stopped bf when Markus dun wake up to suck every nite..cos supply drop..then he get more n more angry at nite..so in the end dun wake up liao..but i must say..i kinda miss the bonding time..

bvbride

heyhey

Happy New year in advance!! doubt got the time to go online over next few days yeah..
Prob gog for Japanese buffet then pick up Kieran to go see the fireworks at vivo or something
kinda worried about not being able to get transport back. planning to take the bus!! yikes.. :p

Haru: so how is your little one and her stroller? has she gotten use to being in it? btw have u revealed your princess's name to us? i dun remember u annoucing her name or maybe u did and senile me cant recall

T and P: guess u prob will stretch till 18months ba... alot of people like to stop at a year and a half..dunno why...sounded auspicious maybe??kekeke. oh i got kieran his first pair of shoes from Colette around his first birthday cos they have a wide selection there. i wanted something not too huge so that he can walk in them but guess what?? it is already getting too small!!!

nw i just stick to cheap shoes as long as they are comfortable. Kieran needs to change shoes like once every 4mths. he has the fleshy-est fat feet! just like his mummy haha

Starstar: how feeling better? hope u got some help. no joke being preggy and sick and hvg a tod to look after at the same time
take care yeah

Zhuzhu: how u keep Markus entertained at home nowadays? decided not to buy the yard liao cos kieran hates to play inside all alone... rather let him wonder around the house but abit dangerous esp when im busy cooking or need to go loo etc..hmm..cannot let him see video for that long tooo not too good...he will not sit down at one spot to play one..must walk all over the house one hmm hw?? Starstar: u le? do u let Jayden just walk around the hosue to entertain himself?

zhuzhu

HAPPY 2009 !!!

bvbride
Markus do hang around the kitchen when I am cooking oso..but i always tell him to stay away from the stove...nowsaday he had a mind of his own..he will probably climb onto the dinning table..and start meddling with those containers I had over there...if not he will wondered around to the study room or his toy room..i think he had reached the milestone whereby he can sort of self entertain himself..although he does drag me to play with him..

Bata oso had some cheap n good shoes..but just dat selection not alot..even colette oso had more gals shoes than boys..

So who is next to start childcare?

haru

happy new year mummies!!

bvbride,
yup, she (Heidi) is very comfortable and able to sleep very well and long in her pram. haha..she seems to sleep better in it than her cot! oh dear..

re: expressing milk
mummies, can i ask some advice on expressing milk upon returning to work? i am planning to latch my baby when i am at home when i return to work. should i then still pump the other side which she did not feed from like what i am doing now?

keeping fingers crossed that i will be able to manage pumping after every feed next feed when i am alone at home!

haru

zhuzhu,
thanks! but you think if we are going out on weekends, and it is for a couple of hours i can just latch baby and 'tahan' until go home then pump? (if its like 6 hours later) but i also scared that it will cause supply to go down..

lavendar_lover

Hi gals!!
Happy New year!

Yup yup...still haven sleep cos planning n doing some research on my HK/Macau trip in end feb. Going to zzz soon though. :p

bvbride
I let Jayden run ard.... he loves to walk here n everywhere!! If I'm in the bathroom (usu use the one in master bedroom)for long, I'll close up the kitchen door... so he can't enter the kitchen... so far he hasn't been too naughty...least he listens to me...stop doing whatver he does whenever I say "NO!" or "dun!"...haha...should see him...run away in another direction pouting or frowning...

thanks for the concern. least I dun feel as bad as before.... gosh fancy having the flu since Hari Raya Haji... it lasted for almost a month!! sigh... I cough till got chest muscle n stomach muscle ache...

zhuzhu
childcare as in playgroup har? Should be bvbride... follow by me. :p

btw ladies, I've decided to engage a maid liao... though I REALLY HATE the idea but if I still wanna remain sane in mind n have a healthy body... I'll definitely need extra pair of hands to help me at home when my 2nd one is out.
Much as I dun like the idea but sometimes life's like this... can't help it. Thus decided to get a maid for the most 4 years... then do away with the maid when the 2nd done is more grown up. Just hope what I plan can work out.... so sianz... no choice.

zhuzhu

haru
u mean u going out with bb on the wkends or w/o? If w/o..u just latch her on b4 u leave the hse lor..i am sure u can tahan around 4-5hrs b4 pumping..supply will drop when u go back to office..cos u can't pump dat frequent..for me..i will latch markus b4 i leave for work..then i will pump around 1pm..and 6pm or so...

starstar
ya lor..playgroup..
i really think u need a maid if u had no.2 lar..dun torture urself too much..

haru

zhuzhu,
u still pump when u go home aft work n latch Markus on? i dunno if i will hv that much energy n time to pump in addition to pumpin in office. but e amt i pump now is def not sufficient even foe 1 feed so a lil concerned what i pump in office not enough for my baby. cant wait for supply to go up..=Z

hey pple,

Happy New Year too! Have been quite bz n tired lately. Have this urge to jus bum n do nothing but it's impossible with a kid and work..argh...

fanfan,
uploaded a few pics, not completed yet. Will share when I am done.

Starstar,
Eh when's ur EDD? The pads u passed me last time? I still have with me. I can pass it back to you, dun buy ok.
And the maid, we share the same thoughts but lately HB & I jus feel so burnt out...but i think we will try to go w.o a stay in maid till we have a 2nd one. It's jus weird having a stranger in the house. But when the 2nd one's here, like u said, no choice. U take care ya..
and hmm..gg on holiday again har....late feb shld be quite cooling, jus nice for a preggie woman! LOL.

Haru,
Share wif u my schedule:
8am: Jarrett latch
1pm: pump in office
6pm: pump in office
9pm: jarrett latch
12 or 1am: last pump.

Supply very constant.

Previously when I jus returned to work. I pump more times cos i was like u, scared supply will drop cos baby can't latch as often:

7+am: Nurse jarrett
9am: pump before i head off to office
1pm: pump
6pm: pump
9pm: nurse jarrett
12-1am: last pump

I even pump 3 times in the 1st few weeks back in the office. Only settle down to 2 pumps in office after I am sure my supply is constant n unaffected.
it's a lot of hard work, gg total breastfeeding. at times i feel so frustrated that my life is centered around the boobs, but it's all for the good of the baby. After a while, i jus got used to lugging all the barangs barangs and pumping. it's like if i stop now, maybe i'll feel a little lost. LOL.

When gg out with bb, if u r feeding on demand, just let her latch on when she's due for a feed.
ur prob with engorgement only starts when she goes on solid. Then it's a bit more tricky cos she'll need less milk and if u r blessed with lots of milk, then need to pump when she has lunch, so u can last till mid afternoon when she needs her milk snack. ok..maybe too much infor here.
btw, i have finally decided to stop when jarrett's 18mths cos we want to send him to play sch then and the travelling required for work is jus too stressful sometimes, when i need to fig out how to pump on the go.
Will be heading to freezing Shanghai this Thurs, I dunno how to manage this time, cos it's so cold, i cant just pump anywhere I go, plus public toilets are so hard to find!!!

haru

T&P,
thanks for sharing ur schedule! really can't tell you how much it means to me to have such support from BF mummies coz i sometimes can't help but think why i dun seem to have as much milk as i hoped.

wow, ur current schedule looks very manageable. can't wait to reach that stage.=P so everytime u pump is just nice for one feed? or do you have excess? i am currently only latchin one side. but when i pump both sides still not enough for one feed. hangin in there and have asked my dad to start boiling the papaya fish soup for me. coz i was planning to return to work partially late next week so i need to make sure what i pump at office will be enough to meet baby's demand. but thankfully i have quite a bit of stock in freezer now since i only give EBM once a day now.

Jarrett could last from his feed at 9pm to 7am? thats very good! i think if i nurse my baby at 9pm she wil prob need a feed again at bout 1am. unless i give EBM..

haru,

i have oversupply, what i pump in the office is for jarrett's next day feed. usually about 16oz. but he sometimes only drinks once, so the other half throw. my last pump also throw, cos I'll drink coffee after jarrett's last feed at around 9pm. so 12am, I'll pump and throw. I need to work on how to cut down my supply.
I am not boasting abt my supply ya..pls dun misunderstand. I think i just worked too hard and it became a case of oversupply, plus now Jarrett's on solid, so need less milk.

All I can say is, u have to work hard at the initial stage, ur supply will really go up. drink the fish soup, try taking oats, my gf swears soya milk helps. or u can also try those milk boasting pills. Once you work out the right schedule, ur supply will be enuff for baby.

When jarrett's ultra tired, he'll skip his last feed and sleep from 8pm+ to around 8am, like last nite, KO by 7.45pm, woke up at around 8.30am. BUT............he doesn't like to nap leh...so it's very tiring for us. it's full time entertaining in the day, and when he's really tired and refuses to nap, he gets cranky. So whenever he naps, we tip toe around the house. LOL

zhuzhu

haru
for me..i dun pump at nite when i reached home..cos i will just latch markus on..anyway my supply not alot..so i will just supplement with FM lor..

haru

T&P,
realy tired to latchin and pumping at e same time. thinkin of just latchin during the day and pump only at nite when i give her EBM..then go back to work then try to pump. coz everytime i wanna pump, its either very little or i am distracted halfway coz of crying baby since i am alone at home. but if i do that will i really have no supply when i pump at work??

haru,
ur plan's the best. I only started expressing when i am back at work.
During my maternity leave, i nursed jarrett all the time, only pump say when I need to run some errands and leave some milk for my MIL to give him when I am out or if engorged. Otherwise, it was 100% latch on.
But like u, i was worried abt the supply dropping when i returned to work, so for the 1st few weeks, i pumped 3 times in the office. When i worked out a constant supply, I then reduced to 2 pumps in the office.
Tell u wat, dun worry so much, it will only affect ur supply. u using the avent manual? If u r stressed, it's so much more difficult to express and get a let down. Sometimes, you can feel ur boobs have milk, but jus can't pump out. I get that at times too.

This is what you can consider to do:
Morning: latch baby before u leave for work.
noon/lunch: pump
if u knock off at 5pm, go home and nurse baby. Make a call home before u head home to let the caregiver know you are going home to feed baby, so she will not give her a bottle.
Nite: latch.

but to build up your supply first, maybe you can pump more in the office before u adopt the above schedule. I did tat for a few weeks too, but it's difficult for me to rush home at 6pm on the dot. so i rather pump twice.

haru

T&P,
thanks! i am using e Avent IQ Uno. ya, telling myself that since i have quite a bit of stock in my freezer will just go with the flow. i guess i am also nervous coz i am planning to return to work partially when my baby is only 2 months old. so the time spent for her to latch on is not very long.

thanks so much for ur advice and encouragement!!!

bvbride

heyhey

whoa haru u got to be back at work so soon? am sure w zhuzhu and t and p's advise u can manage real well yeah.
Heidi is a great name!
it was nightmare on my first day of work after ML...long sad story la...the stress at work made me give up giving kieran partial BM...

Im not set on sending Kieran to childcare yet..still researching..earliest tt i will send will be 2.5 years. shortlisted learning vision and cherie heart. any feedback from mummies out here? someone told me the latter is kinda commercialised and only keen on making $$ ??

haru

hi mummies,
thanks for ur support. =>

bvbride,
not really but there is alot going on at work and i did promise my boss that i will try to come back earlier and spread remaining of my leave so that i can still keep in touch with work. think my boss is relieved that i am going back so soon. anyway, i have been in touch with boss since i gave birth and i even check my work emails from home. but baby comes first of coz.

haru

T&P and zhuzhu,
do you mummies have alot of nursing tops? i have some nursing bras. but i have challenge especially nursing when wearing tees and singlets. wondering if i should invest in some good quality and functionable nursing wear to make it easier for to nurse baby outside. coz even w a shawl, i still expose myself somewhat esp when i wear a tee and i gota lift the whole tee up to nurse.=P

zhuzhu

haru
i don't have alot of nursing top..think i only had 2...sometimes i get those tops with crossover infront..those kind u can just push 1 side and bf..then with the shawl...u dun hv to worry abt exposing urself.. and I wear a tube bra inside...no need to specially invest in 1..u just look around..i am sure there are some clothings which can be used for bf as well

bvbride
heard that Cherie heart not bad leh..but i am not sure lor..i think i will stick to my MMI for a couple of yr...tot of switching him to Kinderland when he needs to go to K1..but kinderland sch fee is a killer!!! almost 1k..crazy!!

haru

thanks zhuzhu,
i guess its troublesome sometimes coz still have e breast pad in e bra cup. if not i think it will be much easier. really must wear breast pad throughout whole BF period?

luvz17

Hi, I am back to ask questions again. and this time round, i really mean it..haha...coz everytime i asked, then i will disappear.my wedding is over and this time, i am really planning to go maldives. Hopefully our maldives guru (Wu) still free to answer my queries.

first of all, is booking through mal-dives.com cheaper compared to local agency?

Is it better to go in Apr/ May? any difference in season/ price?

i was adviced to stay in Male for the 1st night since it is night time by the time reach Male. Any plc to recommend?

i have got thousands more questions to ask..let's start with the above before i continue. Thanks in advance for any inputs form anyone.

zhuzhu

haru
depends lor..if u think the leakage is not dat great..then u can try don't wear..but i did wear through the BF period lar..

lavendar_lover

luvz17
booking thru mal-dives.com usu cheaper but it'll be good if you have a resort in mind n u can compare prices easily.

yes, there's a diff in pricing for diff season. But if u state if u are going in April/May.. usu it's ard shoulder/off peak season. So price wise is much lower.

one night stay in male...heard Wu mentioned Relax inn is not too bad.

zhuzhu
haha..think kinderland is not the most ex one I saw... Pat's school house fees is more than 1k per mth!! last I rem it was ard $1.4k..almost faint when I saw the pricing.

I also tot of taking Jayden out of MMI for his K1 & K2.... tot of putting him in a PAP kindergarten or some other kindergarten which is more pri sch like.... I'll see how lah when he attends his playgroup in April/May...

T&P
My EDD is 25th Jun... haha..the pads I also still got left overs...:p

haru

zhuzhu and T&P,
can i ask if you normally latch one side or both sides? coz i am only latchin one side now (alternate) and when i go out my other side can feel quite engorged esp sometimes my baby's feeding interval is like 3-4 hours. if i am home i can stil pump out other side after she latches on but i am too lazy to bring pump when we go out..

also wondering if i only pump at work and only latch at home will it cause my supply to dip..? or should i continue to latch and pump when i can at home when i return to work? so confusing on what to do..

starstar,
u enjoying ur pregnancy so far?? =D must be so nice experiencing pregnancy all over again!

zhuzhu

haru
i normally try to latch 2 side b4 i leave for work...actually if u find it will be come engorge..then u latch n pump lor..like wat T&P said..it takes time for the ss to be stable when u back at work..

starstar
Pat sch dat fees is just a killer..i am not even sure if they are worth that much..

alot of ppl tell me PAP not dat good leh..n the funny thing is..just behind the MMI at my plc is a PAP..i went over and wanted to ask once..but they are closed for teacher parents session..but its all air con..

haru

hi mummies,
believe it or not i am already preparing to do registratn for my baby's nursery class for when she is 4 yrs old..hahah..still deciding if i wanna send her to pre-nursery though..

kazataza

luvz17

don't expect much from Relax Inn...it's rather basic though it cost USD70-80....but its still better than checking into those resorts for just having 1 night sleep...

also, if u choose resorts that are accessible via sea planes instead of speedboats, u must stay at Male for 1 night cos seaplanes transfers don't operate a night...

u have any resort in mind? u shld also see what are the activities u wish to do...for example if u r keen into diving, maybe staying at a resort with more affordable diving rates is better...but of cos, if u have lots of $$$, anywhere is good...heehee

hello pple, jus got back from freezing shanghai.

haru,
i went crazy and bot a few nursing top, same design, different colours from maternallove or something, the one at delphi..one dress and this other halter top. in the end, hardly ever wear them. normal spg top works fine, or normal tees, i jus push up if it's a tee, push off the straps if it's a spg top. Tube bra works too, but of cos support is not that great but a must if wearing spg top since cannot wear underwire bra.

Hmm...as for latching side, I tried to latch both sides since he's young, esp when he had the tendency to nod off, i wld switch sides to wake him up. So if we are out, I'll latch him on both sides but of cos there r frustrating times when he refuses to drink, and then die..cos engorgement. So i started bringing my manual pump with me when we go out, for cases like this. Now, i jus leave the manual in the car for emergency.

Relax Inn's decent for a nite stay, not luxurious but ok. if doing ala carte,it's more cost savings to spend a nite in male, then to the resort the next morning.

haru

T&P,
thanks! i just hate it when the breast pads scrunches up whenever i have to push the cups to feed.=P

Re: Relax Inn
yup, its clean but very very basic. good enough for a nites sleep.

luvz17

Thanks to all for the info.
ok, i will find out more about relax inn. How about central hotel? Am i right to say that someone will pick us up from the airport to the hotel if we book from mal-dives.com?

Fanfan, actually i thought of Kandooma bt it requires minimum stay. They are giving me alternatives such as Medhufushi Island, ADAARAN 'Prestige' WATER VILLAS,Iru Fushi. Anyone been or heard abt these plcs?

I am intending to go in May for 5/6D. and looking for affordable resort where i can stay at beach villa and water villa. Bt seems that qite a few of them have minimum stay for each type.

kazataza

zhuzhu

i went to Genting in Jun last yr and stayed at Resort Hotel...think it's quite good cos newly renovated...Genting Hotel was under renovation last yr ...u may wish to check if it's open for bookings now...

luvz
think T&P went to Kandooma recently and commented on the villas..think u got to sieve through the posting sometime in Nov/Dec...she went after the political unrest in Thailand...

i saw pics being posted on clubsnap forum on this resort. hope this can help u: http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/showthread.php?t=428631&highlight=Maldives

Maybe you want to narrow down your choice using what's being offered on Holiday Tours: http://www.holidaytours-sin.com/

If you want something simple and a small establishment, you may wish to try Mirhi...Wu went there before and raved about it...personally i nearly booked there as well if not for Anatara opening special promos

its very difficult to recommend a specific resort cos different people look out for different things (e.g. whether the bed looks nice on pic, got nice bathroom or not, etc) when they're choosing...

but the search itself is fun cos u get to drool over the pics and build up the anticipation to go to Maldives..heehee

lavendar_lover

zhuzhu
haha..agree on Pat's. =) PAP wise I'm still not firm yet..I'll see how Jayden reacts in MMI first...btw you stay in the East? Near marine Parade? I'm now thinking about pri sch liao!! sigh...

haru
it's normal...esp if the nursery is popular..long waiting list... =)

zhuzhu

starstar
yup staying at east..not marine parade..i had already decided on his pri sch..he will be going to mine..the most easy choice..only thing is the sch is not near east..

hey fanfan
is resort hotel near the theme park..alot of ppl recc 1st world hotel leh